Grimm's Fairy Tales and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$17.45
Qty:1
  • List Price: $24.95
  • Save: $7.50 (30%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Trade in your item
Get a $4.91
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Grimm's Complete Fairy Tales Leather Bound – November 24, 2011

ISBN-13: 978-1607103134 ISBN-10: 1607103133 Edition: Lea

Buy New
Price: $17.45
61 New from $13.89 28 Used from $14.26 4 Collectible from $29.95
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Leather Bound
"Please retry"
$17.45
$13.89 $14.26
Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


Frequently Bought Together

Grimm's Complete Fairy Tales + Hans Christian Andersen's Complete Fairy Tales (Leather-bound Classics) + The Classic Treasury of Aesop's Fables
Price for all three: $40.89

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The Bone Clocks
David Mitchell's hypnotic new novel crackles with invention and sheer storytelling pleasure. Learn more

Product Details

  • Leather Bound: 652 pages
  • Publisher: Canterbury Classics; Lea edition (November 24, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1607103133
  • ISBN-13: 978-1607103134
  • Product Dimensions: 1.8 x 6.3 x 9.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (213 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,639 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From the Author

Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm were German philologists and folklorists.

Ken Mondschein holds a Ph.D in History from Fordham University.

About the Author

Jacob Grimm and Wilhelm Grimm (1785-1863) collected and published Germanic and European folk and fairy tales during the early to mid 19th century. Some of the world’s most classic and beloved stories have been published by them, including “Rumplestiltskin,” “Snow White,” “Sleeping Beauty,” “Rapunzel,” “Cinderella,” “Hansel and Gretel,” and many more. Kenneth C. Mondschein earned his Ph.D. in History at Fordham University. He lives in New York, NY. Margaret Hunt lives in England.

More About the Author

Ken Mondschein is a scholar, teacher, and author with expertise in subjects ranging from medieval history to contemporary politics. He received his PhD in history from Fordham University and is certified as a master of historical fencing by the US Fencing Coaches' Association.

Customer Reviews

Good quality for the book, good stories too.
H. Yin
Between the thick leather cover, the owl gracing the inside cover, the gold pages and ribbon book mark, I was mesmerized.
Leah V
I bought this for a birthday present, and when received, the book looks awesome.
C. B. Stephens

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

108 of 113 people found the following review helpful By Leah V on February 28, 2012
Format: Leather Bound Verified Purchase
Originally I was between two leather bound editions, this edition and the Calla Edition. There were so many positive reviews for the Calla Edition that I began feeling swayed but ultimately I went ahead with purchasing this edition because it is the complete works of Grimms Fairy Tales whereas the Calla Edition is not the complete works. I'm not aware of how many tales are in the Calla Edition but this one contains over 200 tales.

For $16 I wasn't expecting it to be beautiful, I was mistaken. Between the thick leather cover, the owl gracing the inside cover, the gold pages and ribbon book mark, I was mesmerized. It is just so stunning and simple plus it will look marvelous on any book shelve.

Very much recommended: beautiful and stunning.
12 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
51 of 58 people found the following review helpful By Kevin W. on October 18, 2012
Format: Leather Bound
For whatever reason, fairy tales have become sanitized beyond recognition. The name for this kind of censorship is bowdlerization. Named for Bowdler, who purged "questionable" passages from Shakespeare for a tame "parlor" version, the tales of the Brothers Grimm have experienced the same fate -- in recent memory most noticeably at the hands of The Walt Disney Company.

Fortunately, none of these stories have borne that fate here. You have a prose worthy of the original earthy German. And the stories are notable macabre. Brutal, cruel mothers, stepmothers and grandmothers. Perverse and less-than-human creatures bearing odd names like Rumplestiltskin. And endings that aren't always sweet.

The volume itself is beautiful -- heavily bound in leather, with outstanding illustrations.

Highly recommended for the beautiful and faithful translation, and for the visual and tactile beauty. Most importantly, for stories faithful to the often-sinister spirit of the endlessly-told originals. Rediscover these stories in their strange beauty.

Equally desirable for fans of THE Book of Word Games and Through the Looking-Glass. If these are your interests, buy this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
25 of 32 people found the following review helpful By joshua on February 2, 2012
Format: Leather Bound Verified Purchase
This book is great for anyone who's a fan the imaginative storytelling you may remember as a child but with more of an adult spin to it. I would highly recomend this to ANY adult/pre adult for a little relaxing storytime with a slightly darker twist!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful By Hans Olaf on March 11, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
Amazon should separate reviews for paper and Kindle versions. The hardbound version is a treasure; the Kindle--at least the free preview--has no interactive table of contents. Since the preview is to woo purchasers, I'd imagine the full book does not have it either.

There was no interactive link within the stories to a table of contents, and none of the "link-looking" titles in the table of contents actually linked to anything. You must manually search for the stories. From within stories, the only links were to the cover or the beginning (which I can easily get to by myself), or to a location I've marked myself (none, since it was a new book).

I give two stars because the content itself is great. One reviewer called it the "King James Version" because of the supposed difficulty of the language, but I appreciate the raw beauty of the original, politically incorrect tales--and that they haven't been dumbed down to the 5th grade reading and attention level that is now, supposedly the norm today.

A far better Kindle Version: the 99 cent "Grimm's Fairy Tales Illustrated", by Maplewood Books, with the brown cover and mustard lettering (no picture) has an interactive table of contents--PLUS the delightful and incomparable Arthur Rackham illustrations. I'd have liked an index of the illustrations, but I didn't mind searching for them because it drew my attention to tales I'd not read in decades. Arthur Rackham's art work, for me at least, helps rekindle the wonder of childhood (another favorite is Maxfield Parrish). The Maplewood version also has links to such fan resources as film adaptations, and audio recordings.

I hope you too enjoy Grimm's tales--but I suggest the other version. It doesn't have the long bio but you can get that on Wikipedia.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful By J_Smith on August 1, 2013
Format: Leather Bound Verified Purchase
This is the most beautiful newly-printed book I have ever seen.

The book is leather-bound with gorgeous deep burgundy leather and subdued, embossed cover art in two shades of red that continues onto the back cover of the book. The spine of the book would fit into a 200-year-old library if it did not look so clean and undamaged. The page edges are guided gold, and the pages are a light, antique cream color that adds to the book's aesthetics without detracting from the text's readability. Text size is fairly standard and easily readable, line spacing is very nice and readable, and a pleasingly wide margin surrounds all sides of the text. The book includes a roughly .25" wide bright red ribbon bookmark.

Note: The book actually looks much better in person than the Amazon listing's art would lead you to believe. I don't know why the picture on amazon has a large red circular blob on the front of the cover. The actual book looks a bit more subdued, and overall much better.

I hate it when a book looks old, only to have the illusion shattered by a giant "Penguin" or such publisher's logo on the spine or back cover, or a conspicuously white barcode and ISBN number in the middle of the back cover. I was pleased that this book's barcode and isbn info were printed on an easily removable sticker applied to the back cover of the book. With the sticker removed, the book would look at home in the classiest of libraries (the publisher's logo was tasteful adapted into a simple gold-embossed monogram "CC" that was seamlessly matched with the rest of the spine's text).

On top of the book aesthetic features, Grimm's Fairy Tales are an excellent read for children and adults alike.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?