Customer Reviews


326 Reviews
5 star:
 (197)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 92 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential For Newcomers To The Red Hot Chili Peppers
Since I bought their 2002 album "By The Way," the Red Hot Chili Peppers have gone on to become one of my all-time favourite bands. Since then I have bought "Californication," "One Hot Minute," "Blood Sugar Sex Magik," "Mother's Milk" and this latest release, "Greatest Hits." At some point I plan on buying their entire back catalogue of albums, because to me they are so...
Published on June 20, 2004 by Busy Body

versus
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Cd, yet very, very dissapointing
I'm not a huge Red Hot Chili Peppers fan, but I have enjoyed their music over the years. With all of the band's releases and familiar hits, I knew it would be a matter of time, if not years, before they would finally come out with a greatest hits album. And they have, with this release.
I first learned about this Cd through a t.v. advertisement. As the person...
Published on January 7, 2004 by Ross


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Their greatest hits? Perhaps not, but worth it., December 4, 2008
Well, in reading some reviews it would appear that their are some people who have allowed themselves to be quite personally affronted by this release. I for one recognise that a greatest hits release is rarely the artist's idea, and is often the label's idea, hence the songs you get are rarely a reflection of what the band themselves would choose or consider to be their best work.
If you own all of the peppers' work, why would you bother to buy a CD that has all songs on it that you already own? Also, why would you then crap all over the CD, just because it didn't have other songs which you already own on it?
This CD is not a comprehensive discography of the peppers at their best. It is, however, quite a good CD to throw on to get a chili fix, and you don't have to wade through the agro of other CD's to get to the good stuff.
If I were to describe this CD, I would say it's a mellow collection of some of their more accesible music. Their are no bad songs on here, and sure, many more could have been put onto the disc, but at the end of the day, I read the back of the cover and thought to myself, 'I like these songs. I'm going to buy this CD.' To those who looked at the back of the CD and thought, 'This sucks!' and then went ahead and brought it anyway and then felt the need to give it a bad and at times ignorant reveiew, well, they saw you coming! If you don't like it, don't buy it. You can tell, because the songs are right their on the cover. There are no surprises.
I personally find this CD to be a good collection of songs by the peppers. When I want to hear a different collection of songs by the peppers, I put a different peppers CD on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What hits?, May 24, 2006
By 
The Red Hot Chili Peppers' first compilation "What Hits!?" was released back in 1992, and considering the immense success they've encountered since then, an update is certainly due. However, we'll still have to wait for it, because this greatest-hits collection is abysmal.

Too many songs that should have been on here were left off, and in their place are songs that were never hits and aren't particularly good ("Universally Speaking?" "Road Trippin'?" I didn't even know they were released as singles!). Only one song from the One Hot Minute album, "My Friends," made the cut, and I'm surprised guitarist John Frusciante was that generous given his feelings toward the Dave Navarro era. There's no reason at all "Aeroplane" shouldn't be here, and "Coffee Shop" merited inclusion as well. "Love Rollercoaster," from the soundtrack to "Beavis & Butthead Do America," should have been a no-brainer, but, well, Navarro appeared on it, so no such luck. But perhaps the most startling and unforgiveable omissions are "Can't Stop" and "The Zephyr Song," the two biggest hits off of By The Way besides the title track.

Of course you get "Under The Bridge," "Give It Away," "Californication" and "Scar Tissue" along with a couple of new tracks, "Save The Population" and the incredible "Fortune Faded," which has a great hook and is one of their best songs of the past ten years. Still though, this is a great example of how NOT to put together a greatest-hits collection. I like the Chili Peppers quite a bit but this album isn't worth your time- just buy the individual albums and download "Fortune Faded."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest bands ever !!!, February 16, 2007
By 
Anthony Kiedis has one of the most melodic voices in music. Flea is one of the best Bass players today. From true life tales about drug abuse like in "Under the bridge" to non sensical jam sessions the Peppers fuse rock, soul, r & B, and hip hop into their own magic. This collection of greatest hits plus 2 brand new songs high light what us peppers fan have known for a long time these guys rock. If you are a peppers fan you must have this. If you are a fan of good music you must have this. 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware - This is the Best of the Warner Bros. Years, July 9, 2004
I don't know why everyone's complaining about this Greatest Hits compilation not having any material, other than Higher Ground, from the pre-BloodSugarSexMagik Chilis. Has anyone taken into account the fact that all of that material is still owned by EMI, the Chilis label from 1984 (Red Hot Chili Peppers) to 1989 (Mother's Milk)? I think that this is a pretty good history of the Chilis from BloodSugarSexMagik to the present, with the exception of a Rick Rubin-remixed "Higher Ground". (Really, listen to it - it's not the same version that appeared on "Mother's Milk" or "What Hits?!".) Granted, there is some stuff missing - for instance, I own the Greatest Hit and Videos version of this album, and I can't help but wondering why "Aeroplane" is on the Greatest Videos DVD, but not on the Greatest Hits album itself. All in all, this is a pretty solid Greatest Hits album. If you want any Chilis material from pre-1991, then check out thier "What Hits ?!" album, released under EMI records - THAT'S the album with classic songs such as "True Men Don't Kill Coyotes", "Backwoods", "Johnny Kick a Hole in the Sky", and "Behind the Sun".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tons of FUN!! This is as close to PERFECTION as it GETS!!!, December 11, 2006
Let me start by saying...WOW! This is one the greatest compilation albums ever created by any artists anywhere. There is not one bad or even mediocre song from beginning to end. If you are a fan of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, or you just happen to like California music more than the rest, then this is a perfect choice for your C.D. collection. All of the more popular songs are here, as well as some incredible songs that have not been played on the radio. The sound quality is awesome, and the liner notes and photos are just too cool. I really got a buzz off of the last song on the album, which is called "Save the population". It is beautiful, and it could make a difference in the way a lot of peolple view their own ideas about love. I have to say that as time goes by, The Red Hot Chili Peppers have only gotten better at writing songs that really mean something to people all over the world. Even my friends in the Philippines love this band! Absoulutely Five stsrs, and I say this album is a Perfect Ten! Hell Yeah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, but ..., November 19, 2003
By 
Irby B. Cauthen "bcauthen1" (Richmond, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a good, if not great, collection of the Peppers' radio hits. However, check the songs out to make sure you want the audio only version, instead of the audio/DVD version.
Included on this set are the following:
Under the Bridge
Give it Away
Californication
Scar Tissue
Soul to Squeeze
Otherside
By the Way
Parallel Universe
Breaking the Girl
My Friends
Higher Ground
Universally Speaking
Road Trippin'
Fortune Faded
Save the Population
Like I said, it's a good collection. But I like the radio hits and would have preferred the set include The Zephyr Song (which I think is on the DVD set).
Still, a great collection of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good hits, not the greatest, February 9, 2004
By 
Chad "Scooby" (Southlake, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like many greatest hits albums, this one is afraid to give us a thoroughly great play list. A lot of the songs are good on this album, but not all - you will have to skip some. If you're looking for the one Chili Peppers album to own, because you're not a big enough fan to buy all or many of their albums, this one will fall short as many of their greatest hits are omitted. Still, it's a good album and probably worth your time. Unfortunately, your going to have to buy more if you want to experience all of your favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The great works of the Red Hot Chili peppers., August 26, 2004
By 
There have been many albums that has changed the music industry over the years and the energy and passion that the Red Hot Chili Peppers put into all their albums is reflected in this single disk. The great works that have been given to us like, Parallel Universe, My Friends, Soul To Squeeze, Give It Away, Suck My Kiss, Higher Ground, Fortune Faded, and my personal favorite Under the Bridge. The soothing strums of the guitar, the perfect timing of every drum hit, and the strong presence of the bass work together to make the best sound that talks to the soul. If you do not currently have any RHCP albums, I suggest this album. Once you listen to each song you will want to hear what you have been missing with all the prior albums up to this greatest hits disk. Hopfully I have given you the informantion that you were seeking and enjoy the music. Remember that the music was made to enjoy and relate to, and hopfully you can find some comfort in the songs that you trully think your life is leading to or maybe already living and wanting a way out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars John Frusciante's Greatest Hits (Not Really A Bag Thing), December 17, 2003
I'm really not quite sure which approach the Chili Peppers are trying to take with this collaboration. If the album is a collection of their greatest hits, meaning their most well-known and most played singles, then it should have included singles like "Aeroplane", "The Zephyr Song", "Around the World", and "Can't Stop". If they were truly going for their best music, then they still didn't get it right; they included no songs from their 80's albums besides "Higher Ground," and the album doesn't do a good job of showcasing the brilliant work that is Blood Sugar Sex Magik. John Frusciante may be the Chili Pepper's best guitarist by far, but that doesn't mean that every single song they record with him is a masterpiece. As close to true as that is, you wouldn't know it by hearing songs like "Suck My Kiss" or "Road Trippin'" over fan faves like "Sir Psycho Sexy," or "Pretty Little Ditty." If you like what you hear on the radio, dive in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, September 4, 2005
By 
If you like Red Hot Chili Peppers then you will love this album, it is just that simple. It is also great for any fan of rock or 90s music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Greatest Hits [Explicit]
Greatest Hits [Explicit] by Red Hot Chili Peppers
Buy MP3 Album$11.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.