Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$60.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 17, 2004
I'm an advanced Spanish instructor and intermediate language coordinator. This is by far the best textbook of Spanish I've ever seen. Yes, you don't find great pictures, appealing format, that's true. However, the grammatical explanations are just incredible. This book is a link between theoretical linguistics and the classroom. The explanations are based on concept-based systemic-functional grammar of Spanish, instead of the rules of thumb that you will find in most commercial textbooks, which have as many exceptions as rules. If you found yourself thinking "... um, but I can also use the imperfect or the subjunctive here, so how do I explain this when the textbook says the opposite?", then this is the textbook for you. You'll find well-grounded, essential, concise, conceptual explanations rather than list of rules that are not true anyways. And you have EVERYTHING in this book, all the grammar you can possibly think of, including meaningful word-order in Spanish, phonetics, questions of discourse, a task-based approach to composition and academic writing, editing and typical error analysis and the metalinguistic knowledge necessary to be literate and articulate in Spanish. Students can realize how changes in form translate into changes in meaning and how meanings are constructed in Spanish (for example, changes of focus or information prominence with rheme and theme structures). There are lots of exercises based on these explanations. Explanations are in Spanish and most examples are translated into English. This is ideal for an intermediate and advanced level. If you want to read more on this line, get also Spanish/ English Contrasts by Stanley too, and read Dwight Bolinger's articles.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2009
I have to agree with the other reviewers, this really is the best Spanish textbook I have used.
It's not graphically pleasant, you won't find many nice pictures or diagrams, nor will you find many variations in text formatting, it's going to be bold, italic, or normal.

However, the content truly is unrivaled. The time not spent flowering up the pages was clearly spent going through, revising, and qualifying everything with regional differentiations, semantic/syntactic examples, and notes about where to look in the book for more information about the topic.

The text is primarily in Spanish, however the author does use English in times of crucial importance, where idiomatically a translation would be misleading, etc.

I would definitely recommend this book. But, if you use it for a Spanish class, do yourself a favor and don't sell it back to the bookstore when your course ends. it's just as valuable 3 months later! A year after taking the class for which this was required, I am still constantly referencing and rereading it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2008
This textbook was simply amazing. I cannot think of one thing wrong with it. It is the perfect textbook for someone who is learning Spanish as a second language and is transitioning from the typical "high school Spanish" class to a more intermediate and independent level of learning.

Some of the pros: There is a large index simply for clarifications on which verb to use in certain ambiguous situations. The text includes illustrations to clarify the differences between verb tenses, sentence structure, etc. Includes instructions mostly in Spanish, but for more difficult sections, also includes instructions in English.

Essentially, the text clarifies almost every little nuance of grammar rules that you'd need to know - I'm glad I didn't have to ask the instructor every time I wanted to know something. With some books, you need to constantly work with someone (a teacher, instructor, etc.) who knows the language fluently. Not with this book - again, simply great.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2008
This is a great book. It is writen entirely in Spanish, so it is not the book for you if you are uncomfortable reading Spanish, or just not quite at the level to reading about grammar in it. It is very accurate, very well-written and explains some nice grammatical differences that I have not seen described in some other books I've used.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2008
This is an excellent grammar book that is based on guidelines for students progressing from intermediate to advanced levels
of proficiency in spanish composition. It's not just grammar but also a guide to better writing in spanish.
The way the book is structured differs from other grammar books in the way the information is ordered; It is divided on six level-appropriate types of composition:

1) Description: Present tense, nouns, adjectives, articles, linking verbs
2) Synopsis: nouns, direct and indirect object, reflexive pronouns, personal pronouns, imperative in the present
3) Personal Narrative: Past tenses, imperative in the past, method and time
4) Creative Narrative: Perfect tenses, future and conditional tenses
5) Exposition
6) Argumentation

The 7th, last part of the book consists of exercises.

The book is written mainly in spanish, using only a few english words here and there. It contains very good explanations instead of the plain grammar rules like most other books. The explanations are easy to follow and illustrated by examples. If you are looking to improve your writing skills and to UNDERSTAND spanish grammar instead of learing the rules by heart,
this book is for you
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
This book presents very clear explanations of grammatical concepts to reveal what a wonderful language Spanish is. I like that the text is in Spanish. It is extremely helpful in learning the intricacies of a foreign language.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2013
This book has all you need and then some! It will be the guide you need to continue perfecting the spanish langguage when it comes to writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2013
Great condition and very timely delivery. The book is extraordinary in its ability to simplify grammar and present it in such a
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2015
I used this book for my Spanish Grammar class at the Master's level.. the book is difficult to understand and follow. My other classmates from the USA and those from various countries in Latin America found it difficult too.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2009
I am currently using this text for my Advanced Spanish Grammar and Composition class. This book is not very good. Most explanations that this text gives are very short and do not go in depth on many topics. The exercises are not very helpful either. Many of the sentences you must construct or examples given are very silly and make absolutely no sense. I am a native Spanish speaker and I do not think this book is very user friendly. I also did not like the fact that the answers are not in the back of the book. This makes correcting ones mistakes very difficult to do. I do not agree with the other reviewers who said this book was good. It has some good things but overall I do not find myself recommending this book. Overall I can not recommend this book.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.