Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars plastic would have been better than cardboard, BUT....
we still absolutely LOVE this glow-in-the-dark planets and stars kit, along with the Glow Moon and Stars that we also purchased from Amazon. We put the moon and stars on the ceiling, and the planets along the wall.

For a child who was very afraid of the dark, this made bedtime go MUCH smoother, and way more fun.

A couple tips:
1) When you...
Published on April 28, 2010 by Elizabeth Mack

versus
45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Disappointed.....
These Planets & Stars were bought to entice my preschooler into his room at night.There were 9 planets and 21 stars, both in different sizes. I thought that the planets would be plastic like the stars, but they were not - they were cardboard with the colored planet coated in areas with the glow in the dark substance. This was not what I was looking for. Also, the kit came...
Published on June 16, 2009 by Rachel


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars plastic would have been better than cardboard, BUT...., April 28, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great Explorations Glow In The Dark Planets & Stars, quantity 30 (Misc.)
we still absolutely LOVE this glow-in-the-dark planets and stars kit, along with the Glow Moon and Stars that we also purchased from Amazon. We put the moon and stars on the ceiling, and the planets along the wall.

For a child who was very afraid of the dark, this made bedtime go MUCH smoother, and way more fun.

A couple tips:
1) When you start getting the kids ready for bed, put their bedroom light on so you can get the planets, moon, and stars "charged up" with the light. 5-10 minutes is all they need.

2) After lights, we sit on the bed together and enjoy the beautiful night sky.
We keep a flashlight (the kind that plugs into the wall to charge) Dorcy 41-1045 5MM LED Rechargeable Flashlight with Built-In AC Adaptor in the kids bedroom, and when the stars start to fade out, we use the flashlight to brighten a few of them up. (you can do this while still sitting on the bed). It's a fun way to wrap up the night. This helped them learn the planets because we'd brighten one up with the flashlight so it would glow, and then talk about which planet it was, what made it different from the other planets, etc.

We've also given these as gifts to other kids, and they've been a real hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Disappointed....., June 16, 2009
By 
Rachel (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Great Explorations Glow In The Dark Planets & Stars, quantity 30 (Misc.)
These Planets & Stars were bought to entice my preschooler into his room at night.There were 9 planets and 21 stars, both in different sizes. I thought that the planets would be plastic like the stars, but they were not - they were cardboard with the colored planet coated in areas with the glow in the dark substance. This was not what I was looking for. Also, the kit came with adhesive putty to stick the planets and stars to the wall - not what I was expecting, I was anticipating more of a plastic, stick on star/planet. The positives of this product is that it is cheap for the number of pieces you receive. This kit wasn't bad (especially for the price) but just was not what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, nice and easy to install, July 6, 2009
By 
Alfa Villa (Guadalajara, Mexico) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great Explorations Glow In The Dark Planets & Stars, quantity 30 (Misc.)
As expected stars and planets were well received by my child, he did complain and it is a minor issue, that the planets were not glowing, they actually do, but the starts glow so much more that they blind out the planet's glow. Don't place stars too close to the planets, this will help a bit. It'd be good if the company checks if they can make the planets glow a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay but..., January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great Explorations Glow In The Dark Planets & Stars, quantity 30 (Misc.)
I bought this for my 5 year old son who's very into planets right now. We already had some glow in the dark stars and wanted to add the planets. This kit included both, which seemed great. Now here' s the disappointing part. While the stars are a sturdy plastic and glow for a reasonable amount of time, the planets are a very thin cardboard that doesn't glow well. The planets have a fuzzy kind of coating which has the faintest glow, but really not enough to be seen well. They are detailed enough to look good when the lights are on, but to not glow in the dark is very disappointing, especially for an excited kid. If the planets were made out of the same plastic as the stars, this would probably be a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh My Stars - What Junk!, August 25, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great Explorations Glow In The Dark Planets & Stars, quantity 30 (Misc.)
This was a huge disappointment. The planets are just pieces of cardboard that do not glow at all. The stars are OK but the material they give you to stick them on the ceiling or wall is useless. I went to craft store to find something better to hold them on the ceiling and found a better set with better material for sticking them on the ceiling and the set was only $1 compared to the $8 I spent on this.

I do not blame this on Amazon and out of the 100+ items I have bought from Amazon, this is the only one that I was unhappy with.

Tom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, October 5, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Great Explorations Glow In The Dark Planets & Stars, quantity 30 (Misc.)
I accidently brought two (2) of these, BUT U know what, it worked out great, as they are very easy to work with and great effects... Glows great and gives the effect I was looking for. Used them in my new born's room for the theme we chosed (mOon & Stars), the extra one is being used in my own bedroom.

Amir (T'dad)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 25 years old and still love these on my ceiling :), May 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great Explorations Glow In The Dark Planets & Stars, quantity 30 (Misc.)
I had these since I was a little kid and kept them on my ceiling forever. I have missed them since I moved, and I am glad I found these again (its actually the same set that I got about 15 years ago!). I REALLY wish these came with the Sun so the solar system could be set up. It does come with all of the planets though!

- They arent overly bright, so they dont strain your eyes when the lights go out
- They are relaxing to look at before falling asleep
- May want to get an extra pack of stars to fill the room a bit more. (i got a pack of 150 on amazon, and that was plenty)

**I recommend getting different tack to put these up with. The tack that come with wont stick as long, and it take the paint off when it falls off (Elmer's Tac 'N Stik Reusable Adhesive works great though)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The stars, they glow...., January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great Explorations Glow In The Dark Planets & Stars, quantity 30 (Misc.)
These stars and planets have made lots of people happy, since I have them in my car, affixed to the headliner.

Surprisingly, the sticky putty that is included in this even works on my car's headliner, where not even heavy duty tape will.

The planets glow very well and very long, so do the planets. The stars come in different shapes and sizes, which is great!

You get a full galaxy for a small price, what's not to love?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stars for my 2 year old, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great Explorations Glow In The Dark Planets & Stars, quantity 30 (Misc.)
My son loves these on his ceiling. They fall off the ceiling quite a bit, but every pack I have ever bought has, so I think its just the tack that comes with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars stars glow but planets not so much, March 21, 2010
By 
Rachael P. "mom of 2" (new york, ny United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great Explorations Glow In The Dark Planets & Stars, quantity 30 (Misc.)
The planets are colorful but don't really glow much. The stars work better for that purpose. The planets are "pretty" but it's thin cardboard material and they aren't really big (think softball size down to golf ball). The sticky stuff that comes w/ it is in short supply but I found that you can use a teeny amount and it sticks well enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Great Explorations Glow In The Dark Planets & Stars, quantity 30
$6.32
In stock. Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.