Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solid book for Cleveland sports fans
The Great Book of Cleveland Sports Lists is a diverting, interesting exploration of all things related to Cleveland sports. Bill Livingston and Greg Brinda delve into the Cavs, Indians and Browns, but also spend time discussing golf, soccer, track and field and other sports with unique Cleveland ties.

It's very obvious that Livingston and Brinda know their...
Published on October 27, 2008 by C. Murnan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun
This was a fun read.
I disagree and agree with a lot in this book.
I'm still not a big fan of Livingston, but I do like Brinda.
I also enjoyed writing about the Dean of Sportstalk Greg Brinda when I wrote Cleveland's Finest
Published 9 months ago by Avid Fan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, August 8, 2009
This review is from: The Great Book of Cleveland Sports Lists (Great Book of Sports Lists) (Paperback)
This is a nice book to lay down and pick up at any time. You can also glance through and read any list that you want. I would call this a great "bathroom book" If you are interested in or live in the Cleveland Ohio area and love sports, then pick this book up from 2 very knowledgable sports personalities in NE Ohio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solid book for Cleveland sports fans, October 27, 2008
By 
C. Murnan (Olmsted Falls, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Book of Cleveland Sports Lists (Great Book of Sports Lists) (Paperback)
The Great Book of Cleveland Sports Lists is a diverting, interesting exploration of all things related to Cleveland sports. Bill Livingston and Greg Brinda delve into the Cavs, Indians and Browns, but also spend time discussing golf, soccer, track and field and other sports with unique Cleveland ties.

It's very obvious that Livingston and Brinda know their material, in fact have an almost encyclopedic knowledge of it. To further enhance their viewpoints, regional experts are called in to weigh in on certain topics. Look for lists from Drew Carey, Sen. Sherrod Brown, LeBron James and Mike Hargrove, to name but a few. Cleveland's own Iron Chef Mike Symon even adds his two cents on the best Cleveland-area hot dogs.

As stated in the preface, Livingston and Brinda make assertions in the book and hope discussions and debate spring forth from them. For anyone living in Cleveland or with Cleveland roots, this is not only an entertaining read, but a great conversation-starter. Go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, December 10, 2013
This review is from: The Great Book of Cleveland Sports Lists (Great Book of Sports Lists) (Paperback)
This was a fun read.
I disagree and agree with a lot in this book.
I'm still not a big fan of Livingston, but I do like Brinda.
I also enjoyed writing about the Dean of Sportstalk Greg Brinda when I wrote Cleveland's Finest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A NICE COLLECTION, February 5, 2010
By 
COOL JEWEL (MACEDONIA, OHIO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great Book of Cleveland Sports Lists (Great Book of Sports Lists) (Paperback)
THIS IS A REALLY NICE COLLECTION OF THE TOP THIS AND THAT IN CLEVELAND SPORTS HISTORY. ALSO IS A FEW OTHER TOPICS SUCH AS ACTORS AND ACTRESSES, RESTAURANTS AND HOT DOGS AMONG THE LISTS ALSO. IF YOU ARE FROM CLEVELAND OR ARE FAMILIAR WITH SPORTS FIGURES AND EVENTS THEN THIS IS A GOOD READ. IF NOT THEN, YOU MIGHT HAVE TROUBLE KNOWING WHO THESE PEOPLE AND EVENTS ARE. I THINK THE AUTHORS DID A VERY NICE JOB PUTTING THIS TOGETHER. IT IS BOTH FUN AND ENTERTAINING TO SEE IF YOU DISAGREE OR AGREE WITH THEIR CHOICES. IT IS A BOOK THAT YOU CAN PUT DOWN FOR WEEKS AND STILL NOT NEED TO REMEMBER WHAT WHEN ON. I RECOMMEND THIS FOR CLEVELAND SPORTS FANS WHO HAVE BOTH A GOOD KNOWLEDGE AND HAVE FOLLOWED THIS AREA'S ATHLETHES OVER THE YEARS. WORTH READING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Bland Look Into Rich Histories, October 22, 2008
This review is from: The Great Book of Cleveland Sports Lists (Great Book of Sports Lists) (Paperback)
In what is a very bland and brief read, two longtime Cleveland sports journalists take the lazy route in exploring the vast history of the Indians, Browns and Cavaliers.

Bill Livingston has been a columnist for The (Cleveland) Plain Dealer since 1984 and Greg Brinda has a radio sports-talk career that spans four decades, hence such topics like overrated athletes, bad trades and heartbreaking losses could have easily been expanded upon if this was truly a collaborative effort.

Granted, the book is part of a series that targets specific major sports cities, but the presentation is ultimately like a cookie-cutter stadium of the 1970s, when a fresh retro-look park from the past decade was required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Great Book of Cleveland Sports Lists (Great Book of Sports Lists)
The Great Book of Cleveland Sports Lists (Great Book of Sports Lists) by Greg Brinda (Paperback - October 14, 2008)
$14.95 $12.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.