Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic Design to read, look and think
One of the best books about graphic design on the last 10 o 20 years. A very good balance between text and images and also and interesting object for his format, paper and so on....if you love graphic design this book must be in your bookshelf
Published 21 months ago by Jaume Pujagut Grau

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who wants to read an unreadable book?
The title is based on a touring exhibition of print design originally held at the Minneapolis based Walker Art Museum. The 224 pages are really in two parts: twenty essays by various industry commentators, educators and designers which are in self-contained pages and I found some of these quite thought provoking, especially the one by Michael Rock and the three from...
Published 21 months ago by Robin Benson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who wants to read an unreadable book?, November 12, 2012
This review is from: Graphic Design: Now In Production (Paperback)
The title is based on a touring exhibition of print design originally held at the Minneapolis based Walker Art Museum. The 224 pages are really in two parts: twenty essays by various industry commentators, educators and designers which are in self-contained pages and I found some of these quite thought provoking, especially the one by Michael Rock and the three from Ellen Lupton. Perhaps it's unfortunate that several essays fall short of their allotted page space and columns are just left empty at the end.

The second part is where I think it all comes unstuck. These are the image pages that follow each essay. They have hundreds of printed examples crowbarred into each page (it's meant to follow the style of a Paris salon of decades ago) with their captions set in five point and chunky blocks of copy set in 6.5 on 8 point type. These text blocks, some of which contain hundreds of words, have no paragraphs instead a pilcrow is used to tell the reader where a new par starts. There is no common line-length throughout the book for these blocks of tiny type, it just slots into whatever space is available and amazingly lots of them are set sideways (page 206 has six lines over 10.5 inches). To expect readers to put up with this is a nonsense in a book on communication.

Perhaps a clue to this sloppy editorial can be found on the colophon page part of which says: 'This premodern style of arrangement, which attempts to impose an order and sensibility on an often incoherent assemblage of objects, speaks to our contemporary condition of information overload in an increasingly fragmented search-based culture'. As an attempt I think it fails dismally.

If only the contents of this book had been presented in a format based on visual clarity and ease of reading it would have got five stars from me. If graphic design interests you I think Graphic Design, Referenced: A Visual Guide to the Language, Applications, and History of Graphic Design does a much better job than 'Graphic design: Now in production'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic Design to read, look and think, November 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Graphic Design: Now In Production (Paperback)
One of the best books about graphic design on the last 10 o 20 years. A very good balance between text and images and also and interesting object for his format, paper and so on....if you love graphic design this book must be in your bookshelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great exhibition book/ souvenir for Graphic Design: Now in Production, October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Graphic Design: Now In Production (Paperback)
This is one in-depth look at the Graphic Design: Now in Production exhibition that I went to in downtown Houston Tx. Majoring in Graphic Design, I'm very impressed by this book and gives me great insight into the evolution of graphic design and the many different mediums used and their purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book :), March 29, 2013
This review is from: Graphic Design: Now In Production (Paperback)
I went to the exhibition at The Hammer Museum and it was around 50 bucks so, I came home and looked it up and found it on Amazon. I'm really happy I got it, very informative and fun to read. Great little collection of graphic design from the past 10 years. You should definitely check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful, October 31, 2012
This review is from: Graphic Design: Now In Production (Paperback)
I bought it for my MA dissertation, since it's an exhibition catalogue about the last ten years in graphic design. It's very useful and interesting for anyone loving graphic design, typography and even title sequences (that's why I bought it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a typical design book, will probably annoy the elderly and strict modernists., November 21, 2012
By 
J. P. LARSON (MINNEAPOLIS, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Graphic Design: Now In Production (Paperback)
This is a work that crams in the last 10 years of graphic design history and is supposed to emulate the Whole Earth Catalog "cram as much information as you can in each spread" style from the 1970s. There is a grid and type hierarchy, but the designers of this book use it loosely and like to play with all variables. They utilize tiny point sizes and long line lengths if it fits the goal of fitting more information on each page. It may not be groundbreaking design, but it is decent.

I found the book amazing in its scope and range of a massive amount of graphic design history and work. Sitting with the book and google, will lead you on hours of entertainment and education. Yes, you will have to occasionally turn the book on its side to read text. If you are older, you will need to use a magnifying glass, to enjoy all the information crammed into each spread. Think of this book as more of a compendium, where one piece is listed for each designer, but you then can search and lose yourself for hours in their online portfolio or website. I recommend the book more for the information than for design inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, December 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Graphic Design: Now In Production (Paperback)
This book is really nice. There are lots of information about graphic design trend and sequence. It is going to be great help to understand recent concepion of art and graphic design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Graphic Design: Now In Production
Graphic Design: Now In Production by Rob Giampietro (Paperback - November 30, 2011)
$40.00 $29.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.