Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hal Jordan and Sinestro: The Odd Couple
In 8 years since Geoff Johns took over Green Lantern, Hal Jordan has reclaimed his position among Batman and Superman as top tier characters in the DC Universe that expanded upon the entire GL mythology including the entire light spectrum of lantern corps., and Blackest Night, and a whole bunch of continuity like never before. What Johns also did was make Hal Jordan's...
Published on May 22, 2012 by Anarchy in the US

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No backstory
I am new to the series so I figured like the other New 52 comics, It's re-tell the origins of Hal Jordan/Green Lantern and go from there. Sadly it's not an origin story and is really a continuation from a previous story line under the New 52 name.

That being said, I had no issue with the volume itself nor the story aside from one big thing - There is no back...
Published 9 months ago by Michael H


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hal Jordan and Sinestro: The Odd Couple, May 22, 2012
This review is from: Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro (The New 52) (Hardcover)
In 8 years since Geoff Johns took over Green Lantern, Hal Jordan has reclaimed his position among Batman and Superman as top tier characters in the DC Universe that expanded upon the entire GL mythology including the entire light spectrum of lantern corps., and Blackest Night, and a whole bunch of continuity like never before. What Johns also did was make Hal Jordan's greatest villain Sinestro, far more complex and villainous being then ever done. After Green Lantern: War of the Green Lanterns and War of the Green Lanterns: Aftermath, Sinestro went from being that top villain, and thanks to an odd twist of fate became a Green Lantern again, while Jordan was discharged from the GL Corps. all just before The New 52 Re-boot. Now Johns begins this new chapter in the GL legacy with Sinestro at the helm and this looks to be quite a different chapter at that.

GREEN LANTERN: SINESTRO collects issues #1-6 and begins with Hal Jordan (again, discharged from the Corps.) back on Earth and trying to fit back into modern society, which hasn't been working out for him in his favor (all done in a comedic fashion). All the while back at Oa, Sinestro wants nothing of being a GL again, but has no choice in the matter but to follow the orders of the Guardians. Sinestro wants to take back his Yellow Lanterns, but finds out they strayed away from his teaching due to his new allegiance to the GLs...Sinestro then needs Hal Jordan by his side to take back his old Corp...but with a huge catch. All the while Hal and Sinestro go at it, the Guardians are tired of Hal, Sinestro, and the other lanterns going against them and want to start a new corps.; a third corps. What we get is one heck of a funny, interesting, and buddy comic of two rival's butting-heads and working together for a greater cause.

Geoff Johns writes a very different book to start the New 52, with Sinestro taking over as main character and Hal being the "side kick". The tone is lighter and far more talkative then any book Johns has done in his 8 year run on GL, which is quite refreshing to try out for long time readers of Johns run. It does have some action to it, but subtle. We sort of had a smidgen of this in (Green Lantern: Brightest Day (Green Lantern Graphic Novels)), but it's in full swing in this book. Hal has a series of comedic turns trying to live on Earth now without a power ring and seeing Sinestro as a GL for the first real time and getting into his mindset is interesting considering we get behind his actions now, not denounce them when he was the villain. And when Hal and Sinestro actually have to work together, it's that rarity when the hero and villain's ideologies and egos clash for an entertaining read to watch unfold, especially for long time readers.

Doug Mahnke's art is great as ever. A sense of sketchy and clean and be crazy designs in his splash pages that carry well with Johns story narrative. His art never gets old. Mike Choi's art in issue #6 is decent but hurts the flow narrative. It's utterly different from Mahnke's art with younger, more anime-styled characters. I don't mind it since the one issue is a transition piece for the next arc, but it's still noticeable.

As for a possible setback, the tone change for established fans might not like this. As mentioned before, this is quite a talkative arc compared to other GL arcs in the past and it might seem tame to some readers. The other thing is for new readers who have probably been thinking about jumping on Johns run on GL at some point. Well I'm going to go out on a limb here and say this is decent start for new readers. New readers get a relative generalization of the GL lore and mythos, but new readers will miss out on a lot of information with the character dynamics and future plot points that established readers have been following. Much of the great chemistry in reading about Hal and Sinestro is based off of the long history these characters have, as well as most of the conversations being expositions about the built-up mythos, all of which will be lost to new readers. Add to this, many plot points in the future to come will revert back to previous knowledge of the GL mythos that new readers again will be lost in. So although GL:Sinestro is probably the best/roughest choice to jump on in Johns run for newbie's, I highly recommend as a prerequisite go start back at (Green Lantern: Rebirth (New Edition)) and work your way all the way up to this point. I assure you it's for the best.

GREEN LANTERN VOL.1: SINESTRO is the start/prelude of what looks like another long and interesting journey in the GL legacy, with Sinestro and Hal looking like the ultimate odd couple in comics that long time readers get an opening taste of what's to come down the road. New readers can jump on, but be extremely cautious if you do. A new chapter in GL lore in on the horizon and it all starts here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green Means Go, June 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro (The New 52) (Hardcover)
A little bit on my background as a Green Lantern fan, before I begin. Before the New 52, I'd never read a Green Lantern comic. Not completely, anyway. I read a little bit of Blackest Night while browsing in a library one afternoon, and I've perused an issue here and there while shopping in bookstores, but before DC relaunched its universe, I'd never actually read one in its entirety. Having watched nearly every animated and live-action TV show and movie that's featured Green Lantern since the year 2000, television and film are the extent of my Green Lantern knowledge.

With that in mind, know that if your experience with Green Lantern is similar to mine, then the first volume of the New 52's Green Lantern should be very accessible to you. You should know that Sinestro is the leader of the Sinestro Corps and one of Hal Jordan's greatest enemies. You should have a bit of background on Hal's romantic past with Carol Ferris. You should be aware that Hal was recently discharged from the Green Lantern Corps. BUT THAT'S IT. If you want to know the whys and hows of any of these past events, read some pre-New 52 GL, or save some time and money and look it up on Wikipedia. But you don't really need any of it to enjoy this book. It's a story that, as long as you have a little bit of familiarity with the characters, stands on its own. Geoff Johns spins a great little tale, and sets up what's sure to be an intriguing mystery in the coming volumes of Green Lantern. Mahnke's pencils are great, and the art team's use of shadows and colors is excellent.

For newbies who have no idea who these characters are, this may not be the best title. But if you've got at least a little familiarity with world of GL, this one gets the green light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, June 11, 2012
This review is from: Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro (The New 52) (Hardcover)
Some may say I'm overrating this book. I've read reviews elsewhere accusing the book of being too "safe" for five stars, and that it didn't progress the story. I disagree.

This book is just tremendous, from open to close. It progresses the story, but it does so in a different way. Rather than another epic battle, Johns and Mahnke decide to slow things down a bit and reestablish the characters that make this whole series tick. Here we see Hal Jordan dealing with the unfortunate fallout of War of the Green Lanterns, while Sinestro deals with fallout of a different variety. These two sworn enemies are drawn together by events, and they have to work together, whether they like it or not.

This story represents a long-overdue slowdown in Green Lantern. For the last five years, Hal and company have been "warring" non-stop -- against the Sinestro Corps, the Red Lanterns, Larfleeze, the Star Sapphires, the Black Lanterns and, finally, each other. Here we're allowed to take a breather and remember what makes Hal Jordan tick, what truly drives Sinestro (hint: it's not "I'M EVIL AND LIFE MUST BE DESTROYED!") and how the people that matter to both men deal with their current lots.

This is a great continuation of the GL saga, with none of the baggage associated with other New 52 titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Green Lantern continues to shine under Geoff Johns' direction, September 13, 2012
This review is from: Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro (The New 52) (Hardcover)
I am a recent comic book enthusiast, having read many Batman, Superman and Green Lantern graphic novels. Over the last few months, I have read a good portion of Geoff Johns' Green Lantern stories, and he has done a tremendous job making Green Lantern not only relevant, but elevating him as a top tier superhero. I am only recently exposed to The New 52 movement and have some reservations on it as a whole considering the problems that appear to keep coming up. However, I was quite happy to learn that Green Lantern's story would continue where the incredible War of the Green Lanterns left off instead of starting over, providing a seamless transition for Green Lantern.

Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro has a slower, but great story and beautiful artwork. The only exception to the artwork in issue #6, a style I never have cared for and simply fails in comparison to the first five issues. This volume provides some great insight into both Hal Jordan and Sinestro, and is the start of what will likely become another great story with a very uncertain future. A solid four start graphic novel.

One final note. If you have not read War of the Green Lanterns, then I strongly recommend you do so, but before reading that, reading the Brightest Day arc would help too as some of the issues provide the setup to WOTGL. I also recommend reading them in chronological order (search: green lantern brightest day reading order). It is a lot to read and slightly cumbersome, but you will be in for a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Green Lantern Volume 1: Sinestro" Graphic Novel Review, June 2, 2012
By 
This review is from: Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro (The New 52) (Hardcover)
Fans of DC Comics' Green Lantern couldn't have expected what they received when the publishing giant relaunched the superhero's title as part of its New 52 initiative last year. Instead of a book that concentrated on the well-known incarnation of the character (Hal Jordan), they chose to center the action around the redemption of his biggest foe, Sinestro. Jordan figures into the story heavily, but it's his arch nemesis's motivations and conduct moving the storyline of "Green Lantern Volume 1: Sinestro" forward.

Fans of Green Lantern who were afraid they would totally recreate the character and make his past adventures obsolete need not worry. This is just an extension of what enthusiasts love about the character already, but gives new people a chance to jump in as well. "Green Lantern Volume 1: Sinestro" is great storytelling coupled with intricate and striking art. It's recommended reading for dedicated devotees of the character's adventures as well as newcomers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No backstory, February 5, 2014
By 
Michael H (Plymouth, PA) - See all my reviews
I am new to the series so I figured like the other New 52 comics, It's re-tell the origins of Hal Jordan/Green Lantern and go from there. Sadly it's not an origin story and is really a continuation from a previous story line under the New 52 name.

That being said, I had no issue with the volume itself nor the story aside from one big thing - There is no back story. You don't know how Hal lost his ring nor why the Guardians thought it was best that Sinestro become a green lantern again. You are just thrown into it with no explanation and I hate that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better new 52s, August 21, 2012
This review is from: Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro (The New 52) (Hardcover)
When I first got into comics Hal Jordan was the green lantern and considered him mostly cheesy and a waste to a cool super power and grew to love Green Lantern when Kyle Rayner took over the role. So when they moved Kyle Rayner to the back burner when Hal Jordan was returned tot he DC universe I was quite annoyed. Though I have to say I read the first issue and it was so good I bought this trade to read more. In this trade they continue on with exploring of the potential the rings possess and leave it open to more abilities down the road. What makes this trade shine though is the relationship between Hal and Sinestro as they are forced to work together. It is a interesting way to explore the two characters and is quite amusing since they still hate each other. This was my biggest surprise of the new 52 just because I was planning on disliking any Hal Jordan book, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well needed, July 25, 2012
This review is from: Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro (The New 52) (Hardcover)
As someone else stated, Green Lantern readers have gotten a well needed change of pace in this book. Since Green Lantern rebirth, Hal Jordan and the rest of the corps have been battling non-stop. This book shows the result all the wars have had on Hal and the rest of the corps involved. I think that Geoff Johns did a great job showing the effects being a full time Green Lantern has had on Hal's life. Thinking that Hal's life would not change after being off the planet for months at a time is extremely unrealistic. Also,I love the fact that Sinestro is a green lantern once again. I think that it gives the book a well needed change in dynamics. Even though he's wearing a green ring, Geoff Johns doesn't paint Sinestro as a hero, in fact, Sinestro kills someone in every last issue he's been in as a Green Lantern! The change in pace has been good for the story and has allowed us to get reinvested in the main characters as we strap in for the upcoming alpha war! Great Book and awesome series so far! Keep it up Geoff and Doug!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Direction, October 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro (The New 52) (Hardcover)
Green Lantern Vol 1: Sinestro is an entire new direction for the Green Lantern Series. Not only has it slowed down for this particular volume, as Hal's not progressively saving the entire universe regularly in every issue as with the Blackest Night and Brightest Day story lines, but it has begun to sow the events that are going to begin major character growth. Finding out how Hal is without the Green Ring is surprising, as Hal is always portrayed as a strong headed individual with little to no cares in the world aside from his love life and even on that front he is a little dense. But moving him into a moment of great need in the real world is entertaining as are his interactions with Carol Ferris. The wrench in this particular direction is the reintroduction of Sinestro as a very reluctant Green Lantern once again. Not only has Sinestro become a green Lantern again, but his motives are being brought to the forefront as his characterization in John's eyes is effortlessly expanding. We find that Sinestro is not just a dictator, but also a man that has grown into the thoughts that he has the right idea for order in the universe. Putting him solely in charge of giving Hal a ring and having Hal at sinestro's mercy is a interesting plot point as well as a much needed team up between the two characters, as Hal and Sinestro are mortal enemies and yet somehow are forced to co exist for each others mutual benefit. As this story ins only the first volume I leave in the end craving much more especially after a glimpse into where the Green Lantern mythos are concerned. But my sole complaint is that this will be an extremely hard jumping point to get into the series for people that are brand new to the Green Lantern recent events. As a Huge fan I must suggest that you attempt to begin with Geoff John's earliest works on the Hal Jordan saga of the Green Lantern as it is one of the Few titles that have not gone into the full DC Universe reset after Flashpoint. Though I have to say that this book is fantastic and there is no way an GL fan should think of passing it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent story about GL's greatest villain: Sinestro!, October 31, 2012
This review is from: Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro (The New 52) (Hardcover)
While many of DC's properties are being rebooted, Green Lantern is one of the few series that remains nearly untouched by this massive overhaul. Geoff Johns, one of the greatest DC writers out there, once again takes the reins of the Green Lantern series to offer a new, more lighthearted take on the character. In "Green Lantern: Sinestro," the Guardians take away Hal Jordan's power ring due to his history of reckless and tragic behavior (like becoming Parallax, for one thing), and he's forced to attempt a normal life and start up a new relationship with Carol Fenris. Jordan's power ring selects a new host, much to the surprise of pretty much everyone: Sinestro, former intergalactic terrorist and arch-enemy of the Green Lantern Corps. Sinestro isn't pleased about this, to say the least, but realizes there are a few things he needs to do. As such, he teams up with Hal Jordan and gives him a self-made power ring, and the two head off to take care of Sinestro's past demons. But when the Guradians begin to order a new Corps-- one that doesn't require either of our two protagonists-- the trouble thats brewing may be too much this pair of galactic guardians!

As the title implies, the book focuses heavily on Sinestro, and I liked that. Sinestro has always been one of DC's most interesting villains due to his moral code and attitude, and Johns does fans a real justice when he digs more into ol' Thaal's background. Reading this book was a lot like watching a buddy cop movie, as Sinestro's cold, calculative, and twisted view of justice clashes with Hal Jordan's brashness. The art was great, and the action scenes, while not overly-plentiful, certainly had an "epic" scale and feel.

The problem with this book is that, as I mentioned before, this book is pretty much unaffected by the New 52 reboot. As such, new readers or comic fans who haven't been following Green Lantern comics the past few years will get lost. Characters will jump in and out who will only be familiar to more serious fans, and the whole plot thread about the Guardians wanting a new Corps is pretty much dropped as the book goes on. And, as with other hardcover collections, the text can be occasionally cut off.

Ultimately, though, this was an enjoyable read. Although the story can be jumbled and it definitely isnt merciful to new fans, it does dive more into Sinestro's character (which I enjoyed), and the artwork was terrific. It's certianly not a bad book but it's also not anything past "good enough."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro (The New 52)
Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro (The New 52) by Geoff Johns (Hardcover - May 22, 2012)
$22.99 $15.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.