Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious and Mysterious Romance
Lovers love, and whatever distance or mystery is tossed between them, they still will love. In "Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence" by Nick Bantock, we begin an intimate journey between two lovers destined to be enraptured in all that is dreamt of. They catapult the divide of geography and join mid-mail in a postal embrace, captured by Bantock in a sweet...
Published on February 20, 2003 by Brockeim

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A visual medium on AUDIO?
Took a chance and failed. Wonderfully read and produced, this seemed to be a way for the makers of the book to make extra cash fast. Read the books instead.
Published 23 months ago by M.K.


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious and Mysterious Romance, February 20, 2003
This review is from: Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence (Hardcover)
Lovers love, and whatever distance or mystery is tossed between them, they still will love. In "Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence" by Nick Bantock, we begin an intimate journey between two lovers destined to be enraptured in all that is dreamt of. They catapult the divide of geography and join mid-mail in a postal embrace, captured by Bantock in a sweet and phenomenal book.

Griffin is a postcard artist in England and Sabine is a stamp designer for a small Pacific island. Each is perceived as sublimely exotic to the other as they reveal the secrets of their lives through correspondence.

What is the romance of "Griffin & Sabine?" Besides being an 'extraordinary correspondence,' it is about two lovers who connect through the artistic passions they share. Like the romances that now happen through the internet, or the Victorian era correspondences, there is an innocence and delicacy to their exchanges of mail.

This is the romance which never happened in "84 Charing Cross Road." This is what the romance should've been in "You've Got Mail." This is what "Cyrano De Bergerac" could've been if not a tragedy.

Bantock dangles a sensuous, sumptuous step into the hearts of a fantasy based in a reality that the reader will smile, wondering if the writer knew someone like Sabine, if she has been created like Pygmalion sculpted Galatea.

Begin with "Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence" and follow their story through subsequent tales in other book.

--Brockeim
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful collection, worth more than a 5 star rating, December 22, 1999
This review is from: Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence (Hardcover)
From the moment I opened the first book of this trilogy, I was in love. A beautiful, mysterious story drawn out in real letters and postcards. The story is only heightened by the breathtaking artwork on each page. I highly recommend these books, and that you read them in order. Each has a sudden and mysterious ending that leaves you yearning for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you want to pick up a postcard and write a friend., November 24, 1998
By 
Frederic M. Rewey "Fredrrr" (Orlando, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Words can not describe what Nick Bantcock has combined with pictures and postcards. He actually pulls you in as you must open envelopes to read the ongoing correspondence. Buy a bottle of wine, build a fire and join your significant other for a journey that will not leave you disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure for those who have, will and are falling in love!, September 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence (Hardcover)
I was given this as a gift from my "extraordinary correspondent" 3000 miles away and it made me appreciate the joys of becoming entranced in the possiblity of love and the tingle of fear that comes when that love is real. Nick Bantock takes us on a journey, through love letters. Letters that the reader can actually remove from their envelope, open and read! For those of you who thought you were too old for "pop-up like books" you're in for a treat! The beautiful artwork only adds to the story. I can't wait to read book #2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For nosy romantics . . ., December 12, 2002
This review is from: Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence (Hardcover)
GRIFFIN & SABINE is the ultimate gift for the naturally curious. This peek into the correspondence between two people - with letters to open, postcards to read, handwriting to decipher - gives the reader the sensation of having stumbled upon a romantic mystery to which only the individual reader is privvy. The story is nothing much, but the discovery of it is exquisite. The art used to development the concept is engaging and not at all cutesy. Because of its interactive nature, this book feels intimately known, privately owned, a secret kept closed between the covers.
This is a great gift book. If you are looking for substantial reading, skip this, but if you want a diversion, something to explore and take in visually, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Magic, December 27, 2000
By 
This review is from: Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence (Hardcover)
I got this book as a gift from my girlfriend. I have to say it was the most intereting book I read all year. I love stories that can be told in a slightly different way than just flipping pages. The book makes you feel. There is so much mystery and romance as you read through the postcards and letters that make up the "pages" of the book.
Since reading through the whole trilogy, I have been using this book as a great gift click since everyone should be exposed to this fantasy. I think it is virually impossible for anyone to not like this book, unless they are against imagination, love, and mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The coolest book!!, January 5, 1999
By 
LYDIALION@aol.com (Chapel Hill, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence (Hardcover)
I'm a student, and my art teacher had this book on display for us. I read the first couple of pages and asked if I could take it home-where I quickly devoured it's beautiful art and awesome story. I can't wait to read the second and third book. It made me want to write letters with a fountain pen like Sabine does. I loved the story because I feel a little the same way about a person I email all the time, but have never met. If you're thinking about reading this book, I urge you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Across time and space..., September 2, 2006
Griffin and Sabine are located on opposite ends of the earth -- Griffin is a lonely artist in England, while Sabine is a mysterious native of the elusive Sicmon Island chain in the South Pacific. Somehow, these two unique souls manage to find one another via a postal correspondence, and it is this correspondence back and forth which comprises the Griffin and Sabine books. Griffin and Sabine come to realize very quickly that their lives are inextricably bound up with one another, and that their coming together, face to face, is of utmost importance, not only for their own sanity, but possibly for the fate of the very world. Unfortunately, meeting face to face is more difficult than each of them could ever have imagined, and their quest to reach out to one another in a world of smoke and mirrors forms the backbone of these books.

I have loved these books since I first read them several years ago, and I keep coming back to them and rereading them over and over. They are truly able to transport you from Sabines sun-drenched paradaisical island home, to Griffin's rain-soaked isolation, and into other realms that are far less easy to describe. Excellently wrought and wonderfully creative, I encourage anyone with an imagination to read this trilogy: "Griffin and Sabine," "Sabine's Notebook," and finally, "The Golden Mean."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The strange and intriguing correspondence of Griffin and Sabine, August 21, 2008
This review is from: Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence (Hardcover)
To pick up and open this book is to immerse yourself in a private world of communications between two people who have never met each other. Communications? Yes. There is the written communication and visual communication which we can read and see, and also a level of apparent telepathic communication which seems to increase during the course of the book.

The book itself must have been a challenge for the printer. It involves a mixture of postcards and letters. The letters are enveloped so that the experience of taking the letter from the envelope, reading it and replacing it makes the reader very much a participant in the experience.

There isn't much written story, but there doesn't need to be. Postcards and short letters are essentially point in time observations or one way communications. What makes this little book so enjoyable is its presentation and its involvement of the adult reader in an essentially tactile experience.

This review is dedicated to my friend Linda, who by drawing this book to my attention, reminded me that books are not just about the written word.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gimmick, but marvellously drawn and original, December 20, 2001
By 
Christopher Culver (Cluj-Napoca, Romania or Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence (Hardcover)
With GRIFFIN AND SABINE illustrator Nick Bantock has presented us with quite an original work. It's the tale of a correspondence between a postcard designer in London and a woman on a South Seas island who can telepathically see his work. The format of the book is exceptional: the postcards are here to read, front and back, and the letters come in their own little envelopes glued to the pages of the book. The book continues in two volumes, SABINE'S NOTEBOOK and THE GOLDEN MEAN
It's worth saying right off that GRIFFIN AND SABINE is most appreciated due to its stunning paintings. I give the work four stars, but this is on its own scale. GRIFFIN AND SABINE is no masterpiece of world fiction, it's a novelty, but it's a very interesting a beautiful novelty. The story is rather clumsily plotted, and Griffin's breakdown towards the end is something of a deus ex machina obviously pulled out of nowhere. Nonetheless, there are a lot of cute little puzzles in the book, and uncovering the series' link to Yeat's poem "The Second Coming" is an enjoyable way to pass the time.
I'm quite convinced Bantock has real talent as an artist. His influences are eclectic, but in this age of often obtuse modern art, it's refreshing to see someone draw on Renaissance rules of perspective while at the same time using modern themes to make the painting revelant.
I think GRIFFIN AND SABINE is worth reading. It's just the type of original book that one needs on the shelves alongside real literature. As long as one's expectations aren't too high as far as the story's concerned, people should find it entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Griffin & Sabine:  An Extraordinary Correspondence
Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence by Nick Bantock (Hardcover - September 1, 1991)
$19.95 $15.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.