Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Great Chocolate Scam (Death by Chocolate Book 3)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 29, 2012
I recently discovered Sally Berneathy's Death by Chocolate Series. The Great Chocolate Scam is the third book in the series and is every bit as good as the earlier books in the series. I'm sure you could read this mystery as a stand-alone book, but do yourself a favor and read all three in order. By the time I got to book 3, the characters (heroine Lindsay, the hardworking friend and business partner Paula, the other neighbor with secrets of his own Fred) felt like old friends. This book, like the others in the series, is an easy read with plenty of action and lots of humor. A plus, for chocolate lovers who like to bake, are the recipes included at the end! I do have to admit that I went to lunch today and ordered a hot fudge brownie sundae for dessert!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
As always, Sally Berneathy's characters were charming, funny and intriguing. Sporting the same cast of character's from the first books of the series and a few new "characters" guarantee that you will love this book. Lindsay (the heroine) is always finding herself in new and unusual predicaments. That's where her loving, although eccentric friends come into play. Like a bull in a china closet Lindsay and her gang investigate with a flare that only Ms. Berneathy can create. The plot is filled with twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat if you haven't already fallen out of your chair laughing!

The characters are so well developed that you will feel as if you have fallen into the book and are hanging out with the gang. This book can stand alone, but don't cheat yourself. The other books of the series are wonderfully entertaining and will help you actually develop a friendship with the cast of characters. By all means, read this book! But...treat yourself to a real "chocolate high" and read them all in order. You won't be disappointed.

Oh, I almost forgot...the chocolate recipes in the back of the books are "to die for"! Thank you Sally, for yet another great book. I am looking forward to the next one already.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
This is the 5th book I read by Sally, and I must say, every book I ever read from hers is a non-stop page turner. What an amazing talent Sally has. Looking forward to the next release already!!!

Bryan Kollar, owner of "Body By Bryan"

Your the best Sally!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
I just adore this series. It is fall on your butt funny. I can't wait to get book 4. Sally Berneathy is a wonderful writer she keeps you interested with her snarky humor and her need to feed the neighbors her chocolate. Have no doubts if you pick up one of these books you will be hooked. I gave these all 5 stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2016
I absolutely love this series! Normally when a chapter ends I can put the book down but not with this series, the author leaves you hanging so you have to continue reading to find out what happened. I have spent many a late night reading until I realize that morning isn't far away. I highly recommend this series. Each book is a stand alone but the best way to read them is from the beginning so you can enjoy each character that much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2014
The fun heroine of this little mystery was busy trying to prove that she hadn't murdered her ex-husband while, at the same time, she was trying to attract the attention of the hunk of a policeman assigned to her case. It was fun.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2014
I came late to the Death By Chocolate series but all is not lost. As soon as I'm done writing this review I'm getting the first two books in the series (Death By Chocolate and The Chocolate Mousse Attack.

I love Lindsay's (owner of the Death By Chocolate restaurant & bakery) humor, spunk and belief that anything can be fixed with enough chocolate. But this doesn't apply to convincing her husband to sign the divorce papers. He's despicable, pitiful, and quite often very funny. Lindsay has a boyfriend (a policeman) in the wings and wants to get on with their relationship. Rick, the not-so-ex-husband, is always putting off signing the divorce papers. Lindsay wonders if this torment will ever stop, then BOOM, Rick is blown up. She can live with that, but just when everything looks clear she is accused of the murder. To complicate matters Rick's mother, brothers, baby momma and son show up. Surprises all to Lindsay and real pains in the butt, too. Can things get worse? Oh, yeah. Rick shows up alive in her shower - he wasn't in the car when it was blown up after all. And this is where the fun begins...or, rather continues.

Sally Berneathy is a great find - don't miss this series. Her humor is fresh and very funny. (Also, the recipes at the end of the book are mouth-watering.)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
All Lindsey wants is a divorce so she can pursue her relationship with that hunky cop, Adam Trent. Once again her plans are put on hold. While waiting in her attorney’s office for her soon-to-be-ex Rick, she receives some very disturbing news. First Rick’s dead, then he isn’t. What’s going on? Lindsey is surprised by the appearance of Rick’s rather strange family – the ones he’s always told her didn’t exist – up to and including a former girlfriend and her young son. What a mess and it seems that nothing but an overdose of chocolate can keep Lindsey on target to reach her goal of being divorced. Of course, we are visited by King Henry again and he doesn’t like Rick (or his family) any better than before. There’s no doubt that with the help of her best friend Paula, and her very mysterious neighbor Fred, that the murder and the mystery will be solved. Each of the books in the Death by Chocolate series just gets better. I’ve come to care about Lindsey and her cat, King Henry. If ever there was a kitty who had a sixth sense, King Henry is it. So when is the next book being released? I’m going to be in chocolate withdrawal until I have it in hand, although in the meantime I’m going to be busy making all the delicious chocolate recipes at the end of the book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
This book is the third, and it all started with Death By Chocolate, and that's the name of Lindsays restaurant. She is trying to get a divorce from Rick, her cheating husband and all she wants is HER restaurant, and a house they had as rental property. She is not asking for their big home that he is now sharing with Muffie, or is it Buffie? Who knows, then his car explodes! Is Rick dead? He seems to have more family than she ever imagined and they are all coming out to get a piece of the fortune. Are they his true family? With the help of her neighbor Paula who is a partner in the restaurant, to her other neighbor Fred, who is very mysterious in his own right, you will laugh as they try to figure it all out. Linday gets in the shower and who do you think is in there! Read the book to find out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2015
I enjoyed this book. It was fun and full or suspense. The characters were fun, witty and intelligent. There were several twists and turns to keep me interested. I will read the next book in the series.

I was provided this book for free from the author for an unbiased review.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.