Customer Reviews


2,362 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,892)
4 star:
 (234)
3 star:
 (96)
2 star:
 (46)
1 star:
 (94)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


332 of 379 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Crime Saga and So Much More - An In Depth Review
**UPDATE**: The online is still being fixed and there are still frustrations, but I can finally provide insight into playing (not-so-nice) with others.

From the time I've started this game till now, I have enjoyed every single second of my journey. This is easily the game of the year, if not the decade. It is stunning graphically, pushing the PS3 to it's...
Published 14 months ago by Jessie Scott

versus
22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great open world simulation, OK game
My review can be summed up with this; GTA5 is a great simulation, open world environment where you can interact with almost everything. But it felt more like a demo than a full game. I guess I would have felt better if I was expecting a simulation where I could drive around and stare off into the sunset. I was expecting a complete and challenging game. GTA5 is going...
Published 13 months ago by Berlin L. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

332 of 379 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Crime Saga and So Much More - An In Depth Review, September 18, 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
**UPDATE**: The online is still being fixed and there are still frustrations, but I can finally provide insight into playing (not-so-nice) with others.

From the time I've started this game till now, I have enjoyed every single second of my journey. This is easily the game of the year, if not the decade. It is stunning graphically, pushing the PS3 to it's limits, and the world is seamless. If Rockstar never made another Grand Theft Auto, this could easily be the Magnum Opus of the series.

**SUMMARY**

Graphics: 5/5 - The game looks gorgeous. Rockstar truly captured the feel of Southern California and made each location look unique and believable. Cars, characters, waves, the city; it's truly amazing.

Audio: 5/5 - Every sound helps make the city feel alive. From the sound of foot steps to the hum of an engine, the acting and the audio is top notch.

Gameplay: 5/5 - The improvements are immediately noticeable. Any issues with previous iterations of Grand Theft Auto should be satisfied; the controls are tight and everything feels fluid and seamless. It's a joy to drive, run, shoot, and travel around Los Santos. Those with gripes about GTA IV: this plays and feels much better, cars handle much better. You will not be disappointed.

Story: 5/5 - One word - incredible. Since the moment I turned the game on I was engrossed with each character and wanting to find out what happens next to our intrepid anti-heroes/criminal upstarts. This is a crime saga that will not disappoint and the characters help to give the story depth and meaning. The only real drawback is that the story moves fast and is over quickly.

Online: 3/5 - Online is fantastic and fun, but there are some major frustrations too. Other players will mercilessly hunt you down and kill you - over and over again. You lose money each time you die, and players have become creative to bypass certain things like Passive Mode. When you do find a group of players who aren't simply looking to cause mayhem and grief, the missions range from fun to extremely frustrating. The ability to free roam with up to 16 other players is great, but Rockstar needs to make some changes in order to give the online portion long-term success.

Overall: 5/5 - This is the game to own, regardless of what system you have. With limitless replayability, a vast, realistic world to explore, so many things to do, and a AAA story, this belongs in the library of every gamer who does not mind an adult story and content. If you enjoyed the other GTA titles, or you enjoy the action and gripping story of games like Uncharted, Assassin's Creed and/or Red Dead Redemption then get this game.

**IN-DEPTH REVIEW**

Beginning:
When starting on the PS3 for the first time, expect a 10 to 15 minute install; story mode takes another 5 minutes to load. Once that is through, the game thrusts you into a heist as you learn the basic controls, most of which feel similar to GTA IV. You are also shown a new gameplay mechanic -- switching characters on the fly. To do this, press and hold the down d-pad button, then with the right stick select the character in the wheel that pops up you want to control. After the introduction, there are some cutscenes as the player is shown a little bit of Los Santos. Once the scene is over, the player is left with a mission for Franklin. Finish the mission, and the world is yours to explore.

Story:
Welcome to Los Santos, with all the glitz and glamor you've come to expect, but corruption and crime runs rampant under the surface. Our -ahem- heroes are Michael, a retired bank robber; Franklin, a repo man trying to do right and make his way up in the world; and Trevor, an unhinged, unpredictable maniac who used to run robberies with Michael. Michael is living the rich life with his dysfunctional family. Trevor is running repo jobs with his friend for a shady car salesman. Trevor is living in trailer park and causing mayhem trying to make some money. Each character is distinct, unique and and extremely interesting. You'll want to spend time with all three. The dialogue is well written and I found myself waiting to finish a mission or move into the highlighted spot until the characters were finished talking so I didn't miss anything.

Gameplay:
There are numerous improvements and upgrades to the classic Grand Theft Auto, all of which help makes a satisfying experience:

If you fail a section of a mission 3 times, can fast forward to next checkpoint - but don't have to. If there was a frustrating aspect, like having to place first in a race to advance the story, now you can skip the frustration and move the story along; you can go back and finish it later, or not at all.

Special Abilities and Character Switching:
Each character has a special ability used by pressing L3 + R3. As Michael, you can slow down time while shooting. Franklin can slow down time while driving and gain extremely improved maneuverability (my favorite!). Trevor can go into a rage reducing damage he takes, delivering more damage to enemies, and has a special melee attack. The new mechanic of switching characters on the fly adds new gameplay possibilities, and lets you experience each character's unique perspective during heists. This allows you to be flexible in approach, and when things turn sour, use quick thinking and reflexes to make it out alive utilizing each characters skills. When not actively engaged in a criminal plot, switching the character zooms out on one, and then refocuses over the other character and zooms in. The character is often just finished with something as you take control; for instance at one point Franklin was leaving a Strip Club and I switched to Trevor once to find him being thrown out of a women's clothing store, with a dress on, complaining about wanting to try it before he buys it. These little things help to make each character feel alive and like they are all engaged in their own schedules when you're not playing them.

Abilities:
Performing certain actions improves your abilities. These abilities include driving, shooting, flying, lung capacity and a few others. When improved, the character has better aim, can run longer, or better driving skills. Leveling each skill requires the player to perform specific actions, for instance, to get better at driving hit top speeds, have near misses and pop wheelies on motorcycles. To increase each character's special ability, keep using it. To get better with guns, either get head shots or head down to the firing range. The different activities around Los Santos can help increase the skills.

Shooting:
Shooting is easy to do as well, and the targeting system can be customized. A player can choose traditional GTA style shooting, assisted aim, and free aim. Enemies can be quickly switched between by flicking the R stick. I have mine set to traditional GTA, where I hit L2 to aim and it snaps to a target for a few seconds before going to free aim. Holding L1 slows down time and brings up the weapon wheel: press the R stick to select a weapon, press the right or left d-pad button to change to a different type of weapon (for instance selecting to use a knife instead of fists). Guns also can be customized once purchased and fitted with flashlights, larger magazines, and silencers. The variety of weapons is quite large.

Random missions are scattered around the map, which appear as question marks (?). These generally have story elements tied to them and help flesh out the characters and the world. There are also blue/red blips that will randomly appear and you can choose to participate by getting close. One random blip early on had me help two morons robbing a store get away and one of them told me to call them if I ever need muscle. You may encounter the same random event more than once, but there is a nice variety. Purse snatching seems to be pretty common.

Size and Activities:
Los Santos is BIG. Open the map in your game case if you have a physical copy. One side shows the big city close up, with the other showing the whole area. Once in game, looking at that map and zooming in, it was nearly overwhelming to see just how large the world is. Better yet, there are no barriers. You want to visit the mountains after the first mission? Go ahead. There is so much to do in Los Santos too. Visit the strip club (WARNING: unlike Liberty City, Los Santos is a fully topless region), golf, tennis, movies, tv, etc. You can shop to buy each character new outfits or visit a barber to give them a new look. Suspend your disbelief as a beardless character can order up facial hair for a few bucks. Invest in the Real Estate business and buy yourself an income property. Play the stock market, and keep an ear on the fluctuations in game. Some missions may have an affect on stock prices as well. Take your dirt bike off road and explore the wilderness.

Driving:
Driving can still be a pain sometimes, but the mechanics have been vastly improved over the last Grand Theft Auto. Top speeds in some vehicles are quite impressive, while driving large trucks is often very slow, but once at max speed it's hard to stop them. Each vehicle handles differently, so you may want to experiment until you find one you like. Pressing O locks on a target for a mission and it time is slightly slowed down to make maneuvering through traffic somewhat easier. Couple that with Franklin's ability to slow down time while driving and it makes chases fun and exciting. You'll be shouting with joy as you miss close calls and easily make that turn the biker just nailed at 90 degrees. There is Cinematic Camera during some missions that allows you to actual enjoy the action that's going on without having to worry about crashing the car, dealing with traffic, look where you're going, etc. It's easier to switch between the two modes with O. When the action heats back up, switch the camera and jump straight in.

Car Customization is in-depth with 15+ different categories that can be improved or changed. Some categories have sub-categories as well, like choosing different color patterns such as metallic, matte, etc. Some are cosmetic, but many have other benefits as well, like protective armor or better handling. Car aficionados will enjoy tinkering every detail on their car.

Missions:
Missions are filled with great banter and are a lot of fun. While difficult, they are still accessible for even casual gamers. At the end of each mission there is a score based on what actions were completed, such as not receiving a single scratch on a vehicle for instance. This score can range from 0% (though I've always gotten around 50% so far) to 100% for doing each action. Missions can be replayed at any time, so don't feel the need to hit the 100% mark the first time through. In fact, I'd recommend not worrying about achieving 100% and just enjoy the atmosphere and story and come back to it later.

Heists:
Heists are extremely enjoyable and you get your first taste in the introduction. These are in-depth, multiple part missions that let you case the place you're going to rob, select a crew, and determine how you want to approach the robbery and get away with a lot of money. Each crew member has pros and cons, those with less developed skills may take more time to break into a place, but ask for a smaller cut. Likewise, the higher skilled, higher cut crew members could always break in quicker and allow for a bigger payout. During the mission, you can switch between characters as desired to see from their perspective, or to help one of the other guys out of a jam. Have Franklin run in and when he gets into a jam, switch to Michael to provide cover fire and support. After the guys retrieve their score, switch to Franklin to land the helicopter and make their get away.

Rockstar goes outside the game to have an application and website that affects the game, iFruit and LifeInvader (their version of iPhone and Facebook). You can use iFruit to train and improve Chop, a dog that Franklin ends up with. Use LifeInvader to get discounts in game by clicking on the links when logged in and associated with your Social Club account.

Audio:
Phenomenal job. Every sound breathes life and atmosphere into the game, whether you're listening to the high quality radio stations or enjoying a stroll downtown. A woman walked by on the sidewalk in high heels - I could every "clack clack clack" as she strutted by. I'm playing with a basic stereo set up, so I'm sure it sounds even more vibrant and alive in a full surround mode. The voice actors do a fantastic job bringing the characters to life. I have no complaints here.

Graphics:
It looks like Grand Theft Auto, but better. The structure design and layout is what you'd expect from a GTA, but the textures have been vastly improved. Little details have been added to the world to make it feel more alive, I was noticing drains in the street and small potted plants. These small additions might not seem much, but added up together really enhance the world. I found myself looking at distant building with lights on during the night, or admiring the foliage as I drove down towards the beach. Random NPCs walking around are a bit less detailed than main characters, but have a great variety of different models/looks. The vehicles look better than ever too. Random weather (slow down time with Franklin's special ability during a thunderstorm, it's pretty awesome), night and day cycles, lights with the right amount of bloom to look believe - it all helps to pull you into Los Santos. Some of the textures are noticeably low resolution when close up, but thankfully the action is often to frantic and fast paced you won't have time to stare. Also, I have not noticed any lag or hiccups while traversing the world.

**ONLINE**
You start by creating a player. Choosing the grand parents from a set list influences the looks of your parents which will in turn influence your appearance. You cannot make strange looking freaks ala Saints Row. Once out of creation, you pick your skills by allocating what you do in a 24 hour day, in half hour increments. These will decide your starting statistics which you increase like in the single player game, by using them. They advance slowly however, so don't expect to max out the skills in a day.

Once done with basic tutorial mode, you're free to roam around Los Santos stealing, robbing, and killing. There are blue circles and indicators on the map where you can play missions, death matches, races, parachuting, and other activities like tennis. You can kill other players you meet as well, though doing so might result in each of you chasing each other down endlessly for no other purpose than to "get back at them" - do so at your own risk. And indeed, there is risk...

Dying online reduces the amount of money you've accrued by a certain %. This amount caps off at $2000, but that is still a big chunk and can fall quickly when caught in a griefing session another player or players. Passive mode doesn't work exactly as intended either. While players can't shoot you, stab you, or other weapon related activities, they can run you over and will. This is frustrating, especially when you spawn nearby and they're ready to run you down again.

Different types of activities scattered across Los Santos. Take part in custom races (bikes, cars, boat), custom death matches (teams, free for all), survival (10 waves of enemies), and missions (objective and co-operative). Races, parachuting, survival, and some co-op missions can be done solo. You can earn money doing survival and co-op missions solo, but not for the races/etc. You can rob stores by pointing a gun at the clerk (if you have a headset, yell into the mic for a fun surprise!). Buy clothes at the different stores and make your online criminal persona a unique snowflake.

There are a lot of little nuances as well, a staggering amount really. You can charitably give money from your bank account to other players, drop a gun or ammo for another player, split money from a recent robbery/activity (or not and get hunted down by pissed off partners), put bounties on players so they are mercilessly hunted down, text other players in game, etc. You can put a tracking device on your car so you can locate it easily, and buy insurance to recover it for a small fee if destroyed. You can customize your ride at a Los Santos Customs garage. You can also buy property: garages to store your vehicles are the cheapest, and apartments to relax or lay low in which also features more car space. You can allow certain people to utilize your vehicle (like friends, crew, everyone or no one) and can determine who you want to hear you if you have a mic (same options).

Doing jobs and taking part in activities earns a player Reputation Points (RP) which is like experience points. When you reach a new rank, you unlock customization - new hairstyles, clothes, weapons, weapon parts, tattoos, car customization, etc. The higher the rank, the more options available. Higher ranks also allow players to take place in more missions and earn new contacts. Some contacts offer invaluable services. For instance, at Rank 10 you receive Lester as a contact and he allows you place bounties on other players.

One minor note: I don't think the Stealth skill helps you against other players in the Free Roam mode. It may assist in death matches (your blip not appearing unless you make loud sounds like firing a gun or running). So in Free Roam, I would not be concerned with slinking around other players. Still useful to hide from the cops though.

--Rockstar is still working the kinks out and listening to player's feedback. Some of the gripes/issues with multiplayer MAY OR MAY NOT be addressed in the future. As of right now, this is how it was intended originally and what it's like.--

**PARENTS PLEASE NOTE - THIS IS -NOT- A GAME FOR KIDS. THERE IS EXCESSIVE CURSING, VIOLENCE, NUDITY, AND ADULT THEMES! PLEASE READ THE LABEL AND UNDERSTAND THIS IS A MATURE GAME MEANT FOR THOSE OVER THE AGE OF 17. PLEASE BE RESPONSIBLE WHEN HELPING TO SELECT A GAME FOR YOUNGER CHILDREN.**

If you have any questions, or feel that I've left anything out, please leave a comment! Enjoy!

Updated: 9/22/2013 for clarity, wording, and structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


165 of 217 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one you have been waiting for (no spoilers), September 17, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
If you have ever enjoyed a GTA in the past you will enjoy this one. ( review edited/updated 9/24)

If you have ever stopped playing GTA due to some frustrating flaws then you may be pleasantly surprised by the changes this time around.

After playing part four there were a few things that turned me off and reduced my playtime. I am so excited to share that two of my main frustrations have been fixed.

If you have been following the media and the leaks on this game than you know it's beautiful and you have a good ideas as to wether or not its something you want to play.

Things I didn't know before:
- Probably the single most impressive thing to me that wasn't bragged about is that when you start this game up it will load up your new session. After this you most likely won't see a loading screen again without restarting the game. The world is huge and I have no idea how they have accomplished this.

- You will no longer have to drive from your house to the starting point if a mission over and over again each time you fail it. This will save you a large amount of frustration. There is a lot of content here so there is no need for you to waste time with repetition.

- You can now completely skip a portion of the mission. If you fail three times then you will be given the option to jump past a portion of the mission and move forward. There is a point penalty but I can be worth it if it saves you from pulling out all of your hair.

Most noticeable improvement.

- the cars drive excellently. GTAIV had the cars feeling as if they have four wheel drive while on ice. The cars this time around have a really nice weight to them. It's hard not to feel like you are in a solid racing game while driving around the beautiful city.

Bugs/issues

So far I have not experienced any of the bugs that other people have mentioned on here. The game has not frozen at all for me. In previous games I feel like I used to get trapped when trying to enter cars but so far I have had no issues.

Graphics

This game is absolutely stunning. There is so much detail and you really feel that the city is alive. Ever area seems detailed and important. One thing to note is that if you live or have lived in LA you will feel that you are right at home. They have been able to perfectly condense the city in order for you to recognize your surroundings.

One thing to note is that it is hard to feel sometimes that the game is running completely smoothly. At times the system seems to chug a bit. There are odd little pauses and sometimes textures load a little but blurry for a moment. I want to say that this is not a Viking but rather more of a symptom of this game being designed for more advanced hardware . The hope here is that they are planning for ps4/Xbox one versions but so far there isn't a formal plan announced.

One area where the graphics are behind the earlier games is with the car destruction. It is far less realistic looking but with all of the other advancements that are found here you won't miss it.

More to come

This game has a multiplayer portion that isn't available yet. Rockstar has stated that it should be working in early October. There are a lot of promises for the online portion and when that comes out it should be the icing on the cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to the hype and deserves it., September 17, 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Picked this game up at midnight. Granted I have a young child and I'm married I wasn't up all night but I have put about 8 hours(maybe 9) into this game so far. After that many hours I've only made 9.8% progress so far(9 hours may not seem like a lot but any given CoD game I would've beat by then and then some). The world is massive. I mean take GTA IV and Red Dead Redemption, combine them and then add a forest. Then you will have GTA V. My time was spent exploring the changing world, taking in sights, getting wanted levels, dying randomly, playing sports and doing misc. civilian missions. I've only seen maybe 7% of the North part of the map(the wooded areas). I can't wait to go hunting either.
With a game of this scale I can already tell I'll be playing it for months without getting bored and don't even get me started on how many times I'll probably replay it. That's saying a lot too, with all the games out there that only last 6-8 hours to get through and after you're done...you've done everything there is to do.
I would say the only downside to this masterpiece is that it's a bit easier to die than it was in previous GTA titles. Which isn't even a downside really, more of a nitpick. They also added the "save anytime' feature except when you're in a mission, which is very convenient. Switching between characters is fun, something that will def. keep the game constantly fresh.
Don't listen to the hipsters who just don't like being part of a crowd, who say this game is a letdown. It really doesn't get any better than this. Coming from someone who loves action, open world and shooter games...this game does not disappoint in any way.
They haven't even introduced multiplayer yet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Can't review, must play game. Must fight sleep. Must fight hunger. Must continue to play game. Will call in sick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great open world simulation, OK game, October 4, 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
My review can be summed up with this; GTA5 is a great simulation, open world environment where you can interact with almost everything. But it felt more like a demo than a full game. I guess I would have felt better if I was expecting a simulation where I could drive around and stare off into the sunset. I was expecting a complete and challenging game. GTA5 is going to get good reviews and it may be a top ten ever game, I just wish they did more than improve the visuals and expand the map. The graphics, the textures, the movie sequences, the voice acting, the kinematic sequences, NPC characters driving and walking around are all great and probably superior to most other open world games, but that is all the praise I can give. The actual game or any challenges in the game are non-existent. There are no challenges in the side missions, there aren't any challenges in the main missions. And for an open world, everything is heavily scripted. Pick up this thing, here is the route, shoot at this guy, here is the gun, get in the plane, fly there, buy this, steal this. Even if they didn't give the exact directions, even the toughest missions have you picking up 'car X' or 'car Y'. Well how hard is that? So what about the actual combat in the more comprehensive heist style missions? The combat is definitely improved since the other GTAs and I am glad they give you the ability to crouch behind a wall, release and fire. But this combat AI is laughable. You may have 10-20 enemy guys out there but only one or two will shoot at time and awkwardly move to the next barrier. The only challenge is that they throw dozens of characters at you but most can be taken out easily. It all feels so scripted and almost boring.

I have some suggestions for the next GTA. I wish the world was truly interactive. Like Fallout or Obvlivion, give the random NPC characters names and profiles. Just like most average open world games developed in the last 20 years, the NPC characters in GTA5 randomly appear and go through their script. It would be interesting if you randomly shot mayor Bob Jones of Los Santos and there is a funeral and media discussion, the city drops into chaos because the mayor is dead. In Fallout, you can kill quest characters and just make due without that story line. Also, I like how in Fallout, water, ammunition and misc items are all necessary to complete the game. There is no reset button, if your character sucks or you can't gather the right items, it will be difficult progressing.

With the GTA5 heist missions, you pick one or two members of the crew, out of a selection of two. You pick up this truck, go through this entrance, shoot this guys, maybe the army or swarm of police show up. But the game pushes you, what to get, where to go, how to get away. How about this, rob this bank and that is it, if you screw up, you get to try a different strategy.

- PROS:

* Great world, great graphics
* Great voice acting, interesting characters
* Semi-interesting story between the three characters
* Combat is finally improved
* Sometimes the heavily scripted NPC characters do funny stuff

- CONS:

* Interaction with the open world is heavily scripted and purely stateless. When you kill someone, start a fight with a gang member and die, everything resets. It would be nice if it didn't operate that way. It would be interesting if you kill a police member then the police go out of their way to screw with you for the rest of the game
* Most of the game or side-missions feel like yet another adventure game. Click a, b, move the joystick up, repeat, mission complete.
* Combat is improved but the enemy AI is not very robust. I died in the game, but I never had to improve my strategy to complete any mission. I just went through the motions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tips for new players & Finally digital games cheaper than physical copies, I LOVE THIS GAME., November 28, 2013
At the time of writing this review you can get a digital copy for PS3 for cheaper than a physical copy And I'm so glad this is finally happening. I'm of the opinion that physical copies of games should be more expensive than digital copies. And also this is the best way to gift copies of games.

To redeem the code: All you have to do is take the code that Amazon sends you (You might have to go in your account and look up your digital purchases to get the code) login to the PlayStation network store scroll down the left hand side to redeem code button at the bottom, and you're all set.

Another thing that's great about digital copies on the PlayStation network is that when you want to upgrade to next generation versions of games you don't have to swap the disk from one console to the other. Like with call of duty ghosts if you bought it for PS3 on disk you can upgrade to the PS4 version but you need to move the disk from the PS3 to the PS4. But I bought the digital version and no disk is required in both consoles have the full game. Now the reason is important is I believe that eventually will see a next-generation version of GTA 5 and if you bought it on the PS3 I'm sure they'll have a cheap upgrade option.

Grand Theft Auto 5 is my first GTA I've ever played and it is amazing. The open world is incredible and really will blow your mind if you've never experienced what Grand Theft Auto can do. It truly is breathtaking and find myself in awe at just what this game can do. And the hours upon hours of gameplay you can have with GTA5 really is nearly limitless. If you can get this game for under $40 I think that is so worth the price.

Here are a few tips if you're just starting out in single player and online.

For single player: making money in single player isn't really hard but here's something that can help you. At a certain time in the game you meet a character named Lester and he'll have you do assassination missions. These missions will affect the stock market that's in grand theft auto you will want to invest in the company's Lester tells you to. Once you complete the mission wait about 12 game hours maybe 18 and then sell your stock. it's definitely an easy way to make some loot in the game and can really maximize your profits.

I wouldn't recommend investing in any of the businesses in the game they are really a hassle and they take hundreds of weeks to pay themselves off. One thing you definitely want to do is invest in Los Santos customs with your character Franklin buying that store allow you to get free upgrades for your car which will pay for themselves 100 times over. This also allows you to see just how cars are affected by certain parts without investing your hard-earned money on it. Even though it's located outside of the city it's always worth the drive.

One last thing when you're doing heists be sure to select the best people for the job at hand. You have to pay them more but in the end you make out with more because if you choose somebody who's a low level they usually get nabbed by the cops and you lose their portion anyway. So always get the best people for all the heist that you do.

For multiplayer: making money in multiplayer can be a challenge but I would recommend a few things. First be very careful when entering multiplayer for the first time your character is weak and everybody else is really strong. I would recommend starting and " invite only session" the way you do this as you load single player hit the start button go to online and then click on create invite only session. The benefits of this are you'll be by yourself on the map all the multiplayer options are available unlike if you start "solo multiplayer game".

Be sure to visit all of the characters that are introduced to you via your phone. Usually their marked on the screen with an L or a T. Because visiting these people allows you access to different things and multiplayer. One example is I hadn't met everybody when I first started playing online I kind of just robbed convenience stores and did some races and I never saw an armored truck which are great for making loot. On my second play through I started visiting all those areas marked on the map and lo and behold I opened up some of things that were previously not showing up in my first characters gameplay. So make sure you do that.

Also I found a nice way to level up is using the gang wars battles. they are areas marked on the map and their only active for an eight hour period every game day. With these battles you get about two grand and 500 RP ( grand theft auto's equivalent of experience points or XP). But also you get tons of free ammo which is nice. Just Google gang attack map to find one that shows you every location.

I have something robbing convenience stores is an easy way to make money be sure to hold your gun on the store owner while he empties the cash into the bag. This gets you the most cash and by holding your gun on him he moves faster. If you have a microphone you can get them to move even faster simply by yelling at him or just blowing into your microphone. Personally I belong in the my mic verse talking to him but if I do talk to him I tell him he looks attractive!

Also when you start up grand theft auto five online you get to create a character. When you're doing this one Of advice I can give is Max your stats out in regards to strength and lung capacity. These are two of the most difficult stats to build up in the game whereas driving is the easiest. When I started my first character I mistakenly buffed up the driving stat which was stupid because that stack can get buffed just by driving around whereas strength you actually had to physically assault people which takes forever. So be sure to do that I think you invest hours into partying and that bus strengths you'll understand what I'm saying when you start this game up.

Buy a 10 car garage this is a must. There are different garages and apartments all that hold varying amounts of cars. I have always saved up to 230 grand and bought the 10 car garage. The reason it's important to have a 10 car garage is that you can stuff cars you want to sell later in this garage and it helps you pay for the more expensive property. I'd recommend the $230,000 apartment that's right in the middle of the city because it has easy access to the helipads and is a straight shot to Los Santos customs.

One last thing you can do is sell cars to Los Santos customs the in game auto body shop. You can sell one car every 48 real-life minutes (24 in game hours). The cars can range from anywhere from $1000-$9000. The most expensive being SUVs for the most part. While you're playing identify what cars of the best price tag and then be sure to keep an eye out for them and when you see them spawning stuff them in your garage. Then what I do is a semi-iPhone alarm for 48 real minutes and then once the alarm goes off I reset it and sell a car. Doing this will net you an easy 100k per day.

If you're really hard up for money you can buy cash cards from the in game store menu. Now $100,000 will cost you $3 and you can buy $1.25 million for $20. Now I'm not somebody that would drop that coin for in game currency but you might want to. You can also buy $500,000 for $10 and if you're going to drop real coin on fake cash I think $500,000 would be the perfect amount as you can instantly by an apartment with 10 car garage.

Also be sure to download the GTA5 app to your iPhone or android device. The reason is that you get a free supercar that you can buy in multiplayer and you can add custom license plates to your automobiles in single player and multiplayer and that's kind of cool.

Those are just a few tips if you're new to Grand Theft Auto 5 definitely I want to encourage you to be cautious when entering online for the first time as you may get utterly destroyed. I hope you enjoyed this review I do love this game and I hope you do too.

Thanks for reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Escapists Dream, October 28, 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Grand Theft Auto V seems to me to be the perfect way to cap off an outstanding generation of gaming. The PlayStation 3 has seen so many fantastic and deep RPG's, from Mass Effect to Skyrim to Red Dead Redemption and finally GTA V. As each of those games offer very different looks into very different genres, sci-fi, high fantasy, western and modern crime, they all give a very real sense of role playing. While some of those other games actually take you to another time period or planet, GTA V keeps you somewhat grounded in reality.

If I had to use one word to characterize this game it would be 'heist'. This game, is all about heists. If you have ever wondered what it would be like to take a big score, Grand Theft Auto V shows you exactly how it would feel. I think the single biggest production to influence this game was the movie Heat (even in the music), which was a great blueprint to use. Second biggest influence might be Point Break. There are probably more pop culture references in this game than any other piece of media in the world, which definitely dates it.

I am a harsh judge when it comes to the Grand Theft Auto games because the experience they are trying to create endeavors to be so genuine, I want to make sure it actually is. I have a few criticisms for the game as far as things you can and cannot do in the story that you probably should be able to do like sell cars you customize, buy different houses (at least 5), be able to purchase a wider variety of businesses (owning an Up N Atom burger might be nice), being able to buy more clothing/accessories (really missed not being able to buy a $300k Audemars) and several other small functional things.

The voice acting was excellent, the world is huge and there is almost an infinite amount of things to do in Los Santos and Blaine County. Overall, the 3 main character narrative (even though I'm not really a fan of Trevor) was the perfect way to tell this massive, violent and gritty story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Obviously good, but far from perfect, November 3, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I got this game on its release date, but am only now deciding to write a relatively short review. Once the awe of experiencing a new and improved GTA wore off (especially after 5 years) and having gotten used to everything it has to offer, I'm not quite as ga-ga over it anymore. Don't get me wrong, it's an excellent stand-alone game, and so much has been said about it in countless reviews, so I'm not going to go into everything that you can do in the game and such.

In regards to the characters, Michael is my favorite. Though it's frustrating because as the story progress, he's often rueful and guilt-ridden of what he is getting into and the bad things he is doing, but makes no effort to remedy his behavior! Every time I want to get behind him, Rockstar writes in a mission where, in the midst of a score (you know Michael Mann's "Heat" was a big inspiration for the developers) I'm required to empty dozens of clips into countless cops and military. And you kill A LOT of cops in the game. And because it's all so realistic, as I'm doing it I take a look at it objectively and am just like, "jeez, I'm wiping out entire precincts here!" Guys that serve the country and have families. And you just eliminate them as if exterminating insects. There's still a bit of a discrepancy between story and gameplay. Now, many people for some reason seem to like Trevor, but I've grown to despise him. He's a whiny, hypocritical, self-righteous scum bag that thinks he's better than everyone else, and seems to always take the moral high ground while doing the dirty work of monsters - a trait common in Rockstar's characters. In many a scene, he's loudly sermonizing and perpetually giving Michael grief (who I know is no saint); no matter what Michael says, he has a problem with it and starts going off. It then becomes literally every time the two are in a cut-scene together; they're worse than a married couple. During just about every cut scene involving the two men, especially towards the story's home stretch, I'd roll my eyes like, "Oh, God, shut up!". I don't see how those two were ever friends. And Franklin? Well, he is just, there. He's the shoe-in black guy who they try to make seem intelligent and "above" his bust-a-cap South Central-esque kinsman, despite him really being no different. Thankfully the voice actors - mainly those of the three protagonists - are absolutely superb; they really rope you into the drama and majorly sell it.

Another thing, the graphics are not consistently beautiful. They are definitely at their best during early morning and early evening hours (the natural lighting is incredible and the game's visual's best feature), but in between, especially at say, high noon and overcast, low-res textures and blocky objects are ubiquitous and obvious. The vehicles are extremely realistic, as well as the main character models, but too often they will be contrasted by last-gen textures, chunky environmental areas and pop-in. The lighting and realism saves it, but I guess I kind of was expecting more, especially since the game isn't really as big as it was sold as being. I mean it's substantial, but Rockstar was gloating about how this was going to have the largest open-world map of any game. No, it does not; Just Cause 2 has the largest ever made, and even sports superior draw distance with far less pop-in (especially impressive being a 2010 game). One other thing, I know that this is trivial, but why don't they ever make the characters have an animation for shifting gears while in a vehicle? I know they put in a noise for it, but it takes me out of the realism when I suddenly go from drive to reverse and see my character's hands not even leaving the steering wheel. You'd think that at this point, with all the other subtle details they've cumulatively put in open-worlders over the years, that they'd include that. It would also have been nice if you could sit on benches and such; I've always liked that sort of thing, like in L.A. Noir. It would be cool if I could have Michael take a break on a bench or chair to rest and take a drag on a cigarette while checking texts or emails. Again, trivial, but I'd like to see things like that in future GTA's.

Anyway, my rant is over. I just wanted to express a few things that I don't see anyone else touching on. Though this truly is a very high quality game, and a more-than-adequate fifth installment, but sometimes I just don't quite feel that it lives up to the hype and its five-plus years in the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest games ever made!, December 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Rockstar have raised the gold standard for the sandbox genre to seemingly unattainable heights for not just their competitors, but even themselves.

Topping Red Dead Redemption was always going to prove to be a mighty feat with unreasonable fan expectations, but Rockstar didn’t just admit defeat and nonchalantly pump out another entry into the cultural phenomenon that is Grand Theft Auto, they took this as a challenge and delivered on unearthly expectations and hype.

After spending roughly 50 hours in Los Santos and Blaine County, I come to you writing this review with my own sky high expectations blown out of the water. For some additional perspective, I’m nowhere near ready to satisfyingly shelve the game and prepare for new releases or consoles as there’s still so much more exhilarating content to experience. Simply put, Grand Theft Auto V will go down in the history books as a landmark in gaming and one of the very best games ever created.

Ambition and originality highlight the adventure in a myriad of ways but most notably with the enormous undertaking of crafting a game with roughly 100 hours of content around not one, but three unique and distinct protagonists with their own intertwining life issues. Michael is a retired professional thief stuck in a midlife crisis constantly at odds with his family, Franklin works a dead end job repossessing vehicles whilst desperately struggling to escape the urban lifestyle, and finally, there’s Trevor who is pleasantly psychotic and amongst being the most colorful character in the game, he’s also one of the most entertaining characters in all of gaming embodying everything the GTA franchise is about.

I’m not going to delve too far into the plot because how everything unfolds; even from the very beginning is one of the most fascinating aspects of the game. All you really need to know is that you will be flipping between this criminal band of heroes in a series of elaborate missions and dangerous heists that feel ripped out of a movie to ultimately get rich and exercise some personal demons.

Among these intriguing central themes are much more riveting plot points that touch upon everything from dysfunctional families, celebrity sycophancy, government morality, feminism, social media, torture, and overall brilliant satire of modern America. Every single scene, mission, and character is just ripe with provocative social commentary in traditional GTA comedic fashion, but this time around it’s relevant and intelligently nailed to a point that directly speaks to the player. These are all things you naturally would not expect from a GTA game but surprisingly they exist and greatly add to what is probably one of the most compelling narratives in all of gaming.

Everything is also heightened from the fact that GTA V is just so damn fun to play. Shooting has received a drastic cosmetic overhaul taking cues from both Red Dead Redemption and Max Payne 3, complete with helpful cover and a weapon wheel. You can also toggle multiple aiming settings that include a traditional aiming system allowing you to flip between softly locked on targets. Fundamental control schemes aren’t all the upgrades though as you can now shoot gasoline in the environment to ignite a fire which hopefully leads to an explosion.

Seamlessly switching between Michael, Franklin, and Trevor during frenetic firefights can not only prove to be advantageous but also cinematically intense. The most well-known example of this is sniping as Franklin while Michael snatches a hostage whilst rappelling down a towering corporate building but without spoiling anything, this highly touted feature is executed remarkably well.

Each protagonist is also given a special ability that suits their personality and role in a completely new feature to the franchise. Michael can slow down time in a firefight similar to Max Payne in his franchise but without all the stylistic John Woo inspired diving. Trevor can enter a state of berserk granted with the buff of dishing out double damage and having all damage taken halved. Franklin’s ability goes in a different direction allowing him to slow down time while driving.

All of these special abilities are highly useful and can be taken advantage of when in a pinch; in some ways they almost make the combat too easy especially considering the ability gauges recharge fairly quickly and your health already will always regenerate to halfway when nearly dead. Nevertheless, it’s an awesome feature and anything that mixes Max Payne into GTA can’t be a bad thing.

Driving was given a lot of flak in GTA IV as the cars essentially felt like you were skating on ice so Rockstar dialed the unwaveringly required precision back a notch so that every method of transportation is more user friendly and accessible but doesn’t play completely arcadey. You’re still going to need skill for the various racing activities but for the most part, everything is balanced in a manner that should satisfy everyone. That goes for every method of transportation too, whether it’s driving, flying, exploring the deep sea with a submarine, or cycling on a bike.

My only real issue at first wasn’t necessarily with the driving mechanics but rather evading the police. Maybe I’m just an oblivious idiot but the game doesn’t properly explain how to effectively ditch the fuzz, and leaves you just trying to burn rubber and leave them in the dust when in actuality it’s about sneakily hiding whether they’re far back behind you or in the immediate area. Once I became accustomed to playing hide and go seek with the LSPD however, it became thrilling to engage with them in ways that actually felt fair which is a rarity for the franchise.

Exploring Los Santos with or without the LSPD breathing down your neck is an enthralling activity as well. We all were aware that GTA V would boast a map larger in scale than Red Dead Redemption and GTA IV but the gravity of that statement doesn’t resonate until you get out there and start searching around. Aside from San Andreas (which is coincidentally the setting of GTA V as well) I’ve never found a disconnect in a sandbox game that instills a feeling that I’m traveling great distances and am drifting away into a new locale entirely.

The glamorous and Hollywood style appeal of Los Santos separated with rural America and vast deserts complimented each other in ways that serve as a testament to just how expansive the sandbox is. I haven’t even commented on the insane attention to detail yet but am still perplexed that while the credits rolled, the game was fading in and out of areas such as underwater ruins that I hadn’t even given a seconds thought about exploring yet.

Assisting how remarkable the world already is on sheer scope are arguably the greatest graphics we have ever seen on consoles. The sun shines off of metallic vehicle paint jobs, advertisements and billboards litter the city, character models have outstanding motion capture and facial expressions, and astounding levels of detail touch every object in the game from trees to clothing. Getting in a helicopter and rising to a high altitude only to casually fly around and sightsee from above is breathtaking and mesmerizing, especially when factoring in how vast the game’s draw distance is. They say a picture is worth a thousand words, something that wholeheartedly applies to the visuals in GTA V.

Physics are also out of this world impressive as GTA V runs on an enhanced version of Max Payne 3’s RAGE engine which astonishingly allows for unprecedented and lifelike ragdoll reactions to bullets, punches, head on vehicle collisions, falling, and more. Every single reaction is different, almost as if real life nerves are being simulated. Whatever is going on, it’s damned impressive and constantly keeps the interactivity from feeling stiff or dull.

If you’re more about partaking in actual activities instead of sightseeing then fear not, because Rockstar have once again gone above and beyond the call of duty with seemingly endless amounts of entertaining side content. Right off the bat, the inspiration from Red Dead Redemption is evident as the Strangers and Freaks line of side quests return in which you encounter all sorts of warped and idiosyncratic characters that either may want you to stalk celebrities, help legalize marijuana (these missions are incredibly out there and amusing), do some extreme sports, and more.

To further flesh out each main protagonist they even are granted their own individual missions with most strangers. There are also numerous random events in the world ranging from hijackings to assisting robberies to driving home hitchhikers and more. It seems as if around every corner is something to distract yourself with.

Also returning by popular demand is the ability to buy property ranging from bars to movie theaters to the taxi company but in all honestly it’s rather disappointingly useless save for the Los Santos Customs which allows for free car modifications upon buying it. I suppose money is more of a novelty than anything in the game, constantly pushing the plot forward. There are some really nifty and revolutionary things you can do with money though besides buy a golf course that you’ll never use, like trying your hands on the stock market.

From each character’s cell phone dubbed the iFruit is an internet app that lets you browse a fictionalized and satirical version of the internet. You can buy cars that will be directly delivered to your garage, check on some in game news, and generally get lost in another ridiculously detailed feature of the game but the most intriguing is the interactive stock market. Players with a broader awareness of what’s going on during the story will most likely invest in corporations that may be positively affected by a mission. If you’re planning a jewelry heist it’s probably wise to invest in their rival.

There’s also a fully competent Tennis mini-game to play which is miles more entertaining than Bowling from GTA IV, which probably stems from the fact that Rockstar has experience with creating actual Tennis games. Playing Darts is also mildly amusing as are the interactive strip club private dance mini-games. You also have your traditional races that come in multiple methods of transportation ranging from cars to boats to ATV’s to jet skis.

By far the biggest addition however in terms of side content is something once again derived from Red Dead Redemption; the ability to go hunting. Animals frequently roam around the forests and more rural areas of the game. Some will most likely inevitably become road kill as you unintentionally squash them as they trample on in front of you whilst you’re blazing down the road. If you ever get the itch to do it more professionally though you can acquire a calling whistle which points you in the right direction of elk, bobcats, mountain lions, and whatever else is roaming around out there.

If you’re more interested in zanier activity it’s already proven that you can find Bigfoot (for real this time around) or go hunting for the 50 spaceship parts scattered around the world. Trevor can also go on Rampages (yes, they are indeed back), or pick up hitchhikers and mischievously take them to some cannibals living way up in the mountains, or accept bail bond bounty missions. Maybe you feel like investigating a murder mystery too or jumping through hoops to join a religious cult. There is just so much to do that it’s nigh impossible for any review to cover absolutely everything but I can tell you one thing; once I’m finally done writing this review I’m jumping back in to get lost again.

Aside from looking good and playing good, GTA V sounds exceptional too. I’m not just referring to the cavalcade of gunshots and explosions either but more subtle things, like the shattering of glass or yelps of animals meeting their demise under your tires. The voice acting from a relatively unknown cast is fantastic mitigating the initial disappointment that Rockstar didn’t contract any major celebrities this time around.

This also marks the first time that a GTA game has ever had an orchestrated musical score to emphasize critical plot points instead of just having nothingness or a random song on the radio play. Speaking of the radio stations, there are 15 amounting to a whopping rough estimate of 250 songs, so there’s potentially something for everyone.

Winding down this review (finally), I think it’s no understatement when I say that GTA V might have the most content ever in a video game that isn’t an MMO or something without end. The story is smart and socially relevant satire with unforgettable characters, pitch perfect gameplay, and unbelievable graphics that will undoubtedly rival the early days of the next generation. Rockstar have gone above and beyond shattering sales records and deservedly so, for I firmly believe that GTA V will live on as one of the greatest games of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good rebound in the right direction!, September 18, 2013
By 
xXRespawnINCXx (Lajes Field, Azores) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Having played games for many years, I have come across some good ones, I have found some great ones, and I have those that flop. GTA 4 was a flop to me (though I did enjoy the Lost and the Damned DLC). However after finally getting my hands on this one I would happily rate this one a 5 out of 5.

Performance: When discussing performance along with many other points, I will continually be bringing up the aging consoles. The game runs smoothly, but not always perfect. Rarely but with the right factors, you will notice a slow up of frames. Loading times are hidden with the only one I experienced seeing being when I chose to skip a taxi ride and go straight to the destination. This creates a very seamless feel in trying to keep you in the world as much as possible.

Graphics: Graphically speaking, one must first look at the hardware that is being utilized. With that being said, Rockstar has taken huge leaps and clearly put alot of time into polishing their graphics. The textures are clean and the world is very bright.

Sound: The sound takes some messing with to get everything just how you want it. The sound from my vehicle was at first so loud that I couldnt hear the radio or commentary from pedestrians I passed by. However as always the radio is a staple of humor to an already amazing game. Other sounds that are noticeable go towards making the world seem full. All of the background audio really goes to breathe life into an already visually full city.

Gameplay: This I will break down into subsections to best address each characteristic of GTA.

--The world: Simply put, this world feels vibrant and just overall beautiful. You feel like your in a true city with traffic and pedestrians. The detail given into making this so nicely built leaves me questioning just how much chaos I want to cause while roaming the map.

--Driving: Driving, as stated in many reviews before mine, feels much more refined. While not a complete driving simulation, of which I am thankful for, it does offer a better feeling of weight in your vehicle. This is not to say you wont find yourself fishtailing in certain vehicles but the overall dimensions of driving feels much better. This also goes while riding on a motorcycle. For the first time I truly feel like there is weight to the motorcycle creating a better sense of how you are weaving in and out of traffic.

--Shooting: The Shooting mechanics have been given a decent overhaul as well. You are able to turn on/off aim assist depending on your preferences. The only negative I have found too weapons in the game is that the shotgun is unrealistically accurate even at long ranges and usually will result in a one shot kill.

--Character stats: While very basically put in I have found that I really enjoy progressing my characters stats. Each character has a unique set of skills that make them better in given situations but the ability to progress your characters stats by utilizing the stats makes this a very enjoyable experience.

--The Trio: Rockstars decision to create three versus the usual one protagonist creates a truly different experience. While I have found no character story that I love, I do love having the option of moving away from a character for a time to get lost in anothers story. It also creates interest in just finding out what your other protagonists have been doing with their time while you are away.

--The Story: This part I have not advanced much on but I have overall enjoyed each mission that I have been apart of. I will avoid any details on this though to avoid any spoilers. Still for a GTA game, I find this is the most interesting story they have ever delivered.

In summary, I feel that this is an amazing game. Sure there are some flaws, but the overall game more then makes up for the issue here or there. Rockstar has created a game that, in my opinion, will easily withstand time. This is going to be a benchmark as to how to build a game right. With easy replayability and a multiplayer portion that has not been released yet I expect to put alot of time in this world. I am still early on in the game so I am sure I have missed things, but I hope that this provides a bit of perspective on the game.

--PROs--
+Multiple Protagonists providing different skills and mindsets
+Great Driving Mechanics
+Beautiful living city
+Sophisticated AI: Cops are no longer a joke.

--CONs--
-Occasional framerate drop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Grand Theft Auto V - Playstation 3
Grand Theft Auto V - Playstation 3 by Rockstar Games (PlayStation 3)
$59.99 $37.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.