Customer Reviews


304 Reviews
5 star:
 (230)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant California Pop-Rock
Fleetwood Mac released their first major greatest hits record with this collection. The CD covers the years 1975 - 1988, when the group consisted of Lindsey Buckingham, Stevie Nicks, Christine McVie, John McVie, and Mick Fleetwood. Although the group formed in 1967 as a blues rock band, they didn't start having big hits in the United States until this period. The CD...
Published on October 2, 2004 by Westley

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Avoid
This has been replaced by the 2-CD "Very Best of Fleetwood Mac", which only costs a little more, but has many more tracks, including some extremely popular songs like "Landslide" and "Second Hand News" that are strangely missing on this "Greatest Hits". Also the new collection features much better sound quality.
Published on November 3, 2002 by D. Newton


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant California Pop-Rock, October 2, 2004
By 
Westley (Stuck in my head) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Fleetwood Mac released their first major greatest hits record with this collection. The CD covers the years 1975 - 1988, when the group consisted of Lindsey Buckingham, Stevie Nicks, Christine McVie, John McVie, and Mick Fleetwood. Although the group formed in 1967 as a blues rock band, they didn't start having big hits in the United States until this period. The CD includes 14 of their 16 U.S. Top 20 hits - only "Don't Think About Me" (#20 in 1980) and "Seven Wonders" (#19 in 1987) are excluded.

Fleetwood Mac recorded some of the most brilliant California pop-rock of the 1970s and 1980s, and this collection represents it well. Their enduring popularity is witnessed by the over eight millions copies this record has sold. In addition, having three talented lead singers and song writers helps make their music so varied. I particularly enjoy Stevie's songs, such as "Rhiannon" (which went to #11, not #5 as stated in the Editorial Review) and "Dreams."

Two additional songs were recorded for inclusion on this set (Lindsey Buckingham had left the group by then). "As Long as You Follow" features a solid vocal by Christine McVie and peaked on the Top 100 at #43 in 1989. "No Questions Asked" is a somewhat cluttered-sounding song featuring Stevie Nicks that's not a particularly strong addition.

Since the release of this CD, of course, Fleetwood Mac has reunited. They also subsequently released the 2-disk "The Very Best of Fleetwood Mac," which covers 35 of their songs. Whether you prefer to purchase this CD or the more extensive one obviously would seem to rest on how much depth your Fleetwood Mac collection already has and how deep you want it to go. I'm sticking with this one as I have several of their studio CDs that help fill in some of the gaps, such as the sublime "Landslide."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Choice to Start Your Fleetwood Mac Fandom, January 22, 2000
By 
Mike Sarzo (Glenn Dale, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This album contains many of the charted singles Fleetwood Mac had in its Rumours lineup incarnation, but there were several that may or may not have been singles that could be worthy of a Greatest Hits Volume II - "The Chain," "Second Hand News," "Gold Dust Woman," "Love in Store," "Sisters of the Moon" from the Mirage video...
I remain mystified at some of the choices for the album, such as "As Long As You Follow" for one of two new songs on the album, and I'm puzzled about "Seven Wonders" missing the cut. But, there are plenty of timeless classics on this album ("Rhiannon," "Dreams" -their only US #1),"Go Your Own Way," and ESPECIALLY "Gypsy").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleetwood Mac's Best!, July 22, 2002
By 
Barron Laycock "Labradorman" (Temple, New Hampshire United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Although they recapitulated and brilliantly reinterpreted a lot of the material in here with their marvelous CD, "The Dance" a few years ago, the versions included in this offering are the original studio versions that were both on the original albums and all over the wavelengths of popular FM radio in the seventies and eighties. From the innovative treatment in the opening number of Rhiannon" to the final refrains of "No Questions Asked", this CD treats the listener to all their favorite Fleetwood Mac songs. And all them are indeed here.
Included are "Don't Stop", "Go Your Own Way", "Hold Me", and "Everywhere". Of course, no greatest hits album would be complete without "Gypsy", "You Make Loving Fun", and "Dreams". Also here is "Say You Love Me", "Tusk", "Sara", and "Over My Head". There are few other songs included, so you have well over an hour of exceptional music from one of the most wildly successful rock bands of the last twenty years. This should keep you busy remembering just how good Lindsay Buckingham, Mick Fleetwood, the MacVies, and of course, Stevie Nicks were. Who knows, perhaps there will be another reunion! Meanwhile, enjoy this collection of their greatest hits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great First Start, September 22, 2001
By 
Ben C-F (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This was the first Fleetwood Mac album I bought, some years ago. As such, it was a wonderful introduction to the realm of the band, at least its Buckingham-Nicks lineup (without a doubt their most successful period, and arguably their greatest creatively). Contains the whole gamut of hits, "Rhiannon," "Go Your Own Way," "Little Lies," yada yada yada. And if you're new to FM, or only know their Rumours stuff (as was my case), this really is a good start. You get to hear Fleetwood Mac at their most radio-friendly, without some of the other aspects of each songwriters' talent that might take some time to adjust to (Stevie's six-minute cosmic rants, Lindsey's insanity). You miss out on a lot (I had no concept of TUSK from hearing this album), there are a couple curious omissions (where's "The Chain?"), and a band such as Fleetwood Mac really deserves to have its entire catologue heard (otherwise you'd miss gems like "That's Alright" and "World Turning"), but it is a good CD, and as one guy pointed out, a great party album. The two new songs are pleasent, nothing exceptional-- "As Long As You Follow" has a great melody and catchy guitar solo, but the production is a little watered-down in light of the sonic collages from TANGO. However, this is really a great intro to Fleetwood Mac-- and actually, I found this compilation better represented the B-N era of the band than THE CHAIN box set. Go buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Collection - A Work of Rock/Pop Art!, June 10, 2001
How could anyone not enjoy this 16 song collection of some of Fleetwood Macs' greatest songs? Noting that it starts with the Nicks/Buckingham period until the nineties, every song is a gem. Included are some lesser known tracks like, "No Questions Asked" and "Little Lies" along with the perennial favorites. I surprised to learn that with all these fantastic hits, only "Dreams" made it to #1 on the Billboard charts, noting that Stevie Nicks had written the lyrics pre-Fleetwood Mac days. Stephen Davis includes some nice liner notes.
If this set does not satisfy you, obtain the four disc set called, "The Chain". That collection includes a full disc of early Fleetwood Mac material from the late sixties/early seventies to the present. Regardless, this CD is a reflection of rockin' songs we all grew up with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing a Few Hits, But Still Great, December 29, 2002
By A Customer
Fleetwood Mac is one of my favorite classic rock bands, though I am more of a Stevie Nicks fan. It's no big surprise, then, that my favorite FM songs are the ones Stevie leads, like "Rhiannon," "Gypsy," "Dreams," and "Sara" (a favorite since my name's Sara, and this is one of the few songs where the spelling's the same). In my opinion, Stevie Nicks' distinctive voice is one of the best attributes of FM.
Visually, there's not much to the booklet, just a couple dozen black-and-white photos of the band, as well as a brief two-page account of a 1988 UK concert. There are also a few hits that seem to be missing, like "Landslide," "The Chain," and "Gold Dust Woman." But as they say, you can't please everybody on a greatest hits album. Yet this CD still gets the job done and is worth owning if you're a FM fan. However, I'd recommend listening to "The Very Best of Fleetwood Mac" instead for the complete hits of FM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have a "Mac" attack., February 11, 2004
By 
H3@+h "Over 1500 reviews!" (thanks for the helpful review votes) - See all my reviews
In case you haven't heard yet, "Fleetwood Mac" is one of the most popular and best selling groups in rock history, and this 16 track "Greatest Hits" is a good reason why. Included here are the big hits "Don't Stop", "Sara", "Go Your Own Way", and "You Make Loving Fun". Plus fan favorites like "Everywhere", "Gypsy", "Dreams", and "Over My head". The only song I don't care for is "Tusk", and I would easily replace that with "Gold Dust Woman" or "Seven Wonders". There's also the newer 2-disc "Very Best Of", if you want more than what's here. Any fan of "Fleetwood Mac" might also want to check out "Timespace: The Best Of Stevie Nicks". It's a little more 80's, but just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to this one 'Everywhere'!, April 2, 2002
By 
"bb1975" (Jasper, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
This is a great, great collection of songs by the legendary group, all from the first 13 years of the Buckingham-Nicks era 1975-88. Almost all of the best ones are here, the ones that I feel are missing are 'Landslide', 'Gold Dust Woman' and 'Second Hand News off of the album "Rumours" and 'Monday Morning' off of the 1975 album "Fleetwood Mac". They have so many great songs that this could easily have been a 2-disc set. However this is still an immaculate 5-star collection in my book. Stevie Nicks' songs 'Rhiannon', 'Gypsy', 'Dreams', 'Sara' and 'No Questions Asked' are my favs, the other 11 songs are a very close 2nd. Stevie's background vocals on 'Little Lies' are simply magical. These 5 members pour their heart and soul into their music, that's why they were and still are one of the premier groups of all-time. I also hear that they are about to begin work on a new album to be released sometime in the next year or so, and you know it will rock. If you want all of their greatest songs, get this 'greatest hits' collection, 'Rumours' and the 1975 'Fleetwood Mac' album. Also a great live CD is 'The Dance'. If you want to listen to great music, then listen to this group. ROCK ON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for casual fans first..., August 22, 1999
By A Customer
first off, i love this one. it's fabulous and there's nothing even remotely unlikeable about it. i have pretty much all the Fleetwood Mac albums, but there are two new songs on Greatest Hits (As Long As You Follow and No Questions Asked), so i had to collect it as well. it's great to play at parties because all the songs are so recognizable and blend in wonderfully, and for someone who plans to own only one Fleetwood Mac album, after Rumours, this would be my reccomendation. a problem for people who would have more than one Fleetwood Mac album though is that they may mistake a Greatest Hits album for a Best Of album. by this i mean that one whose first FMac cd was Greatest Hits may walk into a cd store, start thumbing through the FMacs, come across Mirage and read the back and say "hmmmm....well...Gypsy is the only song i really recognize from here...the rest of this stuff may not be worth having," then they'd put the cd back, head to the dance section, and pick up the latest compilation (which will be "hip" for about a month), forever depriving themself of songs like Love In Store (which will never go out of style). also, a band as unstoppable as Fmac puts out more hits than can be captured on one album and technically, anything from Rumours would have been greatest-hits worthy. one shocking omission was The Chain...another thing is that by Fleetwood Mac's greatest hits, they mean the Rumours incarnation of FMac. there's absolutely no Peter Green era stuff on here...but don't get me wrong....i DO love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Late '70s Pop-Rock, July 19, 2002
By 
Steven R. Seim "Steve Seim" (Beaver Dam, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fleetwood Mac was the best thing about late '70s rock 'n' roll, and "Greatest Hits" does hit all the high points. (My only quarrel is that it overlooked "Monday Morning.") However, Fleetwood Mac's late '70s work - "Fleetwood Mac," "Rumours," and "Tusk" - are really too essential to sample through a greatest hits collection. Buy this disc to get the best of their '80s work, but buy their late '70s masterpieces as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Fleetwood Mac
Buy MP3 Album$11.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.