Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Greatest Hits: My Prerogative
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 22, 2004
well, this is the same track list from México (i'm from that country), i bought this album the day was available (november 8) an well th songs are really good (i'm fan, hehe) anyway i don't know why "Don't let me be the last to know" is not included on the album, is a Hit, at least here in México all Britney songs are #1 this is my review:

1. MY PREROGATIVE (9/10) Amazing Cover! this song is very cool, i don't know why this song didn't have the success that everyone espect! but anyway was #1 in MTV México!

2. TOXIC (12/10) what can't i say about this song, it's the best song of Britney! i love this song, this is really a Brtieny Spears' Worldwide #1!

3. I'M A SLAVE 4 U (12/10) Damn it Britney! amazing Song, i love this song since i heard it on the Radio! for this song a became a Britney Fan!

4. OOPS! I DID TI AGAIN (8/10)well i like this song, i remember that a girl on my elementary school had the single and i heard it i just say "It's cool".....but IT'S GREAT!

5. ME AGAINST THE MUSIC (Feat. Madonna) (7/10) well, this song is SoSo, i don't like it that much as the others, i like the "Richi Rich's Desi Kulcha Mix" included on the album: "In The Zone", I HAVE TO SAY the Britney Version (without Madonna) IS MUCH BETTER!, I Don't Hate Madonna, i like her alot, but i don't like this song.

6. STRONGER (10/10) i think that this is the most longest TOP 10 song of Britney in México, this song was on the Top 10 for like 5 months or maybe more (i'm talking about Radio)

7. EVERYITME (8/10) the background sounds like a music box are very awfull!, but the lyrics and the Britney's voice are the best! this song was on "Los 1o+ Pedidos" (10 most Request) of MTV for mora than 80 days so, another Hit for Britney!.

8. ...BABY ONE MORE TIME (8/10) This song is cool, with a simple melody hit the world by surprise! and this song is a Pop Classic, so i don't have more comments about it!.

9. (YOU DRIVE ME) CRAZY - The Stop Remix! (10/10) this Remix es much better than the Original Version, this song was the reason that i bought the ...BABY ONE MORE TIME album!

10. BOYS (Co-Ed Remix) (Feat. Pharrell Williams) (9/10) i like th album version more than this version, i like to hear JUST Britney! but this version is very cool too.

11. SOMETIMES (9/10) another Britney Classic, i love this song since the 1st time a heard it, is very Romantic, and at the same time very happy and well this song got something that i don't know, it's very Cute!.

12. OVERPROTECTED (9/10) well the Mexican Version has a mistake on the backcover (it says "The DarkChild Remix") and this version is the album version, the album version is the video shown on MTV Latinamerica the Remix was show a few months later but didn't has success as the Original.

13. LUCKY (10/10) POPTASTIC this song is very cool, is one of my favorites, and the video (Directed by Dave Meyers) it's amazing!

14. OUTRAGEOUS (8/10) this is the only song that didn't has success, on the radio and TV no one knows about this song, just a very few.

15. BORN TO MAKE YOU HAPPY (11/10) This is my Favorite Britney Song i love it! but FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY BROKEN HEART was shown in México instead BORN TO MAKE YOU HAPPY i don't know why both are beautiful but this song is much better and the video is better!.

16. I LOVE ROCK 'N' ROLL (9/10) this song it's cool and this song was playin' while Britney was promoting her album and making show in México! i went to her 1st Concert was amazing!, THE 2nd Was Cancelled and alot of people went mad about 'cause she just sang 5 sings and went to her home, didn't made press conference for explain and anything!.

17. I'M NOT A GIRL NOT YET A WOMAN (7/10) another ballad without taste! i like this song 'cause is Britney not for the Lyrics and anything, but anyway this song was very successful in México.

18. I'VE JUST BEGUN (HAVIN' MY FUN) (9/10) this song it's very cool but this song it's very old, when i bough the USA version of the "In the zone" album in Wal-Mart in Houston, they gave me a download number so i donwload legally this song!.

19. DO SOMETHIN' (10/10) amazing song sounds like Gwen Stefani's "What You Waiting For?" but Better! i love this song and i'm very hapy 'cause this is the 2nd single from this Album, Britney made the video last Friday!

Well everyone buy this album you don't gonna regret it! o almost forgot, the Bonus CD is amazing too:

1. TOXIC (Armand Van Helden Remix Edit) (9/10)

2. EVERYTIME (Hi-Bias Radio Remix) (15/10)

3. BREATHE ON ME (Jacques LuCount Mix) (9/10)

5. OTRAGEOUS (Junkie XL's DanceHall Mix) (10/10)

5. STRONGER (Miguel 'Migs' Vocal Mix) (10/10) it's much better shorter!

6. I'M A SLAVE 4 U (Thunderpuss Club Mix9 (10/10) it's much better shorter!

7. CHRIS COX MEGA MIX (10/10) Amazing Song and this song it's an Radio AirPlay Hit Right now in México!.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2005
Enough is enough, folks. Sure, this girl ain't no Mariah Carey --though in her earliest works (such as "Soda Pop") she sounds quite Christinaish-- but she's got a unique enough sound to be distinguishable on the radio. Can this be said about all teen sensations? Let's talk about rappers: they don't EVEN sing. Can they still be categorized as "singers" for speaking with rhythm? Uh huh, thought so. Britney Spears, like her or not, has become one of pop music's biggest superstars - and most controversial. She's had a slew of No. 1's since her 1998 uber-smash "...Baby One More Time," and has finally garnered that Grammy that's eluded her since her first nominations. In the Zone shows us a more electrocized Spears but the latter ballads, should-be hit "Shadow" and Britney-composed "Everytime," show the public the real girl behind the facade. Greatest Hits can be called such because she has had enough hit-age to put one out ("greatest hits" doesn't mean "every single"). Congrats Britney. You've done a great job here.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2006
Ever since Britney Spears hit the music scene, the controversy has surrounded the pop princess. Yet it is hardly the music which has been in focus for the last couple of years, instead various tabloid headlines have dominated Britney's public persona. However, Britney Spears has released four studio albums and some excellent pop songs. So in 2004, a greatest hits saw the light of day. One may argue that the release of a greatest hits album after less than 7 years in the music business is a tad hasty and I tend to agree.

The throbbing My Prerogative welcomes the listener to a Bobby Brown cover. The song was released in order to promote the greatest hits album, landing Britney a considerable hit in Europe. The funky, infectious cut is a guilt-pleasure of mine, however it will not be considered a memorable song, in my opinion, as the original is far superior. Next up is the teasingly Toxic. The spy-like theme and the catchy chorus are the highlights of the song. It is probably one of the best pop songs to have been released within the last 6 years. It certainly proved that Britney had not lost the potential to release a hit song. The sexy, addictive I'm A Slave For You from the Britney album was produced by the producer-team The Neptunes. Its funky sound and the mourn-like noises are a perfect match for one another: however, some may argue that the raunchy theme and the mourning sound are a tad overdone.

Released in 2000, the Oops...I Did It Again album witnessed a different Britney from her previous album Baby One More Time. The red-cat suit for the first single Oops...I Did It Again had people interested - positively and negatively. Admittedly, the song is extremely catchy but the horrible lyrics and Britney's irritating voice ruin the song completely. The song's mechanical sound does nothing to interest me. In general, I'm not a very big fan of Max Martin productions as they sound to homogenise for my liking. Next up is the blend Me Against The Music from Britney's most mature album In The Zone. Surely, a collaboration between Madonna and Britney should generate a better result than this rather dull track. The self-confident Stronger is a more tolerable Max Martin/Rami production, displaying a Britney with attitude. The haunting and heartfelt Everytime, allegedly a response to her then-boyfriend Justin Timberlake, showcases Britney's attempt to tackle serious topics, which works quite well.

Released in 1999, the Baby One More Time album produced several hits for the pop princess, which included Baby One More Time, (You Drive Me) Crazy and Sometimes. The songs display happy, bubbly pop song: however, the only song which truly stands out from Britney's debut album is the fantastic Baby One More Time. Even the most avid Britney hater must admit: it is a brilliant pop song. Sure, Britney Spears' music has a tendency to sound rather mechanical at times, especially her earlier material; however, her In the Zone album displays a more wholesome sound than her previous albums. Moving onto the Janet-esque Boys, showcasing a seemingly more naughty Britney - surely, the `'sweet'', `'innocent'' Britney was long gone then. Britney's voice leaves much to desire, however Boys displays how Britney is able to use her vocal skills to the fullest. Overprotected, the dreadful I Love Rock `N' Roll and I'm Not A Girl Not Yet A Woman, taken from the Britney album, are blend pop offerings. Many may disagree with me; however I'm Not A Girl Not Yet A Woman is simply awful - the lyrics are simply laughable. Lucky is another example of horrible lyrics - do people actually get paid for writing this kind of material and people like this? Outrageous, I've Just Begun (Having My Fun) and Do Something are tolerable songs, but they are not among my fave Britney songs.

The Greatest Hits: My Prerogative is a mixed bag. Admittedly, it contains several good pop songs, yet much of Britney's material/music is too weak for a greatest hits - a few more studio albums with stronger material to be included are lacking on this greatest hits. Toxic, Baby One More Time, I'm A Slave For You, Stronger and Stronger are the best songs on the album, im my opinion. People, however, who adore Britney's music will be thrilled with this greatest hits - if you like happy, bubbly pop music, Britney's Greatest Hits is just the album for you.

Overall Rating: 5.5/10
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2005
I know her voice isn't the greatest but the mixing & production of these tunes is nothing short of outstanding. I also know there are detractors who say she just relies on her body to make money. Yet, they fail to mention that she did in just 6 years what no female solo artist since Madonna's heyday in the 1980s has done; that is go from a new artist with a great debut album to cultural superstar.

Her 3 new tunes are all great, My Prerogative is a great opener, I've Just Begun is a nice addition that holds its own against some of the legendary female artists around, & Do Somethin' is a great closer with a beat that is solid.

The real strength here is the material amassed in such a span

of time. Baby One More Time, Oops! I Did It Again, Stronger, Lucky & Everytime are all very solid tunes that're what carries the album & shows off her musical skills. The tracks aren't in chronological order, but that's okay because there's so many good tunes here that it doesn't matter that much to me. The musical quality of these tunes is nothing short of great on each one & the production & mixing are really solid & keep the album sounding so good.

I'd like to have seen Don't Let Me Be The Last To Know & From The Bottom Of My Broken Heart make the cut as well, but this is still a very solid & tight greatest hits package that I've not seen a female solo artist pull off since Maddona's wonderful The Immaculate Collection was done. I don't know about the quality of the 6 bonus tracks as I've only got the standard 17-track disc.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 6, 2004
The main disc is just as listed here with the extra tracks not on the US edition, but I ordered this version due to the different tracks on the bonus CD. I got some surprises. Here is the breakdown:

1. Toxic (armand van helden remix)--The disc's case calls this the "edit" but it is indeed the full 9 minute and 34 second version found on the US 12" single, not the 6 and a half minute edit found on the US bonus disc.

2. Everytime--the track listing is WRONG here on Amazon. This is not a Valentin mix. it's the same hi-bias radio edit from the US edition.

3. Breathe on Me--same Jacques Lu Cont mix as US bonus disc.

4. Outrageous--same Junkie XL Dancehall mix as US bonus disc.

5. Stronger(miguel mig's vocal mix)--this boring 6 and a half minute version is on the US CD single for this song.

6. I'm a Slave 4U--this is the FULL 8 minute and 46 second thunderpuss mix from the US 12" single, finally on CD!!!

7. Chris Cox megamix--same 5 minute version as on the US bonus CD.

Hope this helps all the collectors. It's worth it for Tracks 1 and 6 on CD, I'd say.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2005
The bestselling artist in the 21st century Britney Spears summarizes with this collection first six years of her outstanding career and shows her story from teenage sensation to icon of pop-culture. She started with simple catchy pop songs which were written for her just to be hits, but in the 21st century she was converted to less commercial r'n'b and club music instead of selling incredible amount of records and above all she began to write her own songs. This album is a certificate of evolution from manufactured teen idol to professional artist.

Spears has as many fans as anti-fans, so there are varied opinions about her music. But we must to admit that facts are on Spears' side, because her music achieved not only commercial success with 60 million sold albums and almost twenty hits all over the world, but above all artistic with numerous nominations to the most prestigious music awards including Grammy. And no words can take it back from her. It's simply high quality pop music, that's all. Isn't it ridiculous that such innocent music causes so much anger or even hate in some people? Thanks to this strange mystery these people make Spears' music uncommon in some way.

Spears with all these hits took over the throne from Queen of Pop Madonna and Queen of R'n'B Janet Jackson. That's why she sold much more records during her career than Madonna and Janet put together in the same period of time! And such hits like: "...Baby One More Time", "Oops...I Did It Again", "I'm A Slave 4 U" or "Toxic" are classics in history of pop music already.

Unfortunately this is a US edition of this set, which means the poorest one. It has only 17 songs (14 international hits and 3 brand new tunes), because it omits these two hits from standard international version of this album, which were released on singles only overseas "Born To Make You Happy" and "I Love Rock'n'Roll". But why Britney's record company didn't put here a million-seller US hit "From The Bottom Of My Broken Heart" and chose little hit "Outrageous" instead of much bigger "Don't Let Me Be The Last To Know". There is also a special edition of this album where you can find a bonus CD with 6 very interesting remixes and "Megamix" of Britney's biggest hits.

Like you see it's better to buy the most expanded version of this album, which contains 20 songs (with both non-US singles and "Don't Let Me Be The Last To Know" as well) and which is also available in special version with bonus CD with all 6 remixes and "Megamix".

And it's only beginning...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2004
This album is simply incomparable! This CD features some of the BIGGEST pop hits in the history of music all on ONE CD! The albuum had an average debut on American charts with 255,000 copies sold in its first week. You may think Britney is losing her touch going from an insane 1.3 million copies for Oops and in the 600-700k range for her next two albums Britney and In The Zone. The thing is, Britney is an INTERNATIONAL artist! Unlike some artists that can only reach success in the USA, Britney has recaptured the world's interest with hits like Toxic and Everytime! The album hit #1 in HUGE world markets like Japan and France, and recently moved up to the top in Brazil! The album hit #1 in over many countries around the world and in UK, the album had the BIGGEST one-week sales of ANY greatest hits albums by a female EVER, beating GH albums by Shania, Celine, Madonna, Mariah, Kylie, etc.!

Greatest Hits: My Prerogative features the title track My Prerogative and Britney's BIGGEST hits including one of 2004's biggest songs, Toxic, I'm A Slave 4 U, Oops!...I Did It Again, Me Against The Music (feat. Madonna) and OF COURSE, the pop classic ...Baby One More Time!

This album is a GREAT stocking stuffer as it will please most pop fans because of the sheer variety: from hard-hitting dance and hip-hop tracks (Overprotected [Darkchild Remix], Boys [Co-Ed Remix feat. Pharrell], and one of her latest, the catchy R.Kelly track, Outrageous), beautiful ballads (Not A Girl and this year's smash hit Everytime), to all the CLASSICS from fun pure pop like Sometimes and Lucky to MEGAHITS like (You Drive Me) Crazy (The Stop Remix) and Stronger!

The album also features two of Britney's best songs EVER, the internet hit I've Just Begun (Having My Fun) and the incredibly hot and catchy Do Somethin'! Then you also have the bonus disc which features some of the best remixes ever, with some being just as good, if not better than the originals (eg. Outrageous)! You'll also find a gem in Chris Cox's Megamix, which features some of Britney's biggest hits all on one song! The remix is very well done and features some very cool new beats! This was released in Europe and is doing amazing!

These songs contributed to Britney selling over 60 million albums and around 30 million singles worldwide! Basically 90 million records sold in the span of what...6 years!?!?

If you're a Britney hater or someone who just doesn't like pop music, I'm not trying to convince you to buy the album. Just PLEASE do not write dumb reviews dissing Britney! If you don't like the album, then write a review stating why. Just don't resort to having to bring Britney down or say bad things about her just because you don't like her music! For those who DO like Britney and pop music and have not yet got the album...SHAME ON YOU! Hahhaha..Pick this up ASAP and get a few extra copies for your friends and family! You WILL NOT be disappointed!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2004
This has got it all. All her great singles! And the bonus disc which features remixes AND the real cool MegaMix.

Highlights of the Greatest hits are:

Toxic

...baby one more time

I'm a Slave 4 U

Everytime (!)

My prerogative

Me Against The Music (Ft Madonna)

Outrageous

Lucky

Born to make you happy

The others are great singles as well

This has awesome packaging and its just 26 tracks of Britney perfection,

If you want to start off your Britney collection, I suggest you begin here, where they ALL are.

These seriously are Greatest hits.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2004
Britney's "Greatest Hits: My Prerogative" is exactly what it sounds like - it's all her greatest hits, although as the Amazon review stated, it's missing "From the bottom of my broken heart". However, Amazon also forgot (along with everyone else) about the second song it's missing: "I love rock and roll", from the album "Britney" and the Crossroads soundtrack- possibly because it was her only song not to make it up on the UK charts.
I personally like this album because while I am not a really big Britney fan and I don't buy her CDs, "Greatest Hits: My Prerogative" has all her dance tunes lined up in neat procession, without the unneeded accompaniment of fillers and sappy love songs.
Her three "previously unreleased" songs are alright - "My Perogative" 's tell-it-like-it-is lyrics are quite empowering and speak true to Britney's current tabloid-frenzied life, however, the album could probably due without track #16, "I've just begun (having my fun)". A thoroughly pointless song that isn't really catchy, I can't see why it went so high on the online download charts. Yet #17 is more promising; again, not one of her best songs and not single-worthy, it reminds me (slightly) of Gwen Stefani's new song "What you Waiting For?" - only without the sassiness of Ms. Stefani.
Overall, I think we finally have a Britney CD worthy buying, whether you're a casual fan or a die-hard Britaholic. My only gripe, other than tracks #16 and #17, is the album cover. Could Britney possibly look any more emaciated or gross? As a teenager myself, I speak from experience when I say it's pictures like that that make girls develop eating disorders.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2005
The laughable comments by the joker who thinks they are right and anyone who disagrees is wrong and thinks they know it all, but off course they don't
Let's look at there so called "facts"

"5 mediocre Platinum selling albums, all are worse than before"

Really? That might be your view but clearly not the view of everyone. Britney Spears has now lasted 6 years, I bet you gave her a year or two back in 1999! So who are you to say her music getting worse? To you maybe, to people who like it, no.

"A fluke of a number one single"

The single sold over a million copies in the USA alone, it also topped 1 million in sales in the UK and was the biggest selling debut single of the 20th century in that Country. Since that time she has scored another 19 hit singles, 8 of which have been Number 1 in various countries. There is a world outside the United States you know!

"A Grammy(big deal, Starland Vocal Band won a Grammy yet no one remembers those a****les) "

You seem too. I do too. Also I didn't see the Starland Vocal Band achieve 4 number 1 albums in America, or 5 top 20 albums in Britain, neither have they, to my knowledge logged 60 million album sales. So to compare the success of Britney Spears to that of the Starland Vocal Band is completely stupid, but then again so has your whole argument.

"Fans who worshipped her then abandoned her after her erratic behaviour started taking shape after Justa Tinkertoy left her!"

Is that why she's still topping charts all over the world, because she has no fans?

"Fame(everybody has that, including ME!)"

Well you're probably the worlds most famous bulls*****r!

"No beauty"

Who says? You? Is that why people constantly vote for her as the sexiest woman in the world?

"Homewrecker"

She isn't actually if you look at the whole facts.

"Drug addict"#

You must be on something yourself to come up with all this nonsense!

"No Respect from anyone"

She has it from me, so you're wrong there!

"And a baby on the way which I bet she will ***carry!"

You really are evil.

This record is great. The people here saying Britney's career hasn't been going long enough to have a "Greatest Hits" out are missing the point entirely. This album is not based on amount of time you have been around, it's what it says on the cover, it's a "Greatest Hits," therefore it's about hit singles being collected onto an album and the question is has Britney had enough hit's for a Greatest Hit's album? The question is not how long has she been around for?!. The answer to the real question, with her scoring 19 hit singles to date is, yes.

Britney burst onto the music scene with "Baby One More Time" in 1999, a song which i'm sure anyone who had a radio or TV has heard many times. "Sometimes", "Oops I did it again", "Stronger", "Lucky", "Everytime", "Toxic", etc, etc, etc all followed. Now Britney is regarded by many to be the best pop star on the planet.

Back in 1999, people though Britney would soon fade, now in 2005, 6 years later, the same people are still saying that. She has already gone much further than they first predicted, so who to say, as long as the hit's keep coming, she won't last even longer yet.

This is a totally justified release as is truly a collection of great hit's from a hugely popular performer. It merits it's description as Britney Spears Greatest Hit's!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.