Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Robert Greenwald Collection, February 11, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Robert Greenwald Documentary Collection (Uncovered/Outfoxed/Unconstitutional/Bonus Disc) (DVD)
This collection brings together three movies produced by Robert Greenwald in one inexpensive box. Please note these are movies produced by Greenwald; he driected two of the movies, but one, Unconstitutional, was directed by Nonny de la Peña.

The three movies are:

1) Uncovered. A selection of experts comes together to comment on the merits and logic of the intelligence on WMD that led us into the war to topple Saddam Hussein. Though the experts are not equally of one mind, they seem to agree that the arguments for war were unsound and the war is unjust. Please note, this is the original one-hour version of this film from late 2003, not the feature-length version released in 2004.

2) Unconstitutional. What were the circumstances behind the passage of the USA Patriot Act? What are its provisions? What are its ramifications? The sad fact is, no one seems to know. The language is muddy and incomprehensible, and as it is with your auto loan, so it is with your government: if you can't read the language and understand it yourself, someone is trying to hoodwink you.

3) Outfoxed. Media mogul Rupert Murdoch has his own idea what news should be, and it's not just cold hard facts. Media critics, journalists, former Fox employees, and others come together to dissect the Fox News Network and shed some light on the inner workings of its politically motivated machinery that take place out of sight of the public.

This collection also includes a disc of bonus content that embellishes on the content of the documentaries, showcases the publicity that has accompanied the films, and details some of the process of making and distributing the movies in a timely manner. This disc is, frankly, boring.

Not everyone will appreciate these films. Robert Greenwald and his creative team start with a position in mind and marshal evidence to support the conclusion they want. People so firmly entrenched in their beliefs that they don't want to hear other arguments will shut their eyes and ears, while people who agree with the positions in these films will only be ratified in what they already think.

But in a media environment that has fallen in love with the documentary film as a means of communicating ideas back and forth, Robert Greenwald has perfected the concept of reaching out to an audience without resorting to the slick urbanity of Morgan Spurlock or the self-superior smirk of Micheal Moore. This collection is a good way to get your hands on a thorough introduction to Greenwald's work. This collection is recommended for political fanatics, documentary afficianadoes, and film lovers looking to learn more about the world around them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every American Should Own this DVD Set, February 18, 2006
By 
Mr. P. Power (Chicago, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Robert Greenwald Documentary Collection (Uncovered/Outfoxed/Unconstitutional/Bonus Disc) (DVD)
At the risk of sounding like an old salesman... You can't afford not knowing this information Period. The Documentaries here are of good quality and well put together, from start to finish. They are a great place to start /or good for adding on to your civic library.

They Discuss some weighty topics and glimse into things are being done around us/you with/without your consent. We spend a great deal of our time feeding into the madness by not voiceing our opinion by not voting etc.. But at what price? By and large a great deal of people have become complacent to the crap going on around them, and the watered down news they are spoon-feed.

Among other things it's full of the underlying message that "things are just the way they are". "Don't bother" there's no use trying to change things, don't rock the boat. But what purpose and who does this message serve? Selling has gone hi-tech from being in your face on the street to being beemed into your house packaged slick, all contrived by guys with Phds after their name. The big Corps. know how to get their message "inside your head".

Information is a product, and the best defense to be had by the best sales team that money can buy. Information begets Power. Ultimate Power Leads to Corruption, and so on... (Also Check out the Movie "The Corporation") I think you know whos winning so far. It can be scary stuff to comtemplate for sure. And with threats that exist today on account of liberty we need to be cautious that our intentions are not misconstrued when we question authority figures.

But Look what just hapened with ENRON becuase of a very long Chain of people refused to question and demand proof of the spin that the CEO & Rank and file was putting out for years. This Chain included Many Bankers and Many Attorneys. For many years Enron execs. got away with it, until a young journalist stood up and said hey wait a minute! I understand very well how large corps. operate and what your telling me just dosen't add up! This young woman wrote an article for a magazine that got the whole ball to start unraveling! And in terms of the Business world she was a nobody! besure to see that movie (ENRON)too. It explains a lot of things as well.

Well, we really live in exciting times in more ways than one. Ha. Scary, maybe, Futile, no I don't believe so.

But, what you don't know about CAN hurt you and worse! Thats a fact! These Videos are a of a growing movement of people in all walks of life, that are trying to get out and share what they know. A veritable grass-roots movement, you'll never see these or anything like them on television. If you can't afford the money or the time to read all the books being written on these subjects,there are so many these days. Than videos like this are a great alternative. Many of the Facts and topics discussed can be verified and check to a great degree. A lot of Videos like this one use footage taken right from the news and reports that didn't get aired twice before they were yanked. A lot of people are connecting the dots. And lets face it videos are way more entertaining to watch!

This set includes 3 DVDS plus a Bonus One with Lots of Extra footage. There are well worth the modest price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Greenwald Documentaries are perfect for Introduction to Mass Media classes, January 4, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Robert Greenwald Documentary Collection (Uncovered/Outfoxed/Unconstitutional/Bonus Disc) (DVD)
I originally purchased this collection because it was the only place that I could find "Outfoxed," which I had wanted to use in my Introduction to Mass Media course. However, I found that its contents covered more than just the Murdoch documentary. "Uncovered" works well when the class is dealing with the chapter on Public Relations, in that it offers an in-depth look at spin control as well as crisis management. "Unconstitutional" works increadly well with the chapter on Legal Ethics and legalities involved in mass media. I haven't watched the bonus disc yet, but I highly recommend this collection to anyone teaching any type of journalism course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outfoxxed-Unconstitutional-Uncovered, February 21, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Robert Greenwald Documentary Collection (Uncovered/Outfoxed/Unconstitutional/Bonus Disc) (DVD)
These DVDs ought to be required viewing in every classroom and every household in America. They are extremely well done and absolutely riveting in exposing dangers inherent in the machinations that are driving our country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Viewing, February 22, 2007
This review is from: The Robert Greenwald Documentary Collection (Uncovered/Outfoxed/Unconstitutional/Bonus Disc) (DVD)
All of Greenwald's films should be shown free at theaters and available at public libraries. In addition, movie stars should pony up their funds and pay for these films to be shown on network TV, or at least cable. Stick one of these in place of American Idol one night. Half the people would change the channel for their usual mindless fluff. But maybe half would watch and that would be millions of potential Americans who might learn, and hopefully engage in the political system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars for a real patriot..., April 27, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Robert Greenwald Documentary Collection (Uncovered/Outfoxed/Unconstitutional/Bonus Disc) (DVD)
Anyone who truly believes in Democracy, and not mindless nationalism or flag-waving, this is for you. Outfoxed gathers together all the hypocrisy and right-wing bias of this so-called "fair and balanced" "news" organization in one DVD that even Bill O'Reilly couldn't argue with. Unconstitutional is a heart wrenching account of the innocent people whose rights have been affected by the Patriot Act, and Uncovered tells the tale that every American needs to hear, the lies told by so many that led us into the Iraq War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Anti-Bush Documentaries, November 4, 2008
This review is from: The Robert Greenwald Documentary Collection (Uncovered/Outfoxed/Unconstitutional/Bonus Disc) (DVD)
This is a collection of what I'm calling Anti-Bush documentaries produced or directed by Robert Greenwald. Unconstitutional actually directed by Renny de la Pena, is the outstanding documentary. It blows one away! It documents the loss of civil liberties after 9.11 by the Bush Administration. I watched it with a tense feeling in my throat. The law and the rights of Americans placed in the Constitution is very valuable to me. This movie shows how much we have lost and it threatens our democracy. The second best documentary is OUTFOXED about the bias in Fox News. I agree with the assessment that Fox News is very biased but lately I would argue that the bias has spread to MSNBC, CNN and many news shows as they vie for ratings and popularity. There is constant movement, noise, shouting and arguing in all news networks, yet real analysis and information is missing. There are topics that are dismissed or not even addressed. The loss of newspapers where most good reporting has gone on has contributed to the decline. The third documentary was not very good in my opinion. Uncovered is a frenetic and busy documentary about how Americans were lied to by their politicians before deciding to invade Iraq. The extended interviews in the extra features section are far more insightful and interesting than anything in the movie which is confusing and one is very happy when it ends. The forth DVD is a collection of extras for the collection. They are not necessarily helpful or insightful. Still for OUTFOXED and especially Unconstitutional are good documentaries to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Robert Greenwald Documentary Collection, May 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Robert Greenwald Documentary Collection (Uncovered/Outfoxed/Unconstitutional/Bonus Disc) (DVD)
His movies tell the truth, and he makes sure it is a fact, after he finds it. Get any movie he makes, it will be 5 star everytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch these videos, January 19, 2009
By 
Chris (LaCrosse, WI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Robert Greenwald Documentary Collection (Uncovered/Outfoxed/Unconstitutional/Bonus Disc) (DVD)
You won't get this on the news for the most part. Corporations don't profit when you're informed and that's why they control the news with heavy financing. If you're a mindless sheep, this is not for you, continue believing in Santa Clause and seeing the world as flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Timely, December 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Robert Greenwald Documentary Collection (Uncovered/Outfoxed/Unconstitutional/Bonus Disc) (DVD)
I have had this collection for several years. The revelations of phone hacking by News of the World reporters in UK prompted me to watch "Outfoxed" again. Greenwald's expose of the Murdoch Fox News organization was just as relevant in 2011. You will want to share this collection with friends after watching. "Outfoxed" exposes the Murdoch media empire as an extreme right opinion molding network instead of the "fair and balanced" news network it claims to be. Greenwald demonstrates how Murdoch likes to do things on the cheap in his efforts to shape public opinion with talk shows without having reporters in the field. You will want to see other reviews for assessments of the other videos in this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.