Prime Music
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by jukeboxonline
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: excellent condition cd and complete artwork, IN STOCK RIGHT NOW,
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Great Ziegfeld
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Great Ziegfeld Import, Soundtrack

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, Soundtrack, April 5, 2004
"Please retry"
$4.99 $1.20

Black Friday in Music Black Friday in Music

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 5, 2004)
  • Original Release Date: 2004
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import, Soundtrack
  • Label: Soundtrack Factory
  • ASIN: B00004LMRC
  • Average Customer Review: 1.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #232,899 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Won't You Come And Play With Me? (I Wish You'd Come And Play With Me)
2. It's Delightful To Be Married
3. If You Knew Susie
4. A Pretty Girl Is Like A Melody
5. You Gotta Pull Strings/ She's A Follies Girl
6. You
7. You Never Looked So Beautiful Before
8. Yiddle On The Fiddle/ Queen Of The Jungle
9. Dressing Room Scene
10. My Man
11. Looking For A Silver Lining
12. Telephone Scene
13. A Circus Must Be Different In A Ziegfeld Show
14. End Title

Editorial Reviews

Featuring Louise Rainer, Dennis Morgan, Ray Bolger, Fanny Brice and William Powell.

Customer Reviews

1.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful By jenbird on February 14, 2005
Format: Audio CD
Yes, you heard me right. I just adore the movie "The Great Ziegfeld," and I looked forward to receiving this album with great anticipation. Sadly, my expectations were dashed right away.

The sound is just terrible, very muddy and uneven. It sounds as though someone sat in the movie theater -- back in 1936 -- with a tape recorder and taped the soundtrack that way -- it's a soundtrack in the most literal sense. Some of the songs, such as Fanny Brice singing "Yiddle on the Fiddle" and "My Man," are interrupted by dialogue, just as they are in the film. Other songs, such as "You Gotta Pull Strings," are so badly mixed that the lyrics are barely audible. I tweaked the bass and treble on my stereo several times, but it never got any better. I can hear the songs much better when I play my DVD of the movie.

Included in this soundtrack are two sections of dialogue from the film, "Dressing Room Scene" when Fanny meets Ziegfeld for the first time and he gives her the mink; the other one is "Telephone Scene" when Anna calls Ziegfeld to congratulate him on his second marriage to Billie Burke. I can't understand why these two particular scenes were included, since they're not part of any musical number, and lend nothing to the album as a whole.

Not included in the soundtrack are the lush musical medleys that make up the entrance, intermission, and exit music from the movie. Instead, we get a snippet called "End Titles" which consists of Ziegfeld's death scene. ("I need more stairs...")

This was not at all what I had in mind when I was hoping for a soundtrack of this wonderful film. Pass this one by; if you get the urge to sing along with some of the songs, just pop in the movie instead.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category