Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told
Do you know the story of the little girl who convinced Abraham Lincoln to grow a beard, or the story about the woman who became President?

If you have not heard these stories, "The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told" by Rick Beyer is a must read for you!!

Rick Beyer is a history enthusiast and has done work on several programs presented on...
Published on October 17, 2007 by D. Byrge

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fluffy Fun
Some fun trivia about the U.S. Presidents. Did you know Lincoln was challenged to a duel? His weapon of choice - calvary broadswords. A truce was negotiated. Or that Grant is the only president to ever receive a speeding ticket while in office for making his horces pull his carriage at gallop speed? It's all in here. Oddly, a few tidbits are thrown in about other nation's...
Published on July 21, 2009 by waitingtoderail


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told, October 17, 2007
This review is from: The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told: 100 Tales from History to Astonish, Bewilder, and Stupefy (Hardcover)
Do you know the story of the little girl who convinced Abraham Lincoln to grow a beard, or the story about the woman who became President?

If you have not heard these stories, "The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told" by Rick Beyer is a must read for you!!

Rick Beyer is a history enthusiast and has done work on several programs presented on the History Channel. In his book, he has compiled Presidential stories to whet the appetite of the reader for more. And in addition to all the information included in the book, the author provides a list of resources where the reader can obtain more information.

Did you know that Gerald Ford once worked as a model and helped found one of the Country's leading modelling agency? Or the story about the sheep that once lived on the White House lawn?

Did you know that although Thomas Jefferson was "the greatest inventor who ever lived in the White House", he was not the one President to ever obtain a patent for one of his inventions?

Did you know that only one President was ever given a speeding ticket? Or that George Washington was not our first President?

These are but a few of the stories included in this very entertaining book. Rick Beyer has done a great job of collecting these stories and putting them to paper.

"The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told" is very well written and enhanced with lots of great photographs. It is interesting, informative, educational, and altogether a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History Can Be Interesting, October 21, 2007
By 
C. Cowger (Southern Illinois) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told: 100 Tales from History to Astonish, Bewilder, and Stupefy (Hardcover)
As a history lover, I was immediately drawn to this book. It is filled with little know facts about Presidents of the United States. If you love history, learning new facts about historical heroes, you will love this book. I was amazed at the wonderful stories about presidents that I had not previously known. They were both entertaining and Interesting. This book has stories on President Lincoln, Washington, Jefferson as well as others. You will not want to put this book down until you are finished reading it so grab a soda and get cozy and begin your journey into the lives of the Presidents. You will smile, laugh and say "Wow I did not know that" while reading it. What happened on the Mayflower in 1620 that affected many peoples lives as well as three presidents? You can find the answer to this question as well as many more in book, The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told.

The Author, Rick Beyer is not new to writing wonderful historical books. He has previously written "The Greatest Storied Never Told" as well as "The Greatest War Stories Never Told". Rick is a lifelong history enthusiast as well as an award winning documentary producer for The History Channel.

The Greatest Stories Never Told series has great reviews:

"An old-fashioned sweetshop, full of tasty morsels" The Chicago Tribune

"Stories you haven't heard but will delight in knowing" Denver Rocky Mountain News

"Just when we were certain that we knew everything about everything, Rick Beyer comes along and ruins it" The Army Times

I truly enjoyed this book. And recommend it to everyone who loves history. With story titles such as Teddy Bear, Mail Call, as well as my favorite, Man Overboard, you will not be bored. It was well written and easy to get drawn into. My opinion of these presidents will never be the same. Now I will think of these stories each time I hear their names in print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told - a MUST read, November 10, 2007
This review is from: The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told: 100 Tales from History to Astonish, Bewilder, and Stupefy (Hardcover)
Get your lists ready for the Holiday gift-giving season because now you have another excellent book to give:

Rick Beyer's The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told:100 Tales from History to Astonish, Bewilder, and Stupefy.

Warning: Guard this book with your life. This is a book that people WILL steal.

Written in an easy-to-read style, Beyer delivers fascinating facts about US presidents most of us have never before read.

QUESTION: Do you think a small girl influenced Abraham Lincoln to change his appearance? Did he always wear a beard?

QUESTION: Do you know the name of the man who was president before George Washington?

QUESTION: Do you know the man who was president for a day?

QUESTION: Have you ever been to Wessyington, D.C.? (And you thought the city got its name from George, didn't you?)

QUESTION: We are all familiar with the practice of the Presidential handshake: the President presses the flesh of those around him, regardless of social stature. Was it always this way? Do you know what social custom existed before the handshake? Do you know that the handshake is another shining example of American democracy? And, as a bonus, do you know which early President inaugurated the practice of shaking hands?

* * *

Here is a gem from Beyer's book, from one of Boston's (or, should I say, from one of Quincy's own boys:)

John Quincy Adams was regarded as a straitlaced president, in nearly all regards. He did, however, make a habit of skinny dipping in the Potomac.

"New York political leader Thurlow Weed wanted to see one of the sunrise swims for himself. He secretly observed the president leaving the White House one morning before daybreak. Adams began to shed his clothes before he even got to the river, tied them in a bundle and jumped in....Another memorable morning, Adams...had a servant named Antoine row him across the Potomac in an old boat, planning to swim back. When a sudden squall blew up, the leaky boat capsized in the middle of the river, dumping both men overboard. They managed to swim to the opposite bank, but both men were exhausted. Antoine had lost all of his clothes...Adams gave his clothes to Antoine and sent him to fetch a carriage...[and] the president got in some 'naked basking on the bank.' "

Though this seems to be a humorous incident now, neither Adams nor his wife thought it funny at the time. This incident, however, did not stop Adams from continuing to skinny dip in the Potomac.

A terrific book, just in time for the holiday gift-giving season, or any time of the year. A great book to grace any one's shelf or coffee table.

An excellent book and a MUST read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Presidential STories never told, July 27, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told: 100 Tales from History to Astonish, Bewilder, and Stupefy (Hardcover)
I married a history buff, and never know what to get him as a gift. I usually go through old used book sales looking for out of print history books (which are so contradictory and funny) for him to read and compare to the present day truth (ok, who knows). I love it when I get a hit on a search from Amazon.com and I am able to find a book that doesn't require being around smelly people selling books out of cardboard boxes.
This book had funny tidbits of each president that could never be denied or proven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun, Enjoyable Historical Read, February 14, 2008
This review is from: The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told: 100 Tales from History to Astonish, Bewilder, and Stupefy (Hardcover)
If you are looking for light hearted historical reading then this is a must. Throughly engrossing little book that you won't be able to put it down once you start reading it. I plan to follow up by reading the author's other two books as well as some of the sources that he utilized in producing this book. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Read, April 7, 2008
By 
Georgi "demommy" (Kissimmee, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told: 100 Tales from History to Astonish, Bewilder, and Stupefy (Hardcover)
I bought this for my husband who loves books on historical trivia (Bathroom Readers, Almanacs, Malcolm Forbes' "They Went That-a-way"). We own all the books in this "Strories Never Told" series--three so far--and we are anxiously waiting for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fluffy Fun, July 21, 2009
This review is from: The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told: 100 Tales from History to Astonish, Bewilder, and Stupefy (Hardcover)
Some fun trivia about the U.S. Presidents. Did you know Lincoln was challenged to a duel? His weapon of choice - calvary broadswords. A truce was negotiated. Or that Grant is the only president to ever receive a speeding ticket while in office for making his horces pull his carriage at gallop speed? It's all in here. Oddly, a few tidbits are thrown in about other nation's presidents, like Santa Anna. Overall, a fun little book, just don't expect to come out with any deep thoughts about the Presidency or American history on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great book by Rick Beyers!!!, January 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told: 100 Tales from History to Astonish, Bewilder, and Stupefy (Hardcover)
After reading the Greatest War Stories Never Told I knew that I wanted to purchase The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told. As before, this book is very entertaining and interesting. It will change the way that you think about the character of quite a few of our Presidents. It really is a fun book to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You know why you buy this book..., August 23, 2008
By 
M. Kastroll (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told: 100 Tales from History to Astonish, Bewilder, and Stupefy (Hardcover)
...it's a "bathroom" book, and it serves this purpose well. The short stories are interesting and factual, albeit slightly over-dramatized. Each tale is about two pages long, and even if one particular story isn't great - guess what? It's only two pages long and then a new one begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars gift for history lover, July 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told: 100 Tales from History to Astonish, Bewilder, and Stupefy (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for my step dad for father's day. He loves history and as soon as he got it he started telling everyone little known bits of trivia about the presidents. lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told: 100 Tales from History to Astonish, Bewilder, and Stupefy
$19.99 $14.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.