Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great American Artists for kids...superb book!, September 11, 2008
This review is from: Great American Artists for Kids: Hands-On Art Experiences in the Styles of Great American Masters (Bright Ideas for Learning (TM)) (Paperback)
Kohl's latest and greatest book, Great American Artists for Kids is superb. As an elementary classroom teacher for many years, I have used lessons from her Discovering Great Artists and found them very appealing for the students and easy-to-use for teachers. Her latest book is also outstanding. There is a brief background on each artist, a concise list of materials needed, and the lesson process clearly and concisely written. Many examples of student art resulting from the lessons are featured...and it's all in COLOR! Internet Sites, definitions of Art Words, Art Styles with references to the artists, a comprehensive Chart of Contents and index result in a five-star book!!
Kathy Whitmer, Washington State
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What fun!, September 1, 2008
This review is from: Great American Artists for Kids: Hands-On Art Experiences in the Styles of Great American Masters (Bright Ideas for Learning (TM)) (Paperback)
This book is an easy-to-follow, accessible way for children to learn about American art. Parents, teachers, and caregivers will enjoy exploring their children's creativity through these hands-on experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Using Great American Artists for Kids Across the Curriculum, August 19, 2008
By 
Sally A. Parsons (White Bear Lake, MN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Great American Artists for Kids: Hands-On Art Experiences in the Styles of Great American Masters (Bright Ideas for Learning (TM)) (Paperback)
Great American Artists for Kids is a wonderful book that can easily be applied across the curriculum to support other disciplines. Not only do our students learn about American heritage and the artists that have created it; but they can explore the techniques and methods of those artists. We find that the projects in the book fit into most areas of study and are relatively inexpensive. The best thing about the book is that it introduces our students to the artists they are most likely to encounter in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Artists Galore!, October 8, 2010
This review is from: Great American Artists for Kids: Hands-On Art Experiences in the Styles of Great American Masters (Bright Ideas for Learning (TM)) (Paperback)
Wow! is all I can say about this book. The art activities are doable and the list of materials needed are readily found in any school. My students have enjoyed learning about famous American Artists, but what they enjoy most is creating their very own masterpieces!!! Two thumbs up, and many more stars!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Artists Hands on Art, August 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great American Artists for Kids: Hands-On Art Experiences in the Styles of Great American Masters (Bright Ideas for Learning (TM)) (Paperback)
I teach Art and ordered this book to teach my grandchildren about Great American Artists.This book is wonderful, very easy to understand and the projects are for all ages. I highly recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super art/craft learning tool, August 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great American Artists for Kids: Hands-On Art Experiences in the Styles of Great American Masters (Bright Ideas for Learning (TM)) (Paperback)
This book has an incredible amount of information about american artists. There is both traditional and untraditional art. The ideas for the student/child are rated by difficulty and include up to Jr. high level. What was interesting were the ideas for child's art are fun and sometimes different than the usual art/craft ideas. Basic art theory is something that could be taught while using the ideas and learning about the artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great American Artists for Kids: Hands-On Art Experiences in the Styles of Great American Masters (Bright Ideas for Learning (TM)) (Paperback)
This is a great book for connecting history with art. It is the perfect book for our homeschool co-op art class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great American Artists for Kids: Hands-On Art Experiences in the Styles of Great American Masters (Bright Ideas for Learning (TM)) (Paperback)
I bought this as a present for a good friend who teaches art to students from 1st to 8th grade. There are enough projects and at varying grade levels to help interest budding artists. Several of the projects have been used already and the students enjoyed them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just enough info, August 20, 2011
This review is from: Great American Artists for Kids: Hands-On Art Experiences in the Styles of Great American Masters (Bright Ideas for Learning (TM)) (Paperback)
Was one of the books I used in the summer arts program while teaching 10 to 12 year olds. It was just enough info that kept their attention. Some even remembered the artist names and style weeks later! (A plus in my opinion) Was fun to see how the kids interpreted each artists work in their work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth getting, July 2, 2014
This review is from: Great American Artists for Kids: Hands-On Art Experiences in the Styles of Great American Masters (Bright Ideas for Learning (TM)) (Paperback)
Some good ideas in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.