Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do More, Do it better, have fun doing it.
GXV3175 Current status - 13th January 2011 -

(Firmware versions Boot:1.0.0.7, Core: 1.0.1.2, Base: 1.0.1.3, DSP: 1.0.4.82, Prog: 1.0.0.28, GUI-A: 1.0.0.7, GUI-B 1.0.0.7, Recovery: 1.0.0.3, Supplement: 1.0.0.27):

Navigation:
The Navigation feels good. New users will get the hang of the "new" navigation easily. The basic idea is that you...
Published on January 13, 2011 by Nils Valentin

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GXV3175
It works well and looks good but its phone option is the same as other VOIP phones around $100. This phone does not provide any IM and skype unlike GXV 3145 and Google voice does not work properly (always authentication problem). Of cause, it is a touch screen and provides the MP3, Graphic user interface and Video access. However the speed and touch response is not fast...
Published on February 5, 2012 by Hyung


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do More, Do it better, have fun doing it., January 13, 2011
By 
This review is from: Grandstream GXV3175 IP Multimedia Phone 7" touch screen (Electronics)
GXV3175 Current status - 13th January 2011 -

(Firmware versions Boot:1.0.0.7, Core: 1.0.1.2, Base: 1.0.1.3, DSP: 1.0.4.82, Prog: 1.0.0.28, GUI-A: 1.0.0.7, GUI-B 1.0.0.7, Recovery: 1.0.0.3, Supplement: 1.0.0.27):

Navigation:
The Navigation feels good. New users will get the hang of the "new" navigation easily. The basic idea is that you either

* Point and click
* Point long enough (Options will popup)
* Slide with the finger
* Drag and drop

Applications:
The basic phone functions and some previously existing applications (same as on GXV3140) are working.
Note that all currently existing applications have a new quality (visually and functionally).

That includes of course the phone function itself, the phonebook, 3-way voice or video conferencing etc.,
Whats nice is that it doesn't stop there.

The calculator f.e now offers three interface types: "Simple, Science and Finance" and those work surprisingly exactly the way you would imagine them to do.
Science and Finance mode with all respect, deserve their own documentation to maximize efficiency.

Perhaps one of the lesser known applications is called "Movie Trailer".
Think of it as your personal in-flight entertainment program.
It opens up and shows you the latest cinema film trailers. (The GXV3140 does that too).
Whats new is that now you have also the space to show their stories, background info etc.
Wanna see it ? No problem, click on the "watch now" button and it plays the trailer.

The applications start fast, especially the browser. Internet access feels quick.
Application quality seems to be improved (robust) when compared to the GXV3140.

Applications (f.e Internet radio) can be minimized.
Pressing on the icon will preview the application.
Clicking on the preview will bring it back into the foreground.

Hardware:
The higher spec hardware (double amount of Memory, bigger screen, probably also faster CPU, additional USB port) does seem to be well appreciated by the applications. There is no stuttering anymore (compare to GXV3140) when running Internet radio and screensaver same time.

---

Whats NOT YET in the official release ?
Rumours have it that Skype wont come due to "Skype stopped providing the needed SDK", which sounds like a lame excuse to us.
IM status is unknown.

---

Update: 27th July 2011
Grandstream released today new Firmware 1.0.3.22 which adds new functionality like BLF, Twitter, Facebook, games etc. .
It also impressively increases usability to a new level again. The phone feels much smoother now.

---

Update: 28th Dec 2011

So as of now Skype and IM are still not there yet on the GXV3175.
Also it doesnt look as if development is going on for it anymore.
I can only guess that Grandstream are only doing bugfixes from now on.
If thats the case, than we will probably see a new product coming soon.

In the meantime if you need Skype or IM urgently consider using the GXV3140.

---

Summary:

In terms of user experience the GXV3175 comes included with most of the benefits of its brother, the GXV3140.
Exception IM and Skype.
In addition it offers a different navigation method (touch panel) and more in any aspect we could think of.

* Quality of navigation improved,
* Visual quality more clear,
* more information,
* faster access,
* new voice quality (especially for hands free function),
* High spec hardware

The old standard tip applies also here, always upgrade first to the latest firmware version.

Then enjoy your new phone ;-)

>> Do More, Do it better, have fun doing it. <<

--- Comparing the GXV3140 and GXV3175 ---

"Which phone is better ?" is one of the questions you might be asked or even asking yourself.
We have taken some memos how we "feel" they are different. Hopefully you will find it useful.

The GXV3140 is basically a SIP phone with a built in phonebook that looks and feels first like an ordinary phone.
And it can of course be used in that way. On top of it it has many additional features that an ordinary phone doesnt have
(Video calls, Skype, 3-way Conferencing, Chat, Browser, ...).

The GXV3175 is doing similar or even the same things but using a different approach.
It uses a touch panel to navigate (no buttons as the GXV3140). This changes the way of interaction.
With a touch panel you don't immediately "feel" that you pressed something.
You will have to wait for the visual or acoustical indication that you actually hit the target, while with the button pressed you can feel the resistance.

In short:

Customers that are used to pressing buttons will most likely prefer the GXV3140.
Customers that are used to touch panels will most likely prefer the GXV3175.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GXV3175, February 5, 2012
This review is from: Grandstream GXV3175 IP Multimedia Phone 7" touch screen (Electronics)
It works well and looks good but its phone option is the same as other VOIP phones around $100. This phone does not provide any IM and skype unlike GXV 3145 and Google voice does not work properly (always authentication problem). Of cause, it is a touch screen and provides the MP3, Graphic user interface and Video access. However the speed and touch response is not fast because its processor is not i3 or other dual core smartphone processor.

You cannot add any apps because its OS is not android.

I guess that Grandstream will finally upgrade these problems such as IM, skype and google voice someday but anyone cannot know about the date for future upgrade.

If you need telephone to have various communication options (IM, skype, google voice), it does not provide you with such functions yet.

If you need to make a phone call with clear voice quality by touch or listen to music through phone speaker (its sound is really good but it's a mono speaker) from Lsat.fm or internet radio, buy this phone but just expect a little slow response.

I rated 3 stars because at least its calling quality for me and receiver, when I am using the sip number, is quite good and clean than any other internet phone and apps in the smartphone regardless of whether such apps is free or paid. At least the quality gap is quite big.

Adding 2/11/2012,
The Beta version was released. and Google Voice is well working. So I will rate this one with 3.5 Star.

But still I wish the Skype, IM (Gtalk and so on) and, if any, a little improved algorithm for touch sense.
(IM : 0.5, Skype or Direct google voice talk : 0.7 )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total disappointment, January 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grandstream GXV3175 IP Multimedia Phone 7" touch screen (Electronics)
I purchased these items for both our US and European Operations so I could video conference with my other traders. Upon receipt of this device and upgrading the firmware to the latest it just got stuck. You wait three days to get customer support. End result they say send it back.
If you want to spend more time trying to get a device to work than actually making money using it, then get this phone. Going with Siemens. At least when you have a problem the turn around time is ONE HOUR !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very slow, if you use one of the built in apps it chokes, August 17, 2012
By 
A. Khamari (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grandstream GXV3175 IP Multimedia Phone 7" touch screen (Electronics)
Very slow, if you use one of the built in apps it chokes and hang! for a supposedly a high-end phone pfff. I should have put more money and got the polycom vvx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Ring Central Compatible, October 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grandstream GXV3175 IP Multimedia Phone 7" touch screen (Electronics)
This is a really Cool Product, its easy to navigate the setup and seems to work great. The browser was a bit slow. Has a nice browser GUI to speed up the setup process.

The only problem was that it is not Ringcentral.com Compatible. We worked with Ring Central Level 3,2 and 1 Support to attempt to get the phone to connect to their SIP servers with "0" success.

So if you are planning to Use Ring Central SIP Service. This phone may not be the Phone for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Support, August 15, 2014
This review is from: Grandstream GXV3175 IP Multimedia Phone 7" touch screen (Electronics)
Grandstream support is very bad. I have a faulty Grandstream 3715 (touch panel cracked) and they do not provide parts to fix it nor provide any other form of service. They even gave me a derogatory reply. I am left with non-working phone which I paid $300/-. Anyway at least I don't have to worry a phone which need to be rebooted very week (memory leak I guess). Buy products from reliable companies, not from this company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Too Impressed, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grandstream GXV3175 IP Multimedia Phone 7" touch screen (Electronics)
great looking device, but to be honest i am a little disappointed of this product. one of the reason this model was because of what others were saying. if i have compare the gxp2200 with gxv3175, i would say there is no comparison. the gxp2200 gives you the ability to install and uninstall applications as you want. the gxv3175 so far does not give you that opportunity. Or maybe it is just me. in any i would like to be proven wrong. because i have been fooling around with gxv3175v2 to install some apps; but so far no luck..
Another thing i would like to know if the gxv3175v2 is Android Platform?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So Here is the Deal, December 5, 2013
This review is from: Grandstream GXV3175 IP Multimedia Phone 7" touch screen (Electronics)
Okay, so I am rewriting this review. Again, as with most things lately, I see great potential in this. This VIOP Phone could revolutionize the industry. But like all ideas, there is a lack of implementation. The phone and the manual say you can use Google Voice (page 76-79 of the User manual freely available on Manufactures Website). Google Voice is a free calling service by Google for US and Canada. You even get a call back number. As of this writing, Grandstream is aware that their implementation of Google Voice is inop and are working on a firmware update from 1.0.1.55 to the next iteration. Upgrading the packaged unit was a chore because the web url for the updates in the system were incorrect. The actual url is in the manual. firmware.grandstream.com. [...] A manual which you don't get in the box. Becasue the unit is a SIP phone it is possible to connect to SIP services through tedious and often times frustrating work. Skype offers a SIP for $7 us a year and you can use Google Voice for free using Simon Telefonics Free SIP. Google Voice SIP makes but does not receive calls. Be for warned. The instructions to Simon Telephonics Google Voice Itteration are here... [...] However, once I finally figured out how to do it, as both Grandstream support and The Seller were both as dumb as a box of rocks and as useful as one, I called up and talked to many contacts and they said quality was much better than my old VOIP Phone.

I would recommend this product for power users if you are integrating with SIP services. If this is just going to be using the included IPVideo SIP you will need more than one unit. 1 for you, one for whomever you plan on talking too.

If you are a Futurist like me, you can see the full potential of the phone and get a sense of its true value. Here is to hoping Grandstream's firmware updates can really tap into this potential because it could revolutionize VOIP telecommunication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, October 20, 2013
This review is from: Grandstream GXV3175 IP Multimedia Phone 7" touch screen (Electronics)
Does not do skype. Manual is terrible. No help at all in documentation, website is worse. Got the inside scoop using Google. Don't buy this crap. After trying this phone (which is being returned) I would not buy anything from this company. Yes, it was that bad. Save our money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grandstream GXV3175 IP Multimedia Phone 7" touch screen (Electronics)
Love The device Never The less The touch screen is not as responsive as an iPhone or iPad, but work very nice, costumers are always impresaed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.