Customer Reviews


416 Reviews
5 star:
 (315)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Don't judge me, monkey."
Allen Covert, who we all know from his character parts in numerous Adam Sandler movies, stars in this film. The movie definitely has a familiar Sandler-type feeling to it, but I thought it worked well with the given cast.

It all starts out with a hilarious scene where Alex (Covert) is being evicted from his place while playing video games. It turns out his...
Published on May 23, 2006 by Matt

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit hokey, but some laughs....
Yes, some old humor is there, but there were a few chuckle out loud moments. Disk number two has a couple moments too! Caution...This unrated version may not be appropriate for all ages!
Published on February 3, 2007 by Robin L. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Don't judge me, monkey.", May 23, 2006
This review is from: Grandma's Boy (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
Allen Covert, who we all know from his character parts in numerous Adam Sandler movies, stars in this film. The movie definitely has a familiar Sandler-type feeling to it, but I thought it worked well with the given cast.

It all starts out with a hilarious scene where Alex (Covert) is being evicted from his place while playing video games. It turns out his roommate has acquired a penchant for Filipino hookers and he's spent all the rent money on his addiction. It sounds pretty weak, but it's a great scene and it's really well done.

A good number of actors make guest appearances. Rob Schneider is the Middle-Eastern landlord, David Spade is a feminine waiter at a health food restaurant, Kevin Nealon is an overly spiritual boss, the kid from Dodgeball (Joel Moore) plays a video game designing genius who has a robot as part of his dual personality, the mother from Everybody Loves Raymond plays Alex's grandmother... Nick Swardson (who is a professional stand-up comic) is hilarious in his role as Alex's best friend at work. He really adds to the movie with his personality and one-liner delivery.

There are some really good lines in this movie, as well as some strikingly funny scenes. I found myself laughing out loud more than a few times. If you liked early Sandler movies, you will definitely appreciate this kind of humor. The Unrated version is raunchy and even better than I was expecting it to be. There is also a good deal of bonus material, including some featurettes and deleted scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly funny, June 14, 2006
This review is from: Grandma's Boy (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
I'm usually leary of anything bearing Adam Sandler's Happy Madison production label, but much to my surprise, Grandma's Boy is a blast. Allen Covert (who also co-wrote and produced) stars as a 35 year old video game tester working on a hit new game, and in his spare time he is secretly designing his own game while smoking a lot of marijuana. When he gets kicked out of his house, he ends up living with his grandmother (Doris Roberts) and her two room mates (Shirley Knight and Shirley Jones) while dealing with his best friend (Nick Swardson), his ultra tan dealer (Peter Dante), his super hot new boss (the ultra hot Linda Cardellini), and some other weirdos as well. Despite it's predictable plot and gags, Grandma's Boy works mainly because of it's stars and the blast they're having filming it. Covert, Swardson, and Dante (all of which had a hand in either writing or producing the film) are quite funny in their roles, with Swardson stealing the show as a granny loving master of Dance Dance Revolution that still lives with his parents and sleeps in a race car bed. Frequently funny and enjoyable throughout, Grandma's Boy is a surprising stoner comedy that is better than one might think, and it's certainly better than anything that Adam Sandler himself has headlined in the past few years. Frequent Sandler cohorts and SNL alumni Kevin Nealon, David Spade, and Rob Schneider all have brief turns in the film as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Idiotic Perfection, June 27, 2006
This review is from: Grandma's Boy (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
It's rare that I give a comedy five stars, but "Grandma's Boy" is perfect. Comedic timing, a brief romantic angle, wonderfully silly acting and a fun plot make this one of the most perfect comedies I've ever seen. Allen Covert plays Alex, a recently homeless video game tester who's just looking for a break. He visits his local weed dealer, played tightly by Peter Dante, to see if he can stay at his house for awhile. Alex has second thoughts about staying there when he finds out that Dante's African tribesman buddy, Dr. Shokalu, has acquired an actual lion to protect the stash. His next attempt at bedding down is with his game-testing buddy, played with stereotypical geek charm by Nick Swardson. His sleepover experience at Swardson's home reveals that Swardson still lives with his parents, has a lot of toys, and a really cool car bed. It also leads up to the first really funny (and really wrong) confrontation involving Covert and one of Swardson's family members. From there, Covert ends up staying with his grandma, Doris Roberts, who is basically playing a role similar to that of hers in "Everybody Loves Raymond," but with a whole lot more edge. She and her two roommates, Shirley Knight and Shirley Jones (Partridge Family), welcome Covert into their home with open arms. The result is an all out pot party, geriatric sex, geeks fulfilling their wildest dreams, a kung-fu chimp, dance dance revolution challenges, vegetarian humor, a game programming scandal and a ton of other things that just don't belong together but somehow work here.

There is also a romantic angle to the story involving the cute Linda Cardellini (Freaks and Geeks, the Scooby movies). "Grandma's Boy" takes care to not drag the comedy down with the love story as I've seen in countless other comedies these days. Cardellini plays Covert's new supervisor, and they become close friends as the story rolls along. Even she manages to become part of the lunacy when she takes the boys out one evening.

A number of SNL alumni are in this flick. Rob Schneider makes a brief appearance as Covert's landlord. Kevin Nealon plays the holistic owner of the game company Covert works for. The scene stealer, however, is David Spade as Shiloh, a sexually-questionable waiter at a vegetarian restuarant who takes on Covert and his buddies while they're celebrating the completion of game-testing. The only SNL omission is Adam Sandler, who's Happy Madison company produced this flick. However, it's obvious that he put his stamp on this movie. It features the same stable of actors that are featured in almost every other Sandler flick out there.

This movie is wrong in so many ways, but that's what makes it fun. The really amazing thing is that all of it is pulled off with little or no actual offense to those who are made fun of, and that's an amazing feat these days. If you love dirty comedies like "The 40 year-old Virgin," "There's Something About Mary," and "Wedding Crashers," you're sure to love this flick.

Very highly recommended. A complete surprise that I missed in the theaters that is well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hysterical movie I should not even like, April 1, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grandma's Boy (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
I am a fifty year old mom who found this movie hysterical. I watched it because the title and description reminded me of my son . He is a computer major who wants to work in video games who also lives with his grandma. I had to drag him over to watch it as well. It is definitely geared for young males (drug and sex humor) but if you like mindless entertainment you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously Hilarious!!, September 3, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Grandma's Boy (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
This movie was an awesome movie if you're looking for something that is hilariously stupid!! Every second of this movie I spent on the edge of my seat, not because I was afraid, but because I was preparing myslef for another outburst of laughter on my part!! This movie is great and if you don't think this movie is funny you obviously have no sense of humor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars ...wow didnt think it was gonna be this good!, August 11, 2006
This review is from: Grandma's Boy (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
okay okay i didnt want to see this film because it was a happy madison production and the previews looked dull,but i night a friend told me this was a funny movie and by going on that persons review i ppv it. and i almost had tears rolling down my face from the nonstop comedy.. this is a great and funny movie.

if you are looking for a good comedy this year see this one.

RATED R FOR: strong language,drug use,some sexual content,nudity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny but Crude humor and IT WORKS, June 20, 2006
This review is from: Grandma's Boy (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
Grandma's Boy seem so familar as a concept and yet so different than any otherr movie you may have seen.

If you are a fan of such movies like Animal House, Big Daddy, Revenge of the Nerds, Dazed and Confused, Every Which Way but Loose (look for the MONKEY scenes!) and TV's That 70s Show-you will love this movie....it has all the elements from this films and milks them into this one crude movie

The funny thing about this movie is seem so common in its delivery, like a midnight cult movie flick. The story about a Computer Programer (Allen Covert) who has to find a new place to live after being kicked out of his old place. He finds a place, he stays with his Grandmother (Emmy winner from Everyone Loves Raymond's Doris Roberts who character here take her away from Raymond Character) and her two house mates the over medicated (Tony Winner Shirley Knight-who takes her flower child gone wrong to the Nth degree) and the oversexed (Oscar winner Shirley Jones..and you will never see Mrs Partridge from the Partridge Family in the same light again!). All three senior actresses milk their parts fully and makes this work. You see why they won their acting awards and this is a showcase for their acting here

The weird other programers in the cast including the lovely Linda Cardellini (from ER) highlight and bring different directions to Covert's Alex character. It works and is funny. The banter of everything from drug humor, sex jokes, nerd jokes and trek-this alone make this a cultist film.

There is great cameos by David Spade, Rob Scheider and Kevin Nealon (worth it for the film alone)..DONT MISS THEM! I wish Adam Sandler whpo produced this film would have had a cameo~well there is always the sequel!

Also this film is LOADED with EXTRAS for the film buff. It has two commentary tracks (one with actors , other from the director). deleted scenes, partly filmed deleted scenes, music videos and a few documentaries (including one that was done for Fox Movie Channel)

With the cult movies gone from the theaters and the Drive INs almost vanished, this film is one you can pop in your DVD player and enjoy. It isnt great art nor great cinema--its just bad jokes, bad taste, crude humor and a good time.

Have a mini DVD film festival using This film, Rocky Horror and Showgirls...Its a MIDNIGHT guilty pleasure-open a can of BUD, smoke a JOINT AND ENJOY YOURSELF

Bennet Pomerantz, AUDIOWORLD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanciful but hilarious!, August 4, 2006
By 
Ixx (Area 51's ruins 40 years from now) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grandma's Boy (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
Ok, I must admit, the first thing I noticed about this movie was the overly fanciful way in which game testers' jobs are portrayed - HAHA!! We WISH we had it that nice... I've been a tester myself for about 3 years and it's a sweet job, but i've never seen an office so highly decorated and flamboyant as the one in this movie. Maybe I'm working in the wrong spot...

Anyway, the movie is still fun as hell to watch. And the three old ladies are absolutely adorable, especially when they're baked on the weed-tea.

Did anyone else notice that the game Alex was designing was a little re-vamp of the alpha stages of the Predator Concrete Jungle game?

Anyway, I thought this movie was funny as hell. A note to aspiring testers who may be watching this movie: don't take the exagerrated portrayance of testers seriously. It's a fun job, but trust me - it's still work - long, mind-numbing work (which is where the weed REALLY helps, actually)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, a new stoner classic for everyone to enjoy!, March 30, 2006
This review is from: Grandma's Boy (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
First off this is a great film, I no some had some problems with it but if you like films like Billy Madison, Happy Gilmore, Half Baked, Dazed and Confused and the list keeps rolling on! If you liked those films them you will love Grandmas boy. This is a film for all you stoners out there! So if you like to smoke and like to watch a funny film that will make that time even better then you will want to own this film which is perfect for repeat viewings!

Later dudes! [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, August 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grandma's Boy (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
At first glance, I wasn't sure about this movie because of the title. Once I watched it, I was laughing so hard that I was crying. It is hilarious! They put such a comical spin on burn-outs, dysfunctional family relationships, senior citizens and the work environment. I can easily see some of those characters in my own circle of friends. Watch it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Grandma's Boy (Unrated Edition)
Grandma's Boy (Unrated Edition) by Nicholaus Goossen (DVD - 2006)
$14.98 $6.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.