Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of old-tech meets best of high-tech
A great map book - in some ways it combines the absolute best of the classic companies (Rand McNally, Gousha, Champion, Hagstrom, Arrow) and the new technologies used by companies like Mapquest. Coverage of Allegheny County is top notch - legibility is never, ever an issue, not is layout, which is local and organic. Neighborhoods and major landmarks are well-identified...
Published on July 13, 2011 by David Alston

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pittsburgh Map
It's neat and legible, but doesn't list any attractions. The downtown map is split with one side larger than the other, which is a little off-putting at first since you can't follow a road directly across to the left side. Wish I could find one of those laminated versions, but couldn't.
Published 19 months ago by Jan Jardin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of old-tech meets best of high-tech, July 13, 2011
By 
David Alston (Chapel Hill, NC, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greater Pittsburgh & Allegheny County Street Map Book (Map)
A great map book - in some ways it combines the absolute best of the classic companies (Rand McNally, Gousha, Champion, Hagstrom, Arrow) and the new technologies used by companies like Mapquest. Coverage of Allegheny County is top notch - legibility is never, ever an issue, not is layout, which is local and organic. Neighborhoods and major landmarks are well-identified. The classic cartography is vaguely remininscent of MapWorks, Arrow (at their best), RPM (1970s-Charlotte area) and Guija Roji - in good ways, - similar detail, and similar complementary use of colors to enhance accents, schools and other distinctive features.

I would like to see them in North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and Georgia, in a few major metros at least. In 5 vary rapidly growing and diversifying states, they would be quite a success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great map book!, June 29, 2008
By 
Las Vegas Mikey (East McKeesport, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greater Pittsburgh & Allegheny County Street Map Book (Map)
If you want to find your way around Pittsburgh, this map book is for you. It's just the right size for use in your car, and is very detailed. I use it frequently so that I can navigate Pittsburgh. If you don't trust MapQuest, this book will be a big help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Map book, June 30, 2014
This review is from: Greater Pittsburgh & Allegheny County Street Map Book (Map)
My husband had been looking for a book that lists all street names just in Pittsburgh. We have used this a lot since my purchase. I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Appeared to be accurate, June 11, 2014
By 
Elwood Dunning (Cincinnati, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greater Pittsburgh & Allegheny County Street Map Book (Map)
In the realm of GPS devices, this map still appears to not only be correct but useful. As visitors it provided us with a snapshot look at the city and its surrounds. Obviously it cannot compete with Google Maps for updates, but I believe that it still serves a purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Found it, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greater Pittsburgh & Allegheny County Street Map Book (Map)
I went to local bookstore chain , they were unable to find this road atlas. Needed one for a gift for my wife since her old one was stolen. Glad to have found this one and she is happy with it. Happy in Pennsylvania
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pittsburgh Map, November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greater Pittsburgh & Allegheny County Street Map Book (Map)
It's neat and legible, but doesn't list any attractions. The downtown map is split with one side larger than the other, which is a little off-putting at first since you can't follow a road directly across to the left side. Wish I could find one of those laminated versions, but couldn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Greater Pittsburgh & Allegheny County Street Map Book
Greater Pittsburgh & Allegheny County Street Map Book by GM Johnson Associates Ltd. (Map - February 15, 2007)
$12.95 $10.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.