Customer Reviews


489 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (60)
2 star:
 (59)
1 star:
 (169)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jay Chou Steals the Screen
As soon as I saw the ratings this movie was getting, I guessed it had probably not adhered to the expectations of comic fans and fans of the original movies or series, and a quick scan of the reviews showed me I had guessed right. Although I love superheroes and comics in general, I knew nothing about the Green Hornet when I hit the theater, and I absolutely loved it...
Published on December 27, 2011 by Melissa Marina Gonzalez

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Lost Opportunity
This film can't decide what genre it's supposed to be. The writers spent too much time trying to make Seth Rogen funny - which is wasted time because he already IS funny - and not enough time writing a decent story. There's a couple of fun moments but this was not nearly as comical as the theatrical previews made it look. By the time the last 15 minutes came 'round I...
Published on June 4, 2011 by Mark


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jay Chou Steals the Screen, December 27, 2011
As soon as I saw the ratings this movie was getting, I guessed it had probably not adhered to the expectations of comic fans and fans of the original movies or series, and a quick scan of the reviews showed me I had guessed right. Although I love superheroes and comics in general, I knew nothing about the Green Hornet when I hit the theater, and I absolutely loved it. Most of all, I loved Kato. I remember telling my friend that this sidekick finally managed to break all the stereotypes. He was no longer an asexual, lesser sucker-upper. I also know most men drool after Bruce Lee, but as a grown-up woman who never really quite managed to get into him, I have to say Jay Chou has all the charisma for which I had kept searching in Lee. This was by all means Chou's movie.
As a viewer without any canonic expectations, this movie had me laughing from beginning to end. It was a breath of fresh air and a break from a lot of superhero stereotyping. I came to Amazon quite decided to purchase it.
I would say, if you are an original fan, beware. It seems very unlikely that you will enjoy it. If you, like me, love superheroes but this is your first time meeting the Green Hornet, I'm quite sure you will love this movie. We can all go and read the seemingly darker, truer version after we fall in love with Chou and start looking out for his next movies and music releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Lost Opportunity, June 4, 2011
This review is from: The Green Hornet (DVD)
This film can't decide what genre it's supposed to be. The writers spent too much time trying to make Seth Rogen funny - which is wasted time because he already IS funny - and not enough time writing a decent story. There's a couple of fun moments but this was not nearly as comical as the theatrical previews made it look. By the time the last 15 minutes came 'round I was watching the clock as it was dragging to the inevitable conclusion. This cast and the premise of an inept, immature buffoon stealing the lime light along with an ingenious, talented and deadly sidekick who gets no credit could have been wickedly funny. Somehow they missed the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


196 of 276 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Van Williams and Bruce Lee still rule., January 15, 2011
By 
Phillip J. Buechner (Crescent City, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Green Hornet (DVD)
The Green Hornet movie is one that I've been looking forward to for years. It's been rumored to be coming since the early 90's. It went through numerous incarnations that somehow didn't make it. From actors like George Clooney and Mark Wahlberg as the Hornet to Jet Li and Stephen Chow as Kato. A script was written by no less than Kevin Smith that was recently made into the first 10 issues of the Green Hornet comic book. Somewhere in there it seemed like they had the nuts and bolts of it right....and then Seth Rogen entered the picture.

Rogen is one of America's beloved buffoons. Necessary to the American psyche, buffoons have a hallowed place in cinema. From the sidekicks of Gene Autry, Roy Rogers, the Durango Kid, et al to Jerry Lewis, Dick Van Dyke, and Owen Wilson, to the films that serve as a commentary on the buffoon lifestyle (Up In Smoke, Big Lebowski, Knocked Up), each of us has a buffoon we admire. Buffoons generally realize their place in the movies and are usually content to work that vein for all they can. Buffoons are typecast and (usually) should not attempt to crossover to leading man roles. Rogen has attempted that step, I believe (the script makes it hard to tell for sure), and fallen badly in his try.

The script for the Green Hornet was written by Seth Rogen. I have no doubt that he's a very smart man in his area of expertise, but, as of yet, that doesn't include action/adventure. He can't make up his mind if he wants it to be in the action genre, comedy, or thriller, and ends up failing to be any of the above. It never rises above the level of a 10 year old, resorting to violence, explosions, and gunfire in an attempt to cover its inadequacies. Even Rogen's attempts at comedy are, for the most part, unfunny. His Hornet whines and needs constant pampering. There is no attempt to be edgy, moody, or dark. You will not mistake this for The Dark Knight. The premiere of NBC's new show The Cape, seen last week and mediocre at best, was Max Allan Collins meets Raymond Chandler compared to this. Rogen is the Green Hornet in the same manner as it would have been if Benny Hill had been cast as James Bond (which is not totally unlike the Moore James Bond, but that's for another time).

The Green Hornet tv show was made in 1966 on a shoestring budget. The special effects were rudimentary. Yet that old series far outshines this movie. Van Williams played the Hornet as a tough-as-nails and hardcore fighter. Bruce Lee played every fight scene with total energy and effort. Those qualities are simply not to be found here. Even the two serials from the 40's rank one star higher than this, the poorest of entries in the GH family history.

There were two bright spots that I found. First was Jay Chou's portrayal of Kato. While lacking the charisma of Bruce Lee, Chou's Kato was intelligent and witty, a partner rather than a sidekick. I hope to see him in more U.S. movies. The second was an early scene in the movie in Britt's room that showed a poster reproduction of a cover from an issue of Dynamite's Lone Ranger comic. For those that might not know, the Lone Ranger (John Reid) is the great-uncle of the Green Hornet (Britt Reid). The tip of the hat was very nice. Interestingly, in 1980 a revival was attempted of the Lone Ranger. While the movie had a few nice moments it had generated so much bad publicity before it even was released that it bombed. I believe that Rogen's Hornet will make some money if for no other reason than mom and dad being able to take the 10 year olds to it, but quality-wise it actually ranks under the 1980 Lone Ranger.

I really wanted to like this movie. I knew that reconstructing the magic of the series was impossible....I'm not 12 anymore. I went in knowing that things would be different and for the first half hour kept telling myself that it was good. Sooner or later we learn to stop lying to ourselves. Not even Jeff Imada's martial choreography could save it. Here's hoping that it doesn't spawn a series of movies, each one less than the one before it. Masked heroes can be done right....Batman and Spider-Man, case in point. Even Ben Affleck's Daredevil was much better than this. This movie is silly and unintelligent and Seth Rogen should be ashamed of himself. Come to think of it, the producers should be ashamed of themselves because apparently they thought it was some good stuff. Don't waste your money on this one. You'll buy it for the kids, they'll watch it once, and you'll sell it in that garage sale you have every summer. Buy the old series on dvd....you'll keep that, if for no other reason than to watch Bruce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, May 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not a big Seth Rogan fan, but this was pretty good. Actually, it was much better than I thought it was going to be. Cool gadgets, solid action, and Seth Rogan's ugly mug is covered up by a mask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I tried to like this movie!, November 1, 2011
This review is from: The Green Hornet (DVD)
I went into watching this movie with an open mind. I wanted to like it. The movie started out alright, but as time went on, I got bored. I had to switch it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Leave the icons alone, December 16, 2012
This review is from: The Green Hornet (DVD)
This movie totally sucks unless you know absolutely nothing about the television series. Of late the trend has been to take tv shows or older movies and make them funny. Big mistake, Green Hornet was never meant to be funny. I am not saying that there weren't funny moments in the tv show because there was. Like when Bruce got stuffed in to the garbage can by one of the crazier villians on the show. Al films have this in them, some than others but this was atrocious. The only good thing was the car and that was blown out of proportion as well. Yes, I know there is no Bruce Lee around to fill in the gaps in this movies but even he couldn't have saved it. I knew it was in trouble when they let Seth Rogen be the lead in it, it was down hill from that moment on. I would like to see a more serious or truer version than this. Follywood please leave the originals alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kato Saves This One, February 5, 2011
This review is from: The Green Hornet (DVD)
"The Green Hornet" (2011) shown in 3D features Seth Rogen as Britt Reid who becomes The Green Hornet. He's the kind of over-the-top comic who can become very annoying and exasperating if you're not on his wave length. It helps if you have an adolescent fondness for zany and oafish playground humor. The real star of the movie is Jay Chou as Kato.
Britt is a party animal who who lives a wasted existence until his tyrannical father, James Reid (Tom Wilkinson), mysteriously kicks the bucket via a bee sting. Britt inherits the family newspaper. When he meets his father's chauffeur, the brainy Kato who has designed fantastic cars, Britt decides to be a crime fighter, but to be different, he chooses to be a vigilante. With his inherited newspaper he can build up the Green Hornet as a bad guy. Kato builds a car, the Black Beauty, which has more gizmos, gadgets, and armament than any James Bond vehicle.
Britt is a klutz, a know-it-all who knows nothing. He can't fight. He thinks he's great, is an egomaniac who after Kato beats up a gang of toughs tries to take the credit and denigrate his sidekick, but Kato has spunk and won't sit back and be a flunky. Kato is a terrific martial arts fighter and seems to have super powers. He can whip up elaborate inventions in a few days. He's the muscle and brains of that outfit.
Britt thinks he can get any woman he wants, but he better look out for Kato. The movie has a love interest, but you'll be surprised at who ends up with the girl.
There's way too much mayhem in this, and the car violence gets tiresome. The Green Hornet seems to wipe out as many cops as bad guys.
If this movie succeeds, I can see sequels lying in wait, but they could very quickly become tiresome just as this film does. Parts are boring and Rogen can wear down the moviegoer who's not on his whiny track. He's a comic playing a comic book hero, but playing the character for laughs can be dangerous. It's part of the crime-fighter and sidekick genre played for yacks more than kicks. There's some crude stuff not for kids.
Britt as a youngster was humiliated when his father took his toy caped superhero doll and tore the head off it. So what does the boy-man do as his first super-hero stunt? He cuts the head off a statue placed in his father's honor at the gravesite.
It's a goofy movie so be prepared. Get ready for lots of mad-cap action, wild car chases, explosions, yucks and jokes. There's a monumental fight between Kato and Britt. No one could possibly escape from that melee without bruises and wounds, but these two do. The villains chasing the fearless duo in the newspaper plant is a long scene that could be condensed. The film is too long and drawn-out and needs closer editing and tightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moderately Good!, February 1, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Green Hornet (DVD)
In an effort to battle the exorbitant cost of 3D movies (especially the ones that undergo 3D conversion post-production), I went to the Sunday matinee showing of The Green Hornet. I don't know if that's really the optimal environment for a superhero movie, but I do know that I felt super awesome seeing a movie by myself in a theater lightly sprinkled with moms. What made me even more awesome was my flirtation with the cute ticket taker and cashier, only to have them realize that I was friendless at the movies and therefore genetically undesirable for the production of offspring. But hey, free parking downtown on Sundays! Which makes me wonder...how many of those moms were actually angry San Luis Obispo meter maids?

As my stylish RealD glasses weighed down on my nose (which, by the end of the movie, was acting rather affronted), the previews drew to a close, and what followed was a moderately entertaining film. By no means a perfect creation, The Green Hornet lived up to its Buzz with charm enough to overcome the fact that it was little more than a souped-up, buddy-cop movie. While its generic overarching plot had a bit of originality Nested here and there, what really kept things aloft was Seth Rogen's light-hearted tone and performance. Britt Reid (Seth Rogen) and Kato (Jay Chou) were fun characters to watch and had pretty good chemistry. I believed their friendship, their obligatory fallout, and their eventual reconciliation, and I laughed out loud at lines like "Do some of that Ben Hur stuff!" Sadly, I was the only one who laughed during the entire movie. Man, those parking enforcement officers really don't have souls.

As always, Cameron Diaz was totally useless. She is the Queen of inane, managing to evoke a sense of lifelessness in every role. She Bumbles through her character, Droning on and basically adding nothing. At least it was a new take on the love interest. She wasn't really interested, and neither was she interesting. In fact, I feel like she was almost more objectified this way. Rather than either of the main characters forming a connection with her, she simply served as a vehicle for Britt and Kato's argument. I guess that's what they get for trying to stick their Proboscises where they don't belong.

Speaking of vehicles, the Black Beauty was one of the sweetest cars ever. The sheer number of weapons and gadgets made it the coolest thing since MIB's red button. What wasn't particularly sweet was the bad guy. In an attempt at humor, the villain constantly worried about his image and his hard-to-pronounce name, and he was right to. He just wasn't intimidating. I never felt the Sting of real fear or the sweet Nectar of joy at any point during the film.

One of the more interesting stylistic choices comes partway through the movie when the villain puts a bounty on the Green Hornet's head. The shot then enters an ever-expanding split screen as word of the reward spreads through all the different circles of evil, from the Thorax of malcontent to the Mandibles of hate. Watching the sheer number of thugs on the screen grow as they receive their mission really does add a sense of dread to an otherwise threat-free story. More and more split-screens kept showing up until I was so overwhelmed that I couldn't keep track of them anymore. I waited for the repercussions of this onslaught, only to watch as the group of villains murdered a ton of innocent people wearing green and then never reappeared. And just like that, the sense of dread was gone.

The Green Hornet was basically fun. It doesn't take itself too seriously, and there's some entertaining action and comedy. In no way does it surpass expectations, however, and many other films are better able to embrace the genre. If you've got some extra cash and a bunch of guys are sitting around bored, it might be worth checking this out, but otherwise you should probably just wait until it's on Netflix.

2.5/5 Stars

Couldn't work these in: Venom, Insect, Antennae, Hive, Apoidea, Vespa

For more reviews, check out thenickelscreen on wordpress!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kato steals the show, February 22, 2014
This review is from: Green Hornet (DVD)
This movie is written as if it were two different scripts; one is a buffoons paradise filled with 5th grade potty humor and petulant immaturity READ Seth Rogen. The second movie is action and visual personification of a smooth bad-ass who can fly through a scene at hyper-speed beating up the bad guys. READ Jay Chou.

The problem is obvious, those two disparate roles and movies fails completely. When Chou's eyes light up and he moves the movie moves, when his weapons fire they propel the action forward. When Rogen moves its like the old joke about a presidential movement report on SNL, just bad news.

Rogen is best as an impotent clown (as he was in the first part of the movie), but the move to hero????? No way. Men like Christian Bale, Bruce Willis, Brad Pitt, Russell Crow, Hugh Jackman, Colin Farrell, Vin Diesel, Dwayne "Rock" Johnson, or even Sigourney Weaver... Anyone JUST NOT SETH ROGEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed review, February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Green Hornet (DVD)
OK, to put this clearly and bluntly... if you are a real fan of the TV show with Van Williams, this movie could be a disappointment for you. It is a comedy, and spoof of the Green Hornet. I was really hoping for something more serious, and closer to the TV show. I've kept the DVD, and would view it again, but would rather own a quality collection of the original TV series with Van Williams and Bruce Lee. If you collect Green Hornet items, you might want to add this to your collection... but do be aware that this is not the same as the TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Green Hornet [Blu-ray]
The Green Hornet [Blu-ray] by Michel Gondry (Blu-ray - 2011)
$19.99 $11.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.