Customer Reviews

2,936
4.6 out of 5 stars
Grand Theft Auto V - Playstation 3
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: StandardChange
Price:$43.13 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

345 of 393 people found the following review helpful
on September 19, 2013
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: Standard
**UPDATE**: The online is still being fixed and there are still frustrations, but I can finally provide insight into playing (not-so-nice) with others.

From the time I've started this game till now, I have enjoyed every single second of my journey. This is easily the game of the year, if not the decade. It is stunning graphically, pushing the PS3 to it's limits, and the world is seamless. If Rockstar never made another Grand Theft Auto, this could easily be the Magnum Opus of the series.

**SUMMARY**

Graphics: 5/5 - The game looks gorgeous. Rockstar truly captured the feel of Southern California and made each location look unique and believable. Cars, characters, waves, the city; it's truly amazing.

Audio: 5/5 - Every sound helps make the city feel alive. From the sound of foot steps to the hum of an engine, the acting and the audio is top notch.

Gameplay: 5/5 - The improvements are immediately noticeable. Any issues with previous iterations of Grand Theft Auto should be satisfied; the controls are tight and everything feels fluid and seamless. It's a joy to drive, run, shoot, and travel around Los Santos. Those with gripes about GTA IV: this plays and feels much better, cars handle much better. You will not be disappointed.

Story: 5/5 - One word - incredible. Since the moment I turned the game on I was engrossed with each character and wanting to find out what happens next to our intrepid anti-heroes/criminal upstarts. This is a crime saga that will not disappoint and the characters help to give the story depth and meaning. The only real drawback is that the story moves fast and is over quickly.

Online: 3/5 - Online is fantastic and fun, but there are some major frustrations too. Other players will mercilessly hunt you down and kill you - over and over again. You lose money each time you die, and players have become creative to bypass certain things like Passive Mode. When you do find a group of players who aren't simply looking to cause mayhem and grief, the missions range from fun to extremely frustrating. The ability to free roam with up to 16 other players is great, but Rockstar needs to make some changes in order to give the online portion long-term success.

Overall: 5/5 - This is the game to own, regardless of what system you have. With limitless replayability, a vast, realistic world to explore, so many things to do, and a AAA story, this belongs in the library of every gamer who does not mind an adult story and content. If you enjoyed the other GTA titles, or you enjoy the action and gripping story of games like Uncharted, Assassin's Creed and/or Red Dead Redemption then get this game.

**IN-DEPTH REVIEW**

Beginning:
When starting on the PS3 for the first time, expect a 10 to 15 minute install; story mode takes another 5 minutes to load. Once that is through, the game thrusts you into a heist as you learn the basic controls, most of which feel similar to GTA IV. You are also shown a new gameplay mechanic -- switching characters on the fly. To do this, press and hold the down d-pad button, then with the right stick select the character in the wheel that pops up you want to control. After the introduction, there are some cutscenes as the player is shown a little bit of Los Santos. Once the scene is over, the player is left with a mission for Franklin. Finish the mission, and the world is yours to explore.

Story:
Welcome to Los Santos, with all the glitz and glamor you've come to expect, but corruption and crime runs rampant under the surface. Our -ahem- heroes are Michael, a retired bank robber; Franklin, a repo man trying to do right and make his way up in the world; and Trevor, an unhinged, unpredictable maniac who used to run robberies with Michael. Michael is living the rich life with his dysfunctional family. Trevor is running repo jobs with his friend for a shady car salesman. Trevor is living in trailer park and causing mayhem trying to make some money. Each character is distinct, unique and and extremely interesting. You'll want to spend time with all three. The dialogue is well written and I found myself waiting to finish a mission or move into the highlighted spot until the characters were finished talking so I didn't miss anything.

Gameplay:
There are numerous improvements and upgrades to the classic Grand Theft Auto, all of which help makes a satisfying experience:

If you fail a section of a mission 3 times, can fast forward to next checkpoint - but don't have to. If there was a frustrating aspect, like having to place first in a race to advance the story, now you can skip the frustration and move the story along; you can go back and finish it later, or not at all.

Special Abilities and Character Switching:
Each character has a special ability used by pressing L3 + R3. As Michael, you can slow down time while shooting. Franklin can slow down time while driving and gain extremely improved maneuverability (my favorite!). Trevor can go into a rage reducing damage he takes, delivering more damage to enemies, and has a special melee attack. The new mechanic of switching characters on the fly adds new gameplay possibilities, and lets you experience each character's unique perspective during heists. This allows you to be flexible in approach, and when things turn sour, use quick thinking and reflexes to make it out alive utilizing each characters skills. When not actively engaged in a criminal plot, switching the character zooms out on one, and then refocuses over the other character and zooms in. The character is often just finished with something as you take control; for instance at one point Franklin was leaving a Strip Club and I switched to Trevor once to find him being thrown out of a women's clothing store, with a dress on, complaining about wanting to try it before he buys it. These little things help to make each character feel alive and like they are all engaged in their own schedules when you're not playing them.

Abilities:
Performing certain actions improves your abilities. These abilities include driving, shooting, flying, lung capacity and a few others. When improved, the character has better aim, can run longer, or better driving skills. Leveling each skill requires the player to perform specific actions, for instance, to get better at driving hit top speeds, have near misses and pop wheelies on motorcycles. To increase each character's special ability, keep using it. To get better with guns, either get head shots or head down to the firing range. The different activities around Los Santos can help increase the skills.

Shooting:
Shooting is easy to do as well, and the targeting system can be customized. A player can choose traditional GTA style shooting, assisted aim, and free aim. Enemies can be quickly switched between by flicking the R stick. I have mine set to traditional GTA, where I hit L2 to aim and it snaps to a target for a few seconds before going to free aim. Holding L1 slows down time and brings up the weapon wheel: press the R stick to select a weapon, press the right or left d-pad button to change to a different type of weapon (for instance selecting to use a knife instead of fists). Guns also can be customized once purchased and fitted with flashlights, larger magazines, and silencers. The variety of weapons is quite large.

Random missions are scattered around the map, which appear as question marks (?). These generally have story elements tied to them and help flesh out the characters and the world. There are also blue/red blips that will randomly appear and you can choose to participate by getting close. One random blip early on had me help two morons robbing a store get away and one of them told me to call them if I ever need muscle. You may encounter the same random event more than once, but there is a nice variety. Purse snatching seems to be pretty common.

Size and Activities:
Los Santos is BIG. Open the map in your game case if you have a physical copy. One side shows the big city close up, with the other showing the whole area. Once in game, looking at that map and zooming in, it was nearly overwhelming to see just how large the world is. Better yet, there are no barriers. You want to visit the mountains after the first mission? Go ahead. There is so much to do in Los Santos too. Visit the strip club (WARNING: unlike Liberty City, Los Santos is a fully topless region), golf, tennis, movies, tv, etc. You can shop to buy each character new outfits or visit a barber to give them a new look. Suspend your disbelief as a beardless character can order up facial hair for a few bucks. Invest in the Real Estate business and buy yourself an income property. Play the stock market, and keep an ear on the fluctuations in game. Some missions may have an affect on stock prices as well. Take your dirt bike off road and explore the wilderness.

Driving:
Driving can still be a pain sometimes, but the mechanics have been vastly improved over the last Grand Theft Auto. Top speeds in some vehicles are quite impressive, while driving large trucks is often very slow, but once at max speed it's hard to stop them. Each vehicle handles differently, so you may want to experiment until you find one you like. Pressing O locks on a target for a mission and it time is slightly slowed down to make maneuvering through traffic somewhat easier. Couple that with Franklin's ability to slow down time while driving and it makes chases fun and exciting. You'll be shouting with joy as you miss close calls and easily make that turn the biker just nailed at 90 degrees. There is Cinematic Camera during some missions that allows you to actual enjoy the action that's going on without having to worry about crashing the car, dealing with traffic, look where you're going, etc. It's easier to switch between the two modes with O. When the action heats back up, switch the camera and jump straight in.

Car Customization is in-depth with 15+ different categories that can be improved or changed. Some categories have sub-categories as well, like choosing different color patterns such as metallic, matte, etc. Some are cosmetic, but many have other benefits as well, like protective armor or better handling. Car aficionados will enjoy tinkering every detail on their car.

Missions:
Missions are filled with great banter and are a lot of fun. While difficult, they are still accessible for even casual gamers. At the end of each mission there is a score based on what actions were completed, such as not receiving a single scratch on a vehicle for instance. This score can range from 0% (though I've always gotten around 50% so far) to 100% for doing each action. Missions can be replayed at any time, so don't feel the need to hit the 100% mark the first time through. In fact, I'd recommend not worrying about achieving 100% and just enjoy the atmosphere and story and come back to it later.

Heists:
Heists are extremely enjoyable and you get your first taste in the introduction. These are in-depth, multiple part missions that let you case the place you're going to rob, select a crew, and determine how you want to approach the robbery and get away with a lot of money. Each crew member has pros and cons, those with less developed skills may take more time to break into a place, but ask for a smaller cut. Likewise, the higher skilled, higher cut crew members could always break in quicker and allow for a bigger payout. During the mission, you can switch between characters as desired to see from their perspective, or to help one of the other guys out of a jam. Have Franklin run in and when he gets into a jam, switch to Michael to provide cover fire and support. After the guys retrieve their score, switch to Franklin to land the helicopter and make their get away.

Rockstar goes outside the game to have an application and website that affects the game, iFruit and LifeInvader (their version of iPhone and Facebook). You can use iFruit to train and improve Chop, a dog that Franklin ends up with. Use LifeInvader to get discounts in game by clicking on the links when logged in and associated with your Social Club account.

Audio:
Phenomenal job. Every sound breathes life and atmosphere into the game, whether you're listening to the high quality radio stations or enjoying a stroll downtown. A woman walked by on the sidewalk in high heels - I could every "clack clack clack" as she strutted by. I'm playing with a basic stereo set up, so I'm sure it sounds even more vibrant and alive in a full surround mode. The voice actors do a fantastic job bringing the characters to life. I have no complaints here.

Graphics:
It looks like Grand Theft Auto, but better. The structure design and layout is what you'd expect from a GTA, but the textures have been vastly improved. Little details have been added to the world to make it feel more alive, I was noticing drains in the street and small potted plants. These small additions might not seem much, but added up together really enhance the world. I found myself looking at distant building with lights on during the night, or admiring the foliage as I drove down towards the beach. Random NPCs walking around are a bit less detailed than main characters, but have a great variety of different models/looks. The vehicles look better than ever too. Random weather (slow down time with Franklin's special ability during a thunderstorm, it's pretty awesome), night and day cycles, lights with the right amount of bloom to look believe - it all helps to pull you into Los Santos. Some of the textures are noticeably low resolution when close up, but thankfully the action is often to frantic and fast paced you won't have time to stare. Also, I have not noticed any lag or hiccups while traversing the world.

**ONLINE**
You start by creating a player. Choosing the grand parents from a set list influences the looks of your parents which will in turn influence your appearance. You cannot make strange looking freaks ala Saints Row. Once out of creation, you pick your skills by allocating what you do in a 24 hour day, in half hour increments. These will decide your starting statistics which you increase like in the single player game, by using them. They advance slowly however, so don't expect to max out the skills in a day.

Once done with basic tutorial mode, you're free to roam around Los Santos stealing, robbing, and killing. There are blue circles and indicators on the map where you can play missions, death matches, races, parachuting, and other activities like tennis. You can kill other players you meet as well, though doing so might result in each of you chasing each other down endlessly for no other purpose than to "get back at them" - do so at your own risk. And indeed, there is risk...

Dying online reduces the amount of money you've accrued by a certain %. This amount caps off at $2000, but that is still a big chunk and can fall quickly when caught in a griefing session another player or players. Passive mode doesn't work exactly as intended either. While players can't shoot you, stab you, or other weapon related activities, they can run you over and will. This is frustrating, especially when you spawn nearby and they're ready to run you down again.

Different types of activities scattered across Los Santos. Take part in custom races (bikes, cars, boat), custom death matches (teams, free for all), survival (10 waves of enemies), and missions (objective and co-operative). Races, parachuting, survival, and some co-op missions can be done solo. You can earn money doing survival and co-op missions solo, but not for the races/etc. You can rob stores by pointing a gun at the clerk (if you have a headset, yell into the mic for a fun surprise!). Buy clothes at the different stores and make your online criminal persona a unique snowflake.

There are a lot of little nuances as well, a staggering amount really. You can charitably give money from your bank account to other players, drop a gun or ammo for another player, split money from a recent robbery/activity (or not and get hunted down by pissed off partners), put bounties on players so they are mercilessly hunted down, text other players in game, etc. You can put a tracking device on your car so you can locate it easily, and buy insurance to recover it for a small fee if destroyed. You can customize your ride at a Los Santos Customs garage. You can also buy property: garages to store your vehicles are the cheapest, and apartments to relax or lay low in which also features more car space. You can allow certain people to utilize your vehicle (like friends, crew, everyone or no one) and can determine who you want to hear you if you have a mic (same options).

Doing jobs and taking part in activities earns a player Reputation Points (RP) which is like experience points. When you reach a new rank, you unlock customization - new hairstyles, clothes, weapons, weapon parts, tattoos, car customization, etc. The higher the rank, the more options available. Higher ranks also allow players to take place in more missions and earn new contacts. Some contacts offer invaluable services. For instance, at Rank 10 you receive Lester as a contact and he allows you place bounties on other players.

One minor note: I don't think the Stealth skill helps you against other players in the Free Roam mode. It may assist in death matches (your blip not appearing unless you make loud sounds like firing a gun or running). So in Free Roam, I would not be concerned with slinking around other players. Still useful to hide from the cops though.

--Rockstar is still working the kinks out and listening to player's feedback. Some of the gripes/issues with multiplayer MAY OR MAY NOT be addressed in the future. As of right now, this is how it was intended originally and what it's like.--

**PARENTS PLEASE NOTE - THIS IS -NOT- A GAME FOR KIDS. THERE IS EXCESSIVE CURSING, VIOLENCE, NUDITY, AND ADULT THEMES! PLEASE READ THE LABEL AND UNDERSTAND THIS IS A MATURE GAME MEANT FOR THOSE OVER THE AGE OF 17. PLEASE BE RESPONSIBLE WHEN HELPING TO SELECT A GAME FOR YOUNGER CHILDREN.**

If you have any questions, or feel that I've left anything out, please leave a comment! Enjoy!

Updated: 9/22/2013 for clarity, wording, and structure.
3434 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on January 5, 2014
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: StandardVerified Purchase
Can't review, must play game. Must fight sleep. Must fight hunger. Must continue to play game. Will call in sick
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
171 of 223 people found the following review helpful
on September 17, 2013
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: Standard
If you have ever enjoyed a GTA in the past you will enjoy this one. ( review edited/updated 9/24)

If you have ever stopped playing GTA due to some frustrating flaws then you may be pleasantly surprised by the changes this time around.

After playing part four there were a few things that turned me off and reduced my playtime. I am so excited to share that two of my main frustrations have been fixed.

If you have been following the media and the leaks on this game than you know it's beautiful and you have a good ideas as to wether or not its something you want to play.

Things I didn't know before:
- Probably the single most impressive thing to me that wasn't bragged about is that when you start this game up it will load up your new session. After this you most likely won't see a loading screen again without restarting the game. The world is huge and I have no idea how they have accomplished this.

- You will no longer have to drive from your house to the starting point if a mission over and over again each time you fail it. This will save you a large amount of frustration. There is a lot of content here so there is no need for you to waste time with repetition.

- You can now completely skip a portion of the mission. If you fail three times then you will be given the option to jump past a portion of the mission and move forward. There is a point penalty but I can be worth it if it saves you from pulling out all of your hair.

Most noticeable improvement.

- the cars drive excellently. GTAIV had the cars feeling as if they have four wheel drive while on ice. The cars this time around have a really nice weight to them. It's hard not to feel like you are in a solid racing game while driving around the beautiful city.

Bugs/issues

So far I have not experienced any of the bugs that other people have mentioned on here. The game has not frozen at all for me. In previous games I feel like I used to get trapped when trying to enter cars but so far I have had no issues.

Graphics

This game is absolutely stunning. There is so much detail and you really feel that the city is alive. Ever area seems detailed and important. One thing to note is that if you live or have lived in LA you will feel that you are right at home. They have been able to perfectly condense the city in order for you to recognize your surroundings.

One thing to note is that it is hard to feel sometimes that the game is running completely smoothly. At times the system seems to chug a bit. There are odd little pauses and sometimes textures load a little but blurry for a moment. I want to say that this is not a Viking but rather more of a symptom of this game being designed for more advanced hardware . The hope here is that they are planning for ps4/Xbox one versions but so far there isn't a formal plan announced.

One area where the graphics are behind the earlier games is with the car destruction. It is far less realistic looking but with all of the other advancements that are found here you won't miss it.

More to come

This game has a multiplayer portion that isn't available yet. Rockstar has stated that it should be working in early October. There are a lot of promises for the online portion and when that comes out it should be the icing on the cake.
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
140 of 190 people found the following review helpful
on September 17, 2013
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: Standard
Picked this game up at midnight. Granted I have a young child and I'm married I wasn't up all night but I have put about 8 hours(maybe 9) into this game so far. After that many hours I've only made 9.8% progress so far(9 hours may not seem like a lot but any given CoD game I would've beat by then and then some). The world is massive. I mean take GTA IV and Red Dead Redemption, combine them and then add a forest. Then you will have GTA V. My time was spent exploring the changing world, taking in sights, getting wanted levels, dying randomly, playing sports and doing misc. civilian missions. I've only seen maybe 7% of the North part of the map(the wooded areas). I can't wait to go hunting either.
With a game of this scale I can already tell I'll be playing it for months without getting bored and don't even get me started on how many times I'll probably replay it. That's saying a lot too, with all the games out there that only last 6-8 hours to get through and after you're done...you've done everything there is to do.
I would say the only downside to this masterpiece is that it's a bit easier to die than it was in previous GTA titles. Which isn't even a downside really, more of a nitpick. They also added the "save anytime' feature except when you're in a mission, which is very convenient. Switching between characters is fun, something that will def. keep the game constantly fresh.
Don't listen to the hipsters who just don't like being part of a crowd, who say this game is a letdown. It really doesn't get any better than this. Coming from someone who loves action, open world and shooter games...this game does not disappoint in any way.
They haven't even introduced multiplayer yet!!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on November 22, 2014
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: Standard
Let me start by saying I thoroughly enjoy the Grand Theft Auto series. GTA3 was a milestone in open world games, Vice City expanded on that further, and San Andreas was, in my opinion, Rockstar's best game. So when I finally got a chance to play GTA:V, after so much hype, I was hoping for something amazing. Boy, was I disappointed.

GTA:V is more of a real life simulator than it is an enjoyable game. On a technical level it is utterly brilliant. The physics are excellent, the damage modeling on cars is the best I've seen in an open world game, the game world is gorgeous and vibrant, and it's absolutely one of the best looking games I've seen. The sound is also excellent, with pitch-perfect voice acting and an engaging original score, although the licensed music ranges from okay to...well...Britney Spears. Definitely one of the weakest selections of any GTA.

But none of the brilliance of GTA:V's presentation matters when the game is this utterly boring. First of all, you play 3 completely unrelatable, empty, heartless, god awful characters. Trevor is an unpredictable psychopath whom you just want to see killed, Michael is a retired man who repeatedly talks about how important his family his to him even though he treats them like crap and his family deplores him, and Franklin is a shallow grunt who just does what everyone tells him to do, no matter what happens to others along the way. Not one of these characters could hold their own for an entire GTA game, and allowing you to play all of them isn't much better. As a matter of fact, there are NO likeable characters in this entire game. Not one. It feels like Kane & Lynch gone open world.

But I could look past a drab story and characters if the actual gameplay was fun. It's not. The missions are all highly scripted, linear and offer no challenge or room for creativity; you're just along for the ride. And speaking of rides, you'll be driving A LOT in this game. In fact, that's most of what you'll be doing. And by driving, I mean brainlessly following your GPS while listening to characters spew meaningless dialog. Destinations are miles away most likely just so you can listen to the exposition, and there's no way to skip it. You'll save people in trouble on the side of the road only to have their life stories crammed down your throat as you drive them to wherever they tell you to. Most of this dialog does nothing for the story; there is very little character development here. By the end of the game you won't feel like you know any characters any better than you did when you started. You'll probably hate them more than you did before, though.

Then there are the controls, which are about as sluggish and unresponsive as they were in GTA:IV, only they're more annoying here because you have so much more ground to cover. If you push your stick to the left it takes about a second for your character to turn around and begin moving in that direction. You also trip over things and fall constantly. Sure, the animations are realistic, but who cares? Mashing X to run has also become archaic and tiresome when most other open world games have mapped that command to analog sticks or triggers. There are on-foot races in the game and all you do is just mash X as fast as you can the entire time. It's just lazy design.

Driving is also sluggish like it was in GTA:IV, although not quite as bad. Don't worry though, you'll still wreck constantly. Comparing this game to San Andreas, you wonder what went wrong in that department. The GTAs prior to IV struck a nice balance between realism and fun; they felt like GAMES, not simulations. They also had a more upbeat, playful, and comical attitude. GTA:V is so dark and serious a lot of the time, even forcing the player to realistically torture someone tied to a chair with a variety of instruments. Who would find this fun?

Adding to the frustration is that many of the side activities and collectibles can only be unlocked after playing a large portion of the missions, preventing you from fully enjoying the open world until much later on. And they're not particularly fun side activities, either. Parachuting, for instance, just has you soaring through rings in the sky, and the controls are just as sluggish as the rest of the game. After two of these I was done.

And as immensely detailed and massive as the world is, there's not a lot to find if you go exploring, even when you do unlock the ability to find collectibles. They are few and far between, and many of the locations you think might contain something are disappointingly empty. Kind of like GTA:IV. Realistic? Sure. Fun? Nope. There is also a total lack of progression. In previous GTAs you started with nothing, not even a pistol. You had to start from the bottom and rise to the top, but in GTA:V you're given an entire arsenal of weapons very early on, and enough money to keep you from ever needing to scrape by. I never once had to go to a gun shop outside of the missions that forced you to go; you get so many weapons from just playing the game.

Missing also, still, is the stat progression of San Andreas. In that game you could go to a gym and work out, gain muscle or fat, and unlock new combat moves. Whenever you "leveled up" in something, it would dramatically improve your abilities. In GTA:V, all stats are upgraded automatically and I swear I never felt any difference when it occurred. There's no reason to go out of your way to level up anything because it's going to happen just by playing the game. It feels like the bare-minimum of what they could have done with it.

I could say so much more about what I don't like about GTA:V, but I'll leave it with this. Every time I start playing this game I am amazed by its graphics and overall presentation. Every time I play it I come into it with an open mind, ready for an engaging experience, but I'm left utterly bored after 20-30 minutes, no matter the activity, no matter the mission. If the story were great but the gameplay remained the same, I would probably rate the game a lot higher. But as it stands, I feel this is the weakest entry in the GTA series.

GTA:IV had similarly linear missions, and there wasn't much to do outside of them, but it at least had a great story and likeable characters--and that kept me glued to the screen for the entire duration. GTA:V, however, presents no real reason to continue playing. I don't care about what happens to these empty, awful people, and I don't care to explore the world with them either. It takes so long to do anything in this game, and your time isn't rewarded enough to justify the slowness. I'm not sure what has happened to Rockstar over the years, but I'm ready for them to go back to making FUN games, not realistic simulations. In the meantime, I'll be firing up my copy of San Andreas again. Now THAT was open world done right.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on October 28, 2013
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: Standard
Grand Theft Auto V seems to me to be the perfect way to cap off an outstanding generation of gaming. The PlayStation 3 has seen so many fantastic and deep RPG's, from Mass Effect to Skyrim to Red Dead Redemption and finally GTA V. As each of those games offer very different looks into very different genres, sci-fi, high fantasy, western and modern crime, they all give a very real sense of role playing. While some of those other games actually take you to another time period or planet, GTA V keeps you somewhat grounded in reality.

If I had to use one word to characterize this game it would be 'heist'. This game, is all about heists. If you have ever wondered what it would be like to take a big score, Grand Theft Auto V shows you exactly how it would feel. I think the single biggest production to influence this game was the movie Heat (even in the music), which was a great blueprint to use. Second biggest influence might be Point Break. There are probably more pop culture references in this game than any other piece of media in the world, which definitely dates it.

I am a harsh judge when it comes to the Grand Theft Auto games because the experience they are trying to create endeavors to be so genuine, I want to make sure it actually is. I have a few criticisms for the game as far as things you can and cannot do in the story that you probably should be able to do like sell cars you customize, buy different houses (at least 5), be able to purchase a wider variety of businesses (owning an Up N Atom burger might be nice), being able to buy more clothing/accessories (really missed not being able to buy a $300k Audemars) and several other small functional things.

The voice acting was excellent, the world is huge and there is almost an infinite amount of things to do in Los Santos and Blaine County. Overall, the 3 main character narrative (even though I'm not really a fan of Trevor) was the perfect way to tell this massive, violent and gritty story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
26 of 35 people found the following review helpful
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: Standard
My review can be summed up with this; GTA5 is a great simulation, open world environment where you can interact with almost everything. But it felt more like a demo than a full game. I guess I would have felt better if I was expecting a simulation where I could drive around and stare off into the sunset. I was expecting a complete and challenging game. GTA5 is going to get good reviews and it may be a top ten ever game, I just wish they did more than improve the visuals and expand the map. The graphics, the textures, the movie sequences, the voice acting, the kinematic sequences, NPC characters driving and walking around are all great and probably superior to most other open world games, but that is all the praise I can give. The actual game or any challenges in the game are non-existent. There are no challenges in the side missions, there aren't any challenges in the main missions. And for an open world, everything is heavily scripted. Pick up this thing, here is the route, shoot at this guy, here is the gun, get in the plane, fly there, buy this, steal this. Even if they didn't give the exact directions, even the toughest missions have you picking up 'car X' or 'car Y'. Well how hard is that? So what about the actual combat in the more comprehensive heist style missions? The combat is definitely improved since the other GTAs and I am glad they give you the ability to crouch behind a wall, release and fire. But this combat AI is laughable. You may have 10-20 enemy guys out there but only one or two will shoot at time and awkwardly move to the next barrier. The only challenge is that they throw dozens of characters at you but most can be taken out easily. It all feels so scripted and almost boring.

I have some suggestions for the next GTA. I wish the world was truly interactive. Like Fallout or Obvlivion, give the random NPC characters names and profiles. Just like most average open world games developed in the last 20 years, the NPC characters in GTA5 randomly appear and go through their script. It would be interesting if you randomly shot mayor Bob Jones of Los Santos and there is a funeral and media discussion, the city drops into chaos because the mayor is dead. In Fallout, you can kill quest characters and just make due without that story line. Also, I like how in Fallout, water, ammunition and misc items are all necessary to complete the game. There is no reset button, if your character sucks or you can't gather the right items, it will be difficult progressing.

With the GTA5 heist missions, you pick one or two members of the crew, out of a selection of two. You pick up this truck, go through this entrance, shoot this guys, maybe the army or swarm of police show up. But the game pushes you, what to get, where to go, how to get away. How about this, rob this bank and that is it, if you screw up, you get to try a different strategy.

- PROS:

* Great world, great graphics
* Great voice acting, interesting characters
* Semi-interesting story between the three characters
* Combat is finally improved
* Sometimes the heavily scripted NPC characters do funny stuff

- CONS:

* Interaction with the open world is heavily scripted and purely stateless. When you kill someone, start a fight with a gang member and die, everything resets. It would be nice if it didn't operate that way. It would be interesting if you kill a police member then the police go out of their way to screw with you for the rest of the game
* Most of the game or side-missions feel like yet another adventure game. Click a, b, move the joystick up, repeat, mission complete.
* Combat is improved but the enemy AI is not very robust. I died in the game, but I never had to improve my strategy to complete any mission. I just went through the motions.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Platform for Display: PS3 Digital CodeEdition: Standard
At the time of writing this review you can get a digital copy for PS3 for cheaper than a physical copy And I'm so glad this is finally happening. I'm of the opinion that physical copies of games should be more expensive than digital copies. And also this is the best way to gift copies of games.

To redeem the code: All you have to do is take the code that Amazon sends you (You might have to go in your account and look up your digital purchases to get the code) login to the PlayStation network store scroll down the left hand side to redeem code button at the bottom, and you're all set.

Another thing that's great about digital copies on the PlayStation network is that when you want to upgrade to next generation versions of games you don't have to swap the disk from one console to the other. Like with call of duty ghosts if you bought it for PS3 on disk you can upgrade to the PS4 version but you need to move the disk from the PS3 to the PS4. But I bought the digital version and no disk is required in both consoles have the full game. Now the reason is important is I believe that eventually will see a next-generation version of GTA 5 and if you bought it on the PS3 I'm sure they'll have a cheap upgrade option.

Grand Theft Auto 5 is my first GTA I've ever played and it is amazing. The open world is incredible and really will blow your mind if you've never experienced what Grand Theft Auto can do. It truly is breathtaking and find myself in awe at just what this game can do. And the hours upon hours of gameplay you can have with GTA5 really is nearly limitless. If you can get this game for under $40 I think that is so worth the price.

Here are a few tips if you're just starting out in single player and online.

For single player: making money in single player isn't really hard but here's something that can help you. At a certain time in the game you meet a character named Lester and he'll have you do assassination missions. These missions will affect the stock market that's in grand theft auto you will want to invest in the company's Lester tells you to. Once you complete the mission wait about 12 game hours maybe 18 and then sell your stock. it's definitely an easy way to make some loot in the game and can really maximize your profits.

I wouldn't recommend investing in any of the businesses in the game they are really a hassle and they take hundreds of weeks to pay themselves off. One thing you definitely want to do is invest in Los Santos customs with your character Franklin buying that store allow you to get free upgrades for your car which will pay for themselves 100 times over. This also allows you to see just how cars are affected by certain parts without investing your hard-earned money on it. Even though it's located outside of the city it's always worth the drive.

One last thing when you're doing heists be sure to select the best people for the job at hand. You have to pay them more but in the end you make out with more because if you choose somebody who's a low level they usually get nabbed by the cops and you lose their portion anyway. So always get the best people for all the heist that you do.

For multiplayer: making money in multiplayer can be a challenge but I would recommend a few things. First be very careful when entering multiplayer for the first time your character is weak and everybody else is really strong. I would recommend starting and " invite only session" the way you do this as you load single player hit the start button go to online and then click on create invite only session. The benefits of this are you'll be by yourself on the map all the multiplayer options are available unlike if you start "solo multiplayer game".

Be sure to visit all of the characters that are introduced to you via your phone. Usually their marked on the screen with an L or a T. Because visiting these people allows you access to different things and multiplayer. One example is I hadn't met everybody when I first started playing online I kind of just robbed convenience stores and did some races and I never saw an armored truck which are great for making loot. On my second play through I started visiting all those areas marked on the map and lo and behold I opened up some of things that were previously not showing up in my first characters gameplay. So make sure you do that.

Also I found a nice way to level up is using the gang wars battles. they are areas marked on the map and their only active for an eight hour period every game day. With these battles you get about two grand and 500 RP ( grand theft auto's equivalent of experience points or XP). But also you get tons of free ammo which is nice. Just Google gang attack map to find one that shows you every location.

I have something robbing convenience stores is an easy way to make money be sure to hold your gun on the store owner while he empties the cash into the bag. This gets you the most cash and by holding your gun on him he moves faster. If you have a microphone you can get them to move even faster simply by yelling at him or just blowing into your microphone. Personally I belong in the my mic verse talking to him but if I do talk to him I tell him he looks attractive!

Also when you start up grand theft auto five online you get to create a character. When you're doing this one Of advice I can give is Max your stats out in regards to strength and lung capacity. These are two of the most difficult stats to build up in the game whereas driving is the easiest. When I started my first character I mistakenly buffed up the driving stat which was stupid because that stack can get buffed just by driving around whereas strength you actually had to physically assault people which takes forever. So be sure to do that I think you invest hours into partying and that bus strengths you'll understand what I'm saying when you start this game up.

Buy a 10 car garage this is a must. There are different garages and apartments all that hold varying amounts of cars. I have always saved up to 230 grand and bought the 10 car garage. The reason it's important to have a 10 car garage is that you can stuff cars you want to sell later in this garage and it helps you pay for the more expensive property. I'd recommend the $230,000 apartment that's right in the middle of the city because it has easy access to the helipads and is a straight shot to Los Santos customs.

One last thing you can do is sell cars to Los Santos customs the in game auto body shop. You can sell one car every 48 real-life minutes (24 in game hours). The cars can range from anywhere from $1000-$9000. The most expensive being SUVs for the most part. While you're playing identify what cars of the best price tag and then be sure to keep an eye out for them and when you see them spawning stuff them in your garage. Then what I do is a semi-iPhone alarm for 48 real minutes and then once the alarm goes off I reset it and sell a car. Doing this will net you an easy 100k per day.

If you're really hard up for money you can buy cash cards from the in game store menu. Now $100,000 will cost you $3 and you can buy $1.25 million for $20. Now I'm not somebody that would drop that coin for in game currency but you might want to. You can also buy $500,000 for $10 and if you're going to drop real coin on fake cash I think $500,000 would be the perfect amount as you can instantly by an apartment with 10 car garage.

Also be sure to download the GTA5 app to your iPhone or android device. The reason is that you get a free supercar that you can buy in multiplayer and you can add custom license plates to your automobiles in single player and multiplayer and that's kind of cool.

Those are just a few tips if you're new to Grand Theft Auto 5 definitely I want to encourage you to be cautious when entering online for the first time as you may get utterly destroyed. I hope you enjoyed this review I do love this game and I hope you do too.

Thanks for reading
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on December 23, 2014
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: StandardVerified Purchase
GTA V is a huge game. So much so, that a mandatory 8.4 GB installation is required to play the game. Plus, there's another 1 or 2 GB worth of updates. Additionally, Rockstar has announced that, in the not so distant future, there will be even more updates. When this time comes, you'll need approximately 12 GB of storage just for this game, and still need the play disc. If you don't play online, you do not need to update the game, but you will not receive DLC that includes an arsenal of guns for story/online mode. A flashdrive can be used to install, but it is recommended that you buy a brand new flashdrive just for your PS3 console.

Cross-console gamers: if you own a PS3 and an Xbox 360, consider buying on 360 instead. I have GTA V for both consoles, and I noticed that graphics are slightly improved on 360, and the PS3 version lags and glitches out more. On top of that, shooting is much harder on PS3. Driving on PS3 feels more like driving a real car, but is also harder. Piloting is a little easier on 360 as well, but experience is much needed either way.

Now, for the review of the game: GTA V is easily the best Grand Theft Auto game to date. You get to take control of three different characters throughout the story, each having their own missions, side missions, etc. The story follows as Michael fakes his own death to retire as a bank robber at a young age. After he gets himself into trouble with Franklin, he has to get back in the game and rob a jewelry store. This leads to his friendship with Trevor being revived. Trevor, Michael, and Franklin pull heists together, get into trouble with the FIB (parody of FBI), and must do tasks for them.
In addition to the main story, each character runs into random people, doing missions for them and making money along the way. Random events also happen throughout the large map of San Andreas, giving players the option to help others and make a few bucks. You can play tennis, golfing, darts, car races, running/swimming/bike marathons, hang out with other characters, go to a bar to get drunk, go to a strip club, rob stores, and much much more. Character customization is available, allowing you to change hairstyles, clothing styles, and tattoos. As Trevor, you can even hunt deer for cash. Buying shares in stock marketing and properties is also available. All in all, this game can be played and enjoyed for years to come, never getting boring or tiring.

GTA online, however, is not all it's cracked up to be. You get to customize the way your character looks by genetics: you select what mother, father, and grandparents you want, and alter resemblance to each figure. But there is a downside... all characters seem to look like meth heads, no matter what you do. You can participate in races and deathmatches with other players, but that's about all you can do. On top of that, Sony's online server is slow and both 360 and PS3 seems to be randomized - instead of paring you with other "newbies," you play with people 100 levels higher than you, leading to unfair deathmatches and races, and they kill newbies for fun on the streets. Rockstar has made a penalty system for players who kill other players, making them pay your hospital bill and paring them with other "naughty" players, but many have figured ways around getting a penalty.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
on October 13, 2013
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: StandardVerified Purchase
This is not a hater review. I've played all GTA games since before they were 3D. I like all GTA games but I'm getting frustrated with the same issues. GTA 5 entertains and is fun for a while. After you beat the main story line things get boring fast. This is a great game but because Rockstar has had so many chances to fix these issues I'm rating it 2 stars.

Rockstar keeps upgrading the graphics and mechanics, but not things that I really want. Like more side missions, more things to do, larger maps and buildings that you can enter. I'd be more than happy to play PS2 style graphics if I could enter 70% of the buildings. But as it is now I can enter 5% of the buildings. What is enjoyable about looking at a beautiful skyscraper and walking to the front door and not being able to enter? Or seeing a painted interior.

People on the forums say the world is too large to accommodate this request but honestly look at games like Skyrim, they can do it. So it is possible.

Then at the end of the game when you finally have enough money to buy properties, after you buy the property you still can't even enter them. Common, even GTA Vice City let you enjoy your night clubs or other properties after you purchased it.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 67 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Call of Duty: Ghosts - PlayStation 3
Call of Duty: Ghosts - PlayStation 3 by Activision Inc. (PlayStation 3)
$10.99

Grand Theft Auto IV - PlayStation 3
Grand Theft Auto IV - PlayStation 3 by Rockstar Games (PlayStation 3)
$13.88

GTA V
GTA V by Rockstar Games (PlayStation 3)
$48.88
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.