Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a great book for chocolate lovers. Highly Recommended
`The Great Book of Chocolate', David Lebovitz' third book, is much, much more than a book of chocolate recipes. It is a great resource, including recipes, lore, history, sources, anecdotes, manufacture, producers, and botany of cacao and chocolate.

Even if you have any other book on chocolate, you will find things in this book which do not appear in any others,...
Published on September 16, 2004 by B. Marold

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a chocolate catalogue at times
Too much shop-reviewing! I don't need to read so many reviews of shops I am unlikely to ever be able to visit. The book was great and had a good amount of information, but the shop reviews went on forever. Nice recipes in the back, but I am unlikely to actually make them.
Published on January 24, 2011 by A. Chow


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Chocolate Bible, February 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Book of Chocolate (Paperback)
This is THE authority on baking with chocolate. Half the book consists of well-written chapters on the history of chocolate, processing of the cacao bean, organic chocolate, the different kinds of chocolate, and where in the world to purchase the best chocolate. The recipes are simply fantastic. Imagine my surprised guests when they were informed that the deliciously moist chocolate cake they were devouring was a chocolate SAURKRAUT cake with chocolate glaze! Kudos to the ccoca-marzipan pound cake as well. This is one book every baker should have on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No nonsense. Just chocolate!, July 2, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Book of Chocolate (Paperback)
David Lebovitz, how I love thee. Thank you for writing this book! If you want to know about chocolate, look no further. It gives the essentials of chocolate, from how it's grown to where to get it to cooking/baking, in his usual easy to read style. He also includes wonderful scrumptious recipes which pretty much cover the whole spectrum of chocolate goodies. Love, love, love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another thoughtful meditation by David Lebovitz, July 4, 2014
This review is from: The Great Book of Chocolate (Paperback)
A delightful, though unfortunately short, appreciation of one of the world's great subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun book to browse through and read, June 2, 2014
By 
Marshall Rothman (Valley Village, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Book of Chocolate (Paperback)
David is a very interesting and devoted food writer. This book is filled with more than recipes. It offers a big realm of topics about chocolate, and it is fun to have in my cookbook library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A promise of cheerful learning, April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Book of Chocolate (Paperback)
I started this book (I'm a good book starter) and within a few pages learned sweet new things about chocolate. Don't resist this one, let yourself indulge, as reading it isn't fattening...and it's fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great general book, August 15, 2013
By 
John R Gainor (Hillsburgh, Ontario, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Book of Chocolate (Paperback)
Wanted a general overview of chocolate. The reference section was useful and the book gave me the basics to read more detailed works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like David Lebovitz' books., July 6, 2013
By 
Joseph G. Lurker (Lebanon, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Book of Chocolate (Paperback)
A very nice addition to my kitchen library. I would recommend this to the intermediate baker. There are other books more suited to beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Book of Chocolate, June 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Book of Chocolate (Paperback)
David Lebovitz wrote a nice reference book. Good tips. It was required for school and I am glad! 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Small but informative, May 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Book of Chocolate (Paperback)
Love the recipes. Easy to read and follow.
Love the scone recipe and have already made that twice and everyone love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everything about chocolate!!, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Book of Chocolate (Paperback)
This book is as much a text book as a cookbook!! It gives ALL the information anyone could possibly need to become a chocolate expert!! I haven't made any of the recipes yet, but most of them sound fairly simple, and they all sound out of this world!! Low-calorie it is not!! Rich luxurious treats is what this cookbook is all about!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Great Book of Chocolate
The Great Book of Chocolate by David Lebovitz (Paperback - April 15, 2004)
$16.99 $12.12
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.