Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Greatest Hits [Vinyl]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:$17.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 16, 2005
This is paper thin collection of Al Green's "Greatest Hits" may satisfy those who are unacquainted with Al Green, but the selected 15 tracks are woefully inadequate for fans who followed Al Green's soul singing career in the Seventies.

Among the missing and unaccounted for songs in this "greatest hits" collection are: "Talk To Me", "How Can You Mend A Broken Heart", "Funny How Time Slips Away", "Let's Get Married", "Together Again", and the transcendental "Take Me To The River". Doing an Al Green greatest hits collection without the song "Take Me To The River" is like doing a Marvin Gaye collection without "What's Going On?" .

Instead of the inferior Capital collection, I recommend the double CD collection "Hi and Mighty- The Story of Al Green (1969-1978)" as only current collection that does justice to the Rev. Al Green's R&B career on Hi Records. It is a UK import and retails at a little over $25 (around $17 from an Amazon seller). The price is reasonable because "Hi and Mighty" will be the only Al Green collection you'll ever need. You will have to spend a lot more money get all the songs on import "Hi and Mighty" because there is no single unified collection of all Green's hits available on an American label.

Several years back, Capitol records bought exclusive United States licensing rights to most of Al Green's songs from his original label, Hi Records. Subsequently, in the spirit of maximizing profits, Capital has plundered their catalog of Al Green music by releasing several incomplete, inferior sounding "greatest hits" collections. This low budget, chopped up edition isn't even digitally remastered. The sound of Capitol's master tapes are only so-so.

Fortunately Hi Records retained rights to Al Green's songs and original master tapes in the United Kingdom this release "Hi and Mighty" in the UK provide us with a complete selection of songs from Al Green's massive catalog. As a result, the only official Hi Records collection of Al Green's greatest hits is the UK import.

Contrary to Capitol's fast buck USA collections, the UK masters have a far superior suound. The masters directly from Hi Records retain the clean analogic fidelity of Willie Mitchell's amazing production. The wonders of the chugging bluesy grooves of the Hodges brothers, Lee (bass), Teeny (guitar) and Charles (organ) who along with Wayne Jackson signature trumpet sound formed the backbone of Al Green's studio band are heard best on the UK masters. Most important to Al Green's session players was Booker T. and the MGs drummer Al Jackson's crisp drumming. (Listen to Al Jackson's inventive drumming on Booker T.s "Time Is Tight" and see why an entire generation of drummers practiced to that song).

Al Green is too significant an artist to waste your money on this incomplete and sonically inferior product designed by major label giant with the sole purpose of cashing in on Al Green's work. The UK collection, "Hi and Mighty" may cost a few bucks extra, but it does justice to Al Green's storied career.
77 comments| 115 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2000
Al Green has one of the most soulful voices of all time and his talent for interpreting other artist's songs and making them his own is simply stunning. Ok, so why am I telling you NOT to buy this disc after giving it 5 stars? Hear me out. If you're an Al Green fan, then you already own most, if not all, of these songs. If you're new to Green's work, (maybe you saw him on "Alley McBeal") you're most likely looking for a good sampling of his stuff. Problem is, this stuff is TOO good! After falling in love with these timeless performances, you're going to want to get more Al Green. (Trust me, you will.) So save yourself some time and money and start with the albums "Let's Stay Together" and "Still In Love With You" - every track on these disc are every bit as good as any track on his greatest hits. After that, go on to "Call Me" or "Explores Your Mind". Eventually you will have all the tracks on "Greatest Hit's" and many more amazing songs to go with them.
Greatest hit's albums are great when you want to avoid the dud's and "filler" that you find on some artist discs, but the work Green did in the 70's has NO dud's or filler. It was a run of amazing artistic accomplishment that has not been seen in R & B since. You own it to yourself to check out the whole picture.
55 comments| 304 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 20, 2000
When it comes to the purveyors and pioneers of soul, most forget Al Green. This Greatest Hits compilation is for those who have forgotten. It's not for the Al Green enthusiast, it's for the Al Green window shopper. As a single disc compilation, it's excellent. It has all of Green's most memorable hits and non-hits. There's 15 tracks and no excess. Great songs like "I'm Tired of Being Alone", "Here I Am (Come and Take Me)" which UB40 had a late 80's hit with. It has "Let's Stay Together", "Love and Happiness" and a cover of The Temptations' "I Can't Get Next To You." This Greatest Hits compilation is a must have for any rock collector.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2009
I must first say that this review is NOT meant to disparage or criticize Al Green or his music but to point out why you should not buy this CD. For starters, the sound quality is NOT better than on the 1995-issued The Right Stuff reissue of this album. Second, the five bonus tracks featured on the 1995 edition are not included here--yet this is still a full-priced CD! Al Green was most definitely one of the most important and influential male R&B singers of the 1970s but I'd recommend going with original albums like "Let's Stay Together", "Call Me", "Al Green Explores Your Mind" and "I'm Still In Love With You" instead of this compilation which (perhaps unnecessarily) gets reissued yet again.
33 comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2012
I just received my Al Green Greatest hits Vinyl from UPS. I was really impressed to see that the record is pressed on a 180 gram vinyl plate and it sounds amazing! Not much needs to be said about his music except that it is great... if you are an Al Green fan then you know that there is not one track that you would not like. If you don't know who Al Green is then this album will make you a fan of his music.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2009
don't get me wrong -- any al is good al, but 'greatest hits' comes up way short with several choice cuts missing. the 'hi and mighty' 2CD import set on hi records uk is the one to get. it uses the original masters and the sound is much better. you also get almost all of green's best tracks in one package. i do, however, like the cover photo on this one -- it's a classic. and if you have a dvd-audio player, definitely get the dvd-audio version with 5.1 surround -- it sounds great.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2002
Just as I recently praised the 20-track chronology The Best of Simon and Garfunkel for being a more complete collection than their Greatest Hits, which has only 14, I have to thank Right Stuff for not only reissuing Al Green-Greatest Hits but also for 5 Bonus tracks that were hits after the initial release in 1975.
Here, you have a near-perfect 15-song compilation of one of Soul Music's greatest voices ever. The rhythms are smooth, the tunes are quite romantic, and the constant man-loves-woman themes can only make one draw comparisons with Marvin Gaye's Let's Get It On and Barry White's Greatest Hits.
It is often that artists are supported by great production arrangements in order to sound good, but in this collection Al Green, just like Gaye and White, had vocals that ended up being the main instrument.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2001
Why is Al Green so much better than so many recording artists who think that they have soul?
Al doesn't sound forced or unnatural, and rarely shows you the full range of expression of which he is capable. The biggest hit that he ever had, "Let's Stay Together," begins with Al and the background vocalists whispering, and thereafter he does not raise his voice much from that. All the parts are very subtle, with each instrument seemingly arranged to disturb the whole the least. It's simple, danceable, and has real dynamics, even when the songs are generally quiet.
While I appreciate R+B made in the last twenty years, I don't like the group of mainly female vocalists who think that soul is shrieking your way up and down a given scale. Saying more with less notes is the heart of soul, and it makes for a consistently enjoyable listening experience.
Buy this. It's tremendously... for the value, and if you like soul, it will be one of the few CD's in your collection to which you can listen without skipping. In fact, it might even irritate you that fifteen songs is all that's here.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2000
...I've had this for many years and in many incarnations, distributed by different labels and I've gotta tellya. First, any Al Green CD/vinyl/tape is gonna have fabuloso music on it. Second, sometimes in trying to get a 'popular' sequencing of tunes, record companies make a faux pas...the faux pas here was in removing Al's version of the Bee Gee's "How Do You Mend A Broken Heart" from the original sequencing. And for those recent Al Green converts that is truly a disservice. You just have to find it on another Al Green CD; to me, it's inclusion on the original packaging made a primo product that much more superb... Plus, one of my earlier CDs of this has the extended "Let's Stay Together" which to me allows the listener to get 'caught up' in the music like Al evidently was during the recording. My last two cents: The most underrated cut on this CD has gotta be the Whitfield/Strong song "I Can't Get Next to You", which gets a bumpin' gospel blues turnout/makeover with assistance from those great Memphis/Nashville sessionmen. It's so nice that I keep track 8 in replay mode til I fill my jones...
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2001
I bought this album simply because it makes me happy. The music is great and it inspires great memories within me. We danced to this album on Holidays. I love Al Green's passion, and mood making. His voice is so awesome. This is truly wonderful ear and soul candy. It's hard to find a good love song now that doesn't break out into a rap song, so I tend to stay with the older soul and R&B music.
One really can't listen to any of the songs and not feel moved in some way. My favorite song on this collection is 'Tired of Being Alone'. It is a good example of his voice, and the range. Other awesome songs are "Love and Happiness", "Here I am", and the wonderful love ballad "Let's Get Married". There are so many other songs on here though that showcase his talent all the more. Describing each song would have me here until the next millennium!
Whether he is pelting out a gospel tune or a soul one, it's a hit with me. His voice is like no other and it's pure joy, pain, and laughter all bunched into one. If it's good you feel it. And you will feel it.
One song I strongly suggest checking out that isn't on this album is :
For The Good Times (commonly referred to as 'Lay your head on my pillow' ) - More Greatest Hits Album
Either way you go, you can't go wrong. Al Green is timeless and wonderful!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.