Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rion backyard greenhouse
Seems to be well designed and of good quality. Assembly bolts very soft aluminum that easily break if tightened too much or loosened and retightened. Stainless steel bolts would be a better choice. No spare bolts or screws included in kit so if some are damaged or broken you have to go buy replacements. Assembly time somewhat longer than anticipated as there are many...
Published on December 17, 2007 by P. J. Fast

versus
90 of 95 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Greenline Greenhouse
While I was impressed with the packaging and speed of delivery that was the end of my satisfaction. The greenhouse is very cheaply constructed and unless you are 4 feet tall total useless without an extention to the base. It took just over 3 hours to assemble and this includes going to the hardware store to replace the cheap aluminum screws they sent, 8 of them broke...
Published on November 19, 2007 by Kozski


Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 95 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Greenline Greenhouse, November 19, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greenline 6-by-8-Foot Backyard Hobby Greenhouse (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Lawn & Patio)
While I was impressed with the packaging and speed of delivery that was the end of my satisfaction. The greenhouse is very cheaply constructed and unless you are 4 feet tall total useless without an extention to the base. It took just over 3 hours to assemble and this includes going to the hardware store to replace the cheap aluminum screws they sent, 8 of them broke while tightening and of course there where no extras sent. The panels used are of the cheapest plastic known to man, you would think for this price they would be double pane but nooooo. Avoid this RION GREENLINE or RION HOBBY Greenhouse, unless you buy it for $99.00. That's what it is worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rion backyard greenhouse, December 17, 2007
This review is from: Greenline 6-by-8-Foot Backyard Hobby Greenhouse (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Lawn & Patio)
Seems to be well designed and of good quality. Assembly bolts very soft aluminum that easily break if tightened too much or loosened and retightened. Stainless steel bolts would be a better choice. No spare bolts or screws included in kit so if some are damaged or broken you have to go buy replacements. Assembly time somewhat longer than anticipated as there are many small parts. Instructions easier to follow than many other products I have put together.
Everything fit OK and so far the greenhouse has worked well as temps dropped into mid 20s. A very small ceramic heater has kept temps in the 40s and 50s on it's lowest setting.
An attractive small greenhouse for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NICE GREENHOUSE, May 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greenline 6-by-8-Foot Backyard Hobby Greenhouse (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Lawn & Patio)
PROS:
1.VERY ATTRACTIVE
2.QUALITY MATERIALS
3.FAIRLY EASY TO ASSEMBLE- READ AND FOLLOW INSTRUCTION EXACTLY
CONS:
1.LOW HEADROOM
2.BOLTS BREAK EASILY...NO EXTRAS...SPECIALTY MADE BOLTS, HARD TO FIND AT HARDWARE STORES...IF NEED EXTRA BOLTS, YOU NEED TO ORDER FROM COMPANY

WITH THAT SAID, I AM VERY PLEASED WITH FINISHED PRODUCT. I RAISED MY GREEN HOUSE USING 2 BY 6 TREATED LUMBER. THIS PROVIVES 6 IN. MORE HEADROOM. HELPFUL HINT - DO NOT TIGHTEN ANY BOLTS UNTIL ASSEMBLY IS FINISHED.....ALL IN ALL A GOOD LITTLE GREENHOUSE.
FYI-- THIS SAME GREENHOUSE (EXCEPT FOR THE COLOR) SELLS FOR $200 LESS. IT IS CALLED THE RION SILVER HOBBY GREENHOUSE ...CHECK IT OUT ON THIS SITE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Met our needs, January 19, 2010
This review is from: Greenline 6-by-8-Foot Backyard Hobby Greenhouse (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Lawn & Patio)
We purchased one of these greenhouses. As one reviewer pointed out, it is a little on the low side, so far as overhead is concerned. We planned on building the house on ground that was not perfectly level, so we made a base out of landscape timbers - eight to be exact - for a base two timbers high. The timbers were anchored to the ground with eight pieces of rebar, two foot in length. The house is anchored to the base with three inch screws and collar washers. This moved the house up adequately for overhead. Because the base and sill were so high, a few cinder blocks were stacked on both sided of the door to serve as crude steps, making is easier to enter and exit. The greenhouse is securely attached to the base. Simple racks were built for the inside using 2x2 lumber and powder-coated closet shelves. Weed shield and mulch were used to cover the ground inside the structure.

An earlier reviewer was correct about the aluminum bolts. We had to order additional bolts from a UK supplier - there were no suppliers in the US at the time we received the greenhouse. It all went together pretty well, with the exception of the aluminum bolts. I feel better about being prepared for any damage in the future with a stash of the bolts.

The structure itself presents a lot of resistance to the wind. One bad night of wind blew out a number of panels. We used silicone caulk to reattach them, as suggested by another reviewer. The gutter that holds the original clamp strip in to secure the panels is quite deep, and can take a lot of caulk to secure a panel. This year we are going to order replacement clamp strips and try caulking the edge of them - hopefully this will use less caulk. If you are going to go the caulk route, use rubbing alcohol to clean surfaces where the caulk is going to bond.

My wife wanted a greenhouse in time for Spring, the year we bought it. I had intended to make a house out of hog panels and poly sheeting, but she didn't want to wait for me to get my butt moving. Would we buy it again, with experience? It did make a quick greenhouse. Even with the addition of landscaping timbers for a base, we would have completed construction in a day - if not for the problem with broken bolts. It went up quickly and all the pieces fit. All parts were present in the package. It is a quick solution. We might.

We are considering modifying the house for additional air flow during the warmer months. We also plan to try a tarp to partially cover the roof. It gets awfully hot in the house on sunny days. For the winter we have old milk jugs, painted black and filled with water, to serve as heat batteries. They don't so much provide heat as much as keeping the inside of the greenhouse above freezing. This is in Tennessee - I wouldn't expect this to work in Wisconsin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why did I buy this, April 27, 2008
This review is from: Greenline 6-by-8-Foot Backyard Hobby Greenhouse (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Lawn & Patio)
The shipping company that was used was very slow and in no hurry to deliver. They had it for 4 days and were only an hour in half away from my house. It took 12 hrs to build, by my husband, who usually can knock things out with a few hours to spare. It is nice to look. There are no spare parts, 2 things were broken upon arrival and we waited another week for the spare parts to arrive. Some of the strips do not fit right and have to be trimmed down to size. Screws are aluminum, very fragile. Shipping is $50 and tax around $50. So add that to the price. The overall quality is not worth mentioning. For the price, you can build a bigger, better, double paned greenhouse with materials from your hardware store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Looks nice but beware of the windows!, July 9, 2009
By 
Brent (Angwin, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greenline 6-by-8-Foot Backyard Hobby Greenhouse (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Lawn & Patio)
This greenhouse looks nice however the plastic strips that hold the windows in are difficult to secure properly and will pop-out when the wind blows or the sun heats them up so they curl-up and come out. We contacted the company and they sent more strips which I decided to "glue" into place with my caulking gun and some clear silicone. It was still difficult to get all the windows secure. We finally took the thing apart and returned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rion 6X8 Greenhouse, March 18, 2008
This review is from: Greenline 6-by-8-Foot Backyard Hobby Greenhouse (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Lawn & Patio)
Very nice green house and I got it at a discount price. Wait for quite some time before receive it. Very satisfy after installation. Good for small back yard and well worth the money spend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars missing parts. company dodges questions., February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greenline 6-by-8-Foot Backyard Hobby Greenhouse (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Lawn & Patio)
missing parts, and mfg. co. dodge questions about product placing entire blame on you. Making you out to be an idiot. They can shove it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.