Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More like a tarp than a blanket
This "blanket" is a generous size... easily able to accommodate four people comfortably. I didn't realize from the description that it didn't have a soft side... just the plastic side and the silver side, but it works. Word of warning... don't sit on the silver side if the sun is out unless you are wearing sunscreen!
Published on April 14, 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This item probably works fine as a blanket as pictured on the box
This item probably works fine as a blanket as pictured on the box, but we used it as an extra cover/blanket over our sleeping bags. When we woke the next morning we discovered the blanket had trapped the moisture from our warm bodies. Not only was the inside of the blanket wet, but so were our sleeping bags! Obviously the blanket trapped the heat from our bodies, but I...
Published 1 month ago by amy


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More like a tarp than a blanket, April 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This "blanket" is a generous size... easily able to accommodate four people comfortably. I didn't realize from the description that it didn't have a soft side... just the plastic side and the silver side, but it works. Word of warning... don't sit on the silver side if the sun is out unless you are wearing sunscreen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The "Heavy Duty" version of the "Space Blanket", March 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grabber Outdoors Original Space Brand All Weather Blanket: Orange, 5 ft x 7 ft, Box (Health and Beauty)
Yo...so everyone has probably seen those little pocket sized "Space Blankets"...Well this is NOT one of those. Rather this it is a (relatively) heavy-duty "Tarp-like" version (hemmed outer edges, grommets, etc) that is -much- more durable than those little aluminum foil like "blankets". As a result it is somewhat more bulky (the package is about the size of a cigar box)...but still not so large that you can't find room for it in the trunk of your car, in an emergency kit or in the bottom of your backpack. Over the years, I've taken similar products on camping trips to Alaska and Canada and have found use for them several times. When I lived in Minnesota I -always- had two or three of these tucked away under the seat of the car. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product, December 11, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grabber Outdoors Original Space Brand All Weather Blanket: Orange, 5 ft x 7 ft, Box (Health and Beauty)
i purchased this product because i sleep in a VERY cold bedroom that has no insulation or heat register (& costs a mint to heat) i put this blanket on top of my down comforter & felt the difference in a matter of minutes, it does what it says it does! reflects body heat & is of excellent quality..this product is much nicer than an old silver space blanket i was using..this makes sleeping in 48 degrees very comfortable though once it gets above 20 degrees outside it does get a bit too warm..great product & price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Emergency Blanket/Tarp, February 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The blanket is made of laminated plastic, aluminum and fabric. It has woven nylon tape sewn around the perimeter and a brass gromet at each corner. The dimensions (5 by 7 feet) and weight (12oz) are accurate. I was able to fold the blanket to fit in a gallon-sized ziplock bag with space to spare.

I bought this to keep in a car for emergencies (72-hour bag). It is suitable for use as shelter or a blanket, and I believe it will stand up to weeks of use. I am 100% satisfied with this purchase.

Labeled as Made in USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a sturdy addition, February 7, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grabber Outdoors Original Space Brand All Weather Blanket: Orange, 5 ft x 7 ft, Box (Health and Beauty)
I have been using tarp spaceblankets like this for over a decade. I don't know if the one I had for years and lost was the same brand but I can see no difference. There are allot of uses for this item. Its a bit small for your only tarp and a bit bulky as your only space blanket but its multitude of uses tips the scale on me bringing it along. I have used it as. A blanket, a shelter top, a shelter floor, a cooking area, a warm layer at the botom of the tent over and over, I have used it as a poncho, a small pavilion and there are a bunch of other potential uses that I haven't personaly tried but are quite self evedent. Mainly this item shines in shelter building. I have used two of these at once and I have owned five of them. A great item that has withstood the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Space Blanket for Car and Home Kit, May 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been using this space blanket for years and always have one with me in my car, my home emergency kit, and my day hike backpack. Below are some points of review based on my experience:

Versatility - I enjoy using this blanket for many uses. While it is primarily living in my kits for emergency purposes, I most often use it for impromptu picnics and as a sun and wind shelter while camping and at the beach. Unlike thin, mylar blankets, this is sturdy enough to use with regularity. It is also large enough to use for a nice-sized picnic blanket, picnic tablecloth, wind or rain shelter (as a matter of either convenience or emergency), or as light camping shelter in lieu of a tent. It has useful and strong grommets at the corners. At 5 X 7 feet, it is a perfect size for most uses.

Durability - I have found that this holds up well to repeated use and mine have lasted many years. While I have found that it is relatively resistant to tears, it will puncture if placed on dry, sharp sticks.

Visibility - I prefer the red color, as it is highly visible and will work well as a signaling device if I need to use it as such if stranded somewhere.

Weight - The size and durability that make this blanket so versatile also adds weight and bulk. While it is much larger than paper-thin emergency blankets, I still keep one in my day hike backpack any time I go out, due to its usefulness. When considering this for your car or home emergency kit, the size and weight won't be a consideration.

Emergency Preparedness - This blanket will keep you warm and dry in the rain and/or wind, and won't tear or shred like lighter emergency blankets. It has a shiny side that will radiate heat back to you. I can highly recommend this blanket for the trunk of your car or in your truck's kit.

Quality and Value - Given the durability and usefulness of this blanket, I consider it an excellent value. The workmanship is good and it's made in the USA. For usefulness, versatility, and as an emergency preparedness item, the value is huge.

If you go camping, have a picnic, hike, or are a prudent disaster preparedness planner, this blanket belongs in your kit. I've got one in each of my vehicles, my home kit, and my day hike backpack, and have been using them for years. Easy to recommend this item at five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great on my camper ends., February 21, 2012
By 
Barb J Briggs (WEBSTER CITY, IA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I used my Grabber Outdoor Original Space Brand All Weather Blanket to cover the ends of our pop-up to keep the sun and heat out. Also, keeps the sleeping area darker. Strong and durable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was my shelter for 6 nights..., March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I used it as my lean-to shelter for 6 nights and it held up very well. It's plenty thick enough to handle that load and with the reflective side doubling the output of my nightly fires... I was very impressed. I need some more use before I can give it a 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help protect the homeless, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grabber Outdoors Original Space Brand All Weather Blanket: Orange, 5 ft x 7 ft, Box (Health and Beauty)
These have been literally life savers for the homeless and their animals on the streets. With the cold winter, many people on the streets can not stay warm. This helps protect them against some of the harsh conditions. I have purchased multiple blankets to hand out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it's supposed to, November 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've used these for years--not very often, but when I do they're great. For camping when it's cold, put one of these <em>under</em> you and it makes a huge and comfortable difference. (Over you would only be for emergencies, which I haven't had yet--it doesn't breathe and so will be impossibly sweaty.) I assume it would work well for sitting on cold ground or seat too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.