Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon Sixx AM Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Mother's Day Gifts Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 7, 2010
This is the best book I've thus far encountered concerning this particular subject, and there have been quite a few. (See my earlier reviews of books dealing with the history of gold; the current state of economic affairs in the United States and around the globe, its implications for the years to come, and how to survive the coming collapse of the U.S. dollar.) That isn't to say that the earlier books weren't enlightening and informative. They were, and most were excellent. But, from a concerned citizen's point of view, this book is vastly superior. I find it to be so original, so thorough, so current, and so well timed, in fact, that I have a hard time imaging a better one; nor can I even conceive of what another book's author might add to the subject.

Why is it so much better? For one simple reason: All the other books seemed to tell only part of a larger story. Some, for example, and depending on the author's theme, presented an in-depth history of gold and its stabilizing force in a monetary system. Others discussed how demographics and government actions influence and create inflation and other economic problems; described the workings of the Federal Reserve (Fed) and the International Monetary Fund (IMF); detailed the events leading up to the current economic crises now threatening the global economy; and even illustrated the trials and tribulations to be expected from inflation/hyperinflation, deflation, and depression. But when it came to informing their readers as to "specifically" what to do, when to do it, and why, in order to protect themselves and prosper during the coming years, they tended to theorize a bit and generalize. In short: They lacked specifics. This, of course, is understandable but not very helpful.

This book goes beyond that. It not only tells its readers what is likely to happen in the future, but clearly shows why it will happen; when it is likely to happen; how you can know it is happening, or about to happen; and, based on the then-prevailing events, what you should do, why and how. The author also offers specific advice not only as to when to get into a particular investment but also how to recognize when it is time to get out; and he does this for a multitude of markets: including the U.S. stock market and the markets for commodities such as gold, oil, natural gas, corn, and wheat, etc., as well as for various first world and emerging nations such as China, India, Canada, Australia, Chile, and Brazil, among others. And his recommendations are timely, specific, well founded, and also appear to be easily implemented by the average person, making them even more valuable..

A study, done some years ago revealed that the average American reads only 3.7 books a year. So, if you are the average reader, but are interested and concerned: I'd suggest you forsake the other 2.7 books and read this one 3.7 times a year, or until its contents are fully absorbed and you can readily keep them in mind as days go by. As I see it, this will give you great peace of mind, and if you act on this new-found knowledge you'll likely live well and prosper in the years to come. Great book! Too bad we're limited to only five stars.
33 comments|89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2010
What a hilarious review by "Mart", to paraphrase: "I didn't read the book, but here's what I think about it." Followed by a tangential rant completely unrelated to the book.

Well, I DID read the book, and I advise anybody who wants to preserve and grow their wealth in the years to come to do the same. For some people, there is nothing in this book that they may not already know (the unsustainable debt bubble, the unsustainable monetary regime, etc). But what may be new or interesting even to people who are well versed in these concepts is the historical context Skarica puts around a lot of these issues.

To be sure, Skarica talks about certain things that are still unwelcome topics in polite company. With a matter-of-fact objectiveness he discusses the coming collapse of the US dollar and prospect of a bankrupt USA and why the current obsession among policy-makers with deflation is a red-herring.

Here's a riddle: how can the stock market go up while the real economy flounders? Answer: Inflation. The trick will be investing in the right sectors to ride out the coming inflationary cycle.

For more book reviews, check out my reviews section on [...]
0Comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2010
This is one of the best investment books I've ever read. This is basically a road map to investing. Not only does he educate you and give you direction and insight to the future, he helps you develop a strategy that can be used to carry out the plan. This book takes a hard look at our future, but I'm sure glad that I'm going to be on the side that is prepared. The only reason anyone could have a problem with this book is that they want to be told a fairytale. The fact is, we aren't in an environment where you can just through a dart at the stock quote section of the newspaper and probably make money. We are entering a time that anyone investing needs to have a very strategic plan. David uses history and future indicators to help us navigate the current and future market with confidence. He also does a great job of educating the reader so they can make their own informed decisions. I am a CPA that has blindly trusted my money to supposed experts in the past without very good results. It is amazing how many financial advisors know very little about the economy, history, and how to actually make smart strategic decisions. This book paints an accurate picture of the future to come (whether you want to believe it or not). One other book I would recommend is Strategic Stock Trading by Mike Swanson. The books compliment each other very well, and I would consider them to be the foundation of my trading strategy. I've also taken the time to look up these guy's history, and unlike a lot of writers, they have been successful in both bull and bear markets. I am thankful for the insight these advisors have given me, and I look forward to hearing more from them.
22 comments|72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2010
Dave Skarica has been writing long enough via books and newsletters for his theses to be held up against time. Once again the proof is in the pudding. His calls and his knowledge of Cycles has added an important and simple edge to my investing strategy. In other words, Dave Skarica is just plain right. Although I am an active trader, this book just highlights that for investors and traders alike it is important to get in on the trend as early as possible and stay with it, on the long side.

His book is also replete with research, charts, ratios , graphs and market history that backs up the Great Super Cycle theory. And this is one theory that works well in practice too!

I especially like the use of very simple ratios when trying to figure out when to sell or buy oil, gas, natural gas and various other commodities. Using Skarica's cycles analysis will take the guess work out of investing, where the markets sit in relation to politics/economics and how to capitalize in relation to those set ups! Very good book, should be required reading for those in or about to enter the markets!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2010
I've been following Skarica's calls for a few years. He's been right at least 70% the time. Quite often with contrary calls as well. His explanation of his logic is not overly simplistic nor complex. This book is a perfect example of how he analyzes investments and then recommends specific actions. If you're going to read one financial book this year, this should be it.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2010
Great book! Lots of essential info in a short book... I agree with david's analysis on the coming decade. If you are tired of hearing nothing but gloom and doom, but you know the super bulls that are on CNBC are full of it... this is a great book that siphons out the nonsense on the financial media that will get you caught in a bear trap if you are not invested in the right sectors!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 5, 2011
If you could only read one book this year, or for the rest of your life, you have to read this one.
This isn't another book on the upcoming economic collapse of the developed world, nor is it another 'I told you this was going to happen' book.
David Skarica is very agnostic as to the what directions various markets are headed in the future. He only knows that they will follow certain macro trends that have occurred in the past and there is nothing you can do about except to follow the trend.
He cites a ton of historic patterns and how they will repeat in our near future. He also points out how the current economic conditions will help these patterns come to fruition.
Once you have this knowledge in hand, he goes on to explain the best way to profit from these supercycle trends.
The biggest difference between this book and other supercycle books is that the author is more positive about the future. There is no doom and gloom, only that these cycles occur throughout history. You can either ignore them or take advantage of them to preserve your wealth and stay ahead of the investing crowd.
Best book that I have read on this subject.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2012
Everything moves in cycles.

In 'The Great Super Cycle' David Skarica goes over trends in equities, bonds, and commodities over the last several decades. He uses this past data to peek in the future and predict what's to come. The first half of the book goes over cycles and where we are. The second half describes how to profit from the mess that's coming.

Skarica is wise, and more balanced that most of the gloom writers out there. Instead of saying the US will turn into a third world country overnight, he gives a more realistic assessment, backed by history, of what he believes is in store for the US economic future.

The book has great shelf life and is worth buying for a complete finance library. Although some predictions seem tough to imagine, the research is solid and balanced. The later half of the book does a good job of giving practical suggestions on how to profit (specific countries and ETF's to invest in).

While you may be bullish on the economy and feel secure, the book is still worth reading and reflecting on.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Skarica shares some useful observations with no claim that they are not proprietary to him, without trying to scare you or sell you. Kind of nice in a financial guru.

His matter-of-fact analysis of the upcoming inflation is nothing new. Makes sense, and agrees with many others ("This Time It's Different," for one) His analysis of what to do about it is refreshing. Basically
1) Keep your shirt on. The world isn't ending, just shifting
2) Things whose value float with currency, stocks and especially commodities, will come through one way or another
3) For a number of historical reasons, commodities look better for the next few years, but
4) Keep your eyes open, because the past is not an infallable guide.

He offers some good advice on vehicles for investing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
This book helped sweep away some of the investment noise that we are all exposed to from television talking heads, investment gurus, etc. Skarica writes plainly and yet in depth, so that the average small investor can understand where the economy is heading for the next five years....an important horizon, especially for those of us on the cusp of retirement, where we must make a decent return and, yet, avoid serious losses. I would recommend this book to almost anyone interested in investing today....
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.