Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Extensive than Insider's Guide
That is, it is more extensive in terms of graduate school reviews than the Insider's Guide to Graduate Programs in Clinical and Counseling Psychology: 2010/2011 Edition (Insider's Guide to Graduate Programs in Clinical Psychology), which itself is also worth your time and money should you be considering graduate programs in psychology. This has none of the bells and...
Published on August 30, 2010 by St-Germain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad...
But it didn't help me as much as I had hoped. Doesn't list Cognitive Neuroscience programs, so you still have to do a lot of research on your own.
Published on September 5, 2011 by gweeber


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Extensive than Insider's Guide, August 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Graduate Study in Psychology 2011 (Paperback)
That is, it is more extensive in terms of graduate school reviews than the Insider's Guide to Graduate Programs in Clinical and Counseling Psychology: 2010/2011 Edition (Insider's Guide to Graduate Programs in Clinical Psychology), which itself is also worth your time and money should you be considering graduate programs in psychology. This has none of the bells and whistles of the Insider's Guide to Graduate Programs in Clinical and Counseling Psychology: 2010/2011 Edition (Insider's Guide) in terms of giving you hints and advice; it is purely individual program information for all of the respondent's to the APA's survey. And the information is almost exhaustive, which in the search that you are undertaking or about to, is invaluable. You'll get full contact information including website, department history and demographics, program and degrees offered, accreditation, student applications and the admissions process including average scores, student demographics, financial info and assistance, internships/practica, housing and day care info, grad employment statistic, program objectives/emphases, special facilities or resources, etc. It is more like a reference book, and it would be well worth your time to purchase and take notes on while you do your search.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Generally Helpful, September 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Graduate Study in Psychology 2011 (Paperback)
This book is very thorough and has a lot of useful information, however it feels like there is a lot of data missing. I can think of a few schools that aren't in there though they should be. Also some of the information is misleading. For example, a lot of schools don't list the GRE minimum/averages of accepted students. That's one of the first things I look at. If it's not there it makes me think the school doesn't value GRE scores which is usually not the case. That being said, I'm still glad I bought this book. It has more information than other sources I've looked at and is still very helpful in the process of choosing graduate programs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book was very usefull, November 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Graduate Study in Psychology 2011 (Paperback)
This book helped me in the searching process for a PhD program in any area of psychology. It has a list of every single university that offers a graduate program in this field as well as all the psychology graduate programs that exist in the US. However I recommend to search in the universities web pages as well because some of the programs are not presented in the same way as their appear in the book. But it is an important tool that would save some time and effor in this process.Graduate Study in Psychology 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Worthless for an Aspiring Counselor, November 21, 2011
This review is from: Graduate Study in Psychology 2011 (Paperback)
I bought this book because my professor suggested it. I can't find any of the Master's programs listed on the CACREP website (mostly Doctoral Counseling, Counseling Education, School Counseling or unaccredited programs). Also, for few programs I did find that I was interested in, most did not list GRE scores or GPA averages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad..., September 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Graduate Study in Psychology 2011 (Paperback)
But it didn't help me as much as I had hoped. Doesn't list Cognitive Neuroscience programs, so you still have to do a lot of research on your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Hard Data about Schools, August 31, 2011
By 
Finnoula (Portland, OR) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Graduate Study in Psychology 2011 (Paperback)
This book is a really great resource if you want to know exactly which schools have what graduate programs relating to psychology, and the dirty details of those programs (as long as the school is registered with the APA-if not they won't appear).

Every school has a large amount of data on degrees offered, ie. masters or doctorate and what subject, number of students in each degree program, professors, demographic breakdown information about minorities, tuition/financial assistance, and much more.

The book is primarily organized geographically, such that the first block contains schools from Alabama, then Alaska, and all the way to Wisconsin and Canada at the back. There are indexes listing schools alphabetically by name, as well as sorted by degree program area (ex: all schools offering Behavioral Psychology).

However, this is NOT a ranking book - the book makes no comparisons between schools or programs, has no 'insights' from graduate students or professors attending, does not describe the 'personality' of the program, it's history, or anything like that. Instead, it provides only the basic facts. In that manner, YOU, the reader, will have to compare schools that interest you based on the data they provided.

Finally, all the data in the book is provided by schools voluntarily through surveys. I noticed, because I was browsing the 2010 edition, that some years the schools will provide certain data and the next they won't. If they don't respond to the survey, the publishers will provide older data; if they responded to the survey but left out certain pieces of information, for example one year they provide number of applicants and the next they don't, the publishers will only use the most recent data. I was disappointed by this variation, as it does put into question whether buying the newest edition is the best decision.

In summary:
-Lots of hard data about graduate programs in schools certified by APA
-Almost no comparison between schools/programs, that's left up to you
-The type and amount of data provided by schools is not the same in every edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, August 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Graduate Study in Psychology 2011 (Paperback)
Lots of detailed information on schools, definitely a good starting point for looking into graduate programs. And they're listed by state they're located in, which I find very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An alright guide, but it leaves a bit to be desired., December 13, 2010
By 
Kevin Cook (New Haven, CT) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Graduate Study in Psychology 2011 (Paperback)
As current graduate student in a master's program in clinical psychology, I bought this book to help me when I reapply to clinical psychology doctorate programs in the next year. Ultimately, I found the book to be a little disappointed. The benefit of the books seems to be that it bundles 90% of publicly available information with 10% not publicly available information. So what the book is, is a giant compendium of information in a single place. While this makes it easier to find all the information, when you examine certain schools numbers in the book versus the numbers available on their department disclosure website, the numbers are not always the same. Other schools list information which the book says is unavailable. For the price I paid I wished that it was always right, let alone that it offered more than I could look up for free. It should be noted, however, that this is specifically for doctorate programs in clinical psychology, who publicize their full disclosure data in accordance with APA guidelines. If your interest is in another area, or in masters programs, there is no rules in place, making it difficult to get applicant information, this would be an excellent resource. However, if you're interested in Clinical Psychology doctorate I strongly recommend Insider's Guide to Graduate Programs in Clinical and Counseling Psychology: 2010/2011 Edition instead, because this book offers very little for a steep price-tag that you can't just look up yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great information, November 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Graduate Study in Psychology 2011 (Paperback)
This book gives you tons of relevant imfomation on all clinical peograms in the country. Love love love. Only wish that faculty research interests would have been included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Graduate Study in Psychology 2011
Graduate Study in Psychology 2011 by American Psychological Association (Paperback - August 15, 2010)
$28.95 $25.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.