Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (171)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the Greatest, all right
First off - if you've already got the UK version of "Queen's Greatest Hits" in some form or another, then you don't need this. This is the UK version - with bonus tracks. People who only have the undercooked USA compilation will find this a delightful purchase, as their theoretical "Greatest Hits" was a bit lacking.

This album features Queen's chart hits from...
Published on November 6, 2004 by Braeden P. Jeffery

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but it could be a LOT better
Queen have had countless compilations released over the years. We have tons of releases called 'Greatest Hits.' There's a mediocre U.S. version, than there's a great import release. Of course, there is a 'Greatest Hits II,' focusing on the 1981-1991 material. And finally, there is even a 'Greatest Hits III' released (I strongly recommend you avoid that release at all...
Published on September 11, 2008 by Johnny Boy


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the Greatest, all right, November 6, 2004
By 
Braeden P. Jeffery (Melbourne, VIC Aus) - See all my reviews
First off - if you've already got the UK version of "Queen's Greatest Hits" in some form or another, then you don't need this. This is the UK version - with bonus tracks. People who only have the undercooked USA compilation will find this a delightful purchase, as their theoretical "Greatest Hits" was a bit lacking.

This album features Queen's chart hits from 1973-1981 - yes, this means that the three singles from this era that did relatively poorly on the charts - "Keep Yourself Alive", "Tie Your Mother Down" and "Spread Your Wings" - have been culled (though "Mother" is now added as a live bonus track, along with "Under Pressure", both lifted from the new "On Fire At The Bowl" Cd/DVD). Despite this, we have seventeen classic tracks - all hits in their own right. As was typical of the Queen of the age, they range in style - from simplistic ditties ("Crazy Little Thing Called Love" and "You're My Best Friend"), to hard-rocking live faves ("Now I'm Here", "Another One Bites The Dust") and even one or two songs that defy conventional description ("Bohemian Rhapsody", "Play The Game"). But every single bit of it is great - there's not a disappointing song on there, and you'll be singing along to the lot in no time. My personal favourites are the beautiful "Somebody To Love", with Roger, Brian and Freddie multi-tracked to the point of sounding like a gospel choir; and Brian's emotive "Save Me" - with it's stunning and heart-wrenching lyrics. Possibly the best ballad they ever released as a single.

At least one of the prior reviewers has grumbled that Queen are just being cash-cows and are out to make a bit more money by releasing the same stuff over and over again in different boxes. I seriously doubt that anyone who already has "Greatest Hits" was ever going to buy this anyway, unless they're a massive collector. But, if you haven't got it already in one form or another, then this one is fine to get - plus the added bonus tracks make it just a little bit better. (And by the way - something tells me that it's less Queen trying to make a bit of money and more their American record label - most of the reissues (like this one) are commerically released in the USA only.)

A brilliant album, and well worth the money - unless, of course, you've already got a copy of it.

SONGS OF NOTE - Somebody To Love, Save Me, Fat Bottomed Girls, Crazy Little Thing Called Love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but it could be a LOT better, September 11, 2008
Queen have had countless compilations released over the years. We have tons of releases called 'Greatest Hits.' There's a mediocre U.S. version, than there's a great import release. Of course, there is a 'Greatest Hits II,' focusing on the 1981-1991 material. And finally, there is even a 'Greatest Hits III' released (I strongly recommend you avoid that release at all costs).

So, in the early 2000s, Hollywood Records decided to release yet another Queen 'Greatest Hits' album. But this one is far different from the standard 'Greatest Hits' release.

There is nothing from the 1981-1991 period. That means, no 'Radio Ga Ga,' 'I'm Going Slightly Mad,' 'A Kind Of Magic,' 'Who Wants To Live Forever' or 'Hammer To Fall.' That's a letdown. Now, this covers the early years of Queen. Read on.

Tracks from Queen (1973)
None
Review: No 'Keep Yourself Alive'? Come on! The U.K. version of 'Greatest Hits' also unfairly omitted this classic. Only 'Classic Queen' offers that track. That's the only compilation. A disappointment indeed.

Tracks from Queen II (1974)
'Seven Seas Of Rhye'
Review: A great song, one of the best. I have no complaints. Definitely the best song from the album. A classic pick.

Tracks from Sheer Heart Attack (1974)
'Killer Queen,' 'Now I'm Here'
Review: 'STONE COLD CRAZY'!?! Where the heck is it? This is supposed to be 'Greatest Hits'! ARGH! At least they included 'Killer Queen,' perhaps my favorite Queen song of the '70s. But the omission of 'Stone Cold Crazy' is just frustrating.

Tracks from A Night At The Opera (1975)
'Bohemian Rhapsody,' 'You're My Best Friend,' 'I'm In Love With My Car'
Review: Excellent. The three great tracks from arguably their best album are here. And unlike the previous release, this one actually includes 'Bohemian Rhapsody'! All I have to say is IT'S ABOUT TIME!!!

Tracks from A Day At The Races (1976)
'Somebody To Love,' 'Good Old-Fashioned Lover Boy'
Review: Superb choices, my two favorites from the album. 'Tie Your Mother Down' is here, but in an inferior live version. Still, the follow up to 'A Night At The Opera' gets great coverage here. Hollywood Records got these picks right.

Tracks from News Of The World (1977)
'We Will Rock You,' 'We Are The Champions'
Review: Queen were at their peak when they released 'News Of The World.' So glad to see 'We Will Rock You' and 'We Are The Champions,' the two ultimate sports anthems here, but 'Sheer Heart Attack' should also be here from this album as well.

Tracks from Jazz (1978)
'Fat Bottomed Girls,' 'Bicycle Race'
Review: The two hits from the album are here. Disappointed to see that an album track like 'If You Can't Beat 'Em' isn't here, but that's minor stuff. 'Jazz' has always been one of my favorite Queen albums, and these are my two favorites from the album, so I have no major complaints. Excellent choices.

Tracks from The Game (1980)
'Crazy Little Thing Called Love,' 'Save Me,' 'Another One Bites The Dust,' 'Play The Game'
Review: 'The Game' gets the record for the most songs from an album on this compilation, and rightfully so. Queen were at a career highpoint here, and it shows. 'Another One Bites The Dust' remains one of their biggest hits, and 'Crazy Little Thing Called Love' is a classic rock radio staple. A great album with great picks. Not a single complaint.

Tracks from Flash Gordon (1980)
'Flash's Theme'
Review: A great song, but it seems somewhat out of place here. I'm glad it's here, don't get me wrong, but this collection is made for their 1973-1980 stuff, and while this was recorded and released in 1980, Queen were moving towards the direction they would take in the '80s here.

Tracks from Hot Space (1982)
None
Review: Technically, what's written above is inaccurate, because 'Under Pressure' is here indeed, but it is a live version. Similar to 'Tie Your Mother Down,' the studio version is far superior to the live version.

Live tracks
'Under Pressure,' 'Tie Your Mother Down'
Review: Both are far inferior to the studio versions. I question Hollywood Records move to include the live versions of these Queen classics over the studio versions. A little disappointing. I strongly recommend seeking out the studio versions of both of these Queen classics as well.

Overall, this is somewhat disappointing. Everything here (well, except for maybe the live tracks) is five stars. I would buy this only if I were a casual Queen fan who wants their 1973-1980 output or if I were starting my Queen collection, but that would be the only reason I would buy this.

And while three stars may seem offensive to some, to me, it's perfectly reasonable. The picks here are five stars, but Hollywood could have done a far better job, no doubt about it.

Just seek out 'The Platinum Collection' or 'Greatest Hits I & II.' There, you will find all of the Queen the casual fan will ever need. If you are a Queen die-hard or a serious fan, just buy the studio albums. Oh yeah, and just download 'Keep Yourself Alive.'

This is recommended, but only for casual or new Queen fans. Otherwise, I would skip this in favor of better Queen compilations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marred by 2 live cuts, August 18, 2004
By 
T. C Lane (Marina, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This should've been a slam dunk, but the compilers decided to stick on 2 live cuts of Queen classics, "Under Pressure"(live 1982 WITHOUT David Bowie), and a 1982 live "Tie Your Mother Down". So my suggestion: download those and eliminate the 2 live ones, and you'll have the ultimate single Queen hits CD. But shouldn't the compilers have done that instead? Sneaky record company Greatest Hits CD tricks. Song by song info are the only liner notes. A good starter for those interested in Queen. But take my advice on the 2 live ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Ideal Collection For Those Who Want Only Queen's Early Material, October 5, 2005
By 
Anthony Nasti "Tony" (Staten Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Queen is, undoubtedly, one of the greatest bands of all time (the greatest in my opinion). As with all great bands, Queen has an unseemly amount of greatest hits collections in their catalogue. On August 17, 2004, a new Queen compilation was released entitled "Queen - Greatest Hits ("We Will Rock You" Edition). How does it hold up? Read on for my review.

Actually, it is not a new compilation, so to speak. It is a mere repackaging of their first compilation releaed in back around 1981 and later remastered and repackaged as a dual compilation along with "Greatest Hits, Vol 2" and repackaged agan about five years later as part of a three disc collection entitled "The Platinum Collection". The catch? This new edition comes with three bonus tracks. How does it hold up? Read on.

Positives:

-If you're only a fan of Queen's early work (their first album up to the "Flash" soundtrack), than this collection is ideal. All the classics from the early half of Queen's career are on here, including "Bohemian Rhapsody", "Killer Queen", "You're My Best Friend", "Another One Bites The Dust", "Crazy Little Thing Called Love" and "Somebody To Love".

-A few underrated gems are included as well, such as "Don't Stop Me Now", "Save Me" and the live staple "Now I'm Here".

-The song do indeed sound fantastic.

-Very affordable.

Negatives:

-One of the bonus tracks is "I'm In Love With My Car", one of the weakest tracks in the Queen catologue.

-The two live tracks are pale shadows of the original versions.

-If you buy this collection, you're missing out on all the great stuff Queen did in their later years. No Queen collection is complete without "These Are The Days Of Our Lives", "Radio Ga Ga", "The Miracle", "Hammer To Fall", "The Show Must Go On" and "I Want It All", to name a few of the great tracks from their later years

Overall, if you're only interested in Queen's early years and Queen's early years alone, than this is an ideal collection. But if you want more, there are better collections on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, August 15, 2006
A Kid's Review
This is a great way for people to be introduced to the band that is Queen. I'll rate each song and tell what kind of music it is(since they covered so many styles).

1. Bohemian Rhapsody 6/5 Soft Rock,Opera(don't ask!),Hard Rock.

2. Another One Bites The Dust 5/5 Dance,Funk

3. Killer Queen 5/5 Classical,Classic Rock

4. Fat Bottomed Girls 5/5 Country, Rock

5. Bicycle Race 3/5 I'm not quite sure what it is...

6. You're My Best Friend 5/5 Soft Rock

7. Don't Stop Me Now 4/5 Soft Rock

8. Save Me 4/5 Soft Rock

9. Crazy Little Thing Called Love 5/5 Rock and Roll

10. Somebody To Love 5/5 Gospel

11. Now I'm Here 3/5 Soft Rock

12. Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy 5/5 Classical, Soft Rock

13. Play The Game 4/5 Soft Rock

14. Flash 2/5 Film Music

15. Seven Seas Of Rhye 5/5 Hard Rock

16. We Will Rock You 5/5 Hard Rock

17. We Are The Champions 5/5 Soft Rock

18. I'm In Love With My Car 5/5 Hard Rock

19. Under Pressure 4/5 Soft Rock

20. Tie Your Mother Down 4/5 Hard Rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, November 16, 2006
By 
This album consists of all the songs featured in Queen's 1981 original Greatest Hits album and three extra tracks : Under Pressure , Queen's great 1981 smash hit originally done jointly with David Bowie , 1976 hard Rocker Tie your Mother Down

It includes all of Queen's top 20 hits between 1974 and 1980.

Personal favourites include:

The classic rock opera masterpiece Bohemian Rhapsody (1975)

The debonair Killer Queen (1974)

The rollicking Fat Bottomed Girls (1978)

The laidback You're My Best Friend (1975)

The glam rock Seven Seas of Rhye (1974)

The funky Don't Stop Me Now (1978)

The hypnotic Somebody To Love (1976)

the whimsical Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy (1976)

and hard Rocker Tie your Mother Down (1976)

I would have suggested I'm In Love With My Car (1975) (one of my least favourites) be replaced with Keep Yourself Alive

(1973) or Spread Yor Wings (1977).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Musicians Review of this album, October 6, 2004
Queen-Greatest hits (We will rock you) was released to coicide with the opening of the musical "We Will Rock You" in America. It features the same track listing as the original release (excluding Under Pressure, the studio version) in '81 but contains a few new suprises; "I'm in Love with My Car" (originally released on A Night At The Opera '75) and two live tracks "Tie Your Mother Down" and "Under Pressure" (From the upcoming DVD 'Live at Milton Keynes 1982').

The collection also has a corresponding DVD featuring 2 live performances:

Somebody to Love - Queen with George Michael at the 'Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert.

The Show Must Go On - Queen with Elton John (vocals) live in '97.

Why should you buy something that has already been out there in 4 other incarnations over 20 years? Well, I'm glad you asked. Let me tell you...!

After listening to the first vocal line of Bohemian Rhapsody you can tell right away that this new collection is unique. The digital restoration of these 'seasoned' recordings has cleared up all of the original tape hiss, and it features new 'mixes' on every track. The vocals have been cleaned up and the bass has been brought up as well to make these tracks sound better in our modern stereo systems. This is most present on the new mix of "Another One Bites The Dust". Where some songs are too trebbley or have too much 'mid range', these new mixes have almost made a 'colourful' sound to each song. Even the new music of today has yet to sound this clear and crisp!!

The addition of "I'm In Love With My Car" is an odd choice, but it works. (The song has recently been used by Jaguar in a series of Television commercials bringing attention to the song once again!) Now, the live tracks sound clear, but they definately are not the best recordings we've heard from Queen. (These were released to showcase the soon to be released "Live at Milton Keynes DVD). The inclusion of the live tracks is why I have given this a 4 star rating. Your best bet for the ultimate live recordings of these songs is by picking up "Queen-Live at Wembley Stadium".

Yes, it's just another incarnation of the Queen Greatest Hits train (The 5th to be exact... '81, '91 (american version), '98 (Gold edition), and '00 (Platinum edition). But hopefully this is a precurser for all of their releases in the times to come... Lets hope they follow this up with an anthology of rarities or wonderful album cuts!

All the Best, The AndyMan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of two US Queen Greatest Hits albums out there (in non multiple disc form), July 18, 2009
Queen's Greatest Hits (The We Will Rock You Edition) was first released in the UK in November of 1981 and not released in its own right in the US (barring its appearance on the 1995 Gold 2-CD set and 2002 3-CD Plainum Collection along with the UK Greatest Hits II (appears on Gold and Platinum sets) and Greatest Hits III from 1999 (which appears on latter))
The UK version of Greatest Hits from 1981 differed from the US as it didn't include either the then new track "Under Pressure" or "Keep Yourself Alive" which was a hit on US rock radio.
The original UK and US versions included "Another One Bites the Dust" which was Queen's biggest US hit which hit #1 in 1980 and a rock disco classic. Plus Queen's first US Top 10 and first UK #1 in 1975 hit out of "Bohemian Rhapsody" which reached #9 here in the US in 1976 and this classic needs no explanation. We also have the band's first US #1 from 1980 out of "Crazy Little Thing Called Love" which is a classic rockabilly romp. "Killer Queen" follows and was the band's first US Top 20 hit in Spring 1975 in the US and hit #2 in the band's native England in 1974 . Included is the single mix of "Fat Bottomed Girls" which is a nice different version to the full album track and that was a Top 30 US hit in 1978 as was its A-side "Bicycle Race".
We also have "We Will Rock You" and "We Are the Champions" which both hit #4 in early 1978 here in the US (the tracks are separate but the US record company at the time (Elektra/Asylum Records) insisted on playing the two songs back to back) and both are classic rally cry/victory cry songs and were #2 in the UK. Also included is the single mix of the song "Flash" which was the theme to the 1980 film Flash Gordon (did well in UK but not so well Stateside). Also on this is the US Top 20 hit from early 1977/UK Top 5 from 1976 out of "Somebody to Love" which was a great gospel tinged ballad. The 1976 US Top 20/UK Top 10 hit ballad "You're My Best Friend" which was the follow up single to "Bohemian Rhapsody" on A Night at the Opera is here. Plus you have the UK Top 20/US Top 50 hit "Play the Game" from 1980, great ballad.
Not included on original US vinyl LP of Greatest Hits but included on all US CD issues of Greatest Hits (including the We Will Rock You Edition of Greatest Hits) are the rock radio hit "Now I'm Here" (a UK Top 20 in 1975), the classic "Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy" (a UK Top 30 in 1977 but not released as single Stateside, instead it was "Long Away" that got released and tanked), the classic "Seven Seas of Rhye" (a UK hit but stiffed here in the US in 1974)", the big UK Top 10 hit "Don't Stop Me Now" (which was well received on US rock radio but flopped on pop singles chart in 1979, Bee Gees and disco ruled the roost on singles in US) and the ballad "Save Me" (which was a UK Top 20 in 1980 but an album track here in the States as the song was not issued as a single in the US).
The disc was finally released as a CD in its own right in August of 2004 to coincide with the opening of We Will Rock You The Musical in Las Vegas. The remastering is superb (was done in 2001 at Abbey Road Studios for when the Japanese got the re-releases of the back catalog) and you get THREE BONUS TRACKS. First is the single mix of "I'm in Love with My Car" which was only on the B-side to "Bohemian Rhapsody" with a different intro and outro compared to the album version. Then there's two live tracks from the Queen On Fire Live at the Bowl double live CD and DVD (released in November of 2004) out of "Under Pressure" (which its studio counterpart was on the US edition of Greatest Hits in 1981) and "Tie Your Mother Down" (and a stellar live version from Milton Keynes 1982).
If you just want a best of Queen and close replica to 1981 Elektra Greatest Hits disc (and not want either the 1992 red hits or Gold or Platinum Collections) this is your best bet!
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best Greatest Hits Album of All-Time!, October 1, 2005
This review is from: Queen - Greatest Hits 1 (Audio CD)
There are few Greatest Hits albums that really flow and sound great track after track until you feel kinda sad when you reach the end. Of these, this album by Queen is the best ever! Every track is a rock classic already or will be in time to come. This disc has also been recently remastered and includes a bonus track from the "Day at the Races" album. Also, this and "Queen 2" have the coolest album covers as well. This is definitely a must have for any music lover's cd collection. Very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Select Queen's Greatest Hits, August 26, 2006
This review is from: Queen - Greatest Hits 1 (Audio CD)
Queen released albums from 1973 to 1995. In that time Queen made a lot of music that was "great." Thus, as with most artists that have been around for more than 20 years, it is impossible to capture all of their hits or best music on a single CD. Recently this difficulty was recognized with a boxed set of three CDs that captured a much greater cross section of their music.

I consider this collection of Queen music to be their popular music. Much of the music was mellow or radio friendly, and thus much of it hit the top 10. Given that Queen had a very eclectic repertoire, you'll find quirky songs such as "Fat Bottomed Girls" next to the mellow love song "Somebody to Love." Queen's progressive rock and harder rock songs are only barely represented on this particular collection, though strains of their harder edge show through in songs like "Bicycle Race" and "Another One Bites the Dust".

In many ways Queen was an album group. While most of their albums stop short of being true concept albums, most of their albums did have a theme. Also, their music was organized carefully to provide a presentation of the music that was greater than the sum of the individual songs. Thus, listening to a "greatest" collection does little to express the true scope of this group. I recommend this CD as one that provides a small sampling of Queen, and some of their more mellow music at that. You need to also have "Classic Queen" to additional hits such as "Bohemian Rhapsody." You may also want to consider "The Platinum Collection: Greatest Hits I, II and III", which is perhaps the most comprehensive set short of buying albums.

There are several variations of this CD. This particular version is an import to the United States, and the play list varies from the U.S. version. The U.S. version has 17 songs, which includes "Body Language" and "I Want to Break Free." This version substitutes "Flash" and "Bohemian Rhapsody," and adds "Teo Torriatte (Let Us Cling Together)." I consider this version to be superior to the U.S. version when considering the play list. However, this version is significantly more expensive than the U.S. version and the "Platinum Collection" includes all but "Teo Torriatte" and many more songs, keeping it the best choice for a "best of" collection for Queen.

Though this CD is lacking in its breadth and there are better choices available, I still give it 5 stars because Queen was such a great group, and the songs here do represent a small portion of their incredible talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.