Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The incredible 'Indian summer' of Morrissey.
Supposedly presenting the finest moments of his solo career, it consists primarily of songs from his last two albums. There's no room for "November Spawned A Monster", "Piccadilly Palare" or "Boxers", while a ropey live version of Patti Smith's "Redondo Beach" does make the cut. And yet, strictly speaking, commercially, "Greatest Hits" does almost exactly what it says on...
Published on March 26, 2008 by tois

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weird Selection of Songs
I don't know why, but 75% of the songs on this compilation are from the last 5 years. What happened to the late 80s, early 90s work?!
Published on June 2, 2008 by Tyler B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The incredible 'Indian summer' of Morrissey., March 26, 2008
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
Supposedly presenting the finest moments of his solo career, it consists primarily of songs from his last two albums. There's no room for "November Spawned A Monster", "Piccadilly Palare" or "Boxers", while a ropey live version of Patti Smith's "Redondo Beach" does make the cut. And yet, strictly speaking, commercially, "Greatest Hits" does almost exactly what it says on the tin: collect all his Top 10 (and thereabouts) singles of the past two decades.
Twenty one years after splitting with The Smiths to pursue a solo career, Morrissey releases a 2CD compilation that's sure to have the fans queuing to buy it - but which also demonstrates why the singer has occasionally struggled to remain as influential as he was as the figurehead of that band.
Maybe this is all a way of demonstrating to his new label (Decca) that, far from trading on former glories, as he approaches 50, Morrissey is more popular than ever.
Morrissey has somehow contrived a solo career technically more successful than that of his former band.
How on earth has he managed it?
While his solo career has spawned seven studio albums, running from 1988's "Viva Hate" through to "Ringleader of the Tormentor" of 2006, his back catalogue now includes no less than five compilations, pulling together everything from singles to album tracks to B-sides, with a "Best Of" having turned up in 2001.
While this admittedly means it did not include anything from Morrissey's latter two albums of rejuvenation, the release of a new collection - under the reliable but often misleading old moniker of "Greatest Hits" - still seems a little unnecessary, not really something the world has been desperately crying out for.
But aside from any scepticism of the market for this CD, it does inevitably still include plenty of top class tunes, tinged - as ever - with a majestic melancholy.
Every song on the album is a UK Top 20 single and nine of these are Top 10 hits.
Both of the two new songs - the single "That's How People Grow Up" and "All You Need Is Me" - were recorded with Jerry Finn, producer of 2004's widely acclaimed No.2 album "You Are The Quarry".
"Everyday Is Like Sunday" is every bit as much a timeless classic as the likes of Smiths classics "How Soon Is Now" or "Bigmouth Strikes Again", the newer songs do not feel out of place, and the track-listing does not grate in the way that detracts from many of these sorts of releases.
However, there are few artists who could write songs with titles like "We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful", and without some of those more original but somewhat less commercial moments, the true heart of Morrissey's craft does not feel fully represented.
This is not to mention a completely forgettable cover of Patti Smith's "Redondo Beach", adding nothing of note to a borrowed song in the way that Morrissey previously achieved on "Suedehead" with his wistful, melancholic take on the Jam's "That's Entertainment".
A second CD is comprised of tracks recorded live at the Hollywood Bowl and is notable for including a handful of selections not on the main greatest hits CD, most notably "Life Is A Pigsty" and "The National Front Disco". It helps to ensure the Greatest Hits collection becomes more of a collectors' piece.
Nevertheless, it's an album that's worth hearing, if only to understand what the fuss is all about whenever Morrissey opens his mouth.
For all this, there's still plenty to tap your foot to - if that's really all you want from Morrissey...
Highlights : "I Just Want To See The Boy Happy", "The Last Of The Famous International Playboys", "Everyday Is Like Sunday", "First Of The Gang To Die" and "You Have Killed Me".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars morrissey, what he gets, and what he deserves., January 6, 2009
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
i dont like that people judge morrisseys carreer like they do. most of them have not been a fan since the smiths, so they dont understand, driving miles to a record store, and the feeling of discovering something that stays with you for ever. thats how i discovered the queen is dead.
and through the years in a small town in mississippi, i saved my money and begged my way to the big city of jackson, went to all 3 record stores, 2 retail, one a trade. so you have to understand, only rich people just went out and purchased entire librarys of an artist, and the single with the extra tracks, was just the bees knees. between myself and my friends, we had most of it, and we traded, and sometimes stole. many of the bsides have been sought for years by the likes of me, and it was fun. b sides were often my favorite tracks, and anything live by moz is gold to me, scratchy bootleg lp, or on a new collection, yes even in 2008. besides not everyone has live at the bowl yet, i certainly didnt, and there is an very amusing suprise inside that finally explains the title, yourarsenal. futhermore, im not sure morrissey ever could have made it mainstream, for you would have to appeal to radio listeners, and the radio has become corrupt. above all, he never sold out, going to smaller independant labels, and always revealing himself in his shows.
very few of the artist of the brit pop, alternative, rock, whatever it is, none did their thing their way, and thats the only way morrissey has ever been. if you like this man, you should at least be kind, and understand most of us think he is still in his peak, his last three records are absolute masterpeices, an you look at all the bands from 120 minutes, they are wearin suits, teaching high school, and appearing on reality tv shows. this is what he does. and on the average hes pretty prolific. if you dont feel you need another morrissey compalation, or you dont want another live disc, dont buy it. but most of the critism i hear is, 'why didnt he include this song over that song'
morrissey has not changed his marketing since 81, and most of us want to keep it that way, and critism is so much louder than praise, potential buyers, keep this candle lit!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a powerful tasteful selection but with "loudness wars" treatment, March 30, 2008
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
Morrissey's Greatest Hits is an extremely well arranged album which sounds very impressive as a complete unit. It's a thoroughly enjoyable journey right through to "I Have Forgiven Jesus" which perfectly sets up "The First Of the Gang To Die" - so the strong temptation is to just leave the CD on repeat (as my car stereo does by default).

The two new tracks are certainly of the same calibre as the other 13 and are right at home here. I couldn't imagine anyone doing a better job of collating and arranging a representative selection to celebrate Morrissey's 20 solo years.

It is important to be aware that the tracks from before the worldwide "loudness wars" which are "Everyday Is Like Sunday" (1988), "Suedehead" (1988), "The Last Of The Famous International Playboys" (1989) and "The More You Ignore Me The Closer I Get" (1994) - all have been doubled from their orignal volume (and equalised) in order to compete with the loudness of the 21st century tracks. That huge volume increase comes at a cost - making them sound significantly muffled (especially "Everyday Is Like Sunday") when you compare them to the original CD versions.

I'm quite happy to live with that compromise in order to have the whole album sound as good, and as powerful, as it does. The main point is that even if you already owned all of these tracks on CD, you wouldn't be able to re-create the sound of this compilation without a great deal of trouble (and skill).

Morrissey's Greatest Hits is a valuable addition to any Morrissey collection - and the bonus live disc is just icing on the 20th anniversary cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest hits? but not a best of..., April 26, 2008
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
The greatest hits relates to number of records sold not to quality of song writing so classics like 'November Spawned a Monster' are missing. But a collection of Mozza songs are always going to be better than 99% of the current album charts. This album may have disappointed the die hard fans but still a great choice for the casual fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weird Selection of Songs, June 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
I don't know why, but 75% of the songs on this compilation are from the last 5 years. What happened to the late 80s, early 90s work?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits, March 2, 2010
By 
Bjorn Viberg (European Union) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
Greatest Hits being Morrissey's 2008 release and is an amazing collection of his hits, i.e. "Irish Blood, English Heart", "The Last of the Famous International Playboys" and "The More You Ignore Me, the Closer I Get" . Also we get a cd with live tracks taken from his concert at the Hollywood Bowl. 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, April 5, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
I am a fan of Morrisey and this is a good bundle of his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Focuses On The Newer Stuff Too Much, May 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed this album but I would've preferred if the track listing would be much different. Most of the tracks are from his albums released in 2004 and 2006. Now that doesn't mean that the albums sucked or anything. However, the older material is just so much more enjoyable than the newer. I really enjoyed "First Of The Gang To Die" and "Irish Blood, English Heart" among others, but the standout tracks were definitely "Suedehead" "Everyday Is Like Sunday" "The More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Get" and the other older songs. If you want the best of the new with a hint of the past then I would recommend this album for you, but if you want the best of the past then look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buena complacion, May 27, 2008
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
para quien no posee los anteriores discos solistas de morrissey, este puede ser un gran comienzo, es una buena recopilacion, quizas deberia repartirse mejor en toda su carrera, ya que el disco a no ser por "everyday is like sunday", "suedehead", y "the more you ignore me" (quizas el mejor tema de disco) se basa en la ultima etapa de su carrera...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shoplifters of the World . . . er, don't bother, really., April 2, 2008
By 
epsteinsmutha "epsteinsmutha" (At the bottom of Juan Epstein's excuse note) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
I bought this, and while I'm not ashamed as I am a bottle of Open Pit shy of Waco for all things Mozzer, in comparison with the first best of, the heavy reliance of his past two albums from which this best of's content draws, and the old standard draw of 1-2 new songs, along with a great, albeit nonessential live album in light of Moz's previous live CDs either with the Smiths or solo (Apparently, he hates Bush. (Um, Steve. We kind of suspected that anyway. OH, YOU MEAN DUBYA!) unless you just really, really, REALLY need all things Morrissey, I'd go pick something else up, maybe for someone you care about. Then, if you have the cash to spare (who does these days?), grab this.

Signed,
epsteinsmutha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Greatest Hits (Deluxe Version)
Greatest Hits (Deluxe Version) by Morrissey (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.