Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Debut for an Often Misunderstood Woman
Having followed Robin Givens' career since the beginning, I was immediately interested in reading her memoir. I've always felt that this young woman hasn't deserved the reputation that unfortunately, in many cases, the media has bestowed upon her. In her book, Givens is finally given the opportunity to express her side of the story, and she does it with heartfelt dignity...
Published on June 11, 2007 by Mgbteach

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brutally Honest About a Beautiful Woman's Life
Robin was sweet, honest and told her story in a very clean, first person way without bitterness. Gives a greater understanding of her issues with tv, Mike Tyson and her family. Expected a devilish rendition of what was wrong with Mike but this was not to be. Enjoyed the book and have some great respect for her and her life.
Published on December 11, 2009 by luv2read


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Debut for an Often Misunderstood Woman, June 11, 2007
This review is from: Grace Will Lead Me Home (Hardcover)
Having followed Robin Givens' career since the beginning, I was immediately interested in reading her memoir. I've always felt that this young woman hasn't deserved the reputation that unfortunately, in many cases, the media has bestowed upon her. In her book, Givens is finally given the opportunity to express her side of the story, and she does it with heartfelt dignity and grace.

The book traces Givens' family history for three generations. She has been blessed with especially strong women who, in turn, created several opportunities for her; exposing her to a fine, well-rounded education in the academics as well as the arts. Readers are also treated to the success story behind her mother who is quite an accomplished businesswoman.

For those readers who were expecting that the entire book would focus on her marriage to heavyweight boxing champion, Mike Tyson, you'll be surprised, but not disappointed. Those of us who admired this talented young woman prior to her nuptials to Mr. Tyson will enjoy references to her vast body of work and creative and professional associations with Bill Cosby as well as Oprah Winfrey.

Most of all, the book serves as an inspiration for not only women, but also men who wish to become who God truly intended them to be. It's a book about a journey of self-discovery. It's a book about family. It's a book about faith.

Having recently had the chance to hear Givens emotionally read from her book in New York City, it is clear to see that writing the book was most likely a very therapeutic experience for her. I'm so glad that I was able to meet her in person and offer her support and congratulations for the life that she has successfully developed for herself and her children. I would love to have the opportunity to learn more about this dynamic young woman. Kudos, Robin! Indeed, Grace shall lead you home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a tell-all book about Tyson - and that's a good thing!, July 3, 2007
This review is from: Grace Will Lead Me Home (Hardcover)
While many people might think that Robin Givens would simply like to dish dirt on her ex-husband, this book is actually (and thankfully) a testimony of her life and the lives of her mother and grandmother. And it's a story of her journey back into God's arms. It's a beautifully written book and really a pleasure to read. All of those naysayers who thought (and still think) that Robin Givens was a goldigging hustler need to give this a crack to see what her life was actually like. A great debut and I hope there are more books to come from Ms. Givens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read :-), June 6, 2007
By 
Little Miss Cutey (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grace Will Lead Me Home (Hardcover)
I've 'known' Robin Givens since I used to watch Head Of The Class years ago and she went on to star in one of my favourite movies Boomerang too. So I was following her career when she met and married Mike Tyson. It seemed like an odd couple, but they looked happy enough.

She has written this book because the marriage (at age 24) was the biggest mistake of her life and she had been mentally and physically abused throughout the relationship. She's hoping this book can help others out there and inspire them to stand up and be strong enough to leave a relationship like this. She also deals a lot with the recovery and how she's moved on.

They only made it a year and it ended funnily enough on Valentines Day. She writes about a flight they were on from Russia back to the States where he stated that he was going to kill her and get away with it. She now sees that the marriage was simply part of an abusive cycle within her family; her mother and grandmother were also victims of abuse. She writes about how with each remark and threat, her self confidence slipped another notch and how she believed everything he told her (whether he'd kill her or not or if he degraded her as a person).

While the book isn't entirely memories and recollections of the years of abuse either in her family or at Mike's hands, it gives hope to readers that they can get help and they can leave and move on. It's a good read and luckily enough, while I've never faced anything like this, it's eye opening to know what other people can be going through and it's still a good read and very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Literary Work By Ms. Givens!, September 2, 2007
By 
The Reader "Kalaia" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grace Will Lead Me Home (Hardcover)
I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, and Robin Givens has excellent writing skills! Unfortunately, she is someone who has often been misunderstood. However, there was always something about Robin that I understood, as one can tell that she has a good heart and much compassion. After reading this book, you will get a true understanding of who Robin is and has always been, a strong woman.

This book tells the stories of three generations of strong women who endured and overcame obstacles in life, including Robin, her mother, and grandmother. All of these women experienced a childhood without a father, and somehow ended up in abusive relationships. However, through God's grace, they all persevered into a life of purpose. I cannot express how much I was deeply engrossed in this book. As Robin told her story, I could feel her pain, sorrow, and sadness, as well as her happiness, strength, and faith. She grew up without a father, and I can understand her insecurities and the choices she made, particularly when deciding to get involved with Mike Tyson. Although he was definitely not the right person for her, I could see how a young insecure girl who lacked the love and guidance of a father would fall into such a trap. Robin learned the hard way, but it has made her a better person, and most importantly, she has finally experienced the love and guidance of her true Father who is God Almighty. I really wish that more people would read this book, and highly recommend it to any woman who has experienced growing up without a father.

Robin, thank you for sharing your story, and I hope to see you in more acting projects soon. I have always been a fan of yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grace Will Lead Me Home, September 21, 2007
By 
Geminigirl (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grace Will Lead Me Home (Hardcover)
I bought this book with the expectation of learning more about Robin Given, the woman. She was surely an "it girl" of her time being a beautiful, talented, young up & coming actress on a popular tv show dating the future heavy-weight champion. I for one, at that time could never understand HER attraction to Mike Tyson but this book went a long way in explaining the history of Robin's grandmother & mother which includes not having a "Daddy" figure in their lives and subsequently marrying abusive men.

I'm so glad that this book did not go into the many (I'm assuming) hideous abusive events that she probably endured while dating & married to Tyson because that would have caused it to be just another gossipy celeb tell-all. This book will cause anyone who misjudged her a golddigger to rethink their assessment and hopefully gain a little compassion for Robin.

My only gripe is that the chapters following her "Tyson" years seemed to gloss over her life. She doesn't go into details about her children at all except to proclaim that they have added so much joy to her life. I would've liked to have at least one chapter detailing HOW she was able to piece her life together and what her 2nd son's father brought to her life.

The end of the book uplifted my spirits and shows that she is indeed now a happy fulfilled woman - I admire that and hope that she continues to experience joy in her life. I'd recommend this book who want to get to know ROBIN GIVENS and would not recommend it to those looking for rehashed gossip about Mike Tyson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly Surprised and Satisfied, August 18, 2009
By 
AndreaDenise (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Grace Will Lead Me Home was a pretty good read. The women in Robin's family were spiritual, strong and beautiful. They also cherished and married dreadful men. It's peculiar how choosing the wrong man can be inherited. When does the cycle end?

I must admit, Robin is quite a woman. I honestly believe that she truly loved Mike. Unfortunately, he wasn't capable of loving himself or anyone else during that bleak period of time. Thankfully, Robin had the will to finally walk away. Mike possessed fame, riches and inner demons. How Robin dealt with Mike's wrath is beyond me. Yet, I appreciate and respect the fact that Robin didn't maliciously "bash" Mike in her memoirs.

I'm rating it four stars. Job well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brutally Honest About a Beautiful Woman's Life, December 11, 2009
This review is from: Grace Will Lead Me Home (Hardcover)
Robin was sweet, honest and told her story in a very clean, first person way without bitterness. Gives a greater understanding of her issues with tv, Mike Tyson and her family. Expected a devilish rendition of what was wrong with Mike but this was not to be. Enjoyed the book and have some great respect for her and her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This woman deserves better roles!, August 3, 2007
By 
R. Regli "autocritic" (St. Petersburg, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grace Will Lead Me Home (Hardcover)
After reading this book, you would love to see Robin Givens get a decent acting role in the movies, because the book shows that she has enough depth to handle roles much more complex than the ones she's been given. Maybe the new Wendy Williams bio-pic will be such a role. She seems to have had a very unique and interesting life--the book is basically divided into her family life up until she met Mike Tyson, and her life with Tyson. It seems many women who end up with abusive men have had "father issues" in their life, and the cumulative pain inflicted by men who abandon their families weighs heavily on the world. She leaves a lot out of this book, maybe for the next one, like her relationships with the fathers of her two sons, that leaves one curious. Think of what it must be like to be married to Mike Tyson and then have your next relationship with an unknown Brad Pitt. Hard to imagine any two men more different. I always wondered what she was doing with Tyson, and even after reading this book, I still don't know. The best women often end up with exciting creeps. Anyway, while not great literature, this is an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, December 23, 2008
By 
rmcrae (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grace Will Lead Me Home (Hardcover)
Whether you think she was a gold digging witch or a victim of the media, Robin Givens has a story that is worth being heard. She does go into detail about her allegedly abusive marriage to Mike Tyson, but that's not even the highlight, so to speak. She covers the abusive marriages of her mother and grandmother making it clear that familial cycles are real. Basically, she shows sides of herself that not alot of people cared to see. Interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, March 17, 2013
By 
JD (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very insightful into Robin's life...I'd never have known had she not revealed it here. Far more vulnerable than I perceived her to be. A really good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Grace Will Lead Me Home
Grace Will Lead Me Home by Robin Givens (Hardcover - June 5, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.