Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hal Jordan and Friends vs. Everyone Else
"Blackest Night" brought forth the War of Light, an accumulation of year's worth of GL build-up and lore to the epitome of summer block-buster qualities, and re-established Hal Jordan as a top-tier character right next to Batman and Superman. To think that after such an event could be followed up, but in a very different vein called "Brightest Day", an entire DC wide...
Published on November 22, 2011 by Anarchy in the US

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
Fun and exciting read from one book to the next. Was sad to finish the series. Wish I could read more
Published 11 months ago by victor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hal Jordan and Friends vs. Everyone Else, November 22, 2011
This review is from: Green Lantern: War of the Green Lanterns (Hardcover)
"Blackest Night" brought forth the War of Light, an accumulation of year's worth of GL build-up and lore to the epitome of summer block-buster qualities, and re-established Hal Jordan as a top-tier character right next to Batman and Superman. To think that after such an event could be followed up, but in a very different vein called "Brightest Day", an entire DC wide event that was about re-building everything lost from Blackest Night. And for the most part, it was quite engaging. But where many others were rebuilding what they lost, another problem arose in the world of the GL's. Another threat was on the horizon that could lead into another great universal disaster. And this time, it isn't about fighting a universe of dead characters...it's about fighting every living fellow lantern and ideology they...and Hal Jordan stand for.

GREEN LANTERN: WAR OF THE GREEN LANTERNS collect issues GREEN LANTERN #63-67, GREEN LANTERN CORPS #58-60, and GREEN LANTERN: EMERALD WARRIORS #8-10. WOTGL opens up directly after Green Lantern: Brightest Day where we left off with Krona, the renegade guardian, who had acquired all of The Entities of the various 7 lantern corps and disappears into deep space, with Hal Jordan and each representative of there respected corps (Sinestro, Carol Ferris, Atrocitus, Saint Walker, Indigo-1, and Larfleeze) following right behind. The group goes to the Lost Sector planet of Ryut to find Krona's lair, and find many questions regarding Krona and the Guardians past, and even find The Book of the Black (the book from Blackest Night). The book manages to trap all of the lanterns inside, except Hal and the lanterns power rings, which Hal saves for later. During this time, the Guardians are fed up with years of Hal's disobedience and send a group of GL's after Hal to arrest him. After this, Krona shows up in front of the Guardians and infects each guardian with an Entity spirit, and puts the embodiment of Fear Parallax back in the main GL power battery, making every single being who wears a GL ring under Krona's control. All except those that have been already been exposed to Parallax can resist it for a short period of time though, which includes Hal Jordan, Guy Gardner, John Stewart, Kyle Rayner, Kilowag, and Ganthet to save the day. OH. And did I mention the guys can't use there GL rings for fear of being controlled by Krona? Yeah, the stakes just blew up!

If you're worried about collecting the other volumes GREEN LANTERN CORPS (Green Lantern Corps: The Weaponer) and GREEN LANTERN: EMERALD WARRIORS (Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors, Vol. 1) that lead up to WOTGL, then don't worry, there not necessary. To help you catch up with what happened; GL Corps simply explains where Kyle and Ganthet went. While GL:EW explains what Kilowag and Guy were doing (though it somewhat sets up WOTGL). But again, there not necessary, but they do help with having prior experience leading up to the event. Though I strongly suggest reading GREEN LANTERN: BRIGHTEST DAY, because other then being a really enjoyable book, it sets up everything in WOTGL and it really makes the title that much more significant in scope and understanding.

Getting back to WOTGL, I won't give away any more info regarding what happens next, because there is a lot of stuff going on this book, all of which is pretty exciting to watch unfold. Ever wonder what really lead to the Manhunters to make them go crazy? What about seeing the first power ring? Even hearing the origin of the GL Oath perhaps? A quick glimpse of Larfleeze when he was a young being? Or what about Indigo-1 knowing Abin Sur when she wasn't so "compassionate"? Yes, there are some fun questions and answers to be found in this book, and there are plenty of other twists and fandom that happen in the story.

This book easily rank's just has high as the other titles from Geoff Johns work on GL since he started (And not to dismiss Peter Tomasi and Tony Bedard's writing on this book either. They too have written some great GL material). In many ways, it's also has nods to each of those titles, furthering the GL lore. But what makes this so good is the action! If you loved Green Lantern: The Sinestro Corps War and Blackest Night, then your going to love this. It actually borrows from both of those titles (and Green Lantern: Rebirth) and WOTGL plays out like Sinestro War and BL combined together and came out like this...but with a lot more emphasis on the color spectrum this time around. Again, I don't want to give things away, but you're probably thinking: "How are these guys going to take on an entire GL corps, six-Entity based guardians, and an all-powerful and knowing rouge guardian?!" Yeah you got to see it to believe what happens. The sheer magnitude of the title trumps everything before it. GL: Rebirth saw Hal and friends fight off Parallax by themselves. Sinestro Corps War saw two armies fight each other to the death. Blackest Night saw a world-wide zombie attack against the few living fractions fighting to stay alive. WOTGL see's a small group of guys fighting just about everybody with what little resources they have. It's one fun under-dog story that is well worth seeing how it plays out.

Now if there was any flaws in the title I could think of, it'd have to be just two things come to mind. One is the "Catch em' all" effect in the title. I can't really explain it too much because it would give away some major plot twist, but some might not like this and some might really enjoy this. You know how I mentioned Hal didn't get trapped in The Book of the Black AND all of the other power rings were picked up by Hal? You'll see. It's a fandom decision that is plot heavy in story, but some might not like this plot device. It might feel like it's a cheap way to carry the story. I didn't feel this way though, because I thoroughly enjoyed it. I'm just giving people a heads up.

The other problem, and this might sound weird, but it might make you feel "lantern'd out". Since Johns took over the reigns of Hal Jordan in 2004, he's been on a roller-coaster ride ever since. And since Rebirth took 5 years of build-up to get to Blackest Night, fans hung on for the ride. Then Brightest Day sort of leaned off the action and took a small, slower pace of recover for fans. GL:BD still had action in it, but it was cool down period in general. Then comes WOTGL, where we get thrown right back into the heavy action from before. This flow might wear readers out from years of continuous action. If you have been following Johns GL run, he still uses a familiar pattern that does seem predictable by now with a rinse-repeat effect, so don't expect any new surprises in how the book flows. But I totally enjoyed the book, but again, there might be people out there who might feel tired of all that stuff.

--SIDE NOTE--: This has nothing to do with the review of the book itself, but this might help anyone who is currently reading the New 52 comics of GL, which takes place right after this book ends. I know many people who just picked up the current comics of GL and have never read any previous GL material, and might be interested in looking into the previous material to help them with catch-up in the GL lore. This book is difficult to consider to new readers, because GL and Batman never had a reboot in New 52, so nothing starts from scratch, and it all carries over for story. WOTGL is an excellent book that leads into the New 52 for Hal Jordan...but if you're a new reader and want to learn more about GL lore and how Hal got to where he currently is, if you pick this book up, you'll be doing a lot of back-tracking that goes up 6 years worth GL material to get you caught up. Or some time on Wikipedia can help you out as well. As GL fan, I feel its well-worth picking up all of Geoff Johns material on GL (if you're into it). Besides, if you decide to stay on GL from here on out, you'll probably going to have to back-track at some point down the line to further understand whats going on. Just keep that in mind and expect it. If you don't want to exhaust your self in a lot of material, then don't pick this book up and just enjoy Hal's DC 52 starting point currently. Hope this helps. -------

GREEN LANTERN: WAR OF THE GREEN LANTERNS is a fun, excellent read. It's got many little twist, a lot of action, plenty of reading material for a great price (Amazon pricing is a steal for this book), and it's the last book of Hal Jordan before the New DC 52. Its well worth checking it out on many things that leads into those events. This is a must have for GL fans, and I recommend it to new readers as well (just be prepared to do some catching up material).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word? Incredible, September 8, 2012
This review is from: Green Lantern: War of the Green Lanterns (Hardcover)
Allow me to preface my review that a year ago, I had read virtually no comic books. My exposure to superheroes was through primarily through Saturday morning cartoons in the 90s, and later theatrical movies. I knew very little of Green Lantern, other than what the movie released, so I am only recently becoming acquainted with his character. In the last four months, I have had the pleasure, and sometimes displeasure, of reading many great and bad Batman, Superman and Green Lantern graphic novels. Naturally my reading also included what many to consider the greatest graphic novels of all time. So where does War of the Green Lanterns rank? I consider it to be among the best I have read.

If you have not read the Brightest Day comics, you might want to, at least the ones that tie directly to War of the Green Lanterns. I planned my reading of Brightest Day, reading the series in chronological order, which required going from one book to another between the seven Green Lantern Brightest Day novels. Though cumbersome, it was worth the effort and helped paved the way for WOTGL. Search "Brightest Day Reading Order" and you will a number of useful results (I used a link from comicvine).

War of the Green Lanterns is an incredible novel with a great plot and beautiful artwork. Geoff Johns has crafted some great stories, and this is among his absolute best. There are many surprises along the way, and the ending? Wow. After everything that just happened, THAT happens? Mind. Blown. I want to elaborate, I really, really do, but it is better if you read it for yourself. An amazing read and you will only be cheating yourself if you ignore it. Batman is probably my favorite superhero, but lately the Green Lantern character has grown on me, and this graphic novel only helps his case even more. Do yourself a favor and read Geoff Johns' work, you will be in for a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic GL book from Geoff Johns & Co., March 5, 2012
By 
N. Beitler "Avid Reader" (Aurora, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Green Lantern: War of the Green Lanterns (Hardcover)
Title: Green Lantern: War of the Green Lanterns (HC)
Publisher: DC
Writers: Geoff Johns, Tony Bedard, Peter J. Tomasi
Artists: Doug Mahnke, Tyler Kirkham, Fernando Pasarin, Ed Benes, Ardian Syaf (pencils), Christian Alamy, BATT, Ed Benes, Vincente Cifuentes, Keith Champagne, Mick Gray, Rob Hunter, Mark Irwin, Jay Leisten, Tom Nguyen, Andy Owens, Sean Parsons, Jack Purcell, Cam Smith (inks) Gabe Eltaed, Randy Mayor, Rob Reis, Nei Ruffino (colors), Ivan Reis, Oclair Albert, Rod Reis (covers)
Collects: Green Lantern #63-67, Green Lantern Corps #58-60, Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors #8-10
Price: $29.99

As you can see from the long list, above, this book is the very definition of a collaborative effort, and makes a strong case if favor of forgoing the monthly "floppies" and just sticking to trade paperbacks. Rather than trying to read this story over the course of five months and by buying 11 issues from three different on-going series, it is soooooo much easier to read these kinds of stories once they are collected into one, complete book. I quit buying monthly issues many years ago, as events like this just drove me crazy. I am very pleased that the current trend in the comic industry is to [eventually] collect nearly every story arc into a single book. I have fully embraced this concept, and more are doing it all the time. But, I digress...

I'd like to call this book the climax to recent events in the Green Lantern corner of the universe, but it seems a bit redundant, as the Green Lantern books seem to have a "climax" of sorts every year or so. In my opinion, the Green Lantern books have been the best offerings out of the DC stable for the past five years - ever since Hal Jordan was brought back to prominence in the book Green Lantern: Rebirth. The books have sported high-adventure, beautifully illustrated sci-fi epics since that time, and this book is another culminating event for the plot threads that have been laid down over the past year.

Like the other grand space opera epics that the previous GL books have brought us, this one is full of countless characters, inventive and interesting story-telling, and rendered by some of the finest illustrators, inkers, and colorists in the business. Every page is filled with eye-candy, and it's hard to believe that the book has been able to keep the level of quality this high, for this long, but, here, they pull it off, again. Kudos to the whole team!

The story-telling in the book is engaging, and every character acts as you would believe they would. I won't spoil anything, here, as I really do want people to give this book a read and enjoy it to the fullest. If you haven't been reading the GL books for the past five years, you are really in for a treat! Go back and read them all to get the full dose of goodness!

The book ends with a sort of cliff-hanger (as many of the GL events, do), and it will be interesting to see where things go from here. I plan on reading the follow-up book, War of the Green Lanterns: Aftermath, very soon! I highly recommend this book to all GL fans and fans of sci-fi epics!

Writing: 9/10
Artwork: 9/10
Cool Factor: 9/10
Value: 9/10

Overall: 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geoff Johns is A Genius!, December 31, 2011
This review is from: Green Lantern: War of the Green Lanterns (Hardcover)
Just when I think the Green Lantern series was tapering off and was starting on the downhill slide, I get broadsided by this sheer amount of awesomeness!

This is seriously the second best Green Lantern story I have ever read, the first being Blackest Night.

The artwork was incredible and the story was mind-blowing. I had never thought of any of the Earth based Lanterns using any ring other than green. With the exception of Guy Gardener and his bout with the Red Lanterns.

The ending is a big surprise, and it has me eager for whatever DC Comics has up their sleeves for this series. This is another must have for any fan of this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another epic battle for the Corps, June 10, 2012
Well, here it is -- the story that has been building since the end of "Blackest Night."

Geoff Johns' story of the return of one of the Guardians' oldest foes, Krona, takes us through another of his patented summer action events, and it delivers in nearly every regard.

Is it as suspenseful as Blackest Night? No. Is it as perfectly written and drawn as the Sinestro Corps War? No. Is it a really good comic book event filled with great characters? Absolutely.

The book switches between three titles: Green Lantern (written by Johns and drawn by Doug Mahnke), Green Lantern Corps (written by Tony Bedard and drawn mostly by Tyler Kirkham) and Emerald Warriors (written by Peter Tomasi). The writers/artists do a remarkably good job of coordinating during this story, because (for the most part) it does indeed feel like one cohesive story rather than a series of semi-related events.

Each of the four Earth-based Green Lanterns gets his chance to shine throughout this arc. Guy Gardner, in particular, stands out. The chapter in which he and Hal Jordan have a ... discussion ... is my favorite in the entire book. Johns' writing is top-notch, and Mahnke draws terrific battle scenes.

Krona is a very interesting villain, arguably moreso than Nekron. In fact, his character is so interesting that I had to remove one star from my review because of an anticlimactic moment involving his character's fate.

Regardless of that concern, the book ends with one of Johns' best cliffhangers, and the story provides a lot of great character moments for Hal, Guy, John, Kyle and even Kilowog. "War of the Green Lanterns" is a terrific book and a worthy successor to the epic events that preceded it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The final showdown!, August 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern: War of the Green Lanterns (Hardcover)
War of the Green Lanterns continues the story from Green Lantern Brightest day,so I would advise everyone to read it before getting into WOTGL.

WAR OF THE GREEN LANTERNS collect issues GREEN LANTERN #63-67, GREEN LANTERN CORPS #58-60, and GREEN LANTERN: EMERALD WARRIORS #8-10.

This book feels like an ending and a new beginning.
The story focuses on the human Green Lanterns and pretty much takes everyone else out of the picture. I must say that my expectations were really
big and have not been met in every way. But this is still a great read with a lot of action,character depth and breath taking moments. I felt that
the pacing of the book was kinda off, where some parts were dragged out some felt too short.Im also a bit dissapointed that the other members of the
corps did not have a bigger part in this event. The art is great and consistent. The chapters by Geoff and Mahnke were the strongest. While not perfect
this book is a must have for every GL fan,the events in this book will change the world of Green Lantern forever.

The price feels like a steal!
4/5 8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War of the green lanterns, June 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern: War of the Green Lanterns (Hardcover)
this book was awesome.it is filled with some much things that you wont be able to know everything. The color and images was good and best of the story plot was great... especailly the part where something shocking happens :D... gotcha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best D.C Series Right Now, April 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern: War of the Green Lanterns (Hardcover)
Thank goodness the Green Lantern series did not get a reboot. This is a very compelling story and interesting concept. What will you do if you had to stop your friends and the people you work with. Hal is the lead character but Guy, John, and Kyle shine as well. The story is well written, fluid typical Geoff Johns writing. The ending is a nice surprise. A must read for Green Lantern fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, March 11, 2012
This review is from: Green Lantern: War of the Green Lanterns (Hardcover)
I will not rewrite all of what as aleady been said by other reviewers. But, i will say that for me, this book has been one of the best Green Lantern i have read. The Art is very well done, and the story kept me on edge all the way through. I found this book to be as good if not better than the Sinestro Corps War, which i really enjoyed. I would say this book is better then Blackest Night. Maybe because i was expecting more from Blackest Night and not as much from this one. Nevertheless, this book was really worth the money i paid for it in my opinion.

Overall, i really enjoyed this book and i recommend it for Green Lanterns Fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Modern Day Green Lantern Classic, But With Some Flaws, May 30, 2013
By 
DSTorre (Cebu, Philippines) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Green Lantern: War of the Green Lanterns (Hardcover)
Many reviewers already posted deep reviews about this book, so I wont go to the story details much(also to prevent you from reading spoilers or even ideas about the plot, which is annoying to me when reading books).

First of all, this Green Lantern event consists of the 3 core Green Lantern books - Green Lantern, Green Lantern Corps and Green Lantern Emerald Warriors. Each book take turns and interweave to create this story. "War of the Green Lanterns" starts where "Green Lanterns Brightest Day" ends. In fact, they are very much connected that you should read the latter first if you have not yet.

So again, without deep, this is another Green Lantern classic tale. Some shocking moments and lots of awesome ones. Must have for all Green Lantern fans or even fans of super heroes/space adventures. But it is not without its flaws... Writers of Green Lantern(Geoff Johns) and Green Lantern Emerald Warriors(Peter Tomasi) compliment eachother, it is like you forget it is written by different writers. The characterization is spot on. I can't say the same for Tony Bedard, writer of Green Lantern Corps. He let the characters explain EVERY action as if talking to a third grader. Even on scenes where the action speaks for itself, Bedard makes the characters talk about the whys and hows! It is distracting from the overall story, and almost insulting to your intelligence.

As of the art, once again, the art of Green Lantern(Mahnke) and Green Lantern Emerald Warriors(Pasarin) are almost similar, smooth, clean and bright. While Kirkham's(Green Lantern Corps)art is too rough and sketchy. It is not bad, in fact, it is still quite good, but once again, with one big story, it kinda detracts from the overall experience, where the art changes style after every few issues. But I guess that is the case of these type of events - where different titles mesh into one big story.

Another complain I have is the ending. It seemed so rushed - from the final battle to the consequences... especially the consequences - too rushed. Before the ending, the pacing was ok, in fact, some issues are dedicated to just a few actions, but in the last issue, everything happens so fast, which led me to go "is that it?!" when I realized that was the last page!

Overall, it is still a great Green Lantern event. Not the best, but def. one of the good ones! Oh and only variant covers(one for each issue) for the bonus of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Green Lantern: War of the Green Lanterns
Green Lantern: War of the Green Lanterns by Geoff Johns (Hardcover - November 22, 2011)
Used & New from: $13.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.