Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful sound, easy to operate, tens of thousands of Internet radio stations
Customer Video Review     Length:: 8:38 Mins
I've been a fan of Internet Radio for a number of years. The Encore, by Grace Digital is the 5th Internet radio I've owned.

The Encore is physically large; It measures 13.5" wide by 9.5" deep and 5.5" tall. There are 2-forward facing speakers (tweeter/midrange) and a downward facing 4" woofer. That combination in conjunction with a...
Published 11 months ago by M. Erb

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Defective digital display
The product was purchased through Amazon. Shipping was great but the product arrived and was defective. The digital display was malfunctioning with numerous horizontal white lines permanently passing through every screen making viewing very difficult. I contacted the Grace Digital several times to explain the problem and was handled by an unprofessional support...
Published 5 months ago by David Peleg


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful sound, easy to operate, tens of thousands of Internet radio stations, February 11, 2014
This review is from: Grace Digital GDI-IRC7500 Stereo Wi-Fi Music System with 3.5-Inch Color Display (Black) (Electronics)
Length:: 8:38 Mins

I've been a fan of Internet Radio for a number of years. The Encore, by Grace Digital is the 5th Internet radio I've owned.

The Encore is physically large; It measures 13.5" wide by 9.5" deep and 5.5" tall. There are 2-forward facing speakers (tweeter/midrange) and a downward facing 4" woofer. That combination in conjunction with a powerful amplifier lets the Encore play loudly.

All the controls are on the top of the radio and a full-featured remote (batteries included) lets you do a lot including giving thumbs-up and thumbs-down ratings for Pandora music. GraceDigital also makes available an app for your smartphone called "GraceRemote." I highly recommend you get this app because it makes controlling the radio very easy and in many ways is superior to using the IR remote because of its graphical and textual nature. Plus you can control multiple Grace Radios from the app.

An easy to use menu system lets you set up lots of customization. For instance, there is an Equalization setting to allow you to select from presets or to adjust bass and treble individually. You can also select your home city, your preference for showing Farenheit or Celsius and more.

Something I find very helpful is the WiFi strength menu. This helps you place the radio in a location that has optimal signal strength and can help you solve buffering issues that may crop up of you have a weak WiFi signal by allowing you to place the radio in another location that allows it to get a stronger signal.

One great feature of this radio for me is Alarms. You can set up to 7 different alarms and can choose as an alarm tone either the built in buzzer that escalates in volume as time goes on, a streaming radio station, or Aux In. Only a single alarm icon shows up on the radio's display no matter how many alarms you actually have set.

You can adjust the screen brightness to your liking.

The number of available radio stations available for listening is staggering... over 18,000 and counting. You choose stations by several different ways:

- Premium Free and Paid Music Services like SiriusXM and LIve365 VIP, Pandora, iHeartRadio, NPR, BBC, CB, DAR.FM, NOAA weather radio, Rhapsody, even Podcasts.
- Internet Radio Stations including College Stations, Local Stations and stations from Countries all over the World.
- Location presents a list of countries which you can search by location, genre, or all stations for the country you choose.
- Genre such as 60's, 70's, 80's, 90's, Adult, Adult Contemporary, Alternative, Ambient, Bluegrass, Blues, World, Talk, Religious... there are over 65 categories to choose... even Kids and Short Wave Radio (mostly NOAA weather radio but there are some others.)

You can spend hours, days weeks exploring all the possible statons... or just pick a few you like and save to the 10 available presets for quick access.

The "My Stuff" icon lets you customize that menu option with lists of station that you want to listen to. You can organize your favorites by folder and you can even keep personal notes about each station. It's pretty cool. The My Stuff folder also keeps track of your listening history and is a quick way to access Weather for your city, or any city you choose as well as Local Stations for your city.

The radio sounds great, is easy to set-up (even for a non-techie) and provides a wealth of listening opportunities. Plus it can play music from a connected USB Thumb Drive, or UPnP Server.

I really enjoy my Encore Internet Radio by GraceDigital.

I was provided a sample for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A state of the art internet radio with a boatload of features, February 6, 2014
This review is from: Grace Digital GDI-IRC7500 Stereo Wi-Fi Music System with 3.5-Inch Color Display (Black) (Electronics)
A couple of years ago, I reviewed a Grace Digital GDI-IR2600 Wi-Fi Internet Radio (the "Innovator"). It was love at first sight, and my wife and I have gotten a ton of enjoyment from it. But the new GDI-IRC7500 Stereo radio (the "Encore") is even more impressive, and I've spent way too much time this week listening to radio stations from around the world. It's just really cool to be eating lunch while listening to the news on my regular local radio station, then push one of the presets and after a few seconds of buffering the live stream, here's a BBC station with the live traffic report in downtown London. It's very addicting, especially with thousands of radio stations available worldwide.

Setup was simple and only took a few minutes. The 53-page illustrated user's guide is clearly written, and there's a Quick Start guide to get you up and running with the basics. Find your wi-fi from the list of available networks, and click on it, enter your password, and the connection is made. I've never really gotten into Pandora or iHeartRadio, so after setting the time and date, I went straight to Internet Radio and cruised the world's radio stations, searching by location, genre, or college stations. There's also a "Local" selection, and the radio automatically knew where I lived. You can also search for a particular radio station by its call sign. There's even a weather forecast for your town, displayed graphically on the front panel.

The GDI-IRC7500 looks great with its dark wood-grain finish, although it might be a bit too big for the average nightstand. But inside the cabinet is the finest audio system that I've ever heard from a tabletop radio. It's really good, with a clarity and crispness of vocals and even great bass sounds that you can feel as well as hear. If you want a bigger sound, connect some speakers. This is a stereo radio, so FM stations that stream stereo to the internet will come through in stereo. Unlike conventional airwaves radio, there's no trace of static or fading, even at night. The Encore's speakers pump out more than enough sound to fill a large room. The 3" front-mounted speakers are also rear-ported. Apparently this allows some of the sound to reflect off walls that are behind the radio and spread the sound. There's also a bottom-facing 4" woofer that makes a huge difference in the quality of the bass. Granted, it's not Dolby surround sound, but it's pretty effective. For private listening, there's a 3.5mm stereo headphone jack on the front panel of the radio. I used a set of headphones, and the sound was fine.

The radio will also play your music from a USB flash drive, so I put a flash drive with a music playlist into the USB port on the back of the radio. The music sounded great, but I was most interested in checking the stereo quality, so on the flash drive, I had two stereo setup MP3s ("Channel Balance Test" and "Stepped Stereo Pan Test"), and the radio checked out perfectly for stereo balance and separation. While playing tracks from a flash drive, the controls on the set top and the remote allow the same forward/pause/back as most media players do.

The Encore will play music from a shared folder on a PC. The user's guide includes instructions for allowing sharing with Windows Vista and Windows 7. Unfortunately, having only recently gone with Windows 8, I'm still in the fog, but I'm working on it.

I'm in the process of setting up a collection of my favorite stations using a feature called "My Stuff," where you can organize stations in folders and get to them from the My Stuff icon on the home page. This is a really cool feature that's much more flexible than using the station presets.

In the Settings menu is a feature called "Equalization," which allows you to dial in the bass and treble to suit yourself, or use the presets for different types of music. It's a nice feature that can customize the sound to your own tastes, but after trying it, I preferred the Presets.

Virtually every function can be controlled with the infrared remote control, a very handy device. I also downloaded the free app by Grace Digital to allow remote control through the network from an Android smartphone or tablet, but so far, I haven't gotten the app to find the Encore on my network. I'm running the app on a Kindle Fire HDX 7" tablet.

The Encore is also an alarm-radio. The seven alarms and a sleep timer are nice touches that replicate functions found on traditional tabletop clock-radios. For a wake-up alarm, you can choose either the buzzer (adjustable volume) or a preset radio station.

Over the last four days, I've had the Encore on for about ten hours total, and I haven't noticed any dropouts.

SUMMARY: The Encore is a state-of-the-art full-function digital internet radio that looks good, sounds great, and provides far more functionality than traditional tabletop radios.

A product sample was provided by the manufacturer for review purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent audio content delivery device; solid in every respect..., January 30, 2014
This review is from: Grace Digital GDI-IRC7500 Stereo Wi-Fi Music System with 3.5-Inch Color Display (Black) (Electronics)
Length:: 1:41 Mins

The Grace Digital GDI-IRC7500 "Encore" fits into a category of devices called "Internet radios". And while it it will deliver online audio content, it possesses additional features that earn it the "Wi-Fi music system" name in its product description.

This is an outstanding piece of hardware that does everything right:
-Sound quality
-User interface
-Control choices
-Content input/output options
Any of these by themselves could have resulted in an degraded user experience. That each works at a high level sends the Encore straight into 5-star rating territory.

-Sound quality: sound quality is comparable to similar-sized speaker packages in other desktop playback devices. You will notice significant differences depending on the data rate of the source material (which varies widely among online source materials). MP3 content (local streaming and directly connected via the included RCA adapter) is generally better than streamed sources. With good quality sources, the Encore is will easily fill moderate to large rooms with good, clear, distortion free-sound.

-User interface: a complete home home run! This device can be controlled by either of:
--controls on the Encore top panel
--the remote control
--an Android smartphone (must be operating on the same Wi-Fi network)
The main interface on the top panel is a large control knob that turns to highlight device options, and then pushes to select them, It is accompanied by "Home" and "Back" buttons that make navigation through the options on the 3.5" color front panel display very easy. The remote control duplicates all but the most advanced functions (I would not try to run through network set-up using the remote). The Grage Digital remote for Android devices also works well.

-Content options:
--Internet audio content, including many available at no cost and without registration. This content can be expanded through registration (or even payment) at other services. I'm a long time Pandora subscriber. A simple visit to a website provided in the user guide linked this device to my Pandora account. If you're considering an Internet radio, you'll appreciate that a tutorial on online content types is beyond the scope of this review. However, this device really shines for getting content from local stations when you live in area with marginal reception if terrestrial stations (true for me because of the terrain near my house). The Encore reconnected me with local radio programming that a standard A/V receiver just can't pull in from over-the-air transmissions. Nice!
--Line in (via an included 3.5" mm to RCA adapter). I successfully introduced music from an iPod Nano (7th gen), an HTC EVO LTE 4G and a Kindle Fire (via my Amazon cloud collection)
--Streaming media from a local NAS running UPnP service
--A direct (rear-panel) USB device connection

Finally, this device includes thoughtful extras:
-Timers and alarms
-Backlight controls for the display
-Language/location customization
-Alarms and sleep timer
-Line out (with speaker muting) for playback through a separate A/V system.
-And...best of all: an excellent, well-written and detailed user guide.

If this device has a shortfall, it's the giant wall wart AC adapter (and you'll forget all about it as you see how good the functionality is after it's plugged in!).

Like other offerings from Grace Digital, this is a straight-up awesome device. Select with total confidence!

Note: this item was provided for review purposes...but was reviewed as if I had bought it:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Video Review of the Grace Digital GDI-IRC7500, February 9, 2014
This review is from: Grace Digital GDI-IRC7500 Stereo Wi-Fi Music System with 3.5-Inch Color Display (Black) (Electronics)
Length:: 6:14 Mins

I have used several internet radio's over the last couple of years. This is the second one that I have evaluated from Grace Digital, and I have always been amazed at their combination of features and sound quality. The Grace Digital Encore certainly takes the standard internet radio to the next level. It is incorporates almost every feature that you would ever want in an all-in-one internet player/wireless radio.

Notes-

- Lots of power - provided by a high end class D amplifier. The amplifier provides plenty of power for the two 1" front mounted drivers and the bottom fired woofer. The radio provides plenty of power for a large sized room - medium sized home.

- Sound quality is solid, but at higher frequencies the higher frequencies can get a bit washed out. Not a big deal for talk radio or most music. An extended break in period will probably help bring out some of the higher frequencies.

- The Grace Digital has a rear USB input for accepting other sources - so while bluetooth is not included a bluetooth adapter can be added through the rear auxiliary inputs.

- It can be used as a very high end alarm clock - if you want. the front display is large and easily seen from across the room.

- Has a very nice looking full color display. When the unit is off the display is very soft and is not overly bright which makes it perfect for night time viewing.

- Loaded with built in features including iHeartRadio, Weatherbug, a Media player, Alarm Clock - and many of the subscriptions services liek SiriusXM and Pandora

- Comes with a full function remote

- Has Line outs in case you want to connect the radio to a different amplifier or stereo system.

- Has a USB plug for use with media stored on thumb drives or USB drives

- While it is rather large the Grace Digital Encore is very nice looking and is made with real wood.

Final Verdict- The Grace Digital Encore is a full function internet radio and media player. While there are several other internet radios for sale you will be hard pressed to find one with such a nice blend of features and sound quality.

Please Note I received this product in exchange for an unbiased review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Defective digital display, August 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grace Digital GDI-IRC7500 Stereo Wi-Fi Music System with 3.5-Inch Color Display (Black) (Electronics)
The product was purchased through Amazon. Shipping was great but the product arrived and was defective. The digital display was malfunctioning with numerous horizontal white lines permanently passing through every screen making viewing very difficult. I contacted the Grace Digital several times to explain the problem and was handled by an unprofessional support representative who was unable to satisfactory resolve return/replace issues and was unwilling to allow me to contact or speak with someone of authority. This company needs to mature and start making customer satisfaction a priority.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Really good....but not great...., October 17, 2014
By 
J Gage (Buffalo, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grace Digital GDI-IRC7500 Stereo Wi-Fi Music System with 3.5-Inch Color Display (Black) (Electronics)
To start this review I will start by saying I am a bit jaded having owned a squeezebox radio. The Logitech Squeezebox radio is the best internet radio period, end of discussion. This unit is a close second. Sound quality is without a doubt superior to the Squeezebox. The Sub-woofer and front firing speakers do a great job of replication both voice and music. The RECIVA radio interface is a bit clunky but functional for internet radio. Radio stations when found (Sometimes the local station links don't work and you have to enter call letters) and tuned in work wonderfully and do not drop out. Pandora works flawlessly but the lack of Slacker Radio is a negative. Where I found this radio to have the most difficulty was streaming SIRIUS Internet radio. Once connected to a station it is fine. If you preset a SIRIUS station it is fine. Where it runs into trouble is pulling up the SIRIUS menus for station browsing. The radio will restart several times it before it finally displays the menu. Additionally I have had trouble playing music from my server and computers using the DNLA service. I am not sure but I believe the radio suffers from a not so powerful processor on board. At times it can become frustrating. While I have focused on the negative I will end with the positive. It is a great internet radio with outstanding sound once you find your stations and make them favorites or presets. While I acknowledge that there is problems I would purchase this radio again without hesitation. I am very happy with it and only wish that they could fix some of the bugs in the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars powerful radio, September 24, 2014
By 
Richard Kaplan (Bloomsburg, Pa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grace Digital GDI-IRC7500 Stereo Wi-Fi Music System with 3.5-Inch Color Display (Black) (Electronics)
I have the Grace Solo Internet Radio and I've been using it constantly for almost four years. I wanted to upgrade and The Encore is an incredible radio. I wanted a radio with stereo speakers and powerful sound with the same features I love about the Solo and I have found it. I just received the radio a few hours ago and I've been discovering all the wonderful features it has. The subwoofer really makes a difference in the sound. The bass is wonderful. I love the 3.5 inch screen that displays the station's logo and the ease at finding stations.

Set up was a breeze and I have already set up my presets and favorites. I'm a radio geek and I love scrolling through the thousands of stations available.

Again, I'm blown away by the incredible sound this unit puts out. This receiver takes Internet radio listening to the next level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow. Just Wow., February 5, 2014
This review is from: Grace Digital GDI-IRC7500 Stereo Wi-Fi Music System with 3.5-Inch Color Display (Black) (Electronics)
This Grace Digital internet radio is one of the most powerful music streaming devices I've owned. Although the sound quality is not as good as my Boston Acoustic or Logitech airplay speakers (more on that later), everything else about this internet radio is superb: the interface, the features, even the retro look.

This is a big box, reminiscent of old style stereos: 13.5" w x 9.5" d x 5" h. There are two knobs on top, one for volume and one for navigating the menu, and two round speakers on the front. But there's where the comparison to old school ends. It has a bright color screen on front that lists all the radio options: Internet radio, Pandora (free subscription), Sirius XM (paid subscription), USB drive playback, Rhapsody (subscription), and others. You can program your favorite radio stations just as you can with a traditional radio. You can use preset 1 for a public radio station, preset 2 for a SiriusXM station, and preset 3 for a Pandora "station" -- up to 10 presets in all. You can set the alarm to be awakened by the radio -- every day, once a week, on work days only, on weekends, up to seven different times with radio or a buzzer -- or you can set the sleep timer so you can go to sleep listening. (I'd love to set a duration limit so it will turn off after coming on via alarm, but that doesn't seem possible. It stays on until I turn it off.) When the radio is on standby, it displays the time in large, easy-to-read but not super-bright numbers.

To set it up, all you need to do is enter your security code for your network in the settings mode, and it does the rest -- well, almost. You can listen to internet radio without doing anything else; however, to use the full range of options, you need to register at Grace Digital and enter your credentials for your subscription to, say, Pandora. Sirius XM must be activated on the radio itself. (You must have a paid all-access or internet subscription for this to work.)

Before getting this internet radio, I used various devices to get the same content, but they always required multiple steps. For instance, if I wanted to listen to Sirius XM, I had to get out my iPhone or iPad, select the app, wait for it to connect, and then press the AirPlay key to stream it through an AirPlay speaker. Or I had to go through the menu on my TV to get there. Or I had to start the radio on my computer first. This radio bypasses all that. It acts just like a traditional, free-standing radio, although you have to wait several seconds for the buffering or the network connection.

The sound quality is weakest aspect of the whole set-up, and even then, it's pretty darn good. If I hadn't already had my AirPlay speakers, I wouldn't have known that the sound could be much better. Listening to XM radio first through the Grace Digital and then through the Boston Acoustic speakers revealed marked differences between the two. The Grace Digital just doesn't have the richness of sound that the Boston Acoustic does. With the subwoofer on the bottom of the box, lifted a half-inch or so off the shelf by the feet, it doesn't have much bass. The mid- and upper-ranges, while good, sound thin in comparison. But, hey, the Grace Digital still sounds TONS better than the traditional stereo I used until a few years ago, simply because of the digital nature of internet radio versus air wave radio.

Within certain limits, the Grace Digital radio can act as a media server. It works only with a PC, not a Mac, and as far as I can tell, it cannot stream iTunes. (I have a Mac so I can't test it, although there's no mention of iTunes in the manual.) The radio DOES pick up my Seagate shared media drive, so any MP3 files I have on it can be played on the Grace Digital. To access this feature, you have to go to Media Server on the menu, then select UPnP. You will see a list of available media storage devices that you can then access.

In addition to being network-ready, the Encore has a headphone jack in front and a USB port and Aux In/Out jacks in back. The unit comes with the aux cables. It also comes with a remote control. There are free iPhone and Android apps so you can use your phone as a remote.

For this to work for you, you must have a high-speed broadband connection. If you cannot listen to internet radio on your computer without frequent buffering or stuttering, don't even try this. You will be disappointed. If you have a fast internet connection and want internet radio in a room other than where your computer is, you'll likely love this. as much as I do. Note: I received a sample for review.

-- Debbie Lee Wesselmann
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it!, September 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grace Digital GDI-IRC7500 Stereo Wi-Fi Music System with 3.5-Inch Color Display (Black) (Electronics)
This is my first time purchasing an internet radio, decided on this one because of the great reviews. Received it in the mail today and am having a ball! Set up was simple, only complain was the klunky keyboard entry method (scroll linearly through every alphanumeric character under the sun), but it was simple enough and hooked up to my dodgy router without a complaint. Linking to my Sirius internet account was a breeze. The radio has only 10 presets (23 if you download the iphone remote). But grace digital has a website that once you register the radio to, you can add radio stations to a "My Stuff" folder using your computer, organize stations into subfolders labeled any way you like. And PRESTO after adding radio stations to folders on the website, simply reselecting the "my stuff" icon on the radio pushes the updates to radio - pretty cool! Selecting radio stations using folders is a much better way to organize stations than random presets.

I love having an internet appliance streaming radio rather than chewing up the battery on my iPhone or having to hook up the computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST. INTERNET. RADIO. EVER!, August 23, 2014
By 
All Kinds of Books! (An hour north of Philly) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grace Digital GDI-IRC7500 Stereo Wi-Fi Music System with 3.5-Inch Color Display (Black) (Electronics)
3 minutes after I took it out of the box, it was playing music. Unbelievable easy to set up, so intuitive you'd be able to figure it out without the owner's manual. Fantastic sound quality from the 2 stereo speakers and the woofer under the unit, and it even has an equalizer to fine-tune the output for optimal sound no matter what you are playing. So many stations to choose from around the world, that if you listened to a different one every minute it would take YEARS to hear them all! In fact, my only complaint is that with so many stations to choose from, only having 10 presets isn't NEARLY enough - I could have easily filled a hundred. Wish I had bought this when it first came out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.