Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 15, 2009
I'm a video producer who has used Greenscreen technology for years, but found some techniques to improve my shots in this manual. Has good information on video cameras and background setup. The Adobe "On Location" and "Ultra" software mentioned in this book offer good results. "Ultra" is especially helpful in creating clean keys when shooting with low-end professional cameras. I also used input from this book to evaluate and buy a new greenscreen background with support stands. All in all, a useful book.
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2009
This book is easy to read even my english is not good.i come form china and i can read chapter 11 - 19 really clear. really easy to understand and this book is for any level you are.

chapter 1-10 seems like for the Camera man,talking about the easy way to creat a green screen shot.chapter11-19 about post working..

even i have done the Compositing work for 5 years i still find some great stuff in this book.thx to michele and jeremy.

BTW,,,if you are a Mac user,and you using final cut pro or motion .After effects you should get this book!
0Comment18 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2009
This is a fantastic book, packed with useful and often unexpected information. I highly recommend it. Best single chromakey resource I've ever seen - and I have a shelf of these books. I truly wish more resource / how-to books were as great as "Greenscreen Made Easy".
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2009
As the 21st century unfurls, it becomes more obvious every day that the new breed of digital filmmakers that wish to tell their stories effectively must understand the intricacies of post-production technique. Critic and visual effects expert Jeremy Hanke has teamed up with web designer Michele Yamazaki to provide any filmmaker (beginner to pro) the necessary tools to get the job done.
They say that "God is in the details" and this book tackles its subject with a logical progression of information. It starts by discussing the chromakey process itself and whether to buy or build the greenscreen, Then following a logical workflow; it addresses the issues of lighting and camera technique which will render clean keys.
Production ideas for creative greenscreen utilize the feature film Sin City as an example.
Chapter 10's production rules to shoot by are worth the price of the book by itself, but there is so much more. Chapter 14 provides a look at third party plug-ins: keying plug-ins for After Effects, Final Cut Pro and Motion.
The book's concluding chapters discuss troubleshooting, making your composite look believable and, once again, drawing from Sin City, how to blend 3-D backgrounds with keyed footage.
An important book for the digital filmmaker that deserves a spot on yo
11 comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2009
"In this new world of set extensions done via computer-generated imagery, shooting actors in front of green screen will become much more common at every level of filmmaking. As such, everyone from the skilled film stylist to the amateur videographer will be shooting some manner of their work in front of greenscreen then keying out the green in programs such as Adobe After Effects, Final Cut Pro, and of course, Avid. Thus, this new volume, which teaches the process from the very basics upward, is essential for all manner of directors and directors of photography. You will learn the nuts and bolts of the process and will soak in every word. My only question is, "Where was this book when I was first shooting green screen in the 1990s?"
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2009
Great book... totally demystifies the greenscreen process... which is great-- especially if you're a luddite like me-- because it makes previously intimidating techniques and capabilities suddenly available to filmmakers of all levels! If you're a filmmaker, especially without many resources or access to resources, this book will help blow open the door to making just about any type of movie.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2010
The book has very good information about green screen. A lot of tips, where to find good stuff, how to make good greenscreens, but is very disapointing to see
the pictures used for examples to see the effects of some filters to make a good croma key are in black and white and NOT in color... So you cannot distinguish one example against other.
55 comments4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2014
What It's About: Green Screen Made Easy is a book written for independent filmmakers who want to incorporate visual effects backgrounds into their films.

Why I Read It: I've always found visual effects backgrounds fascinating in movies, and I wanted to learn more about how green screen is done.

What I Liked About It: This book is a very user friendly book that makes several very complicated concepts more understandable. The authors break down what greenscreening or "chromakeying" is and how it works. They make it clear that there are limitations to chromakeying if you don't have a lot of money for a production. You're especially limited if you don't have an expensive HD camera. However, after explaining the limitations, they explain what you can do with green screen. There's much you can do to compensate and create some great visual effects with green screen. The authors include some helpful information on creating your own green screen, explaining what type of green screen you'll want for the specific application you'll be using it for. The book covers lighting of both the green screen and the actors in front of it, camera placement, filming, and the actual chromakeying process in post-production. The authors explain green screen in an understandable way so that you have the knowledge to get started utilizing it in your own films.

Review copy provided by Michael Wiese Productions
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2010
Great introductory for beginners. If you are a beginner this is a great book because it breaks down the essentials of green screen work in an understandable way, and it lets you know what you are getting into before you start buying or building your green screen, buying software and lights. Green screen work is not an easy thing to get into and if you need a good primer then this is a great place to start. It is an easy read and you can probably finish the book in one or more sitting. So if you are a beginner know that you will have a lot more books and materials to buy/borrow if you want to be good at this. But this is a great place to start. If you are not a beginner and I would not recommend this book because it will be repetitive for you.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2012
I would like to say that I am glad I bought, and read this book BEFORE I wasted money on professional "Greenscreen gear"!

These people have put every single suggestion they make in this book to work from themselves. And they take you - by the hand - and show how it's done, how much it will cost you, where it should be applied and where.

I didn't even understand basic lighting techniques BEFORE I read the book; now I feel comfortable and confident I not only know - I understand it!

This book is worth every penny.
Thank you Jeremy Hanke and Michele Yamazaki SO much!

Thanks.

E
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse