Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "It's Like Gravity..." (Rating: 9 out of 10- -4.5 stars)
About a month ago, I randomly came across this CD while shopping for some birthday presents for myself, and didn't hesitate to pick this up. I never heard of Da Bush Babees whatsoever, and if you weren't deep in to hip hop back in '96, you probably never heard of them either. As mentioned by a few reviewers, a lot of the production stands out on this album. The majority,...
Published on October 10, 2007 by Chandler

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad
First, I wanna say that Mr. Man and Lee Majors are dope MCs. Witty and insightful rhymes flow throughout the album. However the production needs a little work. There's also quite a bit of the jamaican style rapping and singing which i can't really get down with. It's just not my style. Also, Mos Def was wasted on The Love Song. For these reasons, Mr. Man and Lee...
Published on July 6, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "It's Like Gravity..." (Rating: 9 out of 10- -4.5 stars), October 10, 2007
By 
Chandler "Infamous" (Atlanta (College Park), Georgia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gravity (Audio CD)
About a month ago, I randomly came across this CD while shopping for some birthday presents for myself, and didn't hesitate to pick this up. I never heard of Da Bush Babees whatsoever, and if you weren't deep in to hip hop back in '96, you probably never heard of them either. As mentioned by a few reviewers, a lot of the production stands out on this album. The majority, if not all of it, is head nodding. Lyrically, these guys were great too. Rhyming about life, and religious topics, or just straight emceeing, these guy were on point. The only track I didn't like much was "In Meh Dreams" featuring Muntcho Leo with the whole reggae sound (truthfully, it's not too often I have a taste for that kind of music). But I highly recommend to fans of albums such as Black Star or Resurrection, because Gravity is right along those levels (and it's being sold for a low price). Seriously, this is what hip hop is supposed to sound like.

My top 5 tracks are:

1. Gravity- Something about the background vocals by Nicole "Disco" Johnson over the hook makes that song special. Excellent production on this song. Falls just short of "personal favorite" status.

2. Melting Plastic- I like the rhymes that are kicked here, about making it through life. Again, great production.

3. Wax- I like the hook ("Emcees don't like our style, because they can't do no better..."), with excellent rhymes. A great song with great production.

4. The Love Song featuring Mos Def- A nice song with some softer, more mellow production that I enjoyed.

5. The Ruler- Another excellent song by Lee Majors, produced by Mr. Man.

Honorable Mention:

1. God Complex- Another great song

An overall A+ album that I highly recommend. Also, this album is great if you're going on a long road trip. Peace!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, lericly and Beat wise!!!!!!!!!!!, June 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Gravity (Audio CD)
I had purchased this album back in October of 96 when it was released. I was already a fan of the band after Ambushed came out. This just added for my thirst for the trio's music. Apearances by Q-Tip, Mos Def and even a Beat by Rhazel takes the album to a new level. This is a Hip Hop classic. Which has been slept on. I hope the bush men are still working because it's time for some new conciess rap to the forfront. Remeber these guys are the next generation of the Native tongues. Not to say that De LA is going any where. These guys are definately representing Flatbush Brooklyn to the fullest. Stay True to the GAME J-rassic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Babees hold it down like....., February 18, 2005
This review is from: Gravity (Audio CD)
After "ambushed" in'94 i was dying to hear how they'd be able to replicate it, the answer was simple....they DIDNT!!! They created a completely different, more mature, relaxed+jazzy orientated sound. This time with MR.MAN handling most of the production himself, you get the impression that THEY got the sound that THEY wanted. The same ingredients are here, with MR.MAN bringing the intellectual flows, LEE MAJORS (KAOS) bringing the no-nonsense battle rhymes and Y-TEE bringing the reggae element, this time with added gusto. With tracks like the beautiful "gravity", "melting plastic" and "maybe" (MR.MAN solo joint) and hard hitting anthems such as "wax" (my favourite), "s.o.s.", "3 mc's", "the ruler" (LEE MAJORS solo joint), "god complex" and the brilliant "love song" (produced by POS from de-la-soul) you're baring witness to an awesome album. The ONLY unfortunate part about this album is that there's only 7 group tracks and i wasnt feeling YTEE's solo joint "in meh dreams" plus there's 5 interludes where i would've prefered MORE tracks. Ive searched everywhere trying to find any material by these cats and only found their 2 albums. Both of which are in my personal top ten. Such a shame they're no longer releasing albums cuz god knows hiphop could seriously do with DA BUSH BABEES!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No playa rap here...thank god!, November 2, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Gravity (Audio CD)
This album expresses the true meaning of hip-hop. Rapping for the love of it not the money. It seems that these days the rap section of your music shop is flooded with all this "playa rap" which is focused on the commercialism surronding hip-hop. This album takes it to a whole other level. This album is for true hip-hop headz, people who follow hip-hop as a culture and not just another fad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Denying The Gravitational Pull... {4 ˝ Stars}, May 15, 2007
This review is from: Gravity (Audio CD)
I actually popped this album into the deck just out of curiousity. This joint has been sitting on the rack for years with practically zero rotation after '97. I was reading some of CTRX's reviews and saw how he was singing the praises of the underrated producer, Shawn J. Period. So I went browsing my collection for joints that had SJP beats on them when I stumbled onto this album which I had totally forgotten about. Anyway, the album is dope. It came out during a time when the jiggy rap was beginning to dominate, so it didn't get much love from the mainstream. Then you had those that didn't feel it because it didn't go in the same direction as their debut, so that didn't help in terms of popularity either. Truth be be told, the production jumps right out at you. Not only does Shawn J. Period provide dope, dope production, but Da Bush Babees also get help outs from The Ummah (Q Tip, Ali Shaheed, J Dilla, etc), Rahzel (you know, the beat box genius), Pos (from De La Soul), Charles & Chris Harrison, and group member Mr Man handles the rest by himself (7 joints). Guest shots come from Mos Def (on thre tracks), Q Tip, and Muntcho Leo and they all hold down their spots. The standout track, in my mind, has to be "The Love Song." You simply cannot miss with that Kool & The Gang sample. Every song I've ever heard it on (from Lost Boyz to Fresh Prince to Naughty By Nature and countless others) has been tight.

As far as flaws, well, I can't really think of any. There are maybe one or two joints that I would call "mood music." So if you're not in the mood, it probably won't get played. But none of those songs are worth mentioning because every track is good and most of them are great. Lyrically, "The Ninth Presentation" is dope, but the production didn't really jump out at me and I wasn't very fond of "In Meh Dreams", but if that's the lowest point of the CD, then you gotta know that the album as a whole is tight.

This album is another one of the gems of '96 that has managed to fall through the cracks over the years. The production grabs from track one and doesn't let go until the disc is done spinning. Da Bush Babees hold it down lyrically and all three members turn in memorable performances on their last collective effort. You can go ahead and left click on the "buy" link because you won't be disappointed at all by what you'll end up with. You'd be hard pressed to find anyone saying anything bad about this album (especially in today's rap climate). I recommend adding this one to your music library.

Standout Tracks: The Love Song feat. Mos Def (My Favorite), Melting Plastic, Maybe, Gravity, Intro feat. Mos Def, God Complex, 3 MCs feat. Q Tip, S.O.S. feat. Mos Def, and Outro
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a shame they quit after this album., May 24, 2005
This review is from: Gravity (Audio CD)
I've only heard some stuff from the first album, but man, from this second album, they should never have quit. I mean, this was pure hip hop. That was during the time when there were too many beefs going on, Bad Boy (east coast) vs Death Row (west coast.) The Bad Boy clan, minus Craig Mack and Biggie, also seemed content on Bling Bling and shinny suits. Well, Da Bush Babees came out and spread their positive message real well in 96. My favorite songs are S.O.S, Love Song, which both has the Mighty Mos Def in it, Beat Down (great beatboxing by the one and only Rahzel) 3 MC's which has a hungry Q-Tip before he fell off, and Wax. I mean all of them are great, except for In Meh Dreams, but hey, it's still a classic album. The beats were sensational, so full of soul. Lyrics were just tight, especially Mr. Man. Mr. Man, to me, is the most underrated MC ever. He not only could battle, but his word play is one of the best I've ever heard in the game. Man, after Fortified Live, he's been nowhere and it's a shame. This is a classic. Even some girls I know who's into alternative music and doesn't like underground hip hop that much loves this cd. One of them tells me to turn off all my hip hop when were together. If she likes it, it shows you just how good this group is. Has a young Mos Def on some tracks, Rahzel's on here, POS from De La is producing, has a positive message, and it has one of the most underrated mc to ever step into hip hop in the group. Oh yeah, can't forget, Q-Tip is on this cd. Get it. One of the greatest trio's in the game, no doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effin Supreme, November 27, 2003
By 
This review is from: Gravity (Audio CD)
The Bush Babees restored my faith in hip hop at a time when i felt like it had started to slip. I did not hear this album until 97, but it's an excellent album. The Love Song and SOS are out of this world. And how did these fellas ever conceive some of those other beats?????? Full marks to the babees for hot beats and even hotter lyrics. Other emcees need to take a page from these cats to understand just how it's really done.
I'm fiending for the day when rap returns to tight lyrics and contagious beats (Babees, DeLa, Quest, KRS, Kane, Puba, Gangstarr, Biggie,..........)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bush Babees is so TIGHT, July 16, 2001
This review is from: Gravity (Audio CD)
YO man, this is good hip hop,with good regga mix, if u love hip hop and dancehall regae you will enjoy ths cd very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very well done and organized album., October 28, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Gravity (Audio CD)
Gravity portrayed the Bush Babees as young men now as opposed to their first album. A definite hip hop classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, May 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gravity (Audio CD)
I've always been a fan of the Bush Babees Gravity has great music lyrics beats production overall it's a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gravity
Gravity by Da Bush Babees (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.