Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Accurate
Put these to the test first thing on my food scale. They're very accurate. Mine were only 7 grams off (571/578). Which I actually calculated to a 1.2% difference. That is VERY good. Highly recommend. You're welcome for me having OCD...
Published on February 16, 2012 by Mighty Mouse

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inside diameter too small
One of the two plates I bought wouldn't fit on any of the Olympic bars at my gym; the inside diameter was too small. I'm going to have to file away some material.

Edit: After 5-10 minutes of filing, the plate fit fine.
Published on May 14, 2012 by Charles Grayson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Accurate, February 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1 1/4 lb. Grey Machined Olympic Plates (Pair) (Misc.)
Put these to the test first thing on my food scale. They're very accurate. Mine were only 7 grams off (571/578). Which I actually calculated to a 1.2% difference. That is VERY good. Highly recommend. You're welcome for me having OCD...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sure, if you need em you should get em..., March 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1 1/4 lb. Grey Machined Olympic Plates (Pair) (Misc.)
The weights came exactly 7 days after I ordered them. They are a light gray color. A little too light gray so I ended up spray painting them to match my dark gray weight set. They came with an Ivanko sticker on them that said “made in china” and I peeled it off. Just like any good bodybuilder I have a food scale so I weighed them out: 1.28lbs and 1.26lbs. So you can see they aren’t exact but neither is the bar I use, I swear that thing is like a Texas bar. They fit my bar so I didn’t have to shave them or anything thank god.

I bought these plates because I’m doing 5/3/1 and adding 5lbs to my OHP every cycle will lead to quick stalling. Both Rippetoe and Wendler recommend micro loading so that’s what I plan to do.

Hope this review helps someone out there in amazon land. Total price paid: $17.95
PEACE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inside diameter too small, May 14, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1 1/4 lb. Grey Machined Olympic Plates (Pair) (Misc.)
One of the two plates I bought wouldn't fit on any of the Olympic bars at my gym; the inside diameter was too small. I'm going to have to file away some material.

Edit: After 5-10 minutes of filing, the plate fit fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1 1/4 lb. Grey Machined Olympic Plates (Pair) (Misc.)
I started strong lifts about a month ago and as a female, I wasn't strong enough to move up in weight by 5lbs every time I lifted. Since my gym's plates only go down to 2.5lbs I picked these up and have successfully been able to add 2.5lbs to my lifts every session. These fit the olympic barbells at my gym perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, March 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1 1/4 lb. Grey Machined Olympic Plates (Pair) (Misc.)
My new favorite piece of gym gear. Commercial gyms will typically only have 2.5lbs plates. 5lbs increases are too much after a certain point esp for things like bench press or press (though I've used these on squats and DL to good success). 2.5lbs increases are perfect. These provide that extra step and they fit easily in any gym bag. Solid construction and fits your standard bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars On less weightier matters..., January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ok. It says "Blemished". I think that means that the seller, as long as he put this in the description, can sell these items without having to worry about the claim that these "should" weigh 1.25 pounds. If you purchase these expect a variation of a pound, which is crazy if you ask me. Blemished usually denotes scratches or some other cosmetic defect. It seems the seller misleads intentionally. And since it costs more to ship back than the goods are worth and that makes it seem that the seller has a small, yet pretty good racquet going on.

So, I now have two chunks of metal with two inch holes in them that are better served as paper weights. My recommendation to anyone that is looking for fractional weights is to pay a little more money and get the real deal. Let my small experience here be your guide. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessary, May 16, 2011
If you find yourself plateauing on some lifts that are difficult to make 5 lb jumps on(cleans, overhead press, bench press) these weights are invaluable for loading at a pace your body can handle while still making significant progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is there not to like?, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1 1/4 lb. Grey Machined Olympic Plates (Pair) (Misc.)
They are made of steel, fit on an Olympic barbell and the weight is accurate. Makes a great paperweight for the lazy ones, but great for small increments on lifts like the press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relatively Good Plates, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Shipping was fast and prompt, despite the wait time. Even though it says blemished, I hardly noticed any major cosmetic flaws. There was some paint on the inside ring that had to be filed/picked off so it would fit onto the bar. Measured on a scale, each of these weighs 21.9 oz (1.369 lbs). This means that the combined weight is 43.8 oz (2.738 lbs). Optimally, these would each weight 20 oz (1.25 lbs). With a weight of 21.9, it's off 9.5% from the optimal weight. For the price, that isn't bad. You may want to look to more expensive plates if you're looking for less margin of error. Overall, it's what I expected for the price and an economical purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT!!!!, December 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Product was exactly 1.25lbs. Arrived fast and in new condition. I recommend this product to anyone looking for a pair of 1.25lb olympic plates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

1 1/4 lb. Grey Machined Olympic Plates (Pair)
Used & New from: $39.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.