Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a great action movie
I could see this as an action movie, though I'm sure DC wouldn't bother with it. Still, it was a decent story - perhaps a bit scattered at times - but still very good. I am fond of stories involving a character's origins so that I can read the psychological effects that being brought into a new world has on the character. Cole Cash fits the bill decently enough. You may...
Published 2 months ago by Nate Schumann

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great art, mediocre story
The art in this series is fantastic. Every page lives up to the splash of the cover, and while I am a fan of Cole Cash I felt the series suffered from a lack of direction.

Most poignantly the series suffers from a clearly identifiable villain or villains.

*spoilers ahead*

The idea that Grifter is "conning" the rest of the world into...
Published on September 14, 2012 by Vic Sage


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great art, mediocre story, September 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grifter Vol. 1: Most Wanted (The New 52) (Paperback)
The art in this series is fantastic. Every page lives up to the splash of the cover, and while I am a fan of Cole Cash I felt the series suffered from a lack of direction.

Most poignantly the series suffers from a clearly identifiable villain or villains.

*spoilers ahead*

The idea that Grifter is "conning" the rest of the world into believing that he is a villain when he is instead fighting against the daemonites is a pretty good take on the character. But the lack of clearly established villain personas for him to work against keeps the series from building any momentum. Firstly, he kills a lot of Daemonites throughout this run, but it is never fully established how much damage he is doing, since in every panel there are more and more blue translucent daemonites for him to kill. So the reader doesn't feel any progress made with the fights. Secondly, he goes through a few villains like tissue paper before establishing who they are and why exactly his thwarting them is in any way world changing. One villain is introduced only to be over ruled by another higher ranking villain who is then over ruled by another villain without any clear villain development. Their goals and their reasons for pursuing Grifter is never clearly followed through on, nor are their identities developed.

*Spoilers ahead*

The supporting cast is also underdeveloped. The love interest is introduced as merely, "the woman I am in love with" without any real scenes depicting the reason why Grifter cares for anonymous girl A. Incidentally Girl B is introduced later only to suffer from the worst offense of "Women in Refrigerators Syndrome" that I have seen in a very long while.

Again the artwork in the series is fantastic, and the designs in the back of the book for Grifter's costume really look great, but the series comes down to all flash and little substance. There were some great lines in the books but not enough depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a great action movie, September 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grifter Vol. 1: Most Wanted (The New 52) (Paperback)
I could see this as an action movie, though I'm sure DC wouldn't bother with it. Still, it was a decent story - perhaps a bit scattered at times - but still very good. I am fond of stories involving a character's origins so that I can read the psychological effects that being brought into a new world has on the character. Cole Cash fits the bill decently enough. You may wonder why I rated this five stars if I'm just going to call it "decent." I'm not one to compliment lightly, and even though this title isn't like the average comic book, this title is still great on its own accord. I would like to again emphasize just how much fun I had reading this title and imaging watching it like a movie! Of course, the whole thing couldn't be a film without having the Stormwatch tie-in removed, or could it? Hey if someone wanted to get creative, I'm all for it! Grifter - can't you see the movie poster already?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fast-Paced Thriller For New Readers, A Disappointment to Older Fans, August 12, 2012
This review is from: Grifter Vol. 1: Most Wanted (The New 52) (Paperback)
Despite hearing initially bad reviews about this book, I picked it up because of the original-looking plot. Having read it cover-to-cover, I can safely say, its not as bad as it is made out to be, but it definitely could be better.
*Spoilers Below*
Grifter is Cole Cash, a charming con man who was a soldier for the US Army until he deserted with his girlfirend Gretchen, unwilling for them to be parted by death. He is abducted by the Daemonites,a horrific alien spoecies, but something goes wrong and he escapes with the ability to hear the Daemonites telepathic communication.Natureally, he proceeds to kill them, but their shape-shifting abilities brand him a serial killer/terrorist.
*Spoilers End*
I would like to say that I find Grifter a T+ book over T. Almost every ally he has dies at one point, and the ways he kills are...creative occasionally. Despite guest appearances by Green Arrow and Midnighter, this book has a weird non-DCU non-Wildstorm feel. I can definetly say that if you liked Grifter before the New 52, there is s strong chance you'll hate this rendition of him. Fear not though, for a new writer (Rob Liefield) takes the reins right after this volume ends, so there is hope yet!
Overall, Grifter is a pretty awesome graphic novel best for Teens to Adults, and I'm positive the hardcore comic fan will enjoy is immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grifter the alien killer, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Grifter is not your typical comic and it feels more like a stand alone story. He's taking on an aliens trying pod people the human race. Grifter is the anti hero wanted by the law, aliens, and super heroes. If you like anti hero's this is a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Piper Lives, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First time reading Grifter. Reminds me of a jacked up on steroids version of THEY LIVE. Rowdy Roddy Piper would've been the perfect Cash Cole. Overall, an ok book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad for a wildcat star, December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One my favorite character from the WildC.A.T.S. Series. I am way behind in comics, and I picked this one up during a fire sale.

I love the artwork, but parts of the storytelling felt off. I am pretty confused in how this relates to the DC universe. For safe measure... They force the appearance of some DC Universe guest stars.

I wouldn't recommend this as the 1st book you read in the New 52 Series like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Okay...good start, then fades, August 19, 2013
This review is from: Grifter Vol. 1: Most Wanted (The New 52) (Paperback)
Take part 'Bourne series', mix with a little 'They Live', and a dash of 'Walking Dead' and you got Grifter. His real name is Cole Cash, who, recently, can see aliens called Daemonites inhabiting human form, who want him for a specific purpose: to give life to the Black Curate, who...well, wants to take over Earth (typical). Donning a red mask and branded as a murderous con man, Cash travels the globe in search of why he is being targeted by the Daemonites. Chased by the latter and his spec ops brother, Max, Cole must survive and act like he is wanted...because that's the only way he can. This series is amazing, not because of the plot, but it shows a lot of action, twisters, and even an appearance by Green Arrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't get conned - avoid this book!, November 16, 2012
This review is from: Grifter Vol. 1: Most Wanted (The New 52) (Paperback)
Cole Cash is Grifter, a former Special Forces operative now taken to grifting as a way of life. Donning a red handkerchief with black mascara streaks for a mask, he's bafflingly considered "The World's Most Wanted Man" after foiling an airborne alien plot to bring down a plane. The aliens - Daemonites - can, Triffids-style, become one with human hosts, controlling them like puppets and are - duh duh duuuuuuuuuh - planning to take over the world! Only, ahem, a "superhero" like Grifter can apparently stop them.

I wanted to like this book, expecting a kind of nutso action schlock fest that knew what it was and could have fun with readers' expectations but instead Nathan Edmondson writes the story straight (read: dull). Grifter arbitrarily gets his red mask by chance: it snags on his hand as he smashes a window to use a phone, and thereafter decides to make it his trademark. I have no idea why he clings to it so much given that he's always being de-masked, the consequence being that no-one knows who he is anyway and the ones chasing him know it's him whether he's got the mask on or not so it's totally irrelevant. You might think it's because he's the "most wanted" man on the planet, but there are scenes like him on a plane without the mask and no one hassles him. This scene is doubly dumb because we're supposed to believe a man covered in dynamite managed to get past airport security onto a plane and no-one sitting around him noticed him either.

The lack of characterisation is the biggest problem. Grifter's motivation is about saving "the love of his life", something we're told rather than shown. She's so bland a character she may as well be called "Woman#1" to differentiate herself from another female character whom Grifter also becomes momentarily involved with, another cardboard cut-out who could be called "Woman#2". I have no idea who Grifter is and this book doesn't help inform me. Sure you're told he's an ex-Special Forces operative with mad skills but there's no indication of who the man is; Grifter's motivations for everything seem to be "save Woman#1 or Woman#2" and "save Brother". But I don't know who any of these characters are so it's a story about 2-dimensional characters saving one another while I yawn and look at my watch.

The art isn't bad but the digitally drawn backgrounds really irked me after a while. They're such a slapdash effort that I felt if Cafu, the artist, was going for that choice I'd rather he just blanked it out with colour rather than rendering the backgrounds so poorly.

The only cool thing about the book are the Daemonites, villains who are wasted on a character like Grifter and would be better suited to fighting Stormwatch or the Justice League. Grifter is a supporting character who stands out in a group like WildCATS but can't carry a title as the main character - he's just not an interesting enough personality. Maybe if more had been done to lay the groundwork for who he is, whether he stands for anything or not, and building the character's world up a bit more before launching into a series of disjointed and pointless action scenes, I might've cared more for the book. As it is, the book was a chore to get through - despite a couple of diverting cameos from other DC superheroes - and wasn't worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast cars, guns, aliens and conspiracy theories!, August 6, 2012
This review is from: Grifter Vol. 1: Most Wanted (The New 52) (Paperback)
Grifter is a fun pop corn comic book from start to finish! This is an underappreciated New 52 series. From the first issue onward the fun never stops. Grifter Vol 1 is an origin story and follows his adventures in fighting the aliens known as Daemonites. I have not had this much fun reading a comic book in a long time. Vol 2 will feature a new direction for Grifter which I have been collecting in single issues, but even with the change in writers the story continues to improve. If you want to read a fun comic then look no further.

I also recommend the NEW 52 Suicide Squad: Kicked in the Teeth Vol 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you like SUICIDE SQUAD or VOODOO, you'll LOVE this garbage!, August 6, 2012
This review is from: Grifter Vol. 1: Most Wanted (The New 52) (Paperback)
Look, Cole Cash is one of the coolest characters of the Wildstorm imprint, but he was made infinitely cooler by Ed Brubaker when he decided to include Grifter in his epic SLEEPER saga. And the character really tried to maintain that level of cool for the remainder of time he was in the Wildstorm universe, but it fell short each time.

DC, with the help of Nathan Edmondson (WHO IS JAKE ELLIS?, DANCER) and artist CAFU, try their best to make Grifter cool again and introducing Grifter to the DC Universe seemed like a good idea.

Wrong. It's a mish-mash of feeble con-artistry, ridiculously over-the-top action sequences, and faux sci-fi blather. And it tries SO hard to make Cole so amazingly cool here when he's anything but.

This book had one of the biggest drop-offs in issue #1 to issue #2 sales of the entire New 52, and it's no wonder. Edmonson, despite doing some interesting stuff elsewhere, is clearly on tired ground here (much like his current series DANCER for Image Comics) and the art by CAFU is passable, but nothing spectacular. And again, it's certainly no surprise that this book was one of the first to get the chopping block when it came time to cancel titles out of the New 52.

Basically, this trade and this iteration of GRIFTER is just that; a con trying to get your money for nothing of any worth. Don't be a mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Grifter Vol. 1: Most Wanted (The New 52)
Grifter Vol. 1: Most Wanted (The New 52) by Nathan Edmondson (Paperback - July 31, 2012)
$16.99 $13.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.