Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Resource for any Library
The first thing that I did when I saw this book was check the index to see if Harry Potter books was listed. It was. And the opening sentence about the book says: 'As a way to entice the young into reading, few stories surpass the Harry Potter novels.' Again as Ms. Silvey says, the Harry Potter books will naturally 'find its detractors.' Sure. But the first sentence is...
Published on December 2, 2006 by John Matlock

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre at Best
This book tends to list all of the same books that other book guides have listed. It might be a good starting point for a young teen but the average high school sophomore will have read most of these titles.
This book got freecycled after just a week or two!
Published on February 18, 2009 by D. Martin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Resource for any Library, December 2, 2006
This review is from: 500 Great Books for Teens (Hardcover)
The first thing that I did when I saw this book was check the index to see if Harry Potter books was listed. It was. And the opening sentence about the book says: 'As a way to entice the young into reading, few stories surpass the Harry Potter novels.' Again as Ms. Silvey says, the Harry Potter books will naturally 'find its detractors.' Sure. But the first sentence is the key. More kids have gotten into reading by being introduced to Harry Potter than any other book ever.

OK, if she got this one right, how about other books? In this same section: 'Fantasy' - Ms. Silvey talks about the Diana Wynne Jones Chrestomanci series. About these books she says: 'its advocates always argue its literary superiority to the Harry Potter saga.' Right On! When the kid has finished the Harry Potter series and looking for something else, point him to the Jones books. Or to Narnia. Or to Anne McCaffrey -- all of which are discussed by Ms. Silvey.

This is exactly what a book like this should do. Give you the ideas to get the youngers to reading. And this is exactly what the book delivers. If not in Fantasy, then in advernture, history, mystery, science fiction and several other categories.

Complaints, a few - she doesn't list Isaac Asimov's Foundation series in the science fiction section. Things like that. But could you ever pick 500 titles upon which we would all agree.

An excellent resource book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable guide!, December 28, 2006
This review is from: 500 Great Books for Teens (Hardcover)
I am usually skeptical when reviewing resources or ads because, as a shopper, I have to know what I'm recommending and stand by it. I was recently given carte blanche to handle several people's gift lists AND review lists. The review buying is easy, it's largely what juts came out. The gift selections need to be more specific, and with all the product out there shouting to be bought --well, the task is trying enough for those of us who just want a good read, let alone purchase them for other people.

THIS reference was an invaluable help to me, and will be to parents, teachers, librarians and anyone facing the huge variety of choices out there. The book lists 500 titles, and each one has a very readable and detailed essay about the selection.

It is further categorized in 21 different genre sections: adventure and survival, politics and social history, horror, romance, war and conflict, fantasy, plays, graphic novels, poetry, memoir, and spirituality.

This reference has a balanced mix of classics, but the majority of titles are new. Since many readers are familiar with classics, this volume does well in mostly sorting out what's new. It also gets a parental recommendation because you can know what your teen is reading and promote discussion. If you're a shopper, this is your bible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's an excellent librarian's or parents' pick, February 2, 2007
This review is from: 500 Great Books for Teens (Hardcover)
Any shopping for a book to give to a teen reader will welcome 500 Great Books for Teens, a guide to some of the newest in the young adult publishing world. Silvey is one of the nation's foremost authorities on books for teens, has interviewed teen readers across the country, and emphasizes here books published in the past five years. It's an excellent librarian's or parents' pick; especially considering how many books on 'best of pick for teens' focus on those over published over ten years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Mother Daughter Book Club.com, July 2, 2008
By 
This review is from: 500 Great Books for Teens (Hardcover)
There's a new addition to my reference shelf that's been really helpful when I or my daughters want to look for a new book to read. It's called 500 Great Books for TEENS by Anita Silvey. I love the easy way books are categorized here. Age recommendations come right under the book title so I can easily see that The Whale Rider is best for 12 - 14-year olds while Bill Bryson's A Walk in the Woods is probably more suited to older teens.

And the categories are great! I can look for humorous books, classics, mysteries and thrillers, war and conflict books and many more classifications that will help suit the mood for the type of book my daughters and I are looking for.

Silvey's done a nice job, too, with the extras at the end. I can look up books that take place in certain states or countries or at certain historical times. My daughters and I are actually psyched about checking off the books on the lists we've already read then adding more as we read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every HS Teacher NEEDS This, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 500 Great Books for Teens (Hardcover)
A great book listing of the MUST have books. This book chronicles the 500 best books for kids. It is a giant hit list of the books you need in your house or classroom. I have bought nearly half of these books and ALL of them have been hits. The books is organized by genre, allowing the reader to find types of books they wish to look in to by a short paragraph description of the story. It is a great tool for new teachers of English or librarians. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Recommendations, July 4, 2012
Not sure what to read? Looking for something great? This book will help you find it, for any genre. It lists 500 good books and gives a brief summary. I liked that it was arranged by genre, so if you're looking for a specific type of book, you can just flip to that section. And it's helpful to see how many of the books she's listed you've already read. I've read 100/500 of the books listed so far. So that's 20%. Not bad. It gives you plenty of information about each book: when it was published, the number of pages, and recommended age range. Also, at the end of the book, there are "additional titles of interest," books arranged by geographic location, and by historical time. This was a great feature of the book; the different ways the books suggested were organized.

One thing that was annoying about the book was that it had a lot of spoilers. I mean, A LOT OF SPOILERS.

*You can read all of my reviews at my book review blog, novareviews.blogspot.com*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre at Best, February 18, 2009
By 
D. Martin "Darlene" (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 500 Great Books for Teens (Hardcover)
This book tends to list all of the same books that other book guides have listed. It might be a good starting point for a young teen but the average high school sophomore will have read most of these titles.
This book got freecycled after just a week or two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 13, 2007
This review is from: 500 Great Books for Teens (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book with far more interesting titles than Nancy Pearl's book lust. It is incredibly well organized with sensible categories and writing. There are some excellent choices of books in there as well. I thought there were a few books that were misplaced and she revealed too much plot for many of the books, which is why I did not give her a five out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

500 Great Books for Teens
500 Great Books for Teens by Anita Silvey (Hardcover - October 3, 2006)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.