Customer Reviews

415
4.7 out of 5 stars
Greatest Hits I, II & III - The Platinum Collection (3CD)
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$16.88 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

362 of 377 people found the following review helpful
on October 9, 2002
Format: Audio CD
If you're new to Queen and you're planning on getting the Platinum collection, then I can tell you for sure that you won't be dissapointed... however, it would be a better choice to get the old "Greatest Hits I & II" box set with "Made In Heaven" added.
Why??... because "Greatest Hits I & II" has the best of Queen from 1974-1991, and the only album that Queen put out after Freddie Mercury's death in 1991 was 'Made In Heaven'

Greatest Hits 3 has the hit tracks from Made In Heaven, plus some good hits that weren't before included (These Are The Days, No One But You, Princes Of The Universe, Thank God It's X-mas).
The bad thing is that Greatest Hits 3 has a bunch of refills that should have never been included... "Under Pressure (Mix)", "The Show Must Go On" (w/ Elton John) and a horrible version of "Another One Bites The Dust" by Wyclef Jean that ruins this album just as much as Jar Jar Binks ruined Star Wars: Episode I.

What is even more annoying about Greatest Hits 3 is the fact that they left out REAL QUEEN HITS, like... Tie Your Mother Down, Scandal, and Love Of My Life and they had to include a bunch of tracks that aren't even QUEEN songs.

You wouldn't regret buying 'The Platinum Collection' but I can almost guarantee that when you listen the 3rd CD, you'd want to skip tracks 1,2, and especially 14!!.
1212 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
158 of 171 people found the following review helpful
on January 18, 2003
Format: Audio CD
Note the name of this compilation of songs. "Queens greatest hits". Not the best of, or queen stuff or something like that. The first 2 Cds are great but the third is pure rubbish! Maybe it is because the 3rd is severely wanting that they felt the need to combine it with the other two. What is the point? You probably already own at least GH one or two or maybe "classic queen" but there is no real reason to own GH3. Don't buy it!

Queen is one of my all time favorite rock bands and i own 2/3 of all their albums. I persoanlly think it is an abomination that songs performed by other people would make a so called queen CD. If somebody wants to do a queen tribute Cd using various artists much like they did with elton john's songs it would be great. But to throw these songs onto queen greatest hits CD? It's obvious that this is just a way to keep the wheel greased. That maybe; probably; a wycliff jean, david bowie, elton john or george micheal fan will snap this up just because they appear on it. I just think it harms the queen legacy.

I also object to using marginally popular solo efforts on a GH CD. Including freedie's or brian's solo material just cheapens evertything. The solo stuff just isn't the same, isn't as good. Sorry.

Want to experience queen? Than buy the first album "Queen". Then buy "Queen 2" and then maybe "Night at the opera". Experience one of rock's great bands the way you should.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
on December 8, 2002
Format: Audio CD
Queen was pure glam rock. Freddie Mercury was 1 in a million, his voice was the best in rock (Robert Plant's is second). He was incredibly flamboyant, and operatic and Queen definitely gave the greatest live shows of our time. They sounded like no other band with four hit songwriters who wrote many songs that would later become sports anthems or movie themes such as the amazing Flash, Who Wants To Live Forever, One Vision, We Will Rock You, We Are The Champions and Another One Bites The Dust. The 1st Disc is 70's glam rock Queen and the second disc is 80's pop rock Queen. I prefer this collection over the 2 previous Hollywood releases of 'Classic Queen' and 'Greatest Hits' because this version has one of my favorite Queen songs, "Innuendo," and the song "Flash" that was on the original greatest hits album from 1981. The song order is also better. The only flaw on the second disc is the recording of "Under Pressure." This version sounds different than the one on `Classic Queen.' The base is much softer and the vocals don't flow as well.
A reminder: Disc Three is not a greatest hits cd. It's a cd of mostly solo works, songs from the Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert, and songs from the album `Made In Heaven,' an album that came out after Freddie died. The third disc does not do the band any justice and should be re-released with actual hits or songs from Queen during their prime years. Hopefully, Queen's Brian May will someday release a true best-of collection with classic songs that did not make the hit chart but were true masterpieces. I'm talking about the songs: Spread Your Wings, You Take My Breath Away, Love of My Life, Melancholy Blues, Teo Torriatte, Death On Two Legs, The Prophet Song, 39', and Seaside Rendezvous. Songs on 'Queen II' like Procession, White Queen, The Fairy Feller's Master-Stroke, Nevermore and March Of The Black Queen should also not be ignored.
If you want a great introduction to Queen with their most popular hits, this is it. But, if you want more on the best of Queen, I recommend you pick up 'Queen II', 'A Night At The Opera,' and `A Day At The Races.' These are Queen's three best albums and Queen during their prime.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
HALL OF FAMEon November 21, 2002
Format: Audio CD
3 discs, 17 songs each, 51 songs. The Platinum Collection supplants the gold Greatest Hits I & II CD along with the third greatest hits CD that came out later. But is uniting them justifiable? For Queen completists, this is the best thing barring a box set collecting all their albums together. For me, the sound of Freddie's voice, backed by the operatic backing vocals of the others did it for me.
On the first disc, all the familiar tracks that have been played to death on radio are here. The perennial classic, "Bohemian Rhapsody" leads the disc. The disc ends with another all-time classic, the overplayed "We Will Rock You" and its companion track, "We Are The Champions." which will be heard as long as America has sports events. Then there's "Fat Bottomed Girls" and "Bicycle Race." "Flash" is a campy but fun track from Flash Gordon, and I always had a thing for the skiffle/50's rock of "Crazy Little Thing Called Love."
Two Highlander songs are on disc two, "A Kind Of Magic" and "Who Wants To Live Forever." The classic David Bowie collaboration "Under Pressure" is also here. "I Want It All" is a hard-driving rocker from The Miracle. A quick note: I was at NMSU when Freddie Mercury died, and my colleagues Nicholas and Frank speculated that "Who Wants To Live Forever" and "The Show Must Go On" took on new meanings, as we figured that Freddie knew he was dying and had stoically accepted his fate. The same can be said for "Too Much Love Will Kill You", on disc three.
The third disc should not, repeat, be denounced as a plate of warmed over leftovers. Far from it, most of them have Freddie Mercury on vocals, whether with Queen or solo. Elton John proves himself worthy of subbing for Freddie in "The Show Must Go On," a tragic anthem that fit both Freddie and Princess Diana. The mix of "Under Pressure" isn't that bad either. And the anthemic "Princes Of The Universe" from Highlander is thankfully included. The hard driving (pardon the pun) "Driven By You" proves that Brian May has got what it takes to be the new lead singer should he and the other two decide to make an album as a threesome. And the inclusion of Wyclef Jean's take on "Another One Bites The Dust" is tolerable.
My personal favorites: "Bohemian Rhapsody", "Under Pressure", "The Show Must Go On", "Who Wants To Live Forever", "Crazy Little Thing Called Love", "Flash", "I Want It All", "Headlong", "Somebody To Love", and "Driven By You".
The history and chart successes of each single, along with the picture of each single album cover in the booklet really helps out. I had to laugh at the members in drag on the "I Want To Break Free" single.
If one has the gold Queen double CD along with the third greatest hits volume, this collection is superfluous. However, for those who want a crash course in Queen, this is ideal.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on October 5, 2005
Format: Audio CD
I love Queen. In my opinion, they are the greatest rock and roll band ever (I know I'm going to catch a lot of heat for that statement, but I stand my opinion). As with all great bands, Quen has a barrage of geatest hits collections available for caual fans and diehards alike. Some time ago, the three cd mini boxed set "Queen - The Platinum Collection" came out. How does it hold up? Read on.

Positives:

-If you're a casual fan, this boxed set will suit you well.Disc one has all the classic Queen hits, including "Bohemian Rhapsody", "You're My Best Friend", "Somebody To Love" and "Another One Bites The Dust".

-There are a lot of underrated masterpieces included, especially on disc two, such as "I Want It All", "The Miracle", "The Show Must Go On" and "The Invisible Man".

-The songs sound great.

The liner notes for this collection are fantastic.

Negatives:

-Disc three is unneeded. It contains ome truly great songs that deserve to be here (for exampl,e the tearjerking "These Are The Days Of Our Lives", one of my all time favorite Queen songs ever. But the majority of the songs are just rare filler.

-"One Visoin" is, in my opinion, filler that should not be on here.

-Discs 1 & 2 are a mere repackaging of "Greatest Hits Vols. 1 & 2". If they wanted to make a third disc, here's what the song selection should have been:

*Tie Your Mother Down

*Stone Cold Crazy

*Keep Yourself Alive

*Love Of My Life (why was this never on a Queen collection)?

*All God's People

*One Year Of Love

*Death On Two Legs

*Las Palabras De Amor

*Calling All Girls

*Body Language

*The Great Pretender

*It's Late

*Was It All Worth It

*Scandal

*Is This The World We Created

*Thank God It's Christmas

*These Are The Days Of Our Lives

So, while I guess this is a decent boxed set, I think you're better off buying either "Greatest Hits Vols. 1 & 2" or buying the single disc collections "Classic Queen" and "Greatest Hits" together.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on April 4, 2004
Format: Audio CD
First things first. After reading the other reviews, there is an obvious conclusion: what is causing disagreement it's the 3rd cd, hence called "GH 3, Queen +". While some people say that it has terrible content, other reviewers liked it, but say it is not aptly to call it a Queen GH CD, rather more like a tribute to Queen, and others have no problem with it.
I know that every head is a world, and therefore the same number of different points of view about the same thing or taste, or whatever, so if we are going to judge the 3rd cd, TO BE JUST, let's do it OBJECTIVELY, STEP BY STEP:
I. Songs performed by "QUEEN": A. The songs included here are mainly those that appeared on MADE IN HEAVEN,and that were GH caliber.( obviously were not included in neither the first 2 when they were issued, but rather on a THIRD ONE). "HEAVEN FOR EVERYONE" "TOO MUCH LOVE WILL KILL YOU" "LET ME LIVE" "YOU DON'T FOOL ME" "THANK GOD IT'S CHRISTMAS (B-SIDE to the MADE IN HEAVEN TRACK "A WINTER'S TALE") These are the excellent songs from the MADE IN HEAVEN ALBUM/TIME, that never had the chance to be included on a GH compilation. (Personal comment: I would have put MADE IN HEAVEN, MOTHER LOVE, A WINTER'S TALE here, simply amazing songs). SO OBVIOUS RIGHT TO BE HERE.
"THESE ARE THE DAYS OF OUR LIVES ( from INNUENDO, a #1 hit, not included on GH No.2 "I don't remember the month it was issued for the first time GH2, so that it could have been included there") "LAS PALABRAS DE AMOR" "PRINCES OF THE UNIVERSE", songs from the time of GH2, of the same caliber, very powerful, but simply ommitted when it was issued. RIGHTFULY ON A QUEEN GH cd.
II. Songs performed by "QUEEN +": THE SHOW MUST GO ON + elton john: REALLY, REALLY GREAT VERSION, besides, you get the original on GH2 (just one personal comment: since they included here the version of SOMEBODY TO LOVE + GEORGE MICHAEL performed in the FM tribute concert, and although i know that the purpose of this is not to be the FM TRIBUTE CONCERT CD, which by the way isn't out there in the market!, the songs that are performed by QUEEN + ( and TOO MUCH LOVE WILL KILL YOU) that have a version on the tribute concert, those are the versions they should have included here, like) UNDER PRESSURE (rah mix), which is an excellent version, not like the tribute concert, besides you get the original on GH2, but don't fall under the illusion that they are mere "fillers", they are of the same level, just different, like ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST.
III. On the solo efforts: BARCELONA (FM + MC) it is just a very powerful and beautiful song. LIVING ON MY OWN by FM, was an award winning track, DRIVEN BY YOU by BM it is also a POWERFUL track, like the FM classic cover of THE GREAT PRETENDER.
Like I said, there are millions of different points of view on weather to include the "+" and the solo efforts on the 3rd CD, and the 3rd cd onto the BOX SET, there are different tastes, but the tracks included here have earned the right to be on this 3rd GH CD, and the cd on the set.
As for the first and second cd, there is nothing much more to say, in the sense that since you are buying them, it is because you like this kind of music(magic!), and it gives you a general look at the band's best work during their reign. Of course, there is always one or two songs that you say I would have put this song instead of this one, but not changing the main body of the cd's. But because they are to please the most people possible, they select the most popular tracks.
Alson highly recomended for newcomers, because this will introduce you very well to QUEEN'S music,(they have selected the most popular tracks, so you can have a general look at the best work of the band). And to those who just like excellent music
P.S. like it says on the credits of QUEEN ROCKS "of course, NO ONE BUT YOU is another story", an extremely powerful and beautiful track, tribute to freddie and others like Princess Diana who died before their time. Included on GH3
P.P.S Although I don't own it on this format, It is a better way to do so, because every cd is a must, and if you get 3 for the price of 2, and as a part of a nice boxed set package, it's a better deal.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on July 16, 2003
Format: Audio CD
Wow. That's alot of Queen. 51 tracks over 3 cds constitutes a bucket of Queen. Do you really need that much queen? Not really. Either the Greatest Hits/Classic Queen duo or Greatest Hits I+II will do you much better. Freddie MErcury's voice, arguable one of the best ever heard, puts itself above others like Michael Jackson and Jeff Buckley in the first two volumes of this compilation. The sheer amount of emotion he channels into his singing (The Show must go on, Don't Stop me Now) defies comprehension. Queen is about Freddie Mercury's singing, and freddie mercury's singing shines the most in the first two volumes. The third does have such songs as 'Princes of the universe', which while they were radio hits, made it more due to the catchiness of the lyrics than the quality of music.
Should this beyour first Queen purchase, go for it. The more Queen you can hear, the better. however, if you've bought an album or one of the disc on the collection, pass this up.The Third and special disc is wasted.
Should you be a die-hard Queen fan, it may appeal more, but the albums from whence the third disc came are probably a better place to get the music. There are no previously unrealeased songs on the third disc, no incentive. Pass on this boxed set, go buy something else from the esteemed and wonderful Queen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on September 22, 2006
Format: Audio CD
The Platinum Collection is a repackaging of their 90's compilations Greatest Hits 1 & 2 that were issued by Hollywood Records with the addition of a third disc of additional Queen tracks, some solo Freddie Mercury tracks and a few good/bad cover versions of tracks from a few different artists like Elton John, George Michael and Wyclef from the Fugees.

The cool thing though about this re-release of this new collection is that these are actually newly remastered (circa 2001) versions of the tracks and they are even punchier and clearer than the 1991 masters used in the previous "gold" cover of hits 1 & 2.

For one thing, you don't have to crank them quite as loud as you did the other collection and like I have already mentioned, the songs are crystal clear.

Basically, Disc 1 covers the years from 1974 to 1980 (nothing was included from their debut 1973 album however) while Disc 2 covers 1982 to 1991. Disc 3 compiles some singles from their 1995 release of posthumous Freddie Mercury material entitled Made in Heaven that the surviving 3 members completed along with some additional tracks their 80's/90's albums as well.

My main complaint is that Disc 1 is only 58 minutes long and it contains the radio edit of Fat Bottomed Girls. With the reamining space, they could have/should have included other classic Queen tracks like Tie Your Mother Down and some other amazing album cuts that while not released as singles are fan favorites.

Disc 2 comes close to being 77 minutes in length. My only other beef is that they included the single edit of One Vision on Disc Two instead of the album version. I don't know what made them do that when they had plenty of room to put the album cut.

Disc 3 should have been all Queen and Freddie Mercury solo stuff and not included any of the cover versions of tracks as some are great and some are awful, but calling disc 3 Queen Greatest Hits III is kind of deceptive advertising when it's not all stuff actually by Queen on it.

One thing I found is that you can actually fit some of the remaining choice queen cuts off of Disc 3 onto the end of Disc 1 via burning on a computer/CD burner which is what I did for my traveling copies I keep in my car.

For someone just starting to get into Queen, even with the sometimes problematic Disc 3, this is a great buy for people wanting to get something that covers their entire career. People just wanting the hits will get all they want as well with buying this.

Then, people wanting to go deeper can then go and track down the studio albums to dig deeper if they like what they hear. In that case, people should try to track down the 2001 Japanese remasters which sound better than the 1991 Hollywood Records reissues/remasters.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on September 25, 2002
Format: Audio CD
Queen is one of those rare bands that will never be matched, it's been said before, but Freddie's voice really was the best. And Finally the Platinum collection is available in the USA, If your new to Queen I recommmend this set, If your an old time fan to, because you've probably only heard 1/3 of the set, that being the 70's hits. It's almost the exact same thing as Greatest Hits I-II (with the exception of GH III), but the disks have their original covers, not the gold ones, and The booklet is a alot better. How could you pass this up? It's the same price as the other one. You've got their beginning work such as the ever-so-popular BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY, Deacon's ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST, The 2 "double sided" singles FAT BOTTOMED GIRLS/BICYCLE RACE and WE WILL ROCK YOU/WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS and all the stuff in between. Then the later work such as the Bass/synth driven BREAKTHRU, classic 80's soft rock like A KIND OF MAGIC and UNDER PRESSURE, not to mention some of their heaviest, I WANT IT ALL, HEADLONG, ONE VISION, and HAMMER TO FALL. But the Real bonus is the 3rd CD, capturing solo work, remixes, stuff from MADE IN HEAVEN, and songs that got lost in the shuffle. Don't waste your time with stuff that's being played today because it's popular, get the GOOD stuff!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on November 22, 2002
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
I dare you not to be a Queen fan after buying this CD set. This is probably the best Greatest Hits compilation I have ever seen. It includes all their best work, without leaving one or two of the best songs off, so that you have to buy a whole other CD just to get them, a novelty in today's market. Queen had a very unique style, created by four very talented men. Freddie Mercury, particularly, is one of the most talented rock singers I've heard. His untimely death was a great loss to rock music, curtailing what should have been a successful career continuing through today. The music Queen created has something for everyone, from rock 'n roll anthems, to dance flavored pop, to easy listening ballads, to swelling show-type tunes.
All of the songs in the collection are good, including nothing that could be classed as "filler". Disc 1 contains their hits up to about 1980, while Disc 2 covers their eighties hits, all of which are pleasantly representative of their era. I even like the unpopular "Greatest Hits 3". I like the samples of the band members' solo work, and the covers/samples of Queen's music by other artists, the standout of which is "Somebody to Love" by George Michael + Queen. I even like the remix of "Under Pressure", and I am someone who doesn't like remixes (especially when they do it to a favorite song), but this one is actually good, and contains some vocal variations from Freddie. And since I'm feeling kind today, I'll even say that the Wyclef Jean number on "Another One Bites the Dust" is interesting, and shows Queen represented in yet another form of music, hip-hop.
This is a great collection that is also a great bargain, especially for those new to Queen who want to sample the best stuff before diving into their pockets for the rest of the catalogue. So buy it, but be careful, because Freddie Mercury and Queen have converted me, and I'm now compelled to buy the rest of their cds; You just might feel the same!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Queen - Greatest Hits
Queen - Greatest Hits by Queen (Audio CD - 1992)
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.