Grandville and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$14.15
Qty:1
  • List Price: $19.99
  • Save: $5.84 (29%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Grandville Paperback – October 20, 2009


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$14.15
$8.00 $3.24


Frequently Bought Together

Grandville + Grandville Mon Amour + Grandville Bete Noir
Price for all three: $43.40

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Bone Clocks" by David Mitchell.

Product Details

  • Series: Grandville
  • Paperback: 104 pages
  • Publisher: Dark Horse Books (October 20, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1595823972
  • ISBN-13: 978-1595823977
  • Product Dimensions: 11 x 7.8 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.3 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #622,472 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Talbot follows up the admirable but abstruse Alice in Sunderland with an engrossing blend of steampunk, Victorian-flavored detective stories, anthropomorphized animals and 9/11 allegory. The storytelling skills that he brought to The Tale of One Bad Rat are firing on all cylinders as he spins the tale of Scotland Yard's bodybuilding badger, Insp.-Det. Archie LeBrock searching for a murder squad, a trail of violent intrigue leading to France. In this alternate historical setting, Britain fell under French rule during the Napoleonic Wars and became the Socialist Republic of Britain, a situation rife with civil disobedience, explosive terrorism and mutual suspicion between the two countries, all simmering elements that could lead to war. The murder LeBrock and his adjunct, Detective Ratzi, are investigating may somehow be tied to a mysterious grand plan, leading to a tightly woven tapestry of sex, violence and political intrigue containing strong commentary on 9/11 and the political machinations that fueled it. The animal-headed characters—alluding to The Wind and the Willows—just add to an entertaining and multileveled whodunit by a master storyteller. (Oct.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist

*Starred Review* Already famous for creating one of graphic fiction’s most memorable characters, universe-hopping Luther Arkwright, Talbot tries his hand here at creating another, albeit of a very different stripe. And the stripe in this case is literally on the head of Scotland Yard Inspector LeBrock, a muscular, talking badger with a penchant for fisticuffs. The opening installment in a projected five-part series, this beautifully illustrated murder mystery is one part Sherlock Holmes, another part Wind in the Willows, wrapped in a steampunk veneer. Not only badgers, but also rats, dogs, and every other kind of talking animal populate Talbot’s alternate nineteenth-century Britain and France. An increasingly suspenseful plot finds LeBrock and his stalwart assistant, Detective Ratzi (a rat, of course), investigating the murder of a British diplomat. The trail leads across the channel bridge into a second-empire-controlled Paris still reeling from the terroristic destruction of a famous tower. The hirsute pair’s clue-collecting takes them through Parisian back alleys into nightclubs and brothels in which they tangle with assorted gun-wielding canines and uncover a French government plot to launch an even more deadly terrorist attack on its own citizens. Talbot’s masterful attention to detail, down to his character’s muzzles and whiskers, makes every panel a work of art. One of Talbot’s best graphic novels to date. --Carl Hays

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 15 customer reviews
Mr. Bryan Talbot has done magic.
Sergio Carravetta
It's definitely a keeper and I strongly recommend it to any and all comic-book and graphic novel enthusiasts.
Inspector Gadget
Grandville is smart, interesting, well plotted and the art is incredible.
Cornelia Amiri and Maeve Alpin

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Inspector Gadget on February 10, 2010
Format: Paperback
I came across Grandville by chance in a book store while browsing the graphic novel section and instantly fascinated by its wonderful artwork, brilliant anthropomorphic characters and steampunk Victorian setting. I love a good mystery and detective stories are certainly my thing. I had to have it!

A heroic badger Inspector LeBrock and his sidekick Roderick investigate the death of a British diplomat who appears to have been murdered by a group of French conspirators. In this alternate-history Napoleon (a lion) successfully invaded Britain but begrudgingly gave it up after anarchist attacks. LeBrock's case leads him deep into a mire of deceit and political power-plays that mirror many modern day events such as the 9/11 terror attacks and the mess of the Iraq war.

Only a muscle-bound badass badger cop can save the day.

Grandville is nothing if not ambitious, and yet it pulls off everything with ease. It seamlessly blends the alternate history, steampunk, detective and furry genres. Bryan Talbot glides from scene to scene with not a single extraneous panel.

The book is printed in a lovely, tall hardback with colourful, glossy pages. It's definitely a keeper and I strongly recommend it to any and all comic-book and graphic novel enthusiasts. I eagerly await the sequel "Grandville Mon Amour".
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By P. M. Cooper on December 7, 2009
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This Grandville is a steampunk'd, anthropomorphic animal'd eurofeast of a funnybook. Mr. Talbot has really created a romp of a story, even managing to weave a shadowy 911 parallel up in there. There are quite a few nods to European comic characters as well. Doppelganger's of Herge's Snowy (Tintin) and Velter's Spirou are the two that stand out the most to me. I'm certain I missed several more, but I DID witness his wink to Spiegelman's Maus in the early village scene. The book also features a wide zoological range, most of them firing weapons of mess destruction and/or horn stabbings. Hopefully, Mr. T will turn this into an ongoing (semi?)annual treat for the comic masses. Loudly Recommendated!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Sergio Carravetta on November 17, 2009
Format: Paperback
I have hardly read a graphic novel of this quality before, both in drawings and script. Mr. Bryan Talbot has done magic.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Studebaker Hawk on October 14, 2009
Format: Paperback
Just finished reading Grandville - what a great melding of police detective/action/spy/steampunk/conspiracy theory/alternate history/cute (and not so cute) furry animal comics!
I really enjoyed "Alice in Sunderland" and I was wondering what Mr. Talbot would do next - this was a fun read with lots of tricky writing and excellent rendering!

The illustrations are inspired by the works of Jean Ignace Isidore Gérard BIZARRERIES AND FANTASIES OF GRANDVILLE: 266 Illustrations From Un Autre Monde and Les Animaux
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
AS a fan of Steampunk, graphic novels, Bryan Talbot and Albert Robida, I thought that this would be a no-brainer for me. It never really connected, though. The timeline seems screwed up, with Victorian technology in a world set in 2009 or so. The anthropomorphic characters didn't bother me, but neither did they appeal to me. The story seemed humdrum, with a British badger who could do more than Superman handling every situation by bashing his way through it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Chongo on November 10, 2009
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Bryan Talbot's "Grandville" is an exceptional graphic novel & a great alternative comic to a lot of the other mainstream stuff out there. It's a well thought out murder mystery w/ action, plus the art is some of Talbot's best work to date. I guess it's sort of like Sherlock Holmes meets an alternate history meets anthropomorphic animals. This is great reading for fans of Usagi Yojimbo, BPRD, or DC's Vertigo. A+
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Rosalie P. Brown on February 24, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Another exciting and excellent book, story line and art are just perfect. Hoping to find many more Grandville stories.
Looking forward to reading everything done by this author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Brian Talbot did a well crafted detective story with pop references and touches of steampunk. The art is very good, especially the great work with the colors.
It's a very good graphic novel, with all the qualities of the european comic school, that any fan of comics (or detective stories, or steampunk ...) should read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?