The Greatest Moments in Sports
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$15.97+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
on November 17, 2009
My son LOVES this book and I am loving the interaction it has brought us as well. My six year old son looks through the book, picks out the next sport he wants to read about, and then we learn about the characters (we are reading about boxing tonight and basketball after that!). He's so into it, he actually brushes his teeth early so we can have time to read the book together!

Thus far, we've read the US Women's soccer, Miracle on Ice, Secretariat, and David Tyree's catch. Each time, we've listened to the CD audio clip and then gone on to the computer and watched various videos/highlights of each event.

Early highlights:

- My son now has ingrained in his head that the Preakness will always run around his birthday and is held in the city where a friend of his just moved to and he now wants to go to it! Tremendous.

- My son now understands that when a team is supposed to lose, but wins, it is called an UPSET. Priceless.

I highly recommend this book to any parent who enjoys bonding with their child (while educating him/her about some of the greatest sports moments, figures, and teams of all time.

Lastly, I am also purchasing a bunch to give to clients as holiday presents - nothing better than to give a gift that will keep on giving - and hopefully they'll think of me occassionally!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on February 27, 2011
This neat little book serves two primary purposes:

First, it will allow the budding sports enthusiast to read about some of the greatest feats in all of the sporting world. Baseball, football, tennis, hockey, basketball, Olympics, and more are covered in the volume. The information is far too general to appeal to the more seasoned sports fan, but for the beginner it is perfect.

Also, in order to grab those young imaginations even further, a CD is included that allows you to listen to some of the events actually taking place. About 10 of the events described in the book are on the CD in their original broadcast form, which brings the excitement to life just that much more.

Basically, if your young sports fan is already watching Sportscenter and reading history books, skip this effort because it is too simple/general. However, if the youngster is just beginning to tune into the magic of sports, you can't go wrong with "The Greatest Moments In Sports"!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2010
Exellent book and CD. Although it is supposed to be for teenagers, it was just as good for adults as well!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on December 14, 2009
My son saw this book in SI kids and wanted it for his birthday. It is great! The cd is great too,,,,,just to listen to those wonder moments, especially the US hockey miracle. My son even read the entire book! and listened to the cd. Great for young and old alike!From the Babe- to Hank-.Arthur Ashe-Michael Phelps-Billie Jean King- Nadia-Jackie-Roger Bannister-Jordan-the 69 Mets-Gretzky-Jesse Owens-Ali-Wilt Chamberlain- it's all here. My son could learn about famous moments from the past too!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Everyone interested in even cracking the covers of this book at least one or two favorite sports. Perhaps you are a sports fanatic like Len Berman and love sports of all kinds. In that case you're not going to have any problem relating to each and every one of the stories in this book. The eleven track CD will "make it even more enjoyable," and "listening to sports history being made is really cool," according to Berman. Greatest sports moments can be debatable, but each one in this book just happens to be a favorite of the author. I must admit, he's picked some great ones!

* Michael Phelps ~ Follow him as he goes for the gold as he swims in the Olympics.

* Babe Ruth ~ Did he really call the shot in his last World Series game or was that simply a myth?

* The `69 Miracle Mets ~ Was the black cat that ambles onto the field good or bad luck for them in 1969?

* Hank Aaron ~ Hank was determined to hit home run number 715 and outdo the Babe. Read and listen about that day.

* Wayne Gretzky ~ Read about his record breaking backhanded goal and learn who his greatest hero was.

* Nadia Comaneci ~ Learn how the little girl doing cartwheels on the playground was discovered by Bela Karolyi. Did you ever hear of a "perfect 10?"

* Jesse Owens ~ Read about the young man who wasn't welcome on the local track team, but was a star at "Hitler's Olympics."

* Arthur Ashe ~ Discover a man who was not only one of the greatest tennis players ever, but was also a "truly special human being."

* Billy Jean and Bobbie ~ Find out about how a wild `n wacky guy challenged "the best female tennis player in the world."

* "The Greatest Game Ever Played" ~ An "imperfect game" can also be one of the greatest. You will find out why it made such an impact on American Sports.

* Super Bowl history ~ Read about an amazing game between the Giants and the patriots. Ever heard of "the Catch?"

* The Stanford Band Play ~ Read about one of the wackiest games ever in the history of football.

* Tiger Woods ~ At the age of 18 Tiger Woods became the "youngest ever to win the U.S. Amateur Championship. Learn even more about his amazing career.

* Cassius Clay ~ When most athletes were quiet, Cassius Clay was boasting, "I am the greatest!" Muhammad Ali, as Clay was later known, was determined to be a winner.

* Wilt Chamberlain ~ This record breaking basketball player has so many records it's hard to list them all, but how about the game when he scored 100 points?

* Michael Jordan ~ The player who "could do it all" stunned everyone when his last minute shot won a sixth NBA championship for him.

* Villanova Vs. Georgetown ~ Could an underdog team beat a bunch of bullies in the 1985 NCAA championship? They were good, but not all that good . . .

* Richard Petty ~ Very early one Richard received the nickname "the King." If you don't already know the obvious reason why the nickname, you'll soon find out.

* World Cup Soccer ~ Learn why Brandi Chastain "fell to her knees and did something the men soccer players do. She pulled off her shirt."

* Big Red ~ Secretariat wasn't a person, but probably one of the greatest athletes ever. Listen to Chick Anderson as Big Red was way ahead as he raced his way to winning the Triple Crown.

* Jackie Robinson ~ Learn how this "exceptional athlete" had to overcome a tremendous amount of racial discrimination and was still able to keep his head high.

* Roger Bannister ~ This amazing runner wasn't even able to train full time because he was studying to be a doctor. Could he break that four minute mile?

* Curse of the Bambino ~ It was said that when Babe Ruth, "The Bambino," was traded to the Yankees there was some sort of curse on Boston. Just how long would it last?

* The Immaculate Reception ~ The Pittsburgh Steelers weren't the luckiest team in the NFL by far. Oakland should have beaten them in that playoff game, but how the heck did Franco Harris ever get hold of that ball?

* The Miracle On Ice ~ Paid athletes weren't allowed in the Olympics so in 1980 United States hockey players were going up against the Soviets who "had some grizzled veterans of international hockey." Would they even have a remote chance of winning?

This amazing book will WOW sports fans of all ages. My favorite, hands down, was the absolutely crazy story, entitled "The Stanford Band Play." Just a hint . . . did you know there is a trombone in the College Football Hall of Fame? There is. There are numerous photographs and informative sidebar materials scattered throughout the book. The CD is an amazing compliment to this book. Berman narrates historical information about several particularly exciting sports moments and then you can hear the actual sports broadcasts. When both the broadcaster and the audience went wild with excitement when Hank Aaron hit home run number 715, I could actually feel the hair rise on my arms. This book is a bargain you won't regret picking up!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on May 3, 2011
I sent this to my young sports obsessed nephew as part of his birthday present. From what I have been told, he didn't want to put it down when he got it. I have not seen the book because I had it shipped directly to him, but apparently it is well written and interesting enough to keep a seven year old boy reading!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on February 19, 2010
Wow! I love the way this book is written. It's not pretentious and while sport fans will flock to it, this is great for sport historians, people wanting to get into sports and of course...kids!

The pictures chosen were perfect, the stories were just told as stories, and not in an elitist "you should know this to call yourself a sport fan" way. While there were a lot of stats given, for sports newbies, they were presented in an easy to understand manner. For those that like to collect stats, all the info is neatly presented.

My son loved/s this book. It's fun, colorful, and full of imagery. Most importantly, this book isn't written for boys. It's written for kids (although to be honest, I enjoyed it just as much). There are so many sports covered in the book, that your child is sure to find one that he will become obsessed with and make you read to them over and over.

The CD that is included with this book is also great. After you read the stories, you can pop in the CD and listen to the first hand accounts of what you just read. That alone is worth it. Having a sports themed party? This is the perfect goody-bag book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on September 16, 2010
This book is accessible to both pre-teens without being patronizing at all. Its really a reference that can be enjoyed many times between parents and their children. Any child into sports will certainly enjoy this book, and it is also worth checking out "The 25 Greatest Baseball Players of All Time" by Len Berman which was also released recently and is very similar in style.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2010
I bought this for my son and he loves it. At 8 years old he has other interests besides sports right now but he wants to get into the same stuff as dad. This was a great way for us to talk sports together!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 27, 2011
"This is the best book I ever read. There were lots of sports people."

I bought this for my son for Xmas and he has been reading it steadily and WILLINGLY every night before bed. Staying up late just to finish chapters. He is begging me to find "Volume 2"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed

The Greatest Moments in Sports: Upsets and Underdogs
The Greatest Moments in Sports: Upsets and Underdogs by Len Berman (Hardcover - September 1, 2012)
$15.46

Sports Illustrated Kids Big Book of Why Sports Edition
Sports Illustrated Kids Big Book of Why Sports Edition by The Editors of Sports Illustrated Kids (Hardcover - August 7, 2012)
$11.21
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.