Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic
Johnny Horton at his best. I used to listen to this when I was a kid. My parents would put it on the record player and I could hear it in my room at night when I was trying to sleep. And who wouldn't want to "spin those guns around" and sink the Bismark.
Published on April 5, 2010 by M. Jorgensen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
the case was cracked
Published 1 month ago by M. Cox


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, April 5, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits by Johnny Horton (Audio CD)
Johnny Horton at his best. I used to listen to this when I was a kid. My parents would put it on the record player and I could hear it in my room at night when I was trying to sleep. And who wouldn't want to "spin those guns around" and sink the Bismark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally AWESOME!!!!!, November 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits by Johnny Horton (Audio CD)
I love this guy's music!!!!! The CD gets off to a great start with, "North to Alaska," my favorite, followed by the melancholy, "Whispering Pines," which we all have related to at some point I'm sure. "Johnny Reb" is awesome, because it highlights American Pride, and the Human Spirit, that the fact that "you fought all the way" is whats important, and we respect that. "When its Springtime in Alaska (It's Forty Below)" is another of my favorites. It is a comedic/tragic story with a nice beat. "Honky Tonk Man" makes me dance, and if I were a man, I would sing it. lol :) "Comanche (The Brave Horse)" is a tearjerker for me, but I love the horse-like rhythm that continues from beginning to end. Often we as humans dont think about the sacrifices we require of animals for our quarrels, and this is a tribute to "Poor old Comanche, battle scarred and torn." "Jim Bridger" is a cool song. I love how this album is so educational! xD "Johnny Freedom" is my other favorite. I LOOOOOOOVE it. and I LOVE AMERICA! <3
~peace out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to Hear these Songs again, September 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits by Johnny Horton (Audio CD)
It is so good to hear these songs again. Good sound, tone, etc. Would recommend this if you want to take a trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!!, March 29, 2010
By 
D. Morgan (LASHMEET, WV, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits by Johnny Horton (Audio CD)
This CD is a great choice the sound quality is great and you can't beat the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Friend Is Back, April 27, 2011
By 
Harold Slater (MIDLAND, MICHIGAN, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits by Johnny Horton (Audio CD)
I nearly wore the grooves thin on my vinyl 33.3 LP over the years. Getting the CD from Amazon is being reunited with an old friend from whom I had been separated for more than a decade. This is one of two or three CDs that stay loaded in my vehicle and keeps me company on short grocery runs and long hauls from Mid-Michigan to Detroit and back. The mellow voice and mix of love songs and historical ballads is a small anchor in the midst of a world of change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits by Johnny Horton (Audio CD)
one of the best of all times, and fun and entertaining, to boot. we love his songs and another one that we miss who has gone on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits by Johnny Horton (Audio CD)
just wanted to listen all type of music form years past and think its better then some of today music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horton Hits, November 24, 2013
This review is from: Greatest Hits by Johnny Horton (Audio CD)
I ordered this for my daughter who kept one copy and gave the others as gifts to her friends who really wanted it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits by Johnny Horton, October 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits by Johnny Horton (Audio CD)
Bought for myself, remembering the tunes that were popular in my Dad's day...he use to play the singles to us on the record player....brings back lots of happy memories.
Highly recommended....great ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, March 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits by Johnny Horton (Audio CD)
I love it. You can't go wrong with Johnny Horton. I like to get stupid drunk on Evan Williams while reloading ammunition with this CD blaring in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Greatest Hits by Johnny Horton
Greatest Hits by Johnny Horton by Johnny Horton (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.