Customer Reviews


202 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


193 of 230 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Own for Any Adult Gamer
Talk about the ultimate mobile game for mature gamers who love the Sopranos and Godfather series. Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories is the perfect game for the PSP.

Let me say again - this is a MATURE game. There is sex, there is swearing, there is a LOT of violence. Anybody who buys this game for their 8 year old is making a grave mistake. It really...
Published on October 30, 2005 by Lisa Shea

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same GTA smaller package
This was the first game I purchased for my PSP. It has graphics that are comparable to the PS2, in fact I was impressed by the similarities. You get the same run and gun (and drive) experience you expect from the GTA series. That said, it is the same run and gun experience. If you played GTA Liberty City on the PS2 you will be playing the same GTA on you PSP. There...
Published on September 12, 2006 by Hans D. Kiser


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

193 of 230 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Own for Any Adult Gamer, October 30, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories (Video Game)
Talk about the ultimate mobile game for mature gamers who love the Sopranos and Godfather series. Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories is the perfect game for the PSP.

Let me say again - this is a MATURE game. There is sex, there is swearing, there is a LOT of violence. Anybody who buys this game for their 8 year old is making a grave mistake. It really bothers me a lot when people buy adult games for kids and say "Oh I didn't know". It clearly says right on the box. There are a TON of adult gamers out there, and we like mature games, just like we like R rated movies. These games aren't meant for kids. They are made exactly the way us adults like them - full of adult situations.

That being taken care of, this is an *incredible* game. Let's start with the gameplay. It's hard to even imagine, looking at say a DS or GameBoy game, that any handheld could produce gameplay like this. You have a fully detailed, fully laid out cityscape. You can drive down any road, walk around amongst the people, watch the rain and sun and fog roll in. The storyline is great. The missions are great. Heck, even the sidegames are great. There are hidden packages to find, rankings to achieve, races to run, you name it. You could play this for months.

The graphics are spellbindingly beautiful. It's hard to believe this is a handheld game. You get rain falling down around your car as it careens past easily identifiable stores on a road, while pedestrians stroll down the sidewalks. From shooting tasks, to driving races, to handling a number of other situations, the graphics draw you into this world.

Let's talk about audio. There is a great selection of "radio stations" to listen to as you drive around. The voice acting really draws you into the story, to relate to the various characters involved. I've always loved the audio on the GTA games, and this is no exception.

Yes, this game requires a 2.0 update to run. The update is INCLUDED ON THE DISK. Anybody who has trouble finding it must be missing some basic computer skills. It's right on the main disk menu when you put the disk into the system. It's free, it's included, it's easy.

I can't say enough good things about this game. Let me try to figure out some down sides. Hmmm, well it's on a small screen. Heck, that's the whole point, that it's on a portable system. When I go on trips, I can bring it along with me. I think that's fantastic, to have a GTA system to bring on the plane or bus. I *did* find the storyline in general to be on the annoying side, truth be told. I really liked the original GTA3 storyline where you were a valued employee moving up in the ranks due to your skill. I found it frustrating in this one to play in essence an "uppity jerk" who is constantly put down either by his own mob buddies or his mom or other people. It didn't make the game nearly as enjoyable for me. This is my leisure time after all, to endulge in fun dreams. My fun dream isn't of being berated and harassed. That being said, the mom in the Sopranos always drove me completely insane too. You have to give a writer the leeway to write his own story, and if that's what he wants to write, you go with it.

This is a must-own game. It's a game for ADULTS. But it's a game with epic scope, great graphics, and great gameplay. Highly, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GTA Fans Rejoice!!, October 25, 2005
By 
Dmitry Kristal (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories (Video Game)
Ok, I admit it: When I heard that GTA: LCS was coming out on PSP, I actually sold my Gameboy SP and games and bought a bare PSP.

The game is a mixture of GTA 3, with a sprinkle of Vice City and San Andreas. In fact, if you have played GTA 3, you already know the map! The VC and Sa part of the game is that you now have Sanchez bikes all over the city and see vague sightings of some places from SA as well as the characters that you might've heard in Las Venturas.

Controls: A bit slugish, since you don't have as many buttons to choose from. To aim, you need to hold down the L-key and press the "O" However, just like with anything, you will eventually get used to them.

Radio Stations: GTA 3 Stations with NEW content: LCFR(Chatterbox) where you will hear from Lazlow; Head Radio, Lips 106, Double Cleff FM, Rise FM, K-Jah, MSX 98, Flashback FM; NEW STATIONS: Radio Del Mundo and Liberty Jam featuring DJ Clue as himself!!!

Packaging: Map/Poster and the instuctional manual, which resembles a mini-newspaper.

Bottom Line: If you loved the previous GTA games and you currently own a PSP, you HAVE TO get this---You won't be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portable Gaming Redefined, October 25, 2005
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories (Video Game)
"Liberty City Stories" continues rockstars succesful GTA sereis, this time on a handheld device. Dont let that scare you away though. GTA: LCS is the killer app the PSP has been waiting for.

- Liberty City is back from GTA III. Its the exact city.

- New story though. Completely new missions,mini missions, races, etc that will last you a while

- Over 70 vehciles, including classics like the Inferno, Cheetah, and more. Big rigs, motorcyles, boats, helicopters, and planes are included as well.

-Graphics rival PS2 versions of GTA, and with the PSP's high res LCD screen, it will probably look better.

***A new element: Multiplayer. On the PS2/Xbox, you really couldnt have a multiplayer feature, because the game was played on one TV screen. On the PSP, up to 4 players can be thrown into the city all at once. Instead of buying weapons, you find and run over them, much like an FPS. You can grab cars, ram your friends, snipe/camp one area, etc. The possibilities are endless, and this type of multiplayer has never been seen before on ANY GTA game. This alone is worth purchasing the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories Review, October 25, 2005
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories (Video Game)
I just bought the game yesterday and it really met my expectations. The first thing I saw was the quick loading times. Even though some magazines have stated that the load times are fast, I really didn't believe it. How could an open-ended game have 3-second loading times but, guess what...it does! Everything loads quickly and it doesn't ruin the game. Even Grand Theft Auto series for the PlayStation 2 had long loading times which sometimes were a pain in the neck. Another thing I noticed is the graphics! The graphics are pure amazing and it really looks the same and sometimes even better than it's PS2 counterpart. The framerate is jittery but, the game runs smoothly with almost no hold-up. Especially since this game is open-ended (or as Rockstar atleast says it is) the graphics aren't diminished. You see the clouds and the rain and everything else you are expecting to see. Some of the effects are actually better than Grand Theft Auto: III! The cars are cool and are similar to GTA III but are a little bit older, since the game is set a few years behind #3. Final thing I noticed so far is the depth to the game. The missions aren't easy and shouldn't be which, tells me that Rockstar put a lot of effort making it hard but still fun! You can see the expressions and hear the gunshots which all sound so real. Can you believe though how Rockstar even fit a game like this onto the PSP? I don't know but, they sure have done a good job and this deserves 5-stars. If you think this game isn't as expecting you're wrong because you will be suprised, like I was, on how well manufuctured this game is. You can't put it down and your PSP will be in use 24/7! I love this game so far and I think this is the best game (and savior) for the PSP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great PSP Game, June 10, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories (Video Game)
Overview: Great game, roam among the cities, kill, save, jack cars, rob stores, buy guns.

Gameplay: Storyline is great, when you're driving a car and you finish a big mission, the radio automatically turns to LCN (Liberty City News) and tells you the story, i always loved listening in on this. The mission are medium-hard and on bigger missions it usually took me over 10 tries, im new to the 3D GTA games, im an GTA1 and GTA2 player. Anyways, some characters include Salvatore Leone, Vincenzo, JD, Donald Love, Maria, and the reverend in the church missions on Staunton Island.

Sounds: Great sounds for this game, guns sound realistic, explosions sound realistic, cars and bikes sound realistic, it's great. The voice acting is also hi quality. And i almost forgot the radio. 10 stations, ranging from rock, to indian music, to talkshows, to hip-hop and rap. And Lazlow is back!

Graphics: D*MN! I couldnt believe i could get this quality of graphics on a PSP, but i knew that the PSP graphics were already good, but not this good. It's as good as GTA3 and almost better than GTA:VC (I've played them a few tries)

Controls, tech stuff, ect. The controls are pretty simple. Here are the controls on foot:

Analog Stick: Movement

Left/Right buttons: Change weapons

Down: Free aim

Up: Special Mission

L+Analog: Look or fine aim

R: Target

Triangle: Enter vehicle

Circle: Attack/fire weapon unless a sniper rifle or rocket launcher, in which case you aim with R+Analog

Square: Jump/Zoom in while targeting

X: Sprint/Zoom out while targeting

You get used to these controls of course.

I'd give you the in car controls but im too lazy.

Loading times, very very fast, the 3 islands are seperated by a short loading screen.

The case comes with, the UMD of course, info packet which is like a mini-newspaper titled Liberty Tree, and comes with a map of Liberty City in 1998.

Movies impressed me as well, great graphics as usual and great voice acting.

also, NO MENU! You pop in the game, turn in on and it loads for 3 seconds and you're in Portland (First island)

Houses: First was a little small, 4 rooms, and only 1 garage space.

Second was better, 2 car garage.

Third, you get a big 2 story pink house with 2 garage spaces and when youre done with the game, next to the house you get loads of weapons.

Only downside is, the game was beat in one month.

:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something So Small To Handle Something So Big!, October 25, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories (Video Game)
Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories has revolutionized the name of hand held gaming.

After playing the game, at first you may feel dissappointed with the controls. But this is common as most people are becoming used to it.

With LCS, this game includes just about everything that GTA fans would come to expect from a console title. The map is the same location from GTA III but with improved 'tweaks' etc.

It is also a suprise to find out that GTA has been coded enough for the PSP battery life to last up to four hours. Also i am impressed with the speed of the game, even when an area becomes clustered with people, Rockstar just about got the game continuing to run smooth!

You start of with the character 'Toni Cipriani' (You Will recognise hime from GTA3) a hotheaded member of the Leone crime family. At the start of the game Toni has just returned to Liberty City completing a job for Don Salvatore. Salvatore places Toni under the control of one of his captains, 'Vincenzo Cilli', who gives Toni his first set of missions. And while the first couple of jobs help orient the player. Like all Grand Theft Auto games, you are bound to have easy missions first, more of a 'drive around'.

Some missions are bit tricky as you may not be used to the controls. But we agree that we do not want easy missions all the time. Also only few reviewers mention this, GTA LCS Is a very long game which has lots of secrets and side missions! Also the multiplayer (which i have not tested) is also looked at positvely, including the battery life giving you the chance to play up to 3 hours

Anyway, i will not spoil anything else as GTA is the most anticipated game that SHOULD NOT BE SPOILT! As most people say (including me) "every PSP owner should get it!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Fun, June 1, 2006
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories (Video Game)
First of all I love the graphics.Second It's awsome.The missions are fun the multiplayer is awsome.Just riding around town is fun.I like to get the cops after me.It's in my PSP right now.If you like the other GTA games you'll love this one.Sure it cusses and has drugs.But i don't care.it's fun and thats all that matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the killer apps for the PSP, January 26, 2006
By 
Paul Tabachneck "ectohitch" (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories (Video Game)
Maybe I'm still just starry-eyed from the wonders of new technological loot, and that's why I'm so awestruck by this disc. Still, when I spend $50 on something, it tends to make me less forgiving of flaws, and that has to count for something.

The Liberty City experience is brought to the small screen with great effect with "Liberty City Stories," and is well worth the cash spent. In many ways, this will feel like Grand Theft Auto III, but with a few marked differences.

The character of Tony Cipriani is much richer than the original protagonist (which isn't saying much since the dude didn't talk), adding the element of third-person identification that Rockstar picked up on with Vice City and San Andreas. The resurgence of familiar faces and voices is welcome, and the sidequests (Taxi, Emergency, Vigilante) are all here for your casual pleasure, and lend well to on-the-go play, since missions require a bit more concentration.

That said, playing the game out in public re-adjusted my social barometer. This happened once before for me, when a friend of mine was watching me play Vice City, and saw me casually plow through a bunch of pedestrians. "I think you killed that woman," he said with shock, and in response, I slammed the breaks, backed up, got out of the car, ran over to her, and took her money. You can lose sight of how vicious the behavior in this game is, and the sounds of violence and anger come out of this thing in s barrage that is not friendly to the uninitiated. The language is raw, people, so use your earbuds if you don't want dirty looks on the bus. You'll be glad you did anyways, since the stereo soundscape of this game is so well spread.

It's immersive, it's bloody, it's over-the-top and ironic. It's Grand Theft Auto in portable form, and it's pretty much perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, both as a gta3 rehash, and on its own merits, November 26, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories (Video Game)
The game is obviously based on the Vice City engine, not the one from GTA 3. Also, with a exceptions, none of the features from San Andreas seem to be present (noticed exceptions so far include the tip bar in the taxi cab missions, and [possibly] the flame on burning vehicles). The game also seems to lack any of the more annoying San Andreas glitches (like not getting on a bike properly).

While the map is essentially the same, many locations look different - many others are in the process of being built. The 'Portland Docks' are much more dynamic and impressive, and the unique jump locations are also far more imaginative. I have also noticed that the lighthouse island is accessible.

Hidden packages are in completely different places, as are unique jumps, rampages, etc... Some old, familiar faces make a comeback, including JD O'Toole (you might remember him as 'The Director' from Manhunt), and the Sindacco family from S.A. I'm not mentioning the obvious ones (like Toni Cipriani, Salvatore Leone and the radio stuff). There's a load of neat new side-mission types - like garbage truck missions, and one where you get to ride on a faggio and shoot targets while someone drives you around. The multiplayer stuff alone deserves great credit - the missions are greatly varied, and a lot of fun to play with others.

Those who missed the "indie" style of radio in Vice City and San Andreas will also dig the stations in LCS - the radio is yet again, full of made-up boy-bands and "customized" (i.e. includes references to the game) hip-hop and rap, as well as real-life Indian, Arabic, etc.. music. For the fans, Lazlow makes a comeback on chatterbox, which is now a program on a talk radio station (again, excellent material).

Overall, great game. It's both great as a rehash of a classic that will (probably) never be topped, and as a game on its own - it's well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same GTA smaller package, September 12, 2006
By 
Hans D. Kiser (Chicopee, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories (Video Game)
This was the first game I purchased for my PSP. It has graphics that are comparable to the PS2, in fact I was impressed by the similarities. You get the same run and gun (and drive) experience you expect from the GTA series. That said, it is the same run and gun experience. If you played GTA Liberty City on the PS2 you will be playing the same GTA on you PSP. There are some missions that vary here and there but for the most part it is the same game. If you beat it for the PS2 I cannot recommend purchasing it for the PSP. You do get the GTA experience but after only 5 hours of playing it I was already bored. If you get kicks out of deja vu than you might want to pick it up again, or if you never played the original. Overall it is a good game that I recommend to PSP owners that never played the original. To those who have already dedicated hours to the PS2 version, your money is better spent elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories
Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories by Rockstar Games (Sony PSP)
$18.96
In stock on January 31, 2015
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.