Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not CERTIFIED, but a great story non the less
Ok, I will admit this album is no Certified, which was a great album if you ask me. But it does have alot of high moments. Songs like Suicide Doors, with the great UGK, Get Like Me, So Long, B.A.N.(which is hilarious if you watch the cartoon boondocks), and K.O. are the best songs on this album. Some songs are not the greatest because the are just not produced right, or...
Published on December 7, 2008 by Cedrick McCoy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a better story
David Banner is somewhat of an enigma. He has a level of awareness that most rappers from the south dont seem to have but he insists on making these mindless commercial records. This album has its good joints but are outweighed by the garbage joints. Suicide Doors feat UGK and Kandi is not bad. 9mm feat Akon, Lil Wayne and Snoop Dogg and the song Faith are cool also. Hold...
Published on October 13, 2008 by Nuisance


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not CERTIFIED, but a great story non the less, December 7, 2008
By 
Cedrick McCoy (Akron, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Story Ever Told (Audio CD)
Ok, I will admit this album is no Certified, which was a great album if you ask me. But it does have alot of high moments. Songs like Suicide Doors, with the great UGK, Get Like Me, So Long, B.A.N.(which is hilarious if you watch the cartoon boondocks), and K.O. are the best songs on this album. Some songs are not the greatest because the are just not produced right, or have appearances that dont make too much sense. Like Akon on 9mm... Sorry I do not look at Akon, and listen to him thinking he is going to tote a 9mm in the air, sorry just does not sound right, lol. Overall if you are a fan of David Banner, and like his production then you will enjoy this album, and with the price you can pick it up for on Amazon now, you can not pass this up it's a great deal, for a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a better story, October 13, 2008
This review is from: Greatest Story Ever Told (Audio CD)
David Banner is somewhat of an enigma. He has a level of awareness that most rappers from the south dont seem to have but he insists on making these mindless commercial records. This album has its good joints but are outweighed by the garbage joints. Suicide Doors feat UGK and Kandi is not bad. 9mm feat Akon, Lil Wayne and Snoop Dogg and the song Faith are cool also. Hold On, So Long, I Get By(feat Carl Thomas) and Free are the type of songs that I wanted to hear more of from David Banner. He has two tracks which are just instrumentals(Marz and Bonus Beat Drum) which are not bad also. What ruins this album are ridiculous amounts of filler in this album. Shawty Say(feat Lil Wayne), F*** You Hoes(feat Jim Jones), Get Like Me(feat Chris Brown, Yung Joc and Jim Jones), Ball With Me(feat Chamillionaire) and Fly feat Jazze Pha are all filler. A Girl sounds like a cheap remake of Play of David Banner's last album certified. B.A.N. and K.O are just plain stupid and Cadillac's on 22s part 2 is a huge mistake and we'll just leave it at that.
Bottom Line: The Greatest Story Ever Told is far from a bad album but its not the best album that David Banner can give you. The production is good but these repetitive commercial records are easily forgettable plus this album could use more tracks like Hold On, So Long, Free and I Get By and less songs like A Girl, Shawty Say, B.A.N., Ball With Me and Get Like Me. Its safe to say that Certified is David Banner's best album in recent memory.
Standouts: SUICIDE DOORS, HOLD ON, SO LONG, I GET BY, FAITH, 9MM, MARZ AND BONUS BEAT DRUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The South may never rise again...., August 18, 2008
By 
E "E" (Asheville NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Story Ever Told (Audio CD)
Let me just start by saying that the production on this album is fantastic. In truth it's probably an accurate example of things to come for the industry. The sad part is that while it's called "The Greatest Story Ever Told", it's actually just like every story told from the mainstream South. On an acapella interlude named "Freedom" David Banner hits the nail on the head when he claims "George Bush is a part of a bigger problem, all America loves hate they'll never stop it", but proves that his philosophy is no better as he consistently encourages violence and hate throughout the album. In the end, it's just another hypocritic LP thrown together to get air-play and not really inspire social revolution, as so many rappers claim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not The Greatest Story Every Told, But A Good One Nonetheless, July 16, 2008
This review is from: Greatest Story Ever Told (Audio CD)
I almost didn't buy this album after reading the reviewer who gave this album two stars. I'm glad I was hard headed. Most of the tracks have a nice beat, and the lyrical content is solid. Banner has some enlightening words on a few tracks, but still manages to have several certified bangers. My favorite tracks are, "So Long," "Get Like Me," "9mm," "Suicide Doors," "KO," and "Ball With Me." Pick it up, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, August 23, 2013
By 
I can put this on and it would take me back in time. Can't forget Dave banner made some sick beats feels good listening to it in the caddy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars David Banner back again, October 3, 2008
By 
David Banner's newest album is a solid effort. Most of the beats are on point which is to be expected from Banner. Yes, he is angry, but he has very good reason to be and his message is actually a positive one (with out being preachy). The title of the album refers to making your own story the greatest story ever told.

I bought the Clean version for a library and the edits are not as obnoxious as other edited albums (i.e anything that G-Unit puts out).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the greatest, by any stretch., September 6, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Story Ever Told (Audio CD)
David Banner's newest release is "better than most" hip-hop albums in circulation right now, but as a hip-hop fan that's over 30 years old, that's not saying much. While much of the skits and conversation on the album talk revolution and doing things differently as a hip hop nation and a black community, the tracks really don't. He's certainly got some club bangers in store for you, among them are "get like me" and "shorty say" (featuring Lil' Wayne) - but the truth is beyond that it's just not that entertaining and not that special. It's simply better than most. Greatest story ever sold. Not at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic David Banner, July 29, 2008
By 
Coffy6 (NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Story Ever Told (Audio CD)
This CD is awesome. Get Like Me is a summer anthem. The interlude with Uncle Swac takes me back to my Creole roots. We all have one or two of those uncles in our families. BAN is funny as hell...that came from the Boondocks cartoon. This CD is really good overall, so I don't understand why a couple of reviewers gave it mixed/bad ratings. This man is from Mississippi, and he represents the best of what the Bayou has to offer. He is constantly evolving, so each CD will not sound like the last, and that's what makes him great. Listen with an open mind, and please stop judging him (and T.I., and MasterP, and Manny Fresh) by East Coast and West Coast standards. The Dirty South is a whole different animal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Story Ever Told David Banner, July 15, 2008
This review is from: Greatest Story Ever Told (Audio CD)
A Walk Through LifeIf you enjoyed Missippi,
MTA2: Baptized in Dirty Water and certified than you will be disappointed with David Banners latest release. There is only about three good cuts out of a 17 track album 5 being interludes and these tracks are Suicide Doors featuring UGK, Kandi Burruss, & Young Dro
9mm/Speaker featuring Akon, Lil Wayne & Snoop Dogg and Get like me featuring Chris Brown and yung Joc. I don't feel the music Like I have done on David Banners other studio albums the production is weak. Maybe you might disagree but I feel David Banner is capable of bringing us much more talent then what is manifested on the greatest story ever told.

D A Poole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars David Banner CD was definitely not the Greatest Story Ever Told, July 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Story Ever Told (Audio CD)
This was the first David Banner CD I've ever bought. . I was not missing anything.

Apparently, the radio DJ's picked what was hot and left everything else because there are about 2 decent tracks on the entire CD, and you can hear those on the radio and save a few bucks. .

I like to support my peeps, but this CD is just not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Greatest Story Ever Told
Greatest Story Ever Told by David Banner (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.