Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just for Preschoolers
Although this book will painlessly teach your four year old what science is and what that abstract concept, gravity, is, it is also excellent for a teenager who is struggling through a physics course. As Einstein said, you don't really understand a concept until you can explain it to your grandmother. Well, this is a book for Grandmother.
Published on May 9, 2004

versus
18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prediction presented as fact
The illustrations are beautiful!

Unfortunately, the author chose an example that has not been verified by experiment or observation. Falling into a hole through the center of a large massive body is a common example of a PREDICTION of Newton's theory of gravity. But we have no empirical evidence to support it (not even in laboratory tests that could actually be...
Published on June 23, 2010 by Richard Benish


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just for Preschoolers, May 9, 2004
By A Customer
Although this book will painlessly teach your four year old what science is and what that abstract concept, gravity, is, it is also excellent for a teenager who is struggling through a physics course. As Einstein said, you don't really understand a concept until you can explain it to your grandmother. Well, this is a book for Grandmother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gravity is a mystery, September 27, 2001
By 
Peter H Moskowitz (Baltimore, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This book is as important as it is wonderful. It brings home the Big Secret about science that escapes most people: Science is about the unknown, not the known. There are lots of mysteries out there; the business of science is to change the unknown into the known, which is the lesson, I think, of Franklyn Branley's masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Favorite for my 3 year old!, February 22, 2001
By A Customer
In 1990, my husband went to the library and brought home " gravity is a mystery" for our son to read. He loved it! It was his favorite book for weeks! Every night one of us would have to read it to him. This is a fun book that everyone should get a chance to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a winner after all these years!, March 14, 2005
By 
Misti A. Delaney (Ann Arbor, Michigan USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gravity is a Mystery (Paperback)
One of my older children brought this book home from a school book sale many years ago. It was a hit with both of my children for several years. Then, as they grew up, the book was put away in a box for another time.

When I had another child, I got out that "box for another time" and stacked the books on a shelf. This one was amongst them, and onto a shelf it went, though I did't expect it to be of interest to him for several years yet.

But lately, at 21 months, Jack has been asking for this book frequently -- and listening with interest to reading after reading! I doubt that the concept of "how much you weigh on Mars" makes much sense to him yet -- but the idea of gravity is one that he is working out, and Branley's explanations of the Earth pulling everything to its center is simple and seems to satisfy even at this age!

Even better, the science is simple, but accurate so it's a good start on his physics education!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series for elementary age kids, December 25, 2007
By 
Michigan Mom (West Bloomfield, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gravity Is a Mystery (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
I bought my son several of the Let's Read and Find Out books for Christmas. He's a first grader going on 7 years. These are just absolutely fantastic books for introducing varoius difficult concepts. I like that they contain alot of information, but are still easy to understand. Hard to find something "not too young, not too old" for this age. We love them. This particular one was a favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prediction presented as fact, June 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gravity is a Mystery (Paperback)
The illustrations are beautiful!

Unfortunately, the author chose an example that has not been verified by experiment or observation. Falling into a hole through the center of a large massive body is a common example of a PREDICTION of Newton's theory of gravity. But we have no empirical evidence to support it (not even in laboratory tests that could actually be performed).

Science is supposed to be about making sense of the world by observing it. So it would have been better if the author had stated that WE DO NOT KNOW what happens when you jump into the hole through the earth. But that IF WE COULD, then we would learn something important about gravity. We might then prove that Newton's prediction is correct. Presenting this prediction as though it were a fact is an error that has been repeated many times, even in college level books. It is most unfortunate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice explanation of gravity for kids, January 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gravity Is a Mystery (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
My daughter loves this book, as she is currently really into gravity. It has a nice explanation of gravity and its relationship to weight on earth and on different planets and the moon. This would serve as a good introduction to force/acceleration, though it doesn't discuss gravity in those terms. Also, I like how it shows how gravity pulls to the center of an object, as opposed to the apparent pull of it to the ground or surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to learn new, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gravity Is a Mystery (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
My kid started as ' Gravity a Mystery' and ended as 'Gravity as a Mystery' with nothing to learn in between. Might be a book for 4 years old, but mine is 6 years and a little bit advanced in science. It did not help my kid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gravity Is a Mystery (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
My 5 year old daughter loves this book and really remembers the details. It is accurate and written just perfectly to capture and hold the attention of children. We both really love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fun and informative book!, April 27, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gravity Is a Mystery (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
My six-year old grandson absolutely loves this book! We even make reference to its contents when we are out shopping -"how much would this item weigh on the moon?" Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gravity Is a Mystery (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2)
Gravity Is a Mystery (Let's-Read-and-Find-O
ut
by Franklyn Mansfield Branley (Paperback - May 29, 2007)
$5.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.