Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

1.2 out of 5 stars
16
5 star
0%
4 star
6%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
94%
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$7.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 15, 2011
I would recommend RBFs "A Best of Us for the Rest of Us" which is compiled by RBF and you get the quality of a studio album if Live albums are not your cup of tea. You pretty much get the same songs and a bonus Skacoustic album, all the while supporting the band! It's a studio recorded album so you get great song quality and many of the songs are updated. Overall, this isn't a bad album, it's just that you aren't supporting the band.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2009
First of all, this really isn't a very good album. In my opinion, it's NOT their greatest hits, thought it's a lot of them. Whatever happened to the many versions of Suburban Rythm ? Where's the Dateless losers ? SCOTT'S A DORK ?

Nope, Jive didn't even know their own band's true strengths, and slapped together the most obvious tunes here, even getting the rankings wrong. Sell Out first track ? Uhm, no, that should be Trendy or Everything Sucks if you ask me.

The Fish's Live album is considerably stronger. You get substantially more music, handpicked by the artists themselves - NOT a corporate programmer who goes strictly by perceived ratings, and they are played extremely well. I think the recordings and mixes are quite fine on Live, and you get added bonuses: the usual witty (well, sort of ;) banter between the boys ("you know in this situation I think it's ok not to enunciate so clearly", "with your back you shouldn't be picking up anything") as well as ad-libs durin the songs. Sure, every live album has that, right ? No.... remember, the Fish is first and foremost a live party band, and if you've never seen Aaron nailing a guitar solo while talking, or doing some impossibly energetic move on stage then you can't appreciate it ... until you hear it on this album.

Oh, and something else: the Reel Big Fish actually make money off Our Live Album is Better than Your Live Album. This fake greatest-hits album was released after the band left Jive and they don't get any money from it. Pretty typical corporate music stuff ain't it ?

Forget this lame greatest hits album ... I mean, for the love of god they actually called it "greatest hits" ... how much lamer than that does it get ?

If you like the Reel Big Fish be kind to your ears and kind to them and buy Our Live Album is Better than Your Live Album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2013
Well the Fish's old record label sucks a lot. When they left the label, Barrett and his buddies released a live album. Then the label released this thing to distract fans from buying the live album. Reel Big Fish doesn't get a dime from this album. Don't buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2006
Unfortunately Jive Records managed to show everyone the true stupidity that is behind every major label. Was it greed? Yes.

This album's quality is not anything to be obsessed over when compared to "Our Live Album is Better Than Your Live Album" which the band released themselves. If you like Reel Big Fish then let their own album released on their own impress you, not something that Jive Records has beaten to death out of corporate greed.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2009
Buy Our Live Album is Better Than Your Live Album instead. The band currently gets no money from this album. While it is not a bad album per say (I do own it), their live album is the same quality, and honestly a bit funnier. Plus, it features more songs.Our Live Album Is Better Than Your Live Album
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2010
Just download it or borrow it from a friend...Jive really screwed them over, and they should not profit from this
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2009
Okay I will be honest, I do own and use this CD, but that was before I knew better. I work at my college radio station so it's nice to have an album where I know I can just throw a song on the air without worrying about cussing.

But if you haven't read the other reviews already this album was put out with one thing in mind: money from kids into Jive/Mojo's pockets. Shortly after Reel Big Fish was dropped from Jive in 2006 (via a rude phone call) they release this album. If you like the band, support them. Go to shows, and buy albums from their own recording studio: Rock Ridge Music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2010
Support the RBF. RBF doesn't get money for this. AVOID!! Damn the man. Save the Empire!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2007
This album is utter trash. It is poorly mixed and is simply a rehash of all RBF's old songs. If you're really an RBF fan, you'll either have all their previously released albums already or you'll buy "Our Live Album is Better Than Your Live Album" which was released by the band after ditching their Jive label. This record is a last ditch effort on part of Jive to make one last bit of profit off one of the world's greatest ska bands. Don't feed the suits! Feed Reel Big Fish and buy "Our Live Album is Better Than Your Live Album" instead.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2007
Buying this album is basically the worst thing a fan of Reel Big Fish can do.

Why you ask?

When Reel Big Fish split from Jive records due in part to poor promotion for their then-latest album "We're Not Happy 'Til You're Happy", Jive kept records the band had made with them previously. Attempting to capitalize off of the band's previous success and their newly released live album "Our Live Album is Better than Your Live Album", Jive released "Greatest Hit...and More". While lead singer Aaron Barrett released a statement stating that, while unhappy of the label's attempt to gain off of their success, he was fine knowing that people would be enjoying the band's music. However, he soon retracted this statement after hearing the "remastered" tracks, which were of extremely poor quality.

In short, not only is this album not a "true" Reel Big Fish album, but you, as a buyer, are not even getting decent recordings! For a true RBF "greatest hits" album, go for the live album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.