Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The So Far Incomplete Greatest Hits
This is not the first Goo Goo Dolls complilation (more on that later), but this is the first compilation of the Goo Goo Dolls' greatest hits and best known songs. How does it stack up?

"Greatest Hits, Volume 1: The Singles" (14 tracks, 53 min.) rightfully focuses on 1998's Dizzy Up The Girl, the band's most successful album, and is represented here by 5 tracks:...
Published on November 12, 2007 by Paul Allaer

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Goo Goo Boo Boo
The Goo Goo Dolls are a very good band, with a charismatic front man (John Rzeznik) and his competent backing band. They have come up with better than average albums and a pretty decent selection of songs. But this "Greatest Hits" fails on several levels.

For starts, the Goo's breakout song "Name" (from A Boy Named Goo) has been re-recorded for this set. Given...
Published on September 10, 2008 by Tim Brough


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The So Far Incomplete Greatest Hits, November 12, 2007
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol. 1 - The Singles (Audio CD)
This is not the first Goo Goo Dolls complilation (more on that later), but this is the first compilation of the Goo Goo Dolls' greatest hits and best known songs. How does it stack up?

"Greatest Hits, Volume 1: The Singles" (14 tracks, 53 min.) rightfully focuses on 1998's Dizzy Up The Girl, the band's most successful album, and is represented here by 5 tracks: "Dizzy", "Slide", "Broadway", "Black Balloon", and probably the band's signature song "Iris". 2002's Gutterflower get 3 tracks here: "Here Is Gone", "Big Machine" and "Sympathy". Last year's disappointing "Let Love In" nevetherless gets 4 tracks here: the title track, "Stay With You", "Feel the Silence" (which comes in a new mix), and "Better Days". Strangely, only one track from the band's comemrcial breakout album. 1995's "A Boy Named Good" is: "Name", and it's not even the original, no, it's a newly recorded version (and inferior to the original). Why Rzeznik felt the need to do that, who knows. This compilation is rounded out by "Before It's Too Late", the Goo Goo's contribution to the "Transformers" soundtrack earlier this year.

In all, there is a lot of good music here. But this should be called the "So Far Incomplete Greatest Hits". Conspicuously missing here are "Long Way Down" from the "Boy Named Goo" album, which was a genuine radio hit (and later also appeared on the "Twister" soundtrack); "January Friend" from the "Dizzy" album; "We Are the Normal" (from the excellent "Superstar Car Wash" album, and the predecessor of "Name"); and most of all "Give a Little Bit", the Supertramp cover that eventually appeared on "Let Love In" and the band's biggest radio hit in the last 3 years. At 53 min. there clearly was room to add at least those 4 songs here as well.

In 2001, the band released a terrific but under-the-radar compilation called "What I Learned About Ego, Opinion, Art and Commerce", a hard charging and rocking collection of the band's first 6 albums up to that point (minus the hits like "Name", "Slide", "Black Balloon" etc.). It was a terrific way of showcasing the band's bar-punk-rock origins. I have no problem with the band evolving into a (mostly) power-ballad band but let's not forget the other facet of the band's sound either. In all, "Greatest Hits: Volume 1" is not bad, but could have been better. "Volume 2" is supposedly on the way for Spring 2008, focusing on the band's B-sides, one-offs and other oddities and rarities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Volume 1. I Repeat. Volume 1, November 13, 2007
By 
A. Rinear (Cincinnati, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol. 1 - The Singles (Audio CD)
The others who have reviewed this CD obviously don't know the purpose behind this CD. The CD is called "Goo Goo Dolls Greatest Hits VOLUME 1: THE SINGLES. This is a compilation of the 12 hits that cracked the Billboard Top 10 list, along with the song from the Transformers Soundtrack (Before It's Too Late) and a remix of "Feel The Silence" off their newest album, Let Love In. The band has made it very clear that the purpose of this CD was to release the most famous/newest material they have, then to release another greatest hits with all the other great songs. This way, if casual fans buy this CD and like what they hear, they will buy Volume 2, which will be full of more underground stuff.

For those of you who are casual fans (i.e those of you who immediately think "Iris" when u hear the band's name) this is the perfect compilation to start out with. For those of you who are hardcore fans, such as myself (i.e those of you know who George Tutuska is), I would simply recommend buying this CD for two reasons: 1. The remastered audio sounds great 2. Simply for the new version of "Name"

I myself think the Superstar Car Wash - A Boy Named Goo era was the greatest, but either way, this is a good compilation. If you want a great Goo Goo Dolls compilation thats a little less commercial, buy "What I Learned About Ego, Opinion, Art, and Commerce"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misunderstanding perhaps..., November 20, 2007
By 
A. Kummer (Auburn Hills, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol. 1 - The Singles (Audio CD)
From all of the other reviews that I have read on this page, I am getting the idea that this album is misunderstood. It was not a "What we think are our greatest hits" album, but in fact a compilation of all of their Top 10 Hits from the AC list. That would explain the absence of some regular staples like "Long Way Down" as well as others. Most of those have already been included on a previous complilation record "What I Learned About Ego, Opinion, Art, and Commerce"
So, this album is more one for fans of the band's hits and those who do not want to purchase all of their records (I would definetly suggest you check them out anyway, their lesser known's are all just as good as the hits) Not an album for the die-hard Goo fans who have followed their career from he start.
I would definetly recommend this album for anyone who enjoys the Goo Goo Dolls they hear on the radio, these would be all of their great songs, "Iris" "Slide" "Here is Gone" "Better Days" etc. The next album they release in the spring will be one for the b-sides and covers (that's why "Give A Little Bit" is not included on this album...it is not an original work) Looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Goo Goo Boo Boo, September 10, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol. 1 - The Singles (Audio CD)
The Goo Goo Dolls are a very good band, with a charismatic front man (John Rzeznik) and his competent backing band. They have come up with better than average albums and a pretty decent selection of songs. But this "Greatest Hits" fails on several levels.

For starts, the Goo's breakout song "Name" (from A Boy Named Goo) has been re-recorded for this set. Given that it's the song that introduced most folks to the band, it's not acceptable. My guess is that The Goo's legal fights with Metal Blade over royalties may have fueled the switcheroo and led to no other "Boy tracks on this set. All albums prior to "A Boy Named Goo" are ignored, likely because What I Learned About Ego, Opinion, Art & Commerce covered that territory and the previously mentioned legal issues.

But for covering the Warner years (The Goo Goo Dolls' exclusive label after "Boy), the songs show the band evolved from the scruffy Replacement Styled roots of Superstar Car Wash to the polished BonJovi balladeering of "Iris," their biggest hit. "Better Days," the best song off Let Love In, deserved a similar fate even if radio has moved on from the band. The four major songs from the top-seller Dizzy up the Girl are here, including the magnificent "Black Balloon."

Missing in action would be a couple of the band's great covers (Tom Petty's "American Girl," Supertramp's "Give a Little Bit") that would have made nice bonus tracks, given the skimpiness of the listings. For the fans of this late 90's and early 00's sound (think The Gin Blossoms or Toad The Wet Sprocket), this Greatest Hits of The Goo Goo Dolls falls far short of what it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars missing a couple of favorites, November 12, 2007
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol. 1 - The Singles (Audio CD)
would've gotten a 5 but where's "Long Way Down," "Only One," "Naked," "Lazy Eye," and "Give a Little Bit???"

i can understand the lack of Superstar Carwash songs, you can get "Ego..." for those and everything before that.

but the songs that are on here are all awesome and glad they included the Transformers Soundtrack song but honestly, it needs "Give a Little Bit" and "Long Way Down!"

**Edit**
i understand that this is only vol. 1. i thought vol. 2 was going to be b-sides, etc. which in my opinion they should've just released a double cd with all the hits / singles on disc 1 and then disc 2 could've been rarer b-sides / etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Warner Brothers Years, November 13, 2007
By 
Galley (Greenville, South Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol. 1 - The Singles (Audio CD)
If you look through the album credits you will realize that NONE of the tracks are from their Metal Blade years (1987-1995). Every song is from their last three Warner Brothers albums. This is really odd since Metal Blade is a division of WB. Surely it must be a licensing issue; why else would they re-record "Name"? The version included here is horrible.
If you already own A Boy Named Goo, and Superstar Car Wash, then this album makes a fine companion, even though it is inexplicably missing "Give A Little Bit". For a better overview of the Goo Goo Dolls Metal Blade years, check out What I Learned About Ego, Opinion, Art & Commerce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ripped Off, November 19, 2007
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol. 1 - The Singles (Audio CD)
Why on earth did the Goo Goo Dolls include an inferior, "newly-recorded" version of "Name"???! This is arguably their finest song and since the original version was absolutely perfect, there's just no reason for this kind of mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you're not a die-hard Goo fan, January 5, 2008
By 
Boss Fan (Take a Right at the Light, Keep Going Straight Until Night) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol. 1 - The Singles (Audio CD)
Greatest Hits albums, I have always argued, really only serve one purpose, and it has nothing to do with pleasing die hard fans of the artist. Die hard fans should already own most of the albums and typically they have found their way to deeper cuts that they argue are just as good as, if not better than, the radio staples they have heard a thousand times and the uninitiated and hit-friendly fans are familiar with. Those uninitiated are the people greatest hits albums are geared towards; those who like several songs they have heard, but they have never been overwhelmed by the music to the point of seeking out all (if any) of the band's albums (much less see them live or learn much about them and their history). Anyone looking to truly really learn about an artist generally can't do it with a greatest hits album (Dylan, Springsteen, Petty - the list goes on - are all legends who have been grossly under-represented by their single-disc greatest hits collections in terms of what their legend is really all about compared with their radio-friendly hits). And in this age of itunes and downloads, hits albums don't matter much anyway since most can obtain whatever singles they like online.

Now, when it comes to artists I am passionate about, I am something of a snob about greatest hits albums, arguing that people should not be a slave to what the radio or record company tells them is essential because they will be missing out on an entire history of the artists' great music. But I am hypocritical in the sense that, when it comes to a band I kinda like, but don't care that much about, I seek out a streamlined overview of their biggest stuff (and even then I often don't care about half the tracks included - again, this is where downloading comes in handy, but being something of a music snob, as I said, I like to buy actual CDs). For me, several big 90s bands, like Matchbox 20 and The Goo Goo Dolls fall into this category. I like some of their songs fine, but never enough to buy any of their full albums. I know, I know, fans of these groups will tell me I am missing out on so much better stuff, and as a fan, they are probably right. I would be saying the same thing if you told me all you needed from Springsteen or Billy Joel was a greatest hits CD. They are so much more than that. And there is bound to be that argument for the Goo as well. But you can't convert everybody. Just as not everyone is willing to move beyond the Boss's singles, the Goo Goo Dolls are a band I just have not been moved to explore. Or even buy anything from. But about them and a few others (Matchbox, Collective Soul, etc.), I said would like to pick up a greatest hits album some day, just to have a few of those songs I have enjoyed over the years.

This album is a great example of a greatest hits album that get that job done. People have their complaints about what it is lacking, and I'm sure they are totally correct, but the truth is, there is probably even more here than someone like myself approaching this as something of a novelty even needs. Yeah these were all hits, and most will be familiar with all the tunes here, but there are only a select few I care to own and will get repeat listening from me. See, that's the kind of person these albums benefit. I have nothing against the Goo, I have actually seen them live several times opening for Bon Jovi and I am familiar with both their punk sound and their mainstream stuff, but none of that has made me into a fane. My loss I'm sure, but for any who feel the way I do, this album will be perfect.

A lot of people here seem to take issue with the exclusion of at least 2 tracks: the original version of "Name" and the Goo's cover of "Give a Little Bit" (longtime fans will mention five or so others as well). Though I agree, given its radio-staple status, "Give a Little Bit" should be included here just for the sake of staying true to representing all the actual hits on a greatest hits album (doesn't there always seem to be one or two big hits oddly left off these compilations?), I have never been a fan of that song - either the original Supertramp version or the Goo's. The song has always sounded so bland to me and the Goo's straight-forward cover is almost identical. But that's just me; just because I don't miss it, my opinion of the song aside, it should be here. My suggestion for others like me who don't pledge allegiance to the Goo, but do enjoy and want to own their biggest hits, buy this CD and download the original "Name" and "Give a Little Bit".

There is, of course, the chance that, if someone buys a hits album and loves it enough to listen to it over and over again, it will get them to seek out other albums, or learn more about the band and discover which cuts fans suggest are the best. This is another benefit of hit compilations and why they are more valuable than some fans who are upset about certain song exclusions give them credit for.

There is one more benefit to these sparse compilations: Even though they give listeners just the briefest, skimming-the-surface overview of the artists, sometimes they work great as a CD to throw on when you just want a bunch of songs that you know really well and sound really good. Even some artists I am a die hard fan of have a single disc hits compilation that ignores a tone of good stuff, and I would never tell anyone looking to explore or "get into" the artists to substitute for several of their classic albums, but they work great as way to get a fix of a lot of great music in one place. Steely Dan, Prince, Aerosmith all have jam packed one-disc-ers that are lacking, but still sound and work great given what's there. Now we can add the Goo Goo Dolls to that list. For that type of compilation, this one works great. Sometimes it's not about what's missing, but rather what's included. And this is a case where the band has been around long enough and had enough hits that everything included here is all good stuff.

This is a compilation I have wanted for a while. Not that I was waiting on pins and needles or anything, but I always said they should put something like this out (almost every other artist on the planet has some form of greatest hits). For anyone who thinks of this band the way I do, this CD is well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lukewarm Goo, January 16, 2008
By 
DeeCee (CT, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol. 1 - The Singles (Audio CD)
As has been stated, if you are a fan off the Goo Goo Dolls then Superstar Car Wash and Boy Named Goo are all you'll ever need before the world of the Top 10 corporate machine castrated this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM, NICE GUYS, November 26, 2007
By 
Ruth C. (Southern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol. 1 - The Singles (Audio CD)
This is an amazing album. I absolutely love it and can't even count how many times I've listened to it, since I bought it two weeks ago. Strong songs. Thoughtful lyrics. Exceptionally talented musicians. Can't go wrong with this one! By the way, when the CD was first released, I found out that the Goo Goo Dolls were going to perform at a local L.A. electronics/CD/DVD store. I'd never gone to any of their concerts before, and I went there, expecting to hear, maybe, three songs performed in some corner of the store. WRONG! A full-size stage was set up in the parking lot, complete with elaborate lighting and sound. About 300 lucky fans were treated to a nothing-held-back, 35-40 minute concert. (You can probably find it somewhere, online. Cameras, camera phones, and video cameras were allowed.) Afterwards, Warner Bros. workers handed out free posters and the three band members signed autographs inside the store. Very nice guys. Very, very, very good CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Greatest Hits Vol. 1 - The Singles
Greatest Hits Vol. 1 - The Singles by Goo Goo Dolls (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.