Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable (and fun!) Tool for Parents and Educators
When I wrote a book about Berkeley High School (Class Dismissed, October 2000), I was captivated and inspired by Rick Ayers' and Amy Crawford's dedicated, innovative and intelligent teaching methods--that's why they were two of the four teachers profiled in the book. This book is the text version of their dedication, innovation, and intelligence, and no high school...
Published on May 24, 2004 by M. Maran

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so-so guide
I had really high expectations for this book. Finding things for kids to read is so tough. Teachers are not much help and when I saw this book I thought I had found it. There are great books in here, with good ideas, but it had so much useless stuff. Tell me what boys like, girls like--they have different interests yes! Make the book easier to read. I really did not...
Published on March 17, 2011 by mbear


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable (and fun!) Tool for Parents and Educators, May 24, 2004
By 
This review is from: Great Books for High School Kids: A Teacher's Guide to Books That Can Change Teens' Lives (Paperback)
When I wrote a book about Berkeley High School (Class Dismissed, October 2000), I was captivated and inspired by Rick Ayers' and Amy Crawford's dedicated, innovative and intelligent teaching methods--that's why they were two of the four teachers profiled in the book. This book is the text version of their dedication, innovation, and intelligence, and no high school teacher--or parent--should be without it. Brilliant and necessary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Quick Reviews, October 1, 2007
By 
C. Lock "Psych54" (Denton, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Books for High School Kids: A Teacher's Guide to Books That Can Change Teens' Lives (Paperback)
Excellent "Great Books" reference for High School Students. You can search alphabetically or by topic. Very useful book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so-so guide, March 17, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great Books for High School Kids: A Teacher's Guide to Books That Can Change Teens' Lives (Paperback)
I had really high expectations for this book. Finding things for kids to read is so tough. Teachers are not much help and when I saw this book I thought I had found it. There are great books in here, with good ideas, but it had so much useless stuff. Tell me what boys like, girls like--they have different interests yes! Make the book easier to read. I really did not want to have to read the whole book to figure out one or two good ideas. Plus, for me, I am looking for a guide, not a personal story. Dissapointing overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, no pretense here!, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great Books for High School Kids: A Teacher's Guide to Books That Can Change Teens' Lives (Paperback)
It is exactly what it sounds like- lists of book by genres, interests, and age-grouping or theme. It was cheap, too. I expected more to the book, but as a reading teacher it is nice to have, as it sticks to good-quality literature (I am a bit of a purist), and will help with organizing my class library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Great Books for High School Kids: A Teacher's Guide to Books That Can Change Teens' Lives
$18.00 $14.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.