Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential 80's Collection
Hall and Oates...they have such a knack for fusing pop/rock and soul so well....they dominated the early to mid 80's radio which is no surprise...they always sounded fresh and upbeat even in their more mellow songs too...its great to see theyre back via VH1 and Doing It For Love...if u havent a clue about Hall and Oates and interested in them and/or anything 80's, give...
Published on January 18, 2003 by iv_30

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good (but flawed and short) pre-1984 H & O intro.
This short collection came out in 1983 at the height of Hall & Oates' popularity. At the time, it was probably very thorough, taking several of their then-current hits, mixed in with a few of their 70's songs. Today, though, I'd recommend it as more of a sampler (with only 12 tracks).

1973-1979 TRACKS:

-Sara Smile

-She's Gone...
Published on November 23, 2004 by oldschooler1981


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good (but flawed and short) pre-1984 H & O intro., November 23, 2004
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Rock 'n Soul, Part 1 (Audio CD)
This short collection came out in 1983 at the height of Hall & Oates' popularity. At the time, it was probably very thorough, taking several of their then-current hits, mixed in with a few of their 70's songs. Today, though, I'd recommend it as more of a sampler (with only 12 tracks).

1973-1979 TRACKS:

-Sara Smile

-She's Gone

-Rich Girl

-Wait For Me

Being that I'm really not familiar with their work before the 80's, I can't really say if there are any key songs missing here, but it is a nice inclusion. "Sara Smile" and "She's Gone" (in its shorter version) are slightly folkish, medium tempo pop love songs.

1977's "Rich Girl" is their earliest song I've really gotten into. It's more of a mix between their folk/pop stuff, and the sound of their 80's arena pop/rock hits. Starting out as an accoustic ballad before a ringing electric guitar and steady beat (though sung in a slight folkish tone) elevate it to a medium rock level.

1979's "Wait for Me" is another medium pop hit, not unlike that too, although I wish the studio version had found its way here instead. Chrnonologically speaking, after this, is the gold mine of the collection!:)

1980's VOICES:

-Kiss on My List

-You Make My Dreams

These monster hits obviously should've made the cut, but their R+B pop/rock remake of "You've Lost That Lovely Feeling" and "How Does it Feel to be Back", both sizable hits too, got cheated.

1981's PRIVATE EYES:

-Private Eyes

-I Can't Go For That

Especially with both these songs representing different styles, it's a nice addition, but it annoys me how the rest of this album always goes relatively unnoticed. "Did It in a Minute" is probably one of their catchiest arena rockers ever, and "Your Imagination" is a great, somewhat unique pop/soul hit.

1982's H20:

-Maneater

-One on One

I love both of these songs, but just like the previous two, so much got sadly left out -- the slow and sexy rocker "Open All Night," the chugging arena rock (and big hit) "Family Man" in particular. Even John Oates' semi-well known silly pop "Italian Girls" would've been nice.

1983 NEW SONGS:

-Say it isn't So

-Adult Education

Both of these went on to become major hits themselves, and rightfully so. "Say It isn't So" is a semi soul-influenced loud pop hit that easily could've been on the previous couple albums. "Adult Education" - a humorous look at present and post-high school life - is a mid-paced, unique guitar pop/rocker that includes elements of rap(!) and hard rock (great guitar and drum build-up toward the end).

OVERALL: With all of even the 1980-83 songs missing, this is obviously not a comprehensive collection, but it's still a good place for a very casual and/or new H+O fan to start. Espeically with its age, it should be fairly easy to find an inexpensive, used copy. Afterwards, I'd recommend one of their more recent collections -- which would include their 1984 and later hits, such as "Out Of Touch", "So Close," and "Everything Your Heart Desires," which obviously aren't here either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential 80's Collection, January 18, 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Rock 'n Soul, Part 1 (Audio CD)
Hall and Oates...they have such a knack for fusing pop/rock and soul so well....they dominated the early to mid 80's radio which is no surprise...they always sounded fresh and upbeat even in their more mellow songs too...its great to see theyre back via VH1 and Doing It For Love...if u havent a clue about Hall and Oates and interested in them and/or anything 80's, give this collection a try...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hall & Oates greatest collection from the 70's and 80's!, September 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Rock 'n Soul, Part 1 (Audio CD)
Chronicles their RCA studio recording session years from 1975-1982 in rock music history. On this cd there are a few of my favorite Daryl Hall & John Oates song classics i listen to like "Say Isn't So", "Maneater", "I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)", "Private Eyes", "Rich Girl" and one live track cut version of "Wait For Me". This is the one it brings back a lot of memories so where were you back in the seventies or eighties when all these tunes came out and played on the radio?This is a definitive compilation album to own. Their music was pure harmony, soft beat, hard/pop and soul combined in every rhythm they perform as a musical duo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Selective Anthology (Too Selective At Times), June 13, 2001
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Rock 'n Soul, Part 1 (Audio CD)
This CD's strong point is when RCA created it they were very selective. It's weak point is that when RCA created it, they were very selective. It does however leave out many superb songs , including "You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling," "Did It In A Minute," "Out Of Touch," and "Method Of Modern Love." "You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling" was probably being reserved for Rock & Soul Part 2 which will probably never be recorded or released. "Out Of Touch," was of course released after their Greatest Hits Album was released as was everything recorded with Arista ("Everything Your Heart Desires" "Missed Opportunity" & "So Close" you'll also have to look for elsewhere on an Arista label). This album's version of "She's Gone," is pretty much the radio version, and sounds OK in my opinion contrary to what other reviewers say. I think the people (who like Hall & Oates hits more than their musical style itself) will be just as inclined to find the full version of "She's Gone" overblown as much as pure Hall & Oates fans will find the version on this album butchered. I'm more inclinded to say this album's version of "I Can't Go For That (No Can Do) is butchered, but the difference is very subtle. The two songs recorded for this album were "Say It Isn't So," and "Adult Education," which you might find as live versions, but this album contains the best studio cuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated Collection - Start Somewhere Else, May 14, 2004
By 
L.A. Scene (Indian Trail, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Rock 'n Soul, Part 1 (Audio CD)
This is a very dated collection of greatest hits. It was released back in 1983. At the time, it probably was a very good greatest hits collection. It contains 12 songs and back 20 years ago, to get any release with 12 songs was great - but that was in the pre-CD/digital days. Since then, Hall and Oates have released much better and more complete greatest hits collections. I'm recommending "Ultimate Daryl Hall and John Oates". This contains every song on the "Rock and Soul Part 1" CD, plus it goes deeper where Rock and Soul Part 1 failed to go and it contains post 1983 material.
One thing that really annoyed is when an artist calls something "Part 1" and never comes out with a "Part 2". To me, it would have been very easy to come up with a "Part 2" of their post 1983 hits and have another CD. This is just a gripe that I have. The liner notes are also pretty thin in here. Not a lot in terms of credits, discography, photos, etc. Inside the liner notes is a pseudo handwritten version of the lyrics for "Adult Education". I also did learn that Mickey Curry was the drummer for Hall and Oates. If you are a Bryan Adams fan, you will know Curry's work. Two glaring omissions from this collection are "Family Man" and "Did it in a minute". I would have liked to have seen these songs on the collection. This was probably to make room for "Adult Education" and "Say it isn't So" which were newer songs that were released for the first time.
In the post 1983 work, Big Bam Boom would become the next release. It was the most successful album by Hall and Oates and its hard to now see any Greatest Hits collection without songs from that album. You can't blame Rock and Soul Part 1 on this one, its just that more time passed since this was released.
Chances are, if you do get this CD - you probably are going to get it either used or at some sort of bargain sale. And if you can get a good price on it, go for it. Otherwise I'd recommend the 'Ultimate' collection is the way to go as the way to start up your H&O collection. The content is still there on the CD and there are some very good songs on here. My advice there are better places to start with Hall and Oates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Collection of Rock 'N' Roll, October 4, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Rock 'n Soul, Part 1 (Audio CD)
Hall & Oates were a popular force in the late seventies and early eigthies. they have recently released a new album that is just as enjoyable to listen to as their older stuff. This collection of smooth jazz and rock 'n roll has an array of catchy and enjoyable tunes. Everyone's favorite songs like "Sara Smile" and "One on One" are here, and every other sing along song like "Maneater", "Private Eyes", "Rich Girl", etc. is here in all its glory. Listening to this album brought back memories of listening to my parents' Hall & Oates albums on a Sunday afternoon doing the weekly cleaning. These two artists wrote songs that you could sing along to and feel like they were talking to you. From the wondeful high notes that Hall hits, to the subtle background vocals of Oates, you will have to love this album for its display of musical talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LEAN CUISINE, September 10, 2002
By 
Jeffrey W. Vigeant (Williamsburg, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Rock 'n Soul, Part 1 (Audio CD)
You expect a "Greatest Hits" album to be the equivalent of a decadently rich dessert. Unfortunately, this mere 12 song album is more like a "Lean Cuisine" alternative. While tasty, it's portion is intentionally small and lacking in calories. Don't get me wrong, there is wonderful material here that is sure to invoke special memories. It did for me. The album is worth the likes of "Sara Smile", "Kiss On My List", "I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)", and "Maneater" alone. But when the last note of the last cut, "Wait For Me", fades into silence you expect more. It's like standing on the sidewalk anticipating a parade, only when you bend over to tie your shoe, you spy crushed remnants of popcorn and confetti and you realize it's already passed you by. RCA pegged this as "Rock 'n Soul Part 1". It's too bad they didn't make it a two disc set and give it some body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good sampler of their radio hits, December 26, 2002
By 
Neal Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Rock 'n Soul, Part 1 (Audio CD)
This is a good introductory CD for those unfamiliar with Hall & Oates as well as for those who just looking for a collection of the songs they remember hearing on the radio. These are slickly produced and slickly performed songs including classics such as "Sara Smile", "Rich Girl", "I Can't Go For That (No Can Do), "Maneater" and "One On One".
You won't get the thrust of their innovative energy here. You get that on the original albums and in what those listeners not tuned in to their raw talent call "filler material".
However, it is a good album to either meet the duo or to revive memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Platter of the Obvious, July 20, 2002
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Rock 'n Soul, Part 1 (Audio CD)
"Rock and Soul Part 1" captures many of Hall and Oates's best known songs in a collection that it is a tad skimpy at only a dozen tracks. The duo's entire 1970's output is represented by the singles "Sara Smile," "She's Gone" and "Rich Girl." Their early 1980s chart dominance is then marked by such tunes as "Private Eyes," "Kiss is On My List," and "You Make My Dreams." "Say It Isn't So," and "Adult Education" were recorded new for the collection. Also of note is that the CD booklet contains little more than perfuctory credits and the handwritten lyrics to "Adult Education." The album would have been greatly enhanced by the inclusion of a couple of more early 80s successes like "Did it in a Minute" and "How Does it Feel to Be Back." (Also note that this CD was released before the album "Big Bam Boom" came out and therefore does not contain the singles "Out of Touch" or "Method of Modern Love")
Overall, a skimpy collection that does include some of Hall and Oates's best material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The tastiest of guilty pleasures, June 2, 2000
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Rock 'n Soul, Part 1 (Audio CD)
Their blue-eyed soul is rivaled by few and matched by even fewer (George Michael comes to mind), and "Rock N Soul Part 1" is the quintessential summation of their career. Top 40 fodder like "Kiss on My List," "Maneater," and "One on One" will forever live on as Eighties classics, and "I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)" is still one of the most successful crossovers from pop to R&B instead of the more common opposite. But it's the gentle, plaintive beauty of "Sara Smile" and the striking "She's Gone" that show off the magic that this duo is truly capable of. Unfortunately, there will never be a "Part 2"; Hall & Oates' days of turning out pop/soul chart-toppers are clearly over. But one listen to this sparkling set and the optimism of the title is easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Greatest Hits: Rock 'n Soul, Part 1
Greatest Hits: Rock 'n Soul, Part 1 by Hall & Oates (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.