Customer Reviews

11
2.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
6
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on September 14, 2009
BACKGROUND. I have a newly remodeled (2008) extra-large-kitchen with three Grohe 33-939-AVO faucets. All three faucets worked perfectly after installation (and two of the original faucets are still working perfectly). However, one of the original faucets "froze up" after less than a year of service. I replaced it early this year with a new faucet. The replacement faucet appeared to work perfectly, but then after a few months of use, the replacement faucet froze up in exactly the same way as its predecessor. Once again I have replaced it with a new faucet that appeared to be working perfectly. But now, after less than a month of use the new replacement faucet is beginning to freeze up.

PROBLEM. The housing (spout), which should swing freely back and forth, binds against the stationary inner manifold that is anchored to the countertop. This causes the spout to not swing freely.

I tried to explain this problem to Grohe technicians, but I did not have much success. One of the technicians seemed convinced that it was the cartridge binding against the housing that was causing the problem. This is clearly not the case, since the housing remains frozen even with the cartridge removed. Another technician speculated that the housing might be binding against the countertop. This is also not the case since forcing the housing to rotate causes the stationary inner manifold to rotate.

The Grohe technicians profess that this problem is new to them. I find that hard to believe since two of the FIVE Grohe faucets I installed had the problem, and a third one is in the beginning stages of the problem. Also, one of the two Grohe faucets in my daughter's kitchen has the problem.
77 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
Grohe Europlus II kitchen faucet

Click on "see customer image" above for photo of the items included in the box. (The spring in the upper part of the photo is shipped in its compressed state.)

Cons:

- During installation, when tightening the C-shaped brace on the underside of the faucet, if you're not careful, the supplied rubber washer could be set in a position that would bind the chrome hose from sliding in and out of the faucet. Grohe should address this issue to preclude installation problems and subsequent calls to their help desk.

- Like all kitchen faucets, this one is rated at 2.2 gallons per minute at 60 PSI, which is a Federal Standard meant to reduce water consumption. However, some faucets use a metal disc with a small hole in the center, just prior to the aerator, to restrict water flow - simply remove that disc, and full flow is restored. My "beef" with the Grohe, and it's a minor one, is that the aerator itself slows water flow and since it's a sealed unit, it can't be opened-up to let more water through.

To clarify: our kitchen sink has a 2nd faucet (Price Pfister model 72-M1SS), which had the disc. Before removing that disc, the Grohe and Price Pfister both took 28 seconds to fill a gallon jug. After removing the disc, the Price Pfister filled the jug in 21 seconds; at an ideal flow rate.

Pros:

- There is a lifetime warranty on this faucet, as long as you keep a copy of your receipt.

- First rate design (other than the water flow issue). Faucet is beautiful, has built-in outstanding functionality, and works flawlessly. Examples: handle operates as smooth as silk in all directions with the optimal resistance (to movement) for controlling water volume and temperature; blue and red markers are on the handle to identify hot and cold; two buttons on the faucet head allow choice of normal operation or spray, without turning water off/on; faucet spray pulls out up to 30", and retracts effortlessly back into the faucet body due to the shiny and flexible chrome hose, with a spring assist pulling the hose inward; faucet head is easily "clicked" back into place into the faucet body. Height above the sink and length of the faucet, are just right.

- The spray head is light, so if you accidently drop it or knock it against something, it won't crack or chip what you hit, and your hand won't tire using it. Having a porcelain cast-iron sink, the last thing we wanted was one of those faucets with a heavy metal spray head. Drop one of those and the sink itself, or item in the sink, could be damaged. The hose (rubber, with a chromed metal outer sleeve) is very flexible. The satin nickle model is easy to clean.

- First rate quality. Metal parts are brass or stainless steel (the main faucet body is very heavy solid brass), every part is expertly machined or manufactured -- everything looks great and fits together perfectly. The round business end of the spray head where the water is ejected, is rubber, presumably to prevent lime build-up.
- Other than the C-shaped brace mentioned above, installation couldn't be more logical and easy. The simple "instructions" are wordless - just pictures - yet that's all that's needed. The hot & cold flexible stainless-steel braided water supply hoses are plenty long. The chrome faucet hose connects to the underside of the faucet with a quick release coupling, similar to those used with compressed air systems, making installation of the hose a snap, and if ever needed, will allow easy hose replacement. There were no leaks.

We had purchased and installed a $400 Danze brand faucet. I uninstalled and returned it for a refund after 3 days. It had a stiff nylon hose that wouldn't come out far enough for normal use with our 10" deep double sink - very frustrating. In addition, the 1 lb. weight clamped to that hose (to pull the hose back into the faucet) hung up on the faucet bottom if you pulled the hose out too far - then, you'd have to push the hose back into the faucet with both hands. It was also difficult to get the spray head to stay put in the faucet body, without "dangling" loose. The Danze was also more difficult to install than it should have been, as its input water feeds weren't long enough to clear the sink bottom, and the method to connect the hose to the bottom of the faucet was cheap and poorly conceived. The point is, buying an expensive faucet doesn't automatically mean you get a well designed unit.

My wife loves her Grohe faucet, which is really the bottom line. She thinks it's the ideal faucet choice for a kitchen sink. We renovated a house recently, and this is the faucet we bought for that kitchen.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on July 7, 2009
I like the looks of the product, but unfortunately, after 5 years of normal operation in the kitchen, the extension hose just ruptured. This is where the true customer service gets tested. The lifetime limited warranty was "honored" by the company. Of course the thing ruptured on a Saturday. Office hours of Grohe's singular US distribution site are Mon-Fri. Anyway, they said they would ship it out immediately...Sounded good, until 7 days later, no replacement. They said it was on backorder and was going out today, 9 days after first call. I don't know if I will get it, but what I do know is that it is very difficult to go without a kitchen faucet for over 10 days. There is absolutely no distribution network within the US. So, although a nice faucet, there are no parts, and no backup for you when it breaks. And it probably will break. This thing is too expensive to just rupture for no reason...I would not by anything from Grohe again...
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 3, 2010
After 10 years service, the plastic piece that attaches the hose to the faucet spray cracked. In order to get life time Warranty for original owners, you have to keep your receipt according to its web site. But who would keep the receipt for 10 years? I wrote an email to the customer service, stating that I am an original owner but don't have original receipt. To my surprise, they replied email the next day, and sent the part right after. While we was uninstalling the broken faucet for this expected waiting time, we accidentally broke the quick coupling parts. I wrote them again, without any question, the parts again arrived within 4 business days. What a great service!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 23, 2011
I purchased Grohe fixtures exclusively for my kitchen and bath remodel in 1999; the Grohe fixtures served me very well and they are vey durable. The pull-out kitchen faucet still works beautifully, however the rubber covering the two buttons (spray vs. stream) disintegrated after about 8 years. I wrote to Grohe recently and asked for a replacement handle, stating that I still have the original receipt. The replacement handle was shipped immediately, so I am extremely happy with the way the manufacturer honored my claim for replacement. All that after 10+ years, and the faucet is still working nicely!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on May 31, 2011
This is a great faucet. Don't listen to the 2009 reviewers complaining about the spout not swiveling back and forth. I asked our plumber about this and he said that Grohe fixed the problem. All of his faucets in his house are Grohe. Be sure to keep a copy of your receipt and Grohe will give you replacement parts FREE...don't know what one of the other reviewers was complaining about spending another $50 etc when Grohe will send you the parts for free. Can't get a better warranty than that. I've had this faucet for a month now and it works great. Replaced a Moen Extensa which lasted about 8 years and was a piece of junk. Will buy Grohe from now on; well worth the extra bucks versus Moen or Delta.
Apr 2012 Update: had this faucet for almost one year and it works great. no complaints.
August 2013 update: still works great!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on January 6, 2009
I have had this faucet for a few years, and am now looking for a replacement (NOT Grohe!). First, the flimsy plastic piece that attaches the hose to the faucet body cracked, leaking water under the sink. We had to wait for many days before our dealer could obtain a replacement. Now the metal body in the pullout section has cracked, and the unit sprays water at right angles to the faucet when the water us turned on. I have this part of the unit wrapped with tape until I get a new faucet. The spray section has never worked very well from day one.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on June 20, 2009
This faucet is the best I have ever used. The open handle is ideal for hooking with a little finger and instantly flipping exactly where you need it. The pullout is great, with both spray and standard functions.

I bought it about five years ago and it has worked perfectly ever since. We later moved into a new house and converted the old one to a rental and have never had any issues with the faucet. The earlier reviewer must have been pretty harsh with his Europlus. Any faucet will crack and perform poorly if you drop a few pots and pans on it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on March 9, 2011
Nothing but trouble from the day installed. We have spent hundreds of dollars on 3 different plumbers to try to make it remain stable. Over time (days to months) the base loosens and it wobbles. The company sent replacement parts (twice) to no avail. Several plumbers have groaned as soon as we mention "Grohe". Also - the rubber at the top disintegrated. My advice - don't even consider. Cute, stylish, yet totally disappointing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 4, 2010
After just 6 years of satisfactory use this faucet is ready for the junk yeard. We have tried unsuccessfully to talk with warranty personnel concerning a problem that no plumber can solve...even when talking with Grohe technicians. We are saddened and very disappointed in their lack of interest and response. The faucet was very expensive and is now ready for burial in the landfill!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.