Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicest collection of fun tales yet...
This, the sixth volume of the Grantville Gazette, has changed some since it's inception. No longer are all the stories submitted to author/editor Flint published in order received. Instead, this is a more selective compilation of short stories sharing the 1632 Universe as a common thread. Editor Flint has made a good selection this time, and there are fewer "duds" than in...
Published on December 4, 2011 by Rodger Raubach

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Great
Stories were mediocre. A few were of a quality complementary to the series itself but many were several steps below.
Published 13 months ago by Peter Stearns


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, particularly if you follow the series or if you want to study prose written by semi-pro's, January 18, 2012
By 
This review is from: Grantville Gazette VI (Ring of Fire) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
If you like the ring of fire series you will like this book enough to make it worth your while to read. Not every story is the best, but there is enough interesting additions, sidebars and what ifs here to make the book delightful for those following the exploits of the up timers from Grantville. I particularly liked the The Monster, Suite for Four Hands and Jenny and the King's Men. Most of the entries in this Gazette follow a similar structure as the Ring of Fire books. The heroes are honest and pure the villains are despicable. Entertaining, interesting in the topics people sought to address and pretty much what you would expect from the other 1632 books.

The Ring of Fire series and Eric Flint have been open and encouraging for fans, writers and others to add to the story. It is a very successful example of crowd sourcing and collaborating to keep the story line going. Students of writing will find the various treatments, tone, and styles interesting both for their similarities and differences.

Overall, an enjoyable read, I dare say entertaining and just the thing to take your mind of the present by spending some time and getting new perspectives on old friends. As others have suggested, if you have not read 1632 then you will be at a loss. I would also suggest reading 1634: the Ram Rebellion as those two books will give you enough background to enjoy the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Modern SF works VERY well..., December 5, 2011
This review is from: Grantville Gazette VI (Ring of Fire) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
What can one say now on GGVI? The stories are wonderful. They expound upon early modern cutthroat "politics," show how dirty this world really is and continue to mix the wonder (for the downtimers) of the modern age adapting to a near pre-industrial world and its view of that is happening. Having our histories is a real downer for the locals as they try to get (in many forms and ways) through our histories and to ensure theirs go in different directions. They do not realize (yet) that their history will be greatly differentiated from the world about which they read. There are real clashes and inconsistencies still to come, plus further wonderful adaptation of modern technology to the pre-industrial age.

To wit, everything still fits within the realm of the original books and the earlier gazettes. Please enjoy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uneven quality mars collection, January 15, 2012
This review is from: Grantville Gazette VI (Ring of Fire) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Eric Flint created a fantastic alternate history with 1632 and numerous other authors, both amateur and professional, have added to the story over the years. To my mind, the main novels are like a tapestry being produced by multiple weavers and the short story collections are like tiny accent threads being woven in among the threads of the larger cloth.

This particular collection is the 6th of the hardcopy Grantville Gazettes, although there are more than 30 volumes of the electronic version (many available for Kindle, if you're interested). According to the preface, this is a "best of" collection drawn from a half dozen of the electronic Grantville Gazettes. Unfortunately, this collection is an excellent illustration of one of the problems one encounters when reading such anthologies - the reader's opinion of "best" may not be the same as the editor's opinion of "best." I thought some of these stories were excellent. I thought some others were awful.

If you are new to the Ring of Fire series, do not, I repeat, do not read this book. Yet. I do highly recommend the series, but you need to start at the beginning and at least read 1632 and 1633 before you tackle this anthology. If you are a die hard fan of the series and have enjoyed the previous anthologies, then yes, I do recommend this book. If you like the series but have found some of the previous anthologies to be mixed, you will likely find this to be the same. I dithered between 3 and 4 stars when rating this, but finally rounded up to 4, mostly because of residual affection for the series as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Installment, November 23, 2011
By 
W. Bentrim (Bucks County, PA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grantville Gazette VI (Ring of Fire) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Grantville Gazette VI edited by Eric Flint

This is another anthology that follows up the book 1632. A wealth of short stories that are loosely connected to the premise of a chunk of current time real-estate transported back to 1632.

I've read four of these anthologies so far, some how I missed the fifth which I will have to track down. Generally I don't read anthologies since I am more of a red meat kind of reader and I find anthologies and collections more like appetizers. However I have happily made an exception with the Grantville Gazette. Considering the 25 story total, I can only tell you that they are worth reading.

I highly recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner!, March 24, 2014
By 
Lynn (Chicago, IL, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grantville Gazette VI (Ring of Fire) (Hardcover)
I love it so much when a new one comes out, I may have to buy a Kindle just so I can read the electronic-only stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, March 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this is an absolutely fantastic series for the alternative history buff. I would definitely recommend this for anyone to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I want more. Fun read for a sunday afternoon, November 8, 2013
By 
John A. Simms (Wilmington, DE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grantville Gazette VI (Ring of Fire) (Hardcover)
Good story telling. History as it might have been in a period of great transition in actual history. Interesting idea throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars moving along...., August 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the book came fast and was in excellent shape the whole of the book held together well as if one writer did the thing. haveordered the next installment and will have to find room in my book room. very happy with the transaction .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GG VI, August 6, 2013
By 
Melinda Strehl (Louisville, KY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the last paper back GG. The rest of the series is online. I prefer paper back over electronic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ring of Fire does it Again, August 3, 2013
By 
Michael Roach (Nacogdoches, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The ring of fire continues with more adventures and episodes of the town of Grantville as transported to the 1630's. The people are just like you and I but in an environment most of them only slightly remember from High School. This time, however, it is for real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9e125f00)

This product

Grantville Gazette VI (Ring of Fire)
Grantville Gazette VI (Ring of Fire) by Eric Flint (Hardcover - January 3, 2012)
$25.00 $21.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.